0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

JDK Audio R22 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the JDK Audio R22?

Questions about the JDK Audio R22?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 1, 2016

    JDK R22

    Great bang for the buck!
    USA made, API owned, can't beat that for $1000.

    The automatic attack / release circuitry responds nicely and accurately based on the input signal.
    That saves time.

    Transparent signal.

    The THRUST option nicely preserves or even slightly pushes up your high frequency volume.

    Great choice for a tracking compressor or a 2-buss compressor.

  • from Austin, TX December 21, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, pro Musician, 30 year experience.

    Incredible Bang for your Buck !

    I don't write very many reviews, BUT... This time I have to. I own a lot of API outboard gear (3124, 560, 550, etc...) so I know what to expect from an API product. This compressor is just great. Even without an attack and release control. It almost act like an EQ when just use it very gently. It opens up the top very nicely and musically. The THRUST control is very cool. i own a C2 SMART so and this peace does a little of the same thing when used with 2:1 ratio and only 2db of gain reduction. Very subtle but very sweet. I believe in adding a little bit at a time in my mixes, and in the end the result is a lot more musical and dynamic. This compressor is a very big surprise. A very good one ! The link option makes it great for subtle Mix bus comp. It's built like a tank ! The JDK gear a=is really cool because it's very gentle to my ears, but make a big difference in the end. IMHO It's worth every penny. If JDK decided to build a version of the R22 with attack and release it would be awesome. But I love this one. i also own two R24 EQ. They are great too. I hope this help.

  • from July 25, 2012Music Background:
    20+ years playing music, 10+ years as a home recording enthusiast

    Fantastic Outboard Compressor

    Purchased a JDK R22 dual mono / stereo compressor along with a JDK R20 dual mic pre, for my first upgrade to high-quality pres/compressors. An amazing pair on acoustic guitars (strummed and finderpicked) and on vocals. The compressor does an excellent job of reducing dynamics with very little obvious compression. You can compress fairly heavily and the output still sounds very natural.
    Tried the R22 out as part of the outboard effects loop on the Line6 POD HD Pro and it works beautifully as a stereo compressor for electric guitars as well.

  • from Champaign, IL March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    3D

    I had read many great reviews about the R22, but WOW! It won me over instantly, after throwing it on my drum bus. It immediately gave the drums that 3D feel after flipping the "thrust" switch. It also made everything juoutline through exactly where it needed to in the mix. What a great product, and you know API is proud of their new JDK Audio line when the the inspection tag has the API logo on it. :)

  • from Destin, Fl June 20, 2011Music Background:
    Writer.

    Compliments my Vintech Dual 72 nicely.

    The unit IMO is well worth the money. Sounds fantastic and thickens things up nicely. Even if you never turn on, your rack will look better.

    Buy it.

  • from CA. October 30, 2010Music Background:
    Musician,Recording Engineer.

    HOLY @#*&%!

    The R22 is a winner!This box totally exceeded my expectations.I tried it on a stereo drum bus first.WOW so much more punch,and the snare drum jumped out with a fatness that just wasn't there before.And it did not produce any unwanted color.Then I ran it on a master bus! It definitely took away the digital harshness and gave a touch of that analog vibe and kind of glued every thing together.The thrust circuit was nice for this task as well.But my favorite so far was tracking guitars through it.I miked a Soldono half stack , with this signal chain.2 sm57's+Vintech 1272+JDK R22+Apogee rosetta 200, I could not believe the results!Best rock tone I have got in a long time.When I bypassed the R22 the difference was amazing.The unit is built very solid and looks awesome in my rack.Not to mention the price tag is extra sweet too.Makes me wonder if JDK's EQ and Preamp are just as cool.I would definitely recommend giving the R22 a shot it is worth every penny!

  • from Arlington, Tx April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, engineer, hobbyist

    Smooth Compression

    I find this most suitable for vocal and general compression. You can squash the signal quite a bit with no obvious artifacts. I really miss the attack and release controls but it can yield great results without them. One of the best things about this is the output gain, you can crank it up and it sounds beautiful. I use this as a stereo comp on master buss and I really like it. You probably won't regret buying this.

  • from goddad, KS December 22, 2014Music Background:
    musician, mixer, producer

    Fist day happy!!

    Just got this bad boy , First test was a quick mastering session I used It just as a compressor not much gain reduction and a 1.5 ratio it did exactly what i was after , help me to get a real loud level to run a waves maximizer on the last stage for a -9 rms final product . Next I tried it on a little on a snare fill for a rap beat , it brought life to it and added the color or eq i was after 2 didnt even have to trow a eq on it after the fact. Next I tried a vocal track ran it at a ratio of 3 on the trust on and hard knee and the levels of the track was almost perfect with now volume editing or automation , I did have to turn one part up a tad but thats better than doing tuns of vol editing. Also the color and tone it added to my vocals was very nice . It is very easy to use so far , It has no attck or relase but it seems to know what to do automaticly . I will give it more stars and write a better review once I become familliar with ! I would say for the price its a nice simi pro peace of gear , and to be satisfied the first day , first few hours im sold!

Questions about the JDK Audio R22?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway