0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Marshall JCM900 4100 100-watt 2-channel Tube Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 6 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall JCM900 4100 100-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Questions about the Marshall JCM900 4100 100-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from New Jersey May 1, 2017

    King of Tone

    I own several Marshalls, a Mesa Mark V, a couple Peavey's, and have played on many others as well... I love and appreciate the different tones of all my equipment and others I have played (I am a tone junkie, and never met a tube amp I didn't like...). I am very fortunate that I can have a few great amps, But, if I had to pick 1 amp as my favorite, and only have one amp. IT WOULD EASILY BE THE MARSHALL JCM 900 4100. The heavy metal tone, and the clean tone out of this amp is KILLER!!!... The heavy tone on this is great alone, but if you want even more atttack, a Boss disto pedal with the disto on 1 and level about half puts this thing over the top. Everyone gets hung up on these new "so called" super ultra gain amps that do not need a pedal at all. Well, I own a couple of those, and IMHO, the JCM 900 sounds better then those. Yeah, sometimes you may want to use a pedal with the 900 for a little more edge, but fact is, this amp with a pedal sounds better then those amps that do not use one... I recommend this amp more then any other amp. I tell people the Marshall JCM 900 4100 is the single best sounding amp you can buy! and it is one of the easiest to set up, use, and get your tone.

  • from Phoenix, AZ April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Playin' thirty seven years. Rock and Metal.

    Love the JCM 900!

    I have an original from the '90s. I absolutely love this amp. It's an absolute beast! Built like a tank and has that Marshall tone for days! The clean tones are nice and the reverb is great but let's face it - it's the distortion that put Marshall amps on the map. This baby more than delivers when called on to deliver awesome rock tones. Like all of the other Marshalls in the family tree - the louder the better! Speaking of loud - I don't think I've ever had the master volume past 3.5 in the house. At that level, the windows are already rattling from the immense volume this thing cranks out! I can only imagine how loud it would actually be on full throttle without any attenuation. Maybe something akin to a jet engine being tested in the living room?! I use an overdrive pedal to boost the lead channel in order to get that violin-like sustain for modern lead tones and legato runs. The MXR Distortion III is my personal favorite. I've read alot of negative comments online from people who bash the JCM 900 in favor of the JCM 800. Don't believe them. The JCM 900 is a great amp with just a little bit more "grind" in the lead channel compared to the 800. Every once in a while I have the opportunity to play other amps - Orange Rockerverbs, Peavey 5150s/6505s, Friedmans, etc. All of them sound great and I'm tempted to purchase one of my own but then I come home and plug back into my JCM 900 and I'm like, "Nah... I'm good."

  • from gadsden,alabama March 4, 2015Music Background:
    pro musician

    marshall jcm 900 amp

    this is my first marshall and it makes all my line 6 amps seem so worthless.i have a Ibanez tube screamer pedal I run along with 5 others.you don't need them but to get that van halen rhoads Hendrix thing you need them, but the amp by its self is awesome I play les pauls strats and wolfgangs.each guitar sounds amazing.from me to you spend the money don't do like I did and blow thousands on amps that in the end just aren't marshalls.there is a reason why the above mentioned guys played marshalls.

  • from Alaska February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Great Workhorse

    The JCM900 is a great amp that seems to be widely underrated.

    At a gig last weekend, the JCM800 that I was using frazzled out on me, so our bass player quickly brought in his JCM900 for me to use. That JCM900 saved the evening and I have to say that it sounded better than the JCM800 for the venue we were playing at (of course I mean when the 800 was working). I was able to quickly dial in a great tone and it made my Flying V sing, it sounded AWESOME!

    More versatile than the JCM800, and less money.

    Great tone, plenty of LOUD when you need it, but also sounds awesome at lower sound levels when using the low power level output mode.

    The JCM900 is tonally versatile amp that can provide great tones for different sound levels and styles of playing. It ROCKS!

  • from September 14, 2016

    Classic tone and bottom

    I have an original JCM 900 100W half stack from 20 years ago and it's still cranking like new.Serious bottom with this amp and there's no substitute for it's tone and sustain, It blows other amps right off the stage. Who needs cheesy distortion pedals when you have this beast? My setup consists of a Les Paul,Strat or ES 335 plugged straight into this thing and that's it,with the exception of using a Wah or Univibe once in a while for kicks.If you can't get it done with that then you're doing something wrong.Rock on and make their ears ring!!

  • from Denver, CO May 2, 2014Music Background:
    50's Rock -n- Roll, Boogie Woogie Blues, Honky Tonk

    Marshall JCM900 4100 100-Watt 2-Channel

    An extremely reliable tube amp with the ability for dialing in a wide variety of sounds. Especially, the clean channel and reverb sounds very nice. With the addition of a 50 power stage option, this amp offers the flexibility for playing smaller venues. By the time a player spends additional money on other amps, in the long run, think about buying a Marshall and save yourself money. I bought a foot switch on eBay for the channel and reverb selections. I'm very pleased with this amp after playing Peavey's, and Fender's for years. Of course, the power is always there if one needs it. It's a Marshall, what else can I say.

Questions about the Marshall JCM900 4100 100-watt 2-channel Tube Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway