0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Line 6 JM4 Looper Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 JM4 Looper Pedal?

Questions about the Line 6 JM4 Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Clive Melville
    from East Highland, California November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    JM4 Looper

    If your looking for a band members to practice with without having to get everyone together (And you know how tough that can be). The Line 6 JM4 Looper is it! Real user friendly, with great prerecorded tracks, drums and with the ability to record your own works of art. It's a blast! Highly recommend it.

  • Kenneth Spencer
    from Springfield, Illinois March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, 35 years, Currently Independence 35 and PRS

    Sonic and creative aspects of the JM4

    I believe in and practice with the best only as this is one's best chance to achieve the best tones, recordings and are therefore the most inspiring as well. With this I have extremely high expectations. I have only the best of the best from TC, Eventide, Matchless, Soldano, Bogner and so on. The JM4 is at home in this class of gear and is an asset, moreover a essential component to tap into our' most creative moments. One of the best tools in the box, period.

  • Bill Mogolov
    from Des Moines, Iowa November 19, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    This thing rocks!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I bought the Line 6 JM4 Looper. I read reviews good and bad, some criticizing the quality of the sound. It didn't take me long to realize that the JM4 is a great sounding unit that allows you to jam and lay down your own multiple tracks. There are tons of effects, songs, and presets and you can even run your mp3 player through it n play along with your favorite songs. Easy to use. I highly recommend this unit.

  • Ben
    from Chattanooga, TN USA November 3, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Line6 JM4 looper

    This is the single best tool I have ever used to improve my playing. We all get into ruts with our practice, so to dial in a groove (drums or drums+bass) you've never heard and devise rhythm and lead layers is the ultimate stretch, like sitting in with studio musicians...your "vocabulary" will go through the roof. The only minus is I wish I had more tone/effect control at the footswitches. Overall this is some of the best money you can spend to improve your playing.

  • T C
    from McKinney, Tx September 22, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Line 6 JM4 Looper

    I just recently bought a Kustom 65 Watt amp. It is a very loud amp but a little tricky to get the right sound and tone dialed in. I bought the JM4 a couple of weeks ago. After buying the JM4 I was able to get the sound and tone dialed in right away. I bought it mainly for the looping effect and for working on inprovising. I have not used the looper as much as I thought. I have just been playing and inprovising over the Drums and Guitar to improve my timing. This was well worth the money. I love that it has a headphone jack, my Kustom amp does not. This allows me to play into the night and not distub everone. So far the only negative is no On/Off Switch which seems to be the norm for pedals and the JM4 should have the updated Firmware before it leaves the store.
    Great product, I am having a blast with the JM4 and my Drummer never takes a break or gets tired.

  • Matthew McGonerhill
    from Oxford UK November 30, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's great!

    This is most excellent.

    It is so good that I've considered writing to the Queen and Prime Minister about it.

  • Rodney Kofler
    from Green Bay, Wi October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Line 6 JM4 Looper

    Absolutely love this looper. It gives me more options for my live show as far as creating and using backing tracks live. The pre-recorded Drum tracks are the best sounding i've heard in a looper pedal. My only complaint would be that the overall sound quality could be better if they would have added a few more outs for routing and mixing pre-recorded tracks.

  • jeffrey
    from newark nj July 11, 2012Music Background:
    musician

    the best looper

    Grooves...Drums,guitar or aux/mic with a couple of hundred effect presets . Tone eq reverb 2 effect wheels and 12 amp models....soo you got a great looper.....you take the groove or drum part and add the guitar or aux/mic part on in layers record or ja,....you can add the guitar and then the mic/aux part all in no particular ordet when layering for recording
    And it does be a 100 endless jam tracks......you select a song or groove to play guitar or mic/aux part to....looping it it records the whole jam...I hve been using like nonstop for a few days

  • WT
    from Tacoma, WA USA October 8, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great fun, with loads of features. It is quickly becoming a must have in my gear set.

    The Good: 2 separate effects loops, electric guitar oriented with the knobs on the top, mic/acoustic guitar oriented in the menu system. Aux input is selectable as to which effects to use. Cd/mp3 input. Level and/or volume controls for everything, combined with a direct outs let this thing work as a 4 channel mixer if needed. The loops and drums are great, and you can add more as wav files on an SD card. Firmware can be updated, which has already improved my JM4 (came with V2.0). The looping onto a drum track is easy, and overdubs are more easy. Record your own jams/songs, and transfer to the 'puter using an SD card for further editing/ emailing/ cd making. You can bypass amp modeling, and just use the effects, or you can skip those also and run your POD into the JM4.

    The Bad: If you are going to rely on it for background during live performances, you may want to tailor your sets to give you time to update the memory during the set rather then planning a break every 1/2 hour, it is pretty quick if your organized. It doesn't have an input for my FVB Short board. The 2 second preview of songs & drums that are internal, does not preview what is on the SD card as you scroll through the listings.

  • Bill Thompson
    from Orlando, Florida September 2, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    So far so good

    Overall this is a good device. The backing tracks are excellent and you have 300 guitar tones to choose from. The only negatives are that the level of the preset tones varies and there is no deep editing of the effects. When changing keys on the backing tracks the tempo changes also although this hasn't been a big deal to me as this is for me primarily a way to practice new techniques and the change in tempos is a nice challenge. There are some pretty good demo videos on Line 6's site although they just touch the surface of what this can do. This is a good device.

  • ALI
    from raleigh, nc August 11, 2014Music Background:
    amature .play for fun

    JM4

    THIS IS A GOOD PEDAL WITH LOTS OF EXTRAS.. SOUND QUALITY IS NOT AS GOOD AS I WOULD LIKE IT TO BE.BUT VERY NICE FOR PRACTICE ,AND JAMMS.I'M HAPPY WITH MAY CHOCE.

  • Van Asperen
    from Hawaii January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Surf music by old surfer

    It keeps me playing

    I use the drum tracks mostly and I love what that adds to any song. You can play the same song (chord progression) at different drum speeds and the thing morphs and the ideas come even with pleasant sounding "mistakes" that you record and then expand on later. Great for song creation. Purists will call it a toy. 30 years ago this would be "magic"

  • Mark Wallace
    from St. Louis, MO May 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, song writer.

    It Jams

    This is n all around great unit. Looks great, sounds great and built to last. Per other reviews I've read, I agree, not for using in live gigs and does not have the most extensive set of looping features. That said, if you want to jam along with it to practice your playing or use as a scratch pad to work on your own hooks, riffs, licks etc. it is pretty awesome. It sounds decent coming through an amp but in head phones it sounds totally awesome. Two things that would get it a perfect 5 star rating from me is an on and off switch and an input for my Variax guitar, which is also one of their products, both of these seem like a no brainner but hey, I don't own the company. All and all an excellent product

  • paul mcintyre
    from nova scotia canada September 11, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    good-n-bad

    this is my 1st purchase of a line-6 product and as far as quality go's i'm well impressed this thing is built like a tank and looks like a roll-royce.
    once you've been through the manual it all makes sence and there is lots more info on the line-6 website, the backing tracks are good, they have intros but no endings which i found sought of spoilt things somewhat, i spose you could download some tracks to sd card and work things that way.all said the machine has been well thought out, you can even rename your recordings with plenty of other options too:

  • Ken
    from Scio, Oregon September 12, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Line JM 4 6 Looper

    Not a bad unit. Looks great. Built like a rock. It is very solid and should hold up to every night use. It was very easy to use. If you get stuck you can thumb thru the manual and find most anything you need to know very fast. I would have liked to see a foot controlled switch for changing between the Guitar and the Mic so that you could record the guitar as needed and then the mic as needed, but other than that it had some great backing tracks to play along with or to create your own songs.Another nice feature, it comes with the power supply. Nothing else to buy except maybe some extra cables to hook it to your amp and mixer if you want stereo sound.

  • Andrew Murphy
    from United States November 19, 2012Music Background:
    been playing in bands for over a decade

    buy the green one this one is only ok

    only good for practice. DO NOT BUY FOR LIVE USE!!!!!!!!!
    NOT CONDUCIVE TO LIVE SETTING
    tomuch screan reading and foot switches dont alwaYS WORK

    NOT FOR LIVE USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    but great practice tool!!!!!!

  • Customer
    from June 20, 2016

    SD card

    It would be great if the SD card would work. Cannot format the card and the Looper want's a FAT16 format. My computers don't have that and you have to format the card in your computer before you format in the pedal which doesn't work.

  • Mark Wilson
    from Reno/Tahoe February 8, 2014Music Background:
    full time pro guitar player for 37 years

    Not for stage

    All the reviews I see here are from hobbyists and home studio folks. This thing doesn't work easily onstage, is complicated, and my biggest complaint is that when I use the tuner, it ignores the "bypass" and pulls up a modeling amp tone that I have to shut off every time. Power supply cord isn't very robust, and I've had to repair it. In its defense, I didn't need most of what this offers- if you want a studio modeler, drum machines and have time to program it before a specific use, it's probably OK. I think Line 6 has improved their signal/noise ratio a lot over time.

Questions about the Line 6 JM4 Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway