rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

JDK Audio R24 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the JDK Audio R24?

Questions about the JDK Audio R24?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Austin, TX December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, pro Musician, 30 year experience.

    Do yourself a favor, Buy an R24 !

    I bought my first R24 a few months ago. It has changer my mixes. I use it on my Mix Bus when everything is mixed. It works really well and is very subtle and musical. I love the top end ! it opens up the field. I just bough a second one i like it so much ! I own vintage API560, 550a, 550b, UREI EQs, etc... This baby rocks and gives me a different tone. I just love it. I've even used it on some mastering jobs. It worked great with my C2 Smart. It is NOT a surgical EQ ! But it's a good enhancer. The top end sounds so much more musical than any plugin, Hardware EQ is where it's at ! IMHO it's worth every penny.

  • from Houston,Tx June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing&Mastering

    Mastering EQ

    Great Eq for mastering . It is the polish to a master . Final Eq coat. Nice Low end to it and hi End .

  • from Boca Raton, Fl. USA November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician and educator.

    Fantastic Equalizer

    I just got it 2 weeks ago and using it with my MBox Pro 3rd Generation, for recording acoustic guitar mostly. Extremely clean, not coloration on the sound and it can be very addictive. With this Eq i can get the sound that inspire me to play better and specially like the idea of getting the right sound from the beginning. Love the high frequencies, very pleasant sound. I am using it as a insert with my sound card, have not try yet other ways. Soon I wil be getting the JDK compressor . Thanks to Sweetwater staff for helping and guiding me to get the right gear.

  • from Nashville, TN July 24, 2011Music Background:
    mix and recording engineer

    scary good for $1000

    Picked this EQ up at Gearfest this year because it had 4 bands and the ties to API. Didn't know what to expect but I when got home and hooked this up I was beyond impressed. Not going to name drop but I shot this EQ out against a very popular $2500 EQ and the JDK destroyed. Even running the EQ flat added punch and presence, where the other EQ sounded dull. I used this on drum buss, vocals, and mix buss. Love this EQ

  • from Ashburn, VA November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musican, Engineer, Mixer

    Smoooooooooth

    I love this EQ! Bought a demo of it in the deal zone the moment it popped up.

    Evening running things through it flat adds warmth and presence. I shot this against a 550a which seemed cold. The R24 boosts mids and high beautifully without a hint of harshness. It's awesome on Overheads.

    I gave it 4.5 because there's no HPF and boasting the lows doesn't have the effect I had hoped for. Overall this eq is more then worth the money and brings a mojo to my tracks that wasn't there before.

    I will be buying their stereo comp next.

  • from USA August 12, 2014Music Background:
    everything

    Taken from a tank!

    So... let me start off by saying I am not a hardware purist in the least. I love mixing in the box and using all the great plugins that we are fortunate to have in the year 2014. Whenever I do invest in a hardware piece, I try to grab something wacky that has a unique sound difficult to emulate in a plugin.

    This was my first "normal" piece of outboard processing (other than input stuff of course) so I was rolling the dice a bit, working off reviews and trusting the API lineage.


    Overall I am very satisfied with this EQ. I feel that it covers a wide range without being smeary or overbearing. The mid bands in particular allow the user to coax out some subtle details of a mix without bringing too many harsh artifacts to the forefront. I feel the APIish love on the bottom, and the top is extremely transparent. This is by no means a replacement for a precise digital EQ. I use my digi EQ for specific cuts and shelves, then use the JDK for subtle enhancement.


    Great build quality and pleasing sound... why did it not receive 5 stars? Sadly there is no stereo link on this feature. As I feel it excels at 2 buss duties, a stereo link is a must. The pots are not even stepped! How are users meant to match both sides? Eyeballing it? It does seem like JDK really dropped the ball with the lack of both a stereo link option and stepped pots. Hopefully they revise this in the future.

    All things considered, this is a good unit that I will use mostly for sweetening.

  • from Union, KY March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Chief Engineer

    Good 2 buss Q

    Its a really nice and smooth eq. I wish it had a bit more control like band width control on the mid freq's and shelving on the top an bottom. Its not for everyone. It is a nice 2buss q, but for individial things other than vocals I find it too broad/smooth/general

Questions about the JDK Audio R24?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway