0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

JamHub BedRoom Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    What an elegant solution! The JamHub systems provide a great solution for rehearsing or recording. Equally useful for headphone mixing and monitoring. Every band should have something like this!

  • from Lancaster California January 29, 2013Music Background:
    Bass player

    The Jamhub Bedroom

    Great for jammin and learning new song with the group.
    Being able to tunr down the other member helps you learn
    your part without hearing the other guys

  • from Atlanta, GA July 5, 2011Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Awesome practice tool!

    Like other reviews here, I decided to give this a try as a concession to loud basement band rehearsals. We have a four piece band, and found this very easy to set up and use. ( One tip: make sure you have TRS stereo cables available or get the cable pack - or you'll wind up with mono sound in one side only. )

    The thing just WORKS as advertised. Once we adjusted after a few minutes to playing thru headphones, everyone in band was happy with their mix. My wife was happy to not have to leave the house during practice.

    Best benefit, we could actually hear vocals clearly and practice has improved big-time. We will end up rehearsing more due to the convenience of not bothering anyone.

  • from Cincinnati, OH USA April 22, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Recording/Mix Engineering Enthusiast

    VERY Pleased

    I play in a touring worship choir and the band was looking for a better way to hear each other. The cost of an in-ear monitor system was prohibitive, but the JamHub seemed just the ticket.

    We've now used it for 2 performances and the sound quality is exceptional. Not only are the band members hearing themselves in pristine stereo, but we are using the headphone out of the back channel (5) to feed the choir monitor since the JamHub’s sound is so good. It has tightened up both the band AND the choir. Best $300.00 I've spend in a long time.

  • from Shelton, CT December 28, 2009Music Background:
    Guitarist/Composer/Producer

    Love it!

    I've been waiting for a product like this to come along and have to say that it's everything I've wanted and more. The sound is fantastic and the features are terrific. Using the JamHub for rehearsals one feels as if they are in a professional recording studio. Everybody gets to dial in their own mix and hear the music they way they would like, elevating the level of playing. I also love the ability to record rehearsals with my Edirol R-09 and so does the rest of the band. The JamHub is to me like wheels on luggage are to a frequent flier.

  • from Texas November 25, 2009Music Background:
    Musician

    Great tool!

    We are a gigging weekend band of veterans that practices about twice a month in the drummer's recording studio. We just wanted to be neighborly and not bug folks. However, the Jamhub had a bonus side effect - we could hear each other really well. We were able to tighten up harmonies and such on several songs the first night we used it.

    It's more than just keeping the noise down. It improved the quality of our practice. Very nice.

  • from Black Eagle, MT April 28, 2016

    Awesome Rehearsal tool

    Drums, Bass, Guitar and 2 vocals
    Roland e-drums, Gallien-Krueger bass head, Line 6 Guitar effects, Beta 58A's Mics,assorted headphones

    Recently had to change our rehearsal location to a noise sensitive area. After hours of research I decided to purchase JamHub bedroom. I had reserved thoughts on how the other band members would adapt to rehearsing via headphones but we discussed together and agreed to give it a try. Setup up was a breeze, dialing in levels took a few minutes.Next rehearsal we we separated instruments from vocals so each instrument and vocal has its own output and can be independently controlled. The outputs are a bit noisy after 12 oclock but we didn't have to boost output volume past that and is certainly not noticeable when rehearsing. We had good clarity with each instrument and vocal (really helped define areas of improvement for us) and I had no more elevated tinnitus (especially bad basement rehearsing even using ear protection).
    From our prospective Jamhub is a great value and has far exceeded our expectations!

  • from Yorba Linda CA October 21, 2013Music Background:
    played 40 + years, teach and perform, have worked in studios, and backed up grammy award winners.

    I like it

    This item does what it says it does. I teach guitar, bass and mandolin, and I also coach a trio of new players in a group they are forming. They were having a hard time hearing parts, so we got the JamHub to enable each person to dial in their own mixes. It resolved most of the problem. There is still some room for improvement, mainly in the noise reduction factor, but I like it. It is functional and gave us what we needed. I also use it for one on one classes in coffee shops. I meet a bass player in a coffee shop for a lesson and we just plug in and play.
    The effects are counter-intuitive, in that the effects knob on the channel is not a traditional send to effects, but rather is turning up the effects on your headphone mix, if that makes any sense. I took half off, only because I think the stereo inputs on the instruments is short sighted. They should have made several channels mono or given two input jacks, left and right.

  • from January 30, 2012

    Great unit, easy to use

    Good sound, having lots of fun with it

  • from Dayton,Oh USA September 9, 2014

    Jamhub Bedroom

    It works well,but it has some tweaks.....all models should have the phantom power included,this one doesn't......but the effects are nice,and I like it over all except the power plug comes out of the unit if bumped....It doesn't fit in the jamhub we'll at all...If these things were fixed I would upgrade to 4 1/2 star rating!

  • from Washington State May 27, 2016Music Background:
    50 years as a musician and recording engineer

    Not impressed with component quality

    Jacks are low-quality. Crackling noise and intermittent connections if you bump them, The rotary FX switch cuts in and out and there's often noise from it. The power connector does not seat securely, often powering the unit off if you accidentally bump it.

    Audio quality is poor on microphone channels, with thin sound and distortion even if you're careful not to overdrive them. With no tone controls there is enormous tonal variation when you plug in dissimilar microphones, making it difficult to establish a vocal balance.

    Instrument channel gain isn't sufficient to plug a bass in directly in without some kind of pre-amplification such as a line out from the bass amp. The only thing that sounds OK through it is keyboards, although I have to use the synth's headphone output since the JamHub expects a TRS stereo input and there is apparently no such thing as a 1/4" dual-mono to TRS adapter in existence. It would be nice if the manufacturer offered one.

    I guess I shouldn't expect too much at this price point, but 300 bucks is 300 bucks down the drain if it's not practical to use. My band refuses to use it, so it'll just be an expensive headphone amplifier going forward.

    It's still worth 2.5 stars because the idea is good, it's compact and despite my complaints is actually usable - but I would not buy another one.

Reviews

  • Daniel Fisher
    9-19-2012

    Let me be perfectly clear: The JamHub is not just another musical tool; it is a key ingredient for a more enjoyable quality of life. Bold statement? Yes it is; but for me (family activities aside), I find that jamming with talented friends to be the most exciting and soul satisfying thing I like to do on a night off.

    In the old days (pre-children) we'd all turn up our amps and PA just loud enough so that everyone could hear everything well enough to play. Within minutes each person would turn up "just a little bit more" so that they could hear their own voice and instrument best. Before long we'd all be loud, but it sounded pretty good. Today though, even the initial soft volume is "way too loud" for my house. Just when everybody's groovin', I'll get the inevitable, "Turn It Down!!"

    So I thought, "No problem, I own plenty of gear and I have a headphone amp; I'll just have everybody bring headphones and it'll be magic." But it *NEVER* worked. The unchanging truth is that every musician needs to hear themselves "just a little louder" than everyone else to play their best, and the single headphone mix made everyone unhappy. Plus, almost all the musicians were using stereo effects and my mixer just doesn't have 14 Aux Sends.

    The JamHub is a perfectly elegant solution to this universal problem. Each of the musicians now gets a TRS line-level stereo input, perfect for keyboards, guitar and bass processors, electronic drum kits and groove boxes, or even the headphone output of your iPod, iPad, or computer. Plus, they each get an XLR for their microphone (phantom power is available on the GreenRoom and TourBus). Now it's easy for each musician to balance the levels of all the other musicians. All the vocal mics have individual send amounts to a global vocal effect processor.
    It's amazing how much better everybody plays and sings when they're happy with their mix. The resulting music will be so good that you'll want to record it via the stereo recording out channel with its own mixer and TRS output (USB output is available on the GreenRoom and TourBus). The TourBus even adds an SD card recorder to archive every moment of the jam. (Connect it to powered speakers and you have a live show with stereo personal monitors!!!)

    Note to parents of teen musicians: Imagine a quiet Saturday afternoon at home without hearing the same three chords all day... priceless!

    And don't forget the optional SoleMix Remote mixing module that effectively lets you have your slice of the pizza 12' away from the JamHub. Headphone maker, Direct Sound, has partnered with the JamHub to create bundles (5-pack or 7-pack) of their EX-25 and EX-29 Extreme Isolation headphones that turn the JamHub into a pro-quality rehearsal facility.

    And finally, to those of you with lots of gear in your house who are thinking, "I'll bet I already have enough stuff to do all this," just consider that the whole JamHub can rest in your open hand and weighs 5 lbs. or less. And it's ready to go within a minute of everybody plugging in. More importantly, you don't have to tear up your studio trying to get this to work. From my heart I promise you: Just one jam session with out-of-town friends you rarely get to see will make you glad you own a JamHub.

  • Daniel Fisher
    8-26-2011

    As I enter my 50th year of life, I find myself thinking about what is important to me and, more specifically, what situations provide the most memorable fun and enjoyment. Family activities aside, I find that jamming with talented friends is the most exciting and soul-satisfying thing I like to do on a night off.

    In the old days (pre-children), we'd all turn up our amps just loud enough so that we could all hear ourselves well enough to play. Within minutes, each person would turn up "just a little bit more." Before long, we'd all be loud, but it sounded pretty good. Today, though, even the initial soft volume is way too loud for my house. Just when everybody's groovin', I'll get the inevitable, "Turn it down!"

    So I said to myself, "No problem. I own plenty of gear, and I have a headphone amp. I'll just have everybody bring headphones, and it'll be magic." But it never was. The unchanging truth is that musicians need to hear themselves "just a little louder" than everyone else in order to play their best, and the single headphone mix made everyone unhappy. Plus, almost all the musicians were using stereo effects, and my mixer just doesn't have 14 sends.

    Enter the JamHub. There are three models to choose from: the BedRoom (5 sections, 15 audio channels), the GreenRoom (7 sections, 21 audio channels), and the TourBus (7 sections, 21 audio channels, an onboard SD recorder, and more). Each musician gets a TRS line-level stereo input, perfect for keyboards, guitar and bass processors, and electronic drum kits and groove boxes - even the headphone output of your iPod, iPad, or computer. Then they each get an XLR for their microphone (phantom power is available on the GreenRoom and the TourBus). It's easy for each musician to balance the levels of all the other musicians. All the vocal mics have individual send amounts to a global vocal effects processor.

    It's amazing how much better musicians play and sing when they're happy with their mix. The resulting music will be so good that you'll want to record it via the stereo recording output channel, which has its own mixer and TRS output (USB output available on the GreenRoom and the TourBus). The TourBus even adds an SD card recorder to archive every moment of the jam.
    There is also an optional remote mixing module, the SoleMix Remote, that effectively lets you have your slice of the pizza 12' away from the JamHub. The BedRoom has one connector for a single SoleMix. The GreenRoom and the TourBus each have four SoleMix connectors - and these models each come with one SoleMix Remote.

    Headphone maker Direct Sound has partnered with the JamHub to create bundles (5-pack or 7-pack) of their EX-25 and EX-29 Extreme Isolation headphones. These headphones turn the JamHub into a pro-quality rehearsal facility. Each headphone is color coordinated to match a specific channel.

    And finally, to those of you with lots of gear in your house, who are thinking, "I bet I already have enough stuff to do all this," just consider that the whole JamHub can rest in your open hand; it weighs less than 5 lbs.! And it's ready to go within a minute of everybody plugging in. More importantly, you don't have to tear up your studio trying to get this to work. I promise you this: just one jam session with friends you rarely get to see will make you glad you own a JamHub.

  • Daniel Fisher
    6-30-2011

    Let me be perfectly clear: The JamHub is not just another musical tool; it is a key ingredient for a more enjoyable quality of life. Bold statement? Yes it is; but for me (family activities aside), I find that jamming with talented friends to be the most exciting and soul satisfying thing I like to do on a night off.

    In the old days (pre-children) we'd all turn up our amps and PA just loud enough so that everyone could hear everything well enough to play. Within minutes each person would turn up "just a little bit more" so that they could hear their own voice and instrument best. Before long we'd all be loud, but it sounded pretty good. Today though, even the initial soft volume is "way too loud" for my house. Just when everybody's groovin', I'll get the inevitable, "Turn It Down!!"

    So I thought, "No problem, I own plenty of gear and I have a headphone amp; I'll just have everybody bring headphones and it'll be magic." But it *NEVER* worked. The unchanging truth is that every musician needs to hear themselves "just a little louder" than everyone else to play their best, and the single headphone mix made everyone unhappy. Plus, almost all the musicians were using stereo effects and my mixer just doesn't have 14 Aux Sends.

    The JamHub is a perfectly elegant solution to this universal problem. Each of the musicians now gets a TRS line-level stereo input, perfect for keyboards, guitar and bass processors, electronic drum kits and groove boxes, or even the headphone output of your iPod, iPad, or computer. Plus, they each get an XLR for their microphone (phantom power is available on the GreenRoom and TourBus). Now it's easy for each musician to balance the levels of all the other musicians. All the vocal mics have individual send amounts to a global vocal effect processor.
    It's amazing how much better everybody plays and sings when they're happy with their mix. The resulting music will be so good that you'll want to record it via the stereo recording out channel with its own mixer and TRS output (USB output is available on the GreenRoom and TourBus). The TourBus even adds an SD card recorder to archive every moment of the jam. (Connect it to powered speakers and you have a live show with stereo personal monitors!!!)

    Note to parents of teen musicians: Imagine a quiet Saturday afternoon at home without hearing the same three chords all day... priceless!

    And don't forget the optional SoleMix Remote mixing module that effectively lets you have your slice of the pizza 12' away from the JamHub. Headphone maker, Direct Sound, has partnered with the JamHub to create bundles (5-pack or 7-pack) of their EX-25 and EX-29 Extreme Isolation headphones that turn the JamHub into a pro-quality rehearsal facility.

    And finally, to those of you with lots of gear in your house who are thinking, "I'll bet I already have enough stuff to do all this," just consider that the whole JamHub can rest in your open hand and weighs 5 lbs. or less. And it's ready to go within a minute of everybody plugging in. More importantly, you don't have to tear up your studio trying to get this to work. From my heart I promise you: Just one jam session with out-of-town friends you rarely get to see will make you glad you own a JamHub.

Questions about the JamHub BedRoom?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway