0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from SW Florida February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Awesome Bass!!

    Totally blown away by the fit and finish of this Squire bass. When I pulled it out of the box, it was still in tune! Thanks for the free 55-point setup Sweetwater! Good preamp, medium output pickups. Nice high mass bridge. Tuners stay in tune! Totally happy with the nice low action and playability.

  • from Huntsville, AL February 9, 2016Music Background:
    46 years playing

    Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst

    I have had my Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst for about 3 years now and it is a legitimate alternative to a LOT of higher priced basses.
    - I love the wide 2" nut width! No other in it's price can come close.
    - Very good and quiet 3 band EQ
    - Slap switch comes in handy. A gain pot on the underside would be a welcome addition to match the volume of IN or OUT. Also a 250 / 500Hz for the midrange would be awesome!
    - Looks great and plays great.
    - Feels like a much higher priced bass
    - Ebonol fretboard is as good as ___________ whatever wood you want to fill in the blank with.
    I see why they bumped the price $50. They could bump it $200 and it would still be competitive.
    I also own a black version too. Purchased both used on-line and both do not disappoint.
    Did I mention I LOVE the wide neck?!!
    Looking to MOD one of them with pickups and electronics, just don't know which one to attack...:-D

  • from Coleman June 30, 2015

    Geat Bass!

    I wasn't sure about this bass, but it seemed to have all the features that I wanted. This turned out to exceed my expectations. Plays well, and has almost endless tonal possibilities. Becoming my go-to bass. Price made it a real bargain.

  • from Stockbridge Ga May 25, 2015Music Background:
    I have been playing bass guitar for over 30 years

    The Best Jazz Bass For the Money

    I bought my squier jazz bass deluxe V back in March 2015. This is the best jazz bass 5 strings for the money. I only had to get it professional set up and now they're no song that I can't find the tone to. The bass will need to be set up and other than that it is near perfect. I also want to add that you will probably have to change the strings. There are lots of bass strings on the market and I put the DR high beam on my jazz bass and it sounds great. Lots of highs and low tones really good for me playing jazz and funk.

  • from Covington, Ga. September 7, 2014Music Background:
    Gospel Live and Session Artist.

    I call mine the "Funk Machine".

    This in my opinion is one of the best basses I've ever owned! I've been playing over 30 years and have played everything from my '68 jazz bass to my warrick, etc... When I bring this one to gig, everybody wants to know what modifications I made. Squier knocked this one outta the park. It's my # 1 bass right.

  • from Sevierville, Tn. USA February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Worth twice the price.

    I have been playing bass for many years now and this bass is hard to beat. The fit and finish on the unit I got was flawless. The active electronics are great and give you the ability to get any sound you want, thus making this a bass for any style of music. I did have to do a little neck work to get rid of some upper fret buzz, but that was it. It stands up to my other basses that cost THOUSANDS more. I rate it the "best bang for your buck" on the planet.

  • from Raleigh, NC USA September 22, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    Amazing bass, priced well!!!!

    I got this bass this past February and it is the best bass that I've played so far.

    I love all the different tones that I can get with this bass. It can go from growly to fat and all in between.

    If your looking for a five string bass, this is the one to get!!!!

  • from Massachusetts September 20, 2016Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician, multiple projects, recording, performance.

    Great bass, worthy of any stable

    Received this bass a month ago and gigged it the night I got it. Great tone and feel, it will take a little while to get acquainted with the neck width at the nut but it facilitates clean transitions in 1st position if you're a little sloppy with fretting technique (imo). Does take a bit of dialing in, and im my case a little nut slot filing to get the action just right but between the mass of the neck and smooth truss rod adjustment the neck has not budged. Ebonol fret board is very sleek, frets were decent, ends were dressed well. Tuners adjust as expected and hold tune well. Solid B. Pre is quiet, useful, but can get over hyped and boomy at the extremes. I don't prefer it but it's a nice option to have, and evens things out and on the whole plays nice with effects. A *tad* neck heavy due to low mass of basswood but not a deal breaker. Good strap addresses this. Highly recommended in the price range and in general.

  • from LANSDALE, PA June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hired Gun

    Excellent Bass - Excellent Value

    I received this bass in Jan 2014 and I am VERY HAPPY with the product. Super wide range of tones can be achieved via the onboard controls. NOTE FOR TALL BASSISTS - This baby has a 2 INCH WIDE NUT!!! Terrific for those of you with larger hands. Great for slapping since the string spacing is the same as many 4 string basses. This bass is HEAVY too. Get a good padded or wide strap. This bass has a nice strait neck which required only minimal adjustment after shipping. All around I am VERY HAPPY with this bass, and would by another as a backup.

  • from October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Well made, fits me well

    Mine is five months old and I am exploring it's full strength. The polyeurethene body finish is good and the basswood body gives a short-and-chirpy tone when plugged in. it's playability makes it capable to play more complex and various style of music. The one thing I didn't like about it is it's nut width. A 3.0 rating from me.

Questions about the Squier Deluxe Jazz Bass V Active - 3-Color Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway