0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass - Natural 5-String Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • from Oklahoma January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Musician

    Best 5 String Bass for the $$

    I was very surprised at how well this bass played and sounded. It's not the best 5 string bass made, but for the money it can't be beat. Low action, smooth, fast, straight neck. Really nice feel to it.
    Looks fantastic and very good fit and finish.
    Sound quality is a bit lacking if you're wanting to use this bass regularly on gigs. Good overall tone, but just a bit thin for my taste. I'm replacing the pups with SD Quarter Pounds and the capacitor as well. Hopefully this will fill out the sound.
    Even with the stock pups this bass is well worth the money. I have no problems recommending this bass whether you're a seasoned musician or just starting out.
    Of course, Sweetwater makes it easy to purchase and follows up with great customer service.

  • from FL May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Visual and Audio Production

    Best Buy For The Money.......End of story !

    Once Set up, You cant find a better deal on a 5 String.

  • from TN, USA May 4, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    impressive

    I was extremely impressed with the playability, sound and quality of this bass. I've been playing for 35 years and never taken the plunge on a 5 string but glad I did. It's a little heavier than a 4 string but really not bad and it looks and plays extremely well. As a newbie to 5 strings I initially found it very alien after a lifetime with Fender 4 strings but the extra string adds great versatility. I played a bunch of 5 strings before getting this and I really don't regret buying this at all, love it!!

  • from ROANOKE,VA February 16, 2012Music Background:
    BASS,GUITAR AND KEYBOARDS IN CHURCH

    one of the best bass guitar

    I HAVE A SIX BASS,THEN I GOT THE SQUIER P BASS 4 STRING,NOW I GOT J-BASS IT PLAYS DEEP BASS NOTES AND HIGHS ARE GET UP THERE HAS A SWEET SOUND,NOW I GOT 4,5 AND 6 STRING BASS ,BUT I AM USEING THE 5 MORE CAN'T PUT IT DOWN! TRY IT FOR YOUSELF YOU'LL LOVE IT LIKE I DO, THANK YOU SWEETWATER.....

  • from Murfreesboro, TN November 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Producer/Engineer @Triton Recording Studios

    Not to be Over-looked

    This bass is not to be over-looked. I've played them all, Fenders, Gibsons, Musicmans, Rickenbackers, etc. I know what makes a good bass. I need a 5-string to support all my 7-string guitar music and I didn't have a lot to spend. Every time I pick this bass up, I'm amazed again and again at how well built it is, how it plays, and the way it sounds. You can't ignore the looks either, the pictures don't do it justice. I'm considering getting the 4-string version as well! I can't say much about Squier guitars, but Squier's basses are SOLID. My one and only complaint is that the pick-ups get noisy when the volumes aren't even - but you're likely to swap them out anyway.

  • from Clarence, NY USA July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass (Natural 5-String)

    Got this baby in two days. It arrived expertly set up and ready to play. The action was better than any bass that I ever had. I have two jazz 5's, a precision 4 string, and a Mustang short scale 4 string. This plays every bit as well as My American Jazz 5. It actually has a much lower action, with no fret buzz. I was amazed at it's playability. The sound of it wasn't quite up to par, as my American Jazz 5, but, still, acceptable. I have already ordered and received a set of Duncan quarter pounders ( from Sweetwater) and am certain, with this modification, That I am going to have a very good bass to gig with. I wanted a Maple fret board and passive pickups. I am pretty sure that this will become my bass of choice, in the future. I have been a gigging musician for over 40 years, and, have had just about every bass imaginable, but, this one is going to be one of my favorites.

  • from Georgetown, Texas September 30, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician in and around Austin Texas.

    Excellent 5 string Bass Guitar for price.

    Have been playing on my Yamaha TRB 1005, Peavey Cirrus BXP 5 string (not the cheap one) my ESP-LTD Natural B-255 5 string, (all active basses) and my passive 1976 Maple Precision with a Leo Quan Badass bridge and original p-ups/electronics.

    I played a friends Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass (Natural 5 string) and was both surprised and impressed. So I bought one. Have to say, I love the feel, (the neck) and the tone. The Douglas Designed pick-ups sound great. I also think it's a great looking bass. It puts out plenty of volume and punch even though it's passive. In reality, it's a he!! of a 5 string Bass for the price. I plan on playing this Bass a lot.

  • from Dodgeville Wi September 23, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbist (weekend warrior)

    5 string Geddy Lee ?

    Great sounding B string, isn't that my we play 5 strings? Great quality and looks at 1/5th the price of a fender deluxe. Matchs up close to my Geddy Lee in output. also no battery needed witch in my opinion is a plus. Played 5 shows now without a backup

  • from United States January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend warrior - bassist

    Great bass for the money!

    I bought this bass for jamming with family and friends in PA without having to travel with one of my gigging axes. It was set up perfectly and was ready to play when I took it out of the box! Bravo, Sweetwater!

  • from Raleigh NC April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Bass Player local and regional acts.

    Very Happy with the Squier Bass

    I needed a spare to take with me when I am playing gigs and This turned out to be much more than I expected. I have a 1993(I think) Finder Jazz V plus with the kubiki electronics etc. and I find myself reaching for this one more and more. It is well made, plays and sounds great.

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass - Natural 5-String?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway