0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Radial JDI - Jensen Equipped 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box Reviews

5.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Radial JDI - Jensen Equipped 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Radial JDI - Jensen Equipped 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    This JDI is an answered prayer to sound guys. Even though it's passive, the Jensen transformer allows for completely transparent level transformation. If you need the best passive DI, get the JDI, or JDIduplex. You'll be glad you did. Also it doesn't hurt that they are built like a tank, literally (but no turret).

    Another cool uniqueness about the JDI/duplex is that it can be put in parallel with a speaker allowing for capturing the guitar sound after it's been distorted by amp AND speaker!

    ANOTHER cool function is the JDI's "merge" that allows a stereo device to be merged correctly into mono and sent out the JDI's output.

    Another cool thing is... ok, I'll stop. Just get one, you'll see! (or hear!)

  • from Bones December 16, 2016

    The Cure for Buzz and Bad Tone

    I have a wonderful UA solo 610 running into an Antelope Zen Studio. Great sounds, but man, i've always had an issue with hum and buzz. I use a Fender Dimension bass with active pick-ups and was so impressed with the active DI, i tried this to help the bass. I usually run my Bass (or guitar) into the Solo 610 and have the clean signal go into my Zen and then use the through on the Solo 610 go through effects into the Zen as a colored signal. I've never had luck with the through on the Solo, its loud, lots of hum and buzz.

    I plugged the JDI in, used the through...hit the ground lift and wow, in all seriousness, i couldn't believe what happened. 100% noise gone. I have a furman power conditionare rack unit and it wasn't until i got the JDI (and the active DI as well for my guitar) that i really heard my gear sing. I use the DI then into my Solo610, its just insane how good it sounds now. The ground lift on the Solo never solved my issues, but this box did.

    I never really 'got' the whole thing about DI boxes, but this thing just solved so many issues. Sound quality of my pre-amps are dramatically improved.

    Believe the hype.

  • from utah November 17, 2016

    Great Passive DI

    Works very well with my instruments that have pickups that are a bit too hot for my J48. This is a great DI, and it comes with the typical build quality that you'd expect from Radial Engineering.

  • from Joshua Tree, CA September 16, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer

    The Best DI Ever

    I love this wonderful DI Box Really transparent sound and rugged, rugged, rugged. I use it all the time.

  • from Central Ohio September 8, 2016

    JDI Works Great!

    Need a passive? Go Radial JDI. Everything you need; nothing you don't.

  • from May 26, 2016

    Best

    So fresh and so clean. Guitar and bass sound like they were intended through this.

  • from The Deep South May 14, 2016Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Best of the Best

    Radial makes some of the finest gear. Their
    attention to detail is unparrelled. You get what you pay for. This unit compliments my active J48 unit. No batteries needed. This unit doesn't color your instruments sound. If used with passive pickups you'll need to boost the gain on your amp or mixer a bit. Works great with my Fender Jazz and Precision Basses. Highly recommended.

  • from November 6, 2015

    Great Passive DI

    For active basses/instruments I love the Radial JDI, and for the Passive Instruments I love the Countrymen Type 11.

    Nothing like a direct box with a Jenson transformer! Good sounding stuff! Don't waste your time with other passive direct boxes because the transformer is what companies skimp out on on the most. If it doesn't have a Jensen, Cinemag or Luhndal then save your money and get one that does.

  • from Gibsonville, NC September 8, 2015Music Background:
    40 years of concert, theatrical and broadcast audio

    No stage amps!

    Our last First Saturday on the Greens summer concert featured a singer/songwriter. He had two acoustic guitars with pickups into his pedal board. No amps on stage and he didn't want any monitors, just a vocal mic. We used the Radial JDI into our snake and the sound was perfect. Rugged and rider friendly this is a great product.

  • from Dallas-Fort Worth Metro area, TX March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Recording, Live Sound, Mixing & Master Engineer, Pro Musician

    Traben High Output Active Bass

    The Radial Engineering JDI Passive DI box was purchased to resolve a distortion problem when using the Radial Engineering J48 DI Box with a Traben Array series active bass.

    The J48 is a great DI box. While it has a higher rail voltage and was useable to a degree, I had to engage the -15 dB pad and not turn the volume pot higher than 25% before distorting. The J48 is better for moderate output basses, acoustic-electrics, passive basses and guitars.

    I tried the JDI. Now I can turn the volume pot all the way up with zero distortion. It is just as silent and flavorful as the J48. It's built like a tank. It performs extremely well and has a great tone. The THRU jack is very useful in blending DI and mic'd cabinets for a custom sound with 100% control over the source in either studio or in live situations. It gets the job done reliably.

    I highly recommend if you have a very high output active bass like a Traben.

  • from Highland, IN January 1, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Awesoem piece of Equipment

    Needed something that was QUIET. One of the campuses I play for with my church is a setup and take down every weekend and it seemed that my pedal board was either hit or miss as far as noise when using the DI on my Tone Hammer or TECH 21 PBDI. So I decided after reading other reviews on this product and watching the video that I would try this. Man am I glad I did. Have not had any problems since and my tone is better than ever.

  • from Columbus, IN July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Worth the price

    I traded this box out for less expensive DI boxes and was very pleased with the difference. Our worship band drummer immediately could tell the difference in his electronic drums and the keyboard clarity was exceptional. My 12 string guitar has amazing clarity as well. These are well worth the extra expense over cheaper boxes.

  • from March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Lives up to it's billing

    This DI box is everything advertised. Sounds awesome, especially with a wide spectrum input like keyboard. Built like a tank. We have been gradually adding to our collection of JDI's for going on 5 years and have never had a problem. Expensive, but worth it.

  • from Tehachapi, CA November 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Radial JDI

    Couldn't have gotten the job done without it. Thanks for getting it to me so quick.

  • from Dayton Ohio November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer & Pro Musician

    Great Sounding DI for Accoustic

    Wow! We stepped up from an in-expensive di to this one for our acoustic guitar and it was a world of difference. The sound is clean and very easy to mix. The unit is build solid and feels like it should last a long time.

  • from Iowa City, Ia October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter / Home studio engineer.

    clean, focused, dynamic

    I bought this box primarily as insurance for gigs. Short of bringing my own board and amps to a gig, this does the most to deliver the sound of my guitar to the FOH mix . Acoustic guitars with a pickup are bad enough without signal loss and lack of headroom. The JDI with a Baggs Lyric system has to be great combo to keep my acoustic guitar sounding like an acoustic guitar! In my studio, I also compared the tone of a bass into my instrument input vs. into the JDI and mic level pre. The JDI seems to keep the tone balanced while instrument input seemed to impart a more "driven" sound. Either tone would work in different recording situations, but it's nice to be able to get good clean (full range) tone. As far a build goes, it's hard to imagine a better built piece of equipment -- Really solid. Also, I Appreciate the polarity reverse and ground lift options. Many times you don't need them , but when you do, there's not much else that does the trick to get rid of a miserable hum. Well thought out and easy to use. Thanks Radial!

  • from Santa Rosa, CA June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, musician (bass)

    Love thi sDI

    I LOVE this DI! I just got it , but I have already used it on a number of live projects. I do sound for live acts, many for whom I have very little setup time and sound check time. this DI just shines. Ahh, the life of a sound tech...
    The DI sounds great and is very quiet. These features plus the ease of setup make my setup time very brief.

  • from Kailua, HI January 28, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Producer

    Cleanest AND Warmest I've heard

    I bought this DI for recording a bass with 18 watt active electronics. One day I decided to try it on acoustic (my main instrument), and was completely blown away! The first thing I noticed was the lack of distortion—distortion that I didn't even notice before was just not there, and the resulting tone was a huge relief to the ears. Notes in dissonant chords now blend together like they're supposed to, rather than clashing with each other. It allowed a layer of dynamics to shine through that was just missing with my LR Baggs Para DI. I actually had to practice with it for a while, because of how sensitive it was to my attack.

    This box also warms up the top end slightly compared to active DI boxes—this is not necessarily bad, but good to keep in mind before buying. If you prefer the extra crispness of active DIs, look elsewhere (the JDV would be the active equivalent to this box). While the JDI doesn't "dull" the sound necessarily, it does soften the 10k+ range a little. The transformer also adds some saturation when driven hard, causing notes with harder attack to "pop," in a way that's almost similar to tube compression. It's a very warm and pleasant sound, that remains clear without the bite of an active DI. There's a very analog feel to this DI which, once I got used to it, completely won me over. I HIGHLY recommend it!

  • from Lake Elsinore ca USA December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    JDI Passive direct box

    As a long time Taylor player I don't usually like the sound as much plugged in. There is what I perceive as a plastic midrange sound that sounds less appealing than when you mic up the guitar properly. With the JDI I was able to capture more of the true sound of the instrument plugged in. Although the difference may seem subtle to some ears it appealed to mine and made me want to play.

  • from hawaii USA September 26, 2012Music Background:
    hoppyist

    nice

    yep love em. warm clean sound.

  • from Dallas, Texas March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Only The Purest

    Some people believe if they buy a better pre-amp, better studio monitors, or special $200 xlr cables that their sound will be better. Let me tell you, look at your existing signal chain, if you do not have a high quality DI in line, start there. The difference was not just a small difference that only engineers would hear, but not the end user. This difference between this JDI and a $50 DI is astounding. You owe yourself to get one of these, and to all you guitar players out there, carry one of these with you and you will have a perfect sound.

    I had this guy on an acoustic side by side with an Avalon U5, and the JDI was the clear winner (it may have been the tone setting on the U5, but that was the guitar players call, not mine)

    The clarity, dynamic range, and overall fidelity of this DI is worth way more than the price.

  • from Cool, California December 1, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician (vocalist), recording engineer

    The Radial JDI Box

    This box is without doubt one of the best additions to my Studio to date. I recently recorded a jazz album and had the JDI box running through an unright accoustic bass. The signal was clean and constant and the bass sounded natural.

    I also ran this box with my Kurzweil keyboard, the same result. It a produced clean and constant sound throughout the entire nrecording process.

    This is excellent value for the price and if you want to get the job done right, then the JDI box is the one you will need.

  • from Chicago June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Radial - the way to go for a DI

    I was using a cheap live wire DI for my acoustic on stage and at a show a sound guy had one of these and said he wouldn't let me use anything else that night. I also tried a country man too which sounded incredible. We use IEM's so it's easy to tell the difference between a great DI and a crappy one when the sound is right in your ear. The live wire was not as clear / crisp. Sweetwater recommended this one also and the tone out of my Taylor Acoustic is awesome. The only draw back is that it's a little larger and heavy adding a tad bit more weight to the gig bag but the weight is worth the added tone and beyond!

  • from Huntington, IN October 2, 2007Music Background:
    Audio Technician/Student

    Great Passive DI

    I had been mulling over which DI to get and I chose to get this one. I know of Jensen transformers' reputation so I figured that a DI with one would be a great investment. As a passive DI, this thing rocks! The merge function is fantastic and I'm so glad that it can handle practically any level thrown at it with ease and without distortion. My next investment will be a good active DI for those pesky, cheap, and passive acoustic guitar pickups that so many college students seem to like. You CAN NOT go wrong with this DI...

Questions about the Radial JDI - Jensen Equipped 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway