rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier James Johnston Jazz Bass - Lake Placid Blue Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from DECATUR,IL November 7, 2015Music Background:
    Full Sail Graduate 35 yrs bass

    Great Squire Bass

    This bass arrived in one day and still tuned perfect.Intonation was dead-on and was set up just the way I like my bass to be. Thanks to Derek and the staff at sweetwater for a great job,will be buying again.

  • from United States October 17, 2015Music Background:
    working band

    Great starter bass!!

    I'm not much of a bass player but, I needed one to do some recording. And now I can not put this bass down. It's got great action, good tone and was ready to play straight out if the box!

  • from FL May 18, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player

    An Amazing Bass!

    I already own a Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass and was looking to get another bass for different tones and tunings.

    I wasn't necessarily thinking about another Jazz Bass, but after reading the reviews and hearing some YouTube videos of the bass I decided to go for it. I've been very happy with the Vintage Modified bass but this James Johnston Jazz Bass is one of the nicest basses I've ever played, much less owned.

    It arrived in perfect condition and everything about it is basically flawless. The neck and fretwork are perfect, and no truss rod adjustment was required at all. The action was perfectly playable. I did lower the saddles on the bridge slightly, but this is just personal preference.

    The fit and finish are excellent. The paint job on the bass is awesome, and the matching headstock really sets it apart from most other Jazz Basses. The finish is silky smooth and the color is gorgeous. A high gloss neck isn't exactly my preference for playability, but this one is done beautifully and I can play up and down the fretboard with ease. All the chrome parts look and work great. The knobs are smooth and solid and the output jack nut is tight.

    The sound is classic Jazz Bass. Compared to my VM Jazz Bass with a maple body,neck and fretboard, this has more low mids and bass. The sound is somewhat warmer and chunkier, and can take up more room in a mix, but can also sit lower in the mix than the VM if I need it to. It came set up with the intonation right on, and it sustains forever. The pickups have good tone and clarity. The included strings are much, much better than what came on my VM Jazz Bass, and they have a great feel and tone. I didn't feel a need to swap them out with a set of Rotosounds like I usually put on my basses.

    This is an instrument that sounds as good as it looks and one I'm proud to play and own. For me it's a custom shop bass without the price tag, and I love it!

  • from Santa Barbara July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician since 1967

    Great Jazz Bass

    A perfect Jazz Bass for that classic rock Sound. Don't mess with the nut. It's fine. If you think you have to shim the neck, you don't know how to set up a bass... And you'll screw up the beautiful sustain of this instrument. If you want to experience a real classic sound, try putting La Bella flat wounds Classic 1954 Deep Talkin Bass strings on This axe. WOW!

  • from Australia May 21, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Really freaking good

    When I originally bought this, I was kicking myself that a mexi-fender was only 150$ more but I couldn't afford it. I wouldn't trade it for one now.

    Feel and tone is classic jazz bass, I've played the proper Fender models and if you had a blindfold on you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference between this and a 60's era JBass. The fretboard even feels the same, except cut a little better at the back of the neck.

    Can't say enough about the painted headstock, it's just a simple thing that makes the guitar look so much better. I've often speculated that all the custom shop guys are really paying for is matching headstocks anyway - it costs them like 2k to do that. I just got that upgrade on a Squier CV for 100 xD. Other little things like the heavy bridge as well.

    I'm sure the electronics are inferior, so I might upgrade the pick ups at some stage but it doesn't feel high-priority at all. On the PA it just sounds like any Jazz Bass. I would gig with this, and I bet other bassists would come up ready to ask all about it until they saw squier on the headstock. If you need very first bass or a gigging backup I couldn't recommend it enough.

    Didn't get into this guy and his band, but I have no end of kudos to give to him for speccing this guitar out at this price.

  • from Cumberland, RI March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Working semi-pro

    Budget American Vintage 1964

    Based on Classic Vibe which is the top of Squier line IMO. Borrowed a friend's American Deluxe prior to purchase and I don't see any reason to spend the extra $$. Came set up beautifully. Sweetwater support was first-class as always. Will need to replace the bridge to fit the bridge cover as the Squier high-mass bridge is too big for the cover to fit. Going for the look of the American Vintage 1964. The sound of this bass - even unplugged - is massive. Just can't beat it for the price!

  • from Michigan March 16, 2013

    Great Bass that I thought was a Custom Shop

    When I saw the bass with the matching headstock I thought it was a Custom Shop. After I played it and saw the price, I took it home. End of story!

  • from Placentia, CA January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, composer, performer, and home recording enthusiast with over 20 years of experience spanning every genre

    Totally exceeded my expectations

    I previously owned an American Standard Jazz Bass which I sold a couple years back and have regretted it since. Decided to get a replacement but didn't want to spend the Fender American prices. This Squier model was recommended by the folks at Sweetwater. I must say that I am very impressed. The one I got easily holds its own with the American that I previously owned. I realize some may be skeptical of that statement. I understand. If I were reading this review, I would be skeptical as well. This is an incredibly well built bass made of great quality parts. The setup and fretwork are excellent as well. I've bought new guitars for thousands of dollars that required a good setup and cleanup work on the frets. I was shocked that this was not the case here. Perfect. The pickups are good but could be upgraded with your choice of aftermarket pups and you'd still be way ahead in the cash department. And my preference would have been for a string through body design, but I don't notice a perceivable difference in tone or sustain with regards to that. Also, it does not include a case or gig bag. Again, for the price, can't complain about that. If you're looking for a Fender Jazz Bass, don't overlook this incredible instrument.

  • from United States December 18, 2012

    Sounds and feels like a jazz bass

    I'm a sucker for matching headstocks and needed a relatively inexpensive Jazz bass for a back up and travel bass. Ended up using this bass a lot more and selling my much higher dollar Jazz bass. I was hesitant because of the basswood body not because of bad experience but because there seems to be some negative comments about it. Well I love basswood now.

    This bass sounds perfect. Sounds like a jazz bass. I have owned many jazz basses and variations and this bass is seriously one of the best I've heard. Pickups are single coils so they can be noisy but no worse than any other single coils.

    The fit an finish is very good. Paint is looks great, pickguard and control plate are well fitted neck pocket is tight, tuners work fine and the nut is cut fine. Fretwork is good but not great but the bass sets up and plays very good out of the box. Neck is stable and bass stays in tune well.

    The only part that seems to be not great is the nut. It works fine but if you need to work it the material seems to be softer than normal and is about the only part I would have to replace. A neck shim and a fretjob as well as a new nut sends this bass over the top . But that could be said about a lot of much higher priced jazz basses.

    This seems to be a Squier Classic Vibe with a fancy paint job. A great upgrade to me but maybe not to some.

    If you need a jazz bass and love Lake Placid blue and a matching headstock this bass can't be beat.

Questions about the Squier James Johnston Jazz Bass - Lake Placid Blue?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway