rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass V - Olympic White Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass V - Olympic White?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass V - Olympic White?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ga March 25, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player

    Great Jazz bass

    Best 300$ I've ever spent on a bass for sure! Has a fantastic look, not heavy as a brick, and great tonal range. IM gonna drop some EMGs and make it a beast. At that point it's as equal to an 1000$ bass in my opinion.

  • from Allen, tx October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, studio musician, singer songwriters recording engineer.

    Sweet action (literally)

    Not only 5 stars for sweetwater for taking great care of me, but the sent me this bass. Action was great, intonation spot on, and tone for days. My home studio is a stronger into thanks to this guy! Don't hesitate because it's a squire. My bud Greg has one of these I modified (pickup change) that is the requested bass at his church (over musicians, fenders, etc...).

    Get it!

  • from Cincinnati, OH USA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Session Musician

    Amazing Bass!!

    THIS BASS IS AMAZING FOR THE PRICE!!!! I bought this bass after reading many reviews and trying it out at a local music shop. This thing is a monster with it's tone variance and how well it came out of the box. This is my first time owning a jazz bass style and I have fallen in love. I played this bass the same day for one of my bands shows. Iv never bought anything from Sweetwater before, but after this purchase they will have my business. Very professional and customer service oriented. I received a personal call to verify my order and several emails including when it was shipped, the same day I ordered it, and also my Sales Engineer, Ray, sent me pictures of my bass just to have and show off. I also received follow up emails as well. Overall this is the best purchase and best customer service I have ever received. Amazing bass and an amazing company.

  • from Austin, Tx. USA May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Professional and Hobbyist bassist, Live Sound and Recording Engineer. Pro Tools Certified.

    Stunned by the quality of this bass.

    This bass came very well set up out of the box. Maybe I just got lucky but this bass plays and sounds as good as my American Fender basses. I know that sounds silly but it's true. What a tone monster this thing is. The first couple of days, my fingers were sore because I couldn't put it down. I have 35 years of playing bass under my belt and I am completely blown away by this instrument. I sold a mexican fender 70s jazz bass to buy this one(my wife wouldn't go for me buying any more basses unless I let one go) and I don't miss the MIM fender. This is a much better bass in every way. The tint and gloss of the fretboard is something you will have to see to believe. I am so totally overjoyed with this purchase that I plan to get the 5 string precision version very soon. Dealing with Sweetwater is like a breath of fresh air compared to the other online retailers I have dealt with in the past. Zach and Ryan really made me feel like I was their only customer. Very pleased with them and this amazing bass. I am a believer now. Squier basses have gotten to an amazing level of quality. I don't know how they do it but I have owned many basses over the years and for me, this is a perfect fit. Buy this bass.

  • from Momence IL. February 22, 2014Music Background:
    40 years.

    Pretty Amazing for $300

    I purchased this bass because of some reviews I had read on several blogs, it is white, under 10 lbs. It arrived and played pretty well right out of the box, (Sweetwater is great with QC and setup) and I have a love affair going with it. The tone is quite amazing, and after a little of my own setup to personal preferences, I just love the thing. I am really amazed by the quality for a $300 instrument. I had tried the Fender $1,800.00 version, and this bass, to me is by far a better value. I liked it so much, I bought the 5 string Squire P bass, and it is also a great buy, I call them the twins, both white and both play and sound amazing.

  • from Marlborough, MA February 15, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Guitarist, Vocalist, Piano, Rock Musician, Hobbyist

    Squier VM Jazz V- EPIC!

    What can I say that others already haven't? It's a great bass in the price point. I love the neck, the pickups deliver a good modern jazz sound (think 90s or 2000s jazz bass pups). At 10 pounds, it's heavy but not TOO heavy (Peavey T40 anybody? haha). True it doesn't have a fancy preamp, but you can add one later on if you so desire (plus cheap active basses don't have great electronics typically). My only complaint is that I get a lot of stray overtones when I use overdrive due to all the maple. I had bad luck with a Squier VM Jaguar V, but I'm happy to say that for 70 extra dollars the Jazz is three times the bass the Jag was. Special thanks to Josh Estock for outstanding customer service and salesmanship. If you like Fender Fivers, you'll like this bass too.

  • from March 25, 2016

    Great bass, but replace the jack

    For the price, this is an amazing bass. Way better than anything else in it's price range. My only gripe is that the jack on mine was flaky and shorted out a lot. I replaced it with a switchcraft jack and all is well now. I also installed a copper shielding kit into mine, which made it quieter. This is a really fun "project" bass, if you like to do your own upgrades. I plan to replace my stock pickups with some Aguilars or Bartolinis in the near future.

  • from ohio July 2, 2015Music Background:
    Novice bass player

    Love this jazz bass

    Just love this jazz bass. Wanted a natural finish but all they had in stock was white but now I'm glad I bought the white. It was in great shape right out of the box. Kudos to Sweetwater and their reps. This five string is well-made and the price is unbelievable.

  • from California October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Gospel Church Bassist.

    I love my bass!

    Looks great, feels great, plays great. Im not really into passive basses but I really like it. Comfortable and not too heavy.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass V - Olympic White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close