0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Boss eBand JS-10 Audio Player and Trainer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss eBand JS-10 Audio Player and Trainer?

Questions about the Boss eBand JS-10 Audio Player and Trainer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 22, 2017

    Outstanding trainer

    Petrucci is right on all counts in his review of the JS-10 (I highly recommend watching the video of his review if you haven't already). The JS-10 capabilities are extensive, it is very easy to use, it sounds fantastic, it's a bargain for all it does, and it's huge fun to practice with.

  • from June 6, 2016

    eBand JS-10

    Love it! Easy to use and sound quality is good.

  • from December 17, 2015

    The Little Box That Could

    Great little unit for practice, jamming and gigs. Very hip and user friendly. Awesome guitar patches. Boss has done it again.

  • from Massachusetts December 4, 2015Music Background:
    Ham and Egger

    JS-10

    This little thing rocks! I have a 1 man band and I loaded my backing tracks into the JS. I play guitar and just practice away. Killer guitar tones and great effects! Perfect for me!

  • from Columbia South October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing guitar for a while...

    Surprisingly Fantastic

    I ordered this little jewel a few months ago. I was not going to write a review until I had took it through it's paces and it performed flawlessly! The sound is amazing for it's size and you can tweak it for more volume etc... The Rhythm section has about any beat one would need for their musical projects. Everyone that hears it can't believe the sound. I highly recommend this to any musician or singer!

  • from Canton, OH April 23, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Boss eBand

    Right out of the box this thing is impressive! Easy to use. Killer effects. Awesome practice tool!!

  • from elkton, md October 27, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Boss JS10

    Great for practice. Easy to loop, easy to record and sounds awesome !! I also want to add what a great company Sweetwater has been. Israel my sales tech has just been outstanding! I call sweetwater the "no hassle company" and its the only place i consider when making future purchases
    Lawrence Lassiter

  • from Hamburg, Mi. USA October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro, Hobbyist

    JS10

    Received my js10 within several days. This is a must for a beginner or very experienced. Rock on, don't leave home without it.....

  • from Cocoa Beach, FL May 4, 2014Music Background:
    Semi pro-musician.

    Amazing sounds from such a small device

    I bought this because I tend to just play music cd's and try to jam with them for practice. The great reviews along with the ability to dial in ANY sound (and they do sound very authentic) made me go ahead and take a chance with this. Small enough to take on trips for practice without having to lug around a small amp with a 12" speaker. Best purchase ever! Now if Boss ever decides to make a stage worthy amp with this computer chip built in coupled with speakers that bring out the low end, all I have to say is "here, take my money"! Pro or hobbyist, you just can't go wrong with this little gem...*smiles*

  • from sydney australia February 19, 2014Music Background:
    fairly advanced hobbyist student who could easily harmonize with a decent band

    amazing astonishing incredible but could be better

    This lil gizmo is extraordinary & designed with rock presets that
    ensure if you hit right notes in correct time it's rapture!

    Only got mine recently & everything went outa whack when i put a fav
    into best 30 & couldnt get back to normal but suddenly all was well again. Presets arent numbered & there's only a meagre smattering of BLUES.

    Wish it had a direct instant change the KEYS feature
    like original Fender G-Dec's almost had.You can change keys on the Eband JS-10 but it's klutzy & complicated.

    Nevertheless im happy to have it as it has much outstanding on it.

    Show em how to power it with a car battery & you could make a living
    busking with it if you can play well as it is easy on the ears volumewise & sounds very pretty with abundant amazing tones

  • from San Francisco December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Great

    Great for a beginner learning to solo

  • from R.I. October 29, 2013Music Background:
    GUITAR player. Not to bad.

    roland js-10

    I think it is the best investment I made. I haven't touched any of my other equipment in weeks. you get hook on the JS-10. You can do anything with it. Jam tracks,recording, play along with just drums. I ran into some issues with the JS-10,but sweet water and roland were right on top of it. Text support was A+ for me. I couldn't be leave the things it can do, and then find out you can do even more. all pros no cons. The Boss eBand JS-10 is a player and trainer. Don't let any body tell you different. Look at the reviews mostly all 5 stars. I looked all over the net and 5 stars kept coming up, So I had to get one and I don't regret it one bit. It is compacted and user friendly.At Home,in the studio It doesn't matter. I use it in my house and you can play it low and it still sounds good.I don't bother any one ,down stairs or up stairs, that is a plus for me. All I can say is buy it and find out for your self. (backspace)

  • from nashua n.h. May 3, 2013Music Background:
    50 yrs of playing classical jazz blues folk etc

    great trainer and player

    i love the js10
    only one problem is that i would love to see more material in it
    i'm a jazz and blues player and it would be great if there was a way to access somehow more songs or like me jazz or blues other than using a computer
    clip in the jazz then clip the blues in etc.
    i can't stop playing, it's the band that doesn't sleep

  • from Los Angeles CA November 28, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist guitar and uke player

    Another great product from Boss!

    The JS-10 is a compact little box that packs a punch with features. At first I was skeptical that this gadget could help me improve my skills but I was wrong. Not only does it have a load of great features that you have come to expect from Boss/Roland (like COSM modeling, and loads of backing tracks) but you can load up your own backing tracks or record into the machine yourself. It's super easy to load tracks with the handy USB port or with an SD card. I keep my USB drive plugged in and then just dial in the track I want to play. The best feature is the AB looping that you can do to perfect difficult to nail passages or guitar solos. This thing has transformed my practice. I don't have to fire up my computer, or put in a CD. My amp sits silent these days. Get one of these. You won't be sorry. My only criticism is that Roland doesn't make a carry bag for it and the dimensions are kind of odd so it's been difficult to find something. Might be more convenient if it ran on batteries (like the Microcube) but that is not a deal breaker.

  • from Nashville, TN November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great practice tool

    This is just the thing for practicing at home. You can play softly (or with headphones) if needed, but it has enough volume to hold it's own as well. The built in effects and backing tracks are great for learning to improvise, and you can download your own songs and have a tireless backing band!

  • from Celina, OH September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, own lots of gear

    Fun and good jamming tool

    I had a bunch of backing tracks on a stick. Inserted the stick, dialed it up and there was the song list. They will repeat or you can stop and start. Picked out an amp, tuned up with the tuner, tweaked the effects and hit play. Instant fun. This thing really sounds good, too. My wife walked in and said, hey you're making music. Practice level volume and then some. There are plenty of free backing tracks on the net. I have even started playing with midi files and getting the stupid digital sounds off and playing with them. Very easy to use, I have only read the instructions once and it is simple to remember the controls. I can't wait to get home and jam along with the eband. Sweetwater had the best price and it shipped fast.

  • from Marblehead,Ma September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Every tool a guitar player needs in one awsome box

    What can I say. The JS-10 is the BOMB!!! - Period!
    Every guitar player should own one.

  • from July 31, 2015

    Boss JS-10

    This is a great practice "amp" and for practicing actual songs. Produces great sounds and has the flexibility to produce almost any effect desired. What would make this even better is to get the foot switch to advance songs on the "Best 30 List" so that you can play a "set."

  • from March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Great little practice tool!

    I love this little box. I'm blown away by how much technology and features are packed into it. I can cycle thought the various settings for hours and not get bored.

    My only suggestion to Boss is to make user loaded songs more easily searchable. Apparently the only order users can search through songs is the order the songs were loaded into the system. Song by song, one at a time. I do not recommend adding songs you do not intend to play along with or learn. Otherwise, this thing is pretty sweet.

  • from oklahoma city September 15, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    js-10

    eBand does everything that was advertised and I am just starting to explore it, it is user friendly and I appreciate that, sweetwater service was excellent throughout the purchase!!

  • from San Diego CA February 1, 2014Music Background:
    Simi-pro musician

    Great Learning Tool

    Wish I had this when I first started playing many years ago. Great practice / learning tool, easy to use and fun. Allows you to play along with pre recorded tracks and your own selections you can load in via USB port or memory stick. I use it to practice electric bass, upright bass, guitar/slide guitar, harmonica, singing and drums. Gives us lazy musicians no more excuses for not practicing and improving our skills. And Thanks to Robert Williams at Sweetwater for informing me about this device when I was looking for a practice tool I could just plug into, turn on and start playing.

  • from R.I. October 17, 2013Music Background:
    MUSIC LOVER ROCK AND BLUES 60'S AND 70'S AND THEN SOME

    roland js-10

    I think it is a good learning tool. There really is not a down side to this e- band player.I had a few issues but sweet water is right on top of it. I love the JS-10 and will never give up on it.Bass and guitar trainer. loops ,jam tracks and looping and on and on with every thing you can think of as far as guitar/bass playing. it also has drum loops and a lot of them. YOU can use it as a drum machine metronome and jam tracks. Play it the way you want , you will never run out of ideas. It dose it all and then some more. you can record live with it too. And most of all it makes you practice more and more and loving every bit of it. Every day I take it out put it back and take it out again all day long this go's on. Buy it it will make you want to play more and more. And that is a good thing. BACK SPACE

  • from Irmo, SC October 6, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar since age eight. Still learning when to hang on to certain guitars.

    Killer little box

    I'm giving 4.5 because I've only had the JS10 for a week. This box is amazing for its size. It really is worth the price. Sound is very good. I'm going to use the manual one of these days and see what it has to offer.

    I'm running an acoustic/electric into it and still enjoying the features. Obviously, I can't fully take advantage of the present effects, but who cares. I'm fishing for a solid body now.

    Mike Baldonado is the consummate professional when it comes to sales and customer service. I love to hear his perspective on gear and respect his advice. He has been very patient with this old guy.

  • from Philadelphia PA USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sooo Worth It...

    I was intrigued from the moment I saw the JS-8. After much researching and agonizing about going over my annual "toy" budget, I decided to go for the newer, JS-10. Boy am i glad i did. This thing makes practice sooooooo much fun. My playing has improved dramatically in the month i've had it. Imagine having a great sounding backing band that can play in all kinds of styles. And even better they are tireless, dont get bored and could care less if you make mistakes.
    You cant help but get better. Add to that the ability to record your soloing with the band and play it back any where you want. Amaze your friends and relatives.. Play along with your favorite artists via mp3 or wav. files... If only i could have had one when i was young.. Oh yes,. its well made, the guitar effects are awesome and so tweekable .. a halfway decent pair of headphones highly recommended .. the built in speakers are good but headphones just transport you into another dimension... buy it. highly recommended.

  • from New Bern NC September 7, 2012Music Background:
    Has Been, Old School Rocker, aka "The Vanquished"

    Just What I Needed / Wanted

    The JS-10 is a nice little unit. It does most of what it claims to do, very well. It’s worth the bucks to me to have so many features all in such a small, portable “all-in-one” unit. Would I buy it again? Would I recommend it to my guitar buddies? Absolutely! Is it perfect? No it‘s not. (is anything?)
    Pros:
    Recording is ridiculously simple. The 16GB SD card I bought seems to work well for recording and gives me plenty of recording time, too. Easy to erase as well.
    Hooking it up to the computer was idiot proof and works well with my old Windows Vista.
    The backing tracks are 70% usable by MY TASTES (I’m not much into Jazz or Country) and are of great quality (WAV files). The user friendliness is what you’d expect from Boss units (I miss my finger-holed “jog” wheel, though) and the learning curve (if you’re familiar with Boss systems) is intuitive.
    Startup for a newbie is simple and you should be jamming within in a few minutes after hookup. The navigation through the system is foolproof and in many cases, is as simple as “press any key” or “just hit exit” to get back to where you were or to the next parameter you want to change. Very intuitive.
    Sound quality of the COSM is what you’d expect. They can keep updating it all they want (so they claim) but it’s still the same engine. To me, it’s no better or worse than the other engines out there (Line 6, Korg, Vox, Digitech, Zoom, etc) and for my tastes, the Boss COSM is good enough. (A few Germanium diode sniffing snobs might argue that Zoom or Line 6 is better, but most average Joe’s can’t tell the difference)
    You don’t have to do a lot of programming to have fun with this unit. Out of the box, I could see someone using it for months without changing or adjusting anything other than guitar tones. Fun factor is 9 stars! :
    The stereo speaker system sounds really good at low/medium volumes. With the volume knob at 3 o’clock (pretty darn loud), the rumble & shaking of the box gets bad (physical limitations of the box) esp. with heavy bass lines. It gets loud enough for my needs with the volume set at 12 o‘clock. I think the sub-woofer update was a definite improvement on this newer unit. The headphones defeat the speakers and when plugged in, you can crank your head off if you want, without disturbing anyone.
    Cons:

    The song editing/naming is a bit slow (no keyboard...lol) so what cha gonna do?
    I went to the trouble of picking all the backing tracks from the JS-10 that I liked the best (109 of them), and transferred them to a USB flash drive that also has all my other favorite backing tracks, giving me a combined selection of 266 backing tracks that I ENJOY jamming with (Pu-lenty of tracks!) ...I did this to free up the SD card for dedicated recording. But as someone pointed out in a related JS-8 review, the arrangement/sorting of files seems to have no rhyme or reason. I even put a “Z” in front of some of the pattern’s names to try to separate certain files, but it made no difference. I wish I knew why. Oh well...that’s one big negative strike.
    Also, when scrolling thru my USB flash drive’s song list while simultaneously playing back tracks from the USB drive, the unit suddenly stopped playing and gave me an error message (couldn’t handle the load I was giving it). I quickly got back to playing & scrolling, but it shows that the USB flash drive has limitations that the SD card obviously does NOT.
    The speaker system on the older JS-8 unit has gotten poor reviews, thus the JS-10 received a new sub-woofer update to help with the load. The sub helps a lot and gives depth to the sound that it lacked before (they upped the power some, too). But keep in mind, this is not a 20/50 watt tube amp and it doesn’t have a 12” speaker. It can’t move that much air, nor is it designed to do so. For playback of jam tracks & pre-recorded music, it has an even sound (like a home stereo) and you can adjust you guitar to a quite pleasing tone if you work at it. Just don’t expect to hear a combo amp response coming from a little plastic box with 2” speakers. You want more volume/clarity? Buy some nice headphones, plug it into a PA or some decent powered monitors.
    The pitch change of the songs (as some reviews on the JS-8 have said) works OK on some songs, but awful on others. It’s like some songs have a serious “wow & flutter” problem. It’s irritating and displeasing enough to where I’m apprehensive when I go to use the pitch change. But I’m glad it’s there to use. Better than NOT having it.
    I hope one day that Boss decides to make another SD card filled with another 300+ backing tracks to jam with, but how many styles of music are there? How many times can you reinvent a song? lol ...I guess that’s what the internet is for.

  • from September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Enthusiast

    Great learning and practicing too

    I started played guitar earlier this year and always practiced with an MP3 belting out my favorite tunes. Great for developing consistent timing in both left and right hand actions. I also wanted a small, portable practice amp. well, look no further, you get it with this unit, and you can load all your songs onto USB, play them and play along with your guitar and record. You only truly know how well you play by recording and playing back, because you cannot fully hear and evaluate by playing and listening at the same time.

    Downsides. The scrolling from model to model or preset to preset is really slow as far as sound changes go. Also, the LCD is slow. The sound is small, since the speakers are small. I tried to model the Ramones, and I got pretty darn close, but that's only comparing guitar sound to MP3s played back. Absolute sound is small and kind of rough. It's not that user friendly, the interface could be improved.

    Still, I give it 4 stars since it's probably the best teaching tool home users can get.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA November 21, 2012Music Background:
    Bass player, covers and originals

    eBand JS-10

    I have only had the JS-10 for about a month but so far but I am very happy with it. I used to have the Tascam GTR1 and was happy with that product, but when it broke I decided to go with the JS-10 as a replacement. I use it for bass guitar, the sound quality is superior to the GTR1 and I like that the JS-10 has speakers built in so I don't have to always use headphones. The JS-10 has a lot of small features that I really like, for example I learn a lot of cover music for my bands the JS-10 can pitch the song so you don't have to retune your guitar for different tunings which other products do BUT the JS-10 remembers what key you last played the song in so when you go back to the song later it is still pitched correctly. It's the small features like that I really enjoy. They have made all the controls very intuitive and three inputs with seperate output volume controls are great. The only down side to this product is the initial investment, it's a little more expensive then "similar" products but from what I have experienced the JS-10 is worth it. It has more features, better sound quality and is easier to use. I would recommend this to my friends.

  • from Portland, OR September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar student, hobbyist

    A Core Tool

    Since the day it arrived, the JS-10 has become a core tool for practicing and playing. I upload the backing tracks associated with my lessons, slow them down, learn the melodies, speed them up and record. Just as often I record my own rhythm track and lead guitar solos, dialing-in the right amp and effects for both tracks.

    I have also imported some of my favorite songs, targeted the difficult spots and looped them, slowed them down, nailed them, then cancelled the lead guitar track and recorded it myself.

    I am using all of the features of this remarkable little tool. The stereo sound is great - I often use it to play music on the patio - it is that good - and from what I gather this is a substantial improvement over the JS-8.

    My only disappointment is that the slow-downer effect is not as clean as a dedicated, PC-based software tool. The songs begin to break-up below 80% of normal speed. And, the "center cancel" feature isn't bullet proof; it works well on older recordings (which is OK for me as I like to work with old jazz recordings), but on modern, multi-track recordings I find the lead spread out over far too many tracks to be able to cancel it. I hope that Boss will consider an upgrade version with a more robust Dual Core processor - that's what it would take, and I'd be a customer.

    Despite these two drawbacks the device is far and away one of the coolest tools on the planet for a student, or the guitar player responsible for vetting new material for the band.

  • from January 29, 2015

    Great but stupid

    most functions are useful. but songs inside usb can't be sorted and not arranged alphabetically. this terrible weakness could cost much.

  • from Lawrenceville,NJ (USA) May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Semi pro,Play at the nursing home

    What is the big deal about this?

    I have one and it's nothing more then a recording machine.
    Yes it has loops if you like to listen to them over and over.
    I see no need to record what I play the sit there by that box and listen to what I played.
    Nothing beats going to the local high school and jamming with a bunch of people face to face,drinking coffee and trying different things.
    So many people today can't do a thing without being wired up to a computer.
    I was supposed to return mine but was sick from clots in the lungs.
    So it's still in the box and never hooked to a computer.
    I also looked up some U tubes and was not impressed.Try slowing it down.
    It just slows down the music enough to notice it.
    You you can't select the area you want to play such as A or D because it just won't do it so you have to change the key by changing the tone or pitch.
    If there is a magic button to make this thing do what the adds say,I have not found it.BOB LECH AF2Q

  • from Marysville, Ohio January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Make sure you really want this!

    Downloaded over 2000 songs on this unit to find out your songs are not in alphabetical order and can't be. I complained to the MFG and they say it's not a function of the unit. Really? What designer missed this, the unit is useless, see how long it takes you to look thru 2000 songs to find a song. Unbelievable.

Questions about the Boss eBand JS-10 Audio Player and Trainer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway