0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Jackson JS22-7 Dinky - Satin Black Reviews

3.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Jackson JS22-7 Dinky - Satin Black?

Questions about the Jackson JS22-7 Dinky - Satin Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Josh Strid

    The Jackson JS22-7 Dinky is really a great sounding guitar and is built very well. I have many guitars in my collection and this one is my go-to when I want to play. I hadn't had any experience with a 7-string until I purchased the JS22 and was really blown away by its tone and playability!

  • Lorenzo Giusti
    from Salt Lake City, Utah January 27, 2017Music Background:
    14 years Drummer, 15 years composer and song-writer. Background in Film Composition, Documentaries and Videogames.

    Powerful!! View of a Composer

    I'll preface that I am not a guitarist. I am a composer mainly for Film, Videogames, Documentaries and song-writing.

    I use guitars to add that extra punch to the score, when needed, morphing the sound at will and transforming it into something entirely different.

    This guitar is not only "fire" when it comes to playing straight up Rock, Metal and any other hard genres, but it performs extensively well during sound-designing sessions and morphing. The sound I can pull out of this baby are limitless.

    It's solid, sturdy, keeps the tune like a charm and sounds impressively good for a $ guitar, which can be deceiving.

    Give this guitar a chance, because the price tagis bot reflrcting the actual empirical quality of the overall product, in this case. In my opinion, it is an undercharged product, but hey...I'll take it.

  • JMR
    from Colorado October 22, 2014Music Background:
    30+ year weekend warrior

    Very nice for the price

    This is by far the best entry level 7 string out there. The fit and finish are excellent for such a low end guitar, and the materials are of high quality so it makes a very nice mod platform. A bit of time and effort getting the neck and bridge dialed in, some work on the nut to get it as low as it can reasonable go (which in my case was VERY low) and it plays as well as high end, multi-thousand dollar guitars. I am not generally given to hyperbole either. This guitar is just that good.

    The stock hardware is cheap but functional. The stock setup is catch-all, so it has high action, plenty of neck relief, and a nut a mile off the fretboard. The stock pickups are a bit muddy at high volume, but thankfully they dont feedback uncontrollably like most entry-level stock pups. They sound fine for bedroom volume.

    Physically, it is very comfortable to play thanks to the Dinky body made of lightweight Basswood, and very thin neck. The 26.5" scale makes it feel a little wierd at first if you are used to 24.75 or 25.5, but for me that only took a couple hours to get used to, and it makes soloing a little easier for me. I have stupidly long fingers though.

  • patrick star
    from new york August 17, 2014Music Background:
    guitarist pro muscian

    sick!!!!!

    i am in love with this guitar!! it is so sick i could die

  • Customer
    from January 24, 2017

    Kick***

    Pretty awesome afforadable guitar. Came quick and great customer service

  • Mark
    from Kansas City Mo May 8, 2015

    oh yeah!

    if you want a nice 7 string buy this one, it's well worth every penny.

  • Kane
    from United States June 10, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio Musician

    Does the Job

    An excellent buy for the money. The hardware and out-of-the-box playability don't compare to my other, higher-end Jacksons, but I also paid a fifth of the price. If you've got an itch to try out a 7-string guitar, this is definitely the one to start with.

    I'm strongly considering just switching the pickups (love the emphasis on low end but the high end suffers, basically no bite from the D string upward) and tuners (get ones that lock, trust me) to turn this into a recording guitar over buying a better one.

  • Frank cappucci
    from New Orleans, LA April 17, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist with a few sprinkling gigs here and there.

    Good foundation for upgrades

    I bought this guitar knowing I'd need to upgrade the electronics. I dropped a set of Seymour Duncan pick ups in it and replaced the volume pot. Sounds great now. Next will be the tuning machines as they won't keep tune with drop tunings. The guitar has a nice feel though. By the time I'm done upgrading it'll be perfect. Yes, I could have spent more on a better guitar, but I'll have the appointments the I chose and not stuck with what a manufacturer chose. Bottom line- It's a good foundation to upgrade to a custom guitar at less than half the price of a manufactured custom.

  • Mike Bates
    from Merrimack, NH January 17, 2017

    Eh, good to get into a 7 string but..

    This was my first 7 string. I really just wanted something on a budget to see if I liked it or not. Yes I like playing the seven string but If you have any thoughts I would suggest going a bit upper line. I never really noticed what basswood sounded like until I went from a mahogany body to basswood. its definitely thin in comparison. The I ended up getting a Seymore Duncan Pegasus pickup for the bridge. It helped with feedback quite a bit. But I still have issues and it just doesn't have the tone. the in your face open strum mean tone. The BIGGEST frustration is despite different strings and tunings, it just does not hold tune! Constantly, every few minutes tweaking it. It doesn't go wack but you can tell. might sounds good playing open but then you playing up in the 6-9th fret range and its out or vice versus. I tune to a chord and then play open and its off just a hair.

    Spend the extra money even the 350-400 range Im sure there will be better out there. I love jackson but this is a bit on the cheap side. '

    P.S. the neck does feel great for whats thats worth

  • Omelian
    from Milwaukee, WI June 17, 2016

    Spend the extra cash

    So I wanted to try out a 7string and the review seemed to be ok on this guitar. I think they were written by someone paid to give good reviews or the older model had much better qualities. I know that a guitar will need some set up out of the box. But sharp fret end that cut up my hand the first time I played it when it stayed in tune, which was not long. The serial number was a stick that has fallen off somewhere. The pickups were muddy and lacking. I canít even seem to give the guitar away for a big loss on price. So it now sits collecting dust. Please look elsewhere for an entry 7 string this is not worth the money.

  • MetalTeK
    from Chicago March 11, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Save your money

    Doesn't stay in tune. Multiple flaws out of the box. Screws missing, tension rod had to be adjusted, fret buzz, gnarly burrs on hardware, serial # is a sticker, lackluster pickups.
    Spend an additional 100-200 bucks on something better!

    btw, I think some of these positive reviews on here are bogus.

Questions about the Jackson JS22-7 Dinky - Satin Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway