0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass - Black?

Questions about the Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Aaron Hoff

    The Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass is no run-of-the-mill artist model. It has several distinct features that make it one of my favorite basses. It has an incredible growling tone which is grittier than a standard Jazz bass, and as a person with small hands, I've found the extra-thin neck to be very comfortable and fast. Plus, I get a LOT of compliments on its looks!

  • from Indianapolis, IN September 18, 2016

    Solid, classy bass!

    I am definitely blown away by this bass! I had been searching for the most comfortable neck I could find (narrow, slim, with small radius), and I found it! My Epiphone T-bird is also super comfy, but this Geddy Lee is a smidge more comfortable. Even the reach to the first fret is easier (I'm rather small in stature, so this is a huge help). But this bass is not only comfortable, it sounds fantastic!! I put a set of LaBella Deep Talkin' flats on it, and it feels and sounds like "buttah" - silky smooth, with amazing clarity, even at the lowest end. It's classy looking, too - beautiful, elegant - and extremely well constructed/really solid. I am completely in love with it!! Can't keep my hands off of it : ) If you're considering buying this bass, do yourself a favor and go for it!

  • from Beckley, WV April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Session and perfoming musician 30+ years

    Finest instrument I have ever owned

    I have over thirty years as a professional musician (the past three pursuing the bass), I have owned handcrafted and top of the line Gibsons and Fenders. This is one of the finest crafted instruments I have ever played. From the tiger striping in the maple neck to the plating of the parts the finish is fantastic. The fit of the parts and the frets on the neck are amazing. It is truly an amazing value. I know that The American bodies and necks were made in Mexico at one time and I have had American, Japanese and Mexican Fenders that were all very good. But none of them compares to this bass. The set up performed by Sweetwater techs was exceptional and is the best bass I have ever played.

  • from 29 palms, ca usa December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The best jazz bass I've played

    It's hard to put this bass down!
    This is the second instrument I've bought from Sweetwater and once again I am amazed at the quality, set-up and customer service.

    The action is perfect ( maybe Adam remembered that I like really low action, I don't know ). I've mastered certain techniques that have given me trouble with inferior instruments.

    If you're considering it, pull the trigger.
    You won't be disappointed!

  • from Michigan USA December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend wanna be rock star

    No words exsist to do justice!

    When I finally decided to bite the bullet and drop the extra coin for Ged's signature on a modded jazz bass I expected a pretty good - better than average ax. What I got wasn't even close to that. This is the most difficult review I've ever written because mere words are incapable to describe this instrument and fall painfully short of description. I may go as far as to say written description at it's finest could get no closer than an insult...well, I guess I just did go that far.
    I'll just say this, One must see, Touch Hear, and play this bass to get it, to appreciate and understand why I say what I'm saying and I've played many Fender Jazz basses - NO COMPARISON! Not even in the same universe close.
    One may find all this a bit hard to swallow, I know I would. if I were reading it; Conversely that's the reason this review is written so over-the-top grandiose as I have nothing to gain from this review, It's not an ad I'm being paid for (No, this isn't the GED-man either :-) Just do yourself a solid and give this machine a test ride. I'd be shocked if any bassist would return it in disappointment unless an ax that virtually plays itself and is capable of pulling tones out of your rig you never knew it had lying around inside not to mention harmonics, licks that previously have given you fits that'll now flow like warm butter and so on.
    One last comment, If anyone thinks this is a load of BS just try one out. Mine will leave my possession when they (I hate cliches but...) when they pry it from my cold, dead hands.

  • from United States July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love this bass!

    Very happy with my Geddy Lee Jazz Bass. It sounds great and has a lot of punch to it. Regardless of using a pick, fingers or slap, all methods sound great and the controls give a lot of options over the sound. Very solid bass as you'd expect from Fender!

  • from Oakton, VA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Kickin' Bass, Awesome Customer Service!

    I always wanted a Fender bass but didn't really know which one to buy. After carefully reading the reviews, I decided on the Geddy Lee. I was not disappointed. This bass is just awesome! The bass oozes quality; the finish, fit of components and for lack of a better word, "sexiness" of it is simply something that you should experience. I really dig the neck. It is perfect.

    Sweetwater, and especially Nick LaMendola,gave outstanding customer service. Before I made the final click for the purchase, I called, the call was answered promptly, and I got directed to Nick. I made it clear that I expect to receive what I pay for, and he assured me that the bass would arrive set up and ready to go. I ordered on a holiday weekend, received an email with pictures of my bass (serial number that I ordered) on Monday explaining that the bass was being shipped. Received another email with tracking number from Fed Ex on Tuesday and had the bass on Thursday. Not only was it set up, it was in tune! How cool is that!

    Nick called 2 weeks later to ensure that I was happy with my purchase. That's GREAT customer service! I will be confident in my next order from Sweetwater.

  • from New England February 20, 2014Music Background:
    student

    Great bass for any genre

    The Geddy Lee jazz bass, crafted in Japan, is a beautifully made, beautifully engineered instrument. Passive pickups are very responsive, BadAss bridge is what it is (I'm not big on detecting sustain-winning basses; if you like sustain, you'll get it here), all electronics and hardware are top quality. The finish is flawless, neck is TOO good to be true. Roll off the tone a quarter turn and the growl is unbelievable. Made now in Mexico.

  • from Sky Valley, CA. September 19, 2013Music Background:
    30 years, semi pro

    Big Bad Voodoo Daddy of Bass

    This is my 10th bass, This one is a bit different. It's big and heavy and has probably the best bass neck in the world. Super slim and ultra playable. Fastest neck I have ever played. And EVERY Fender bass should be fitted with a Badass Bridge. It makes a Huge difference in the tone, attack, and sustain. Huge low end, punchy mids, and crisp, highs. Harmonics up the wazooo! Now I know why Geddy Lee stopped playing Rickenbackers, I'm putting mine away for now... The super skinny neck feels a bit strange for a bit, but it soon feels natural, and you will find yourself playing La Villa Strangiato like never before. It's not just a bass for Rush fans, It has a very versatile sound that will fit almost any bass players needs. Well Done Fender! Thank you Sweetwater!

  • from Austin, TX USA November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording artist

    Super Guitar

    I am impressed!
    This bass is super punchy and well rounded in sound, very rich in its delivery, a true Rocker, and it's made in Mexico now with all American components. I thought I would never own a Fender made there. I see why Geddy agreed to keep endorsing it after they moved production from Japan. My friend owns one and almost likes mine better. My band loves it!

    Thanks Sweetwater, ya'll are great!!

  • from South Park, Pa. March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player

    Well worth the wait

    I've been wanting a Geddy Lee Jazz bass for a while and it was well worth the wait. I have a made in Mexico Jazz bass already and these two basses are worlds apart. Not to say that my MIM Jazz isn't a good bass. It is, but the Geddy Lee bass blows it away. Super comfortable neck, booming bottom and excellent high end. I heard debates on the Badass bridge, but I love it. I'm so glad I was finally able to nab this bass. It has become my main weapon of choice during gigs...and practicing at home.

  • from Annapolis,Md. October 9, 2013Music Background:
    Funking around for FUN!

    Best bass for the money!

    I have played a few different kinds of basses, but none quite like this one. This bass makes you want to play more and more, its bright and
    has that bottom you need when you want make a statement. I have a
    many more things I could say about this bass, but playing it is what's
    more impressive.

  • from Warrior, Al June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass

    I'm not sure what differences there are between the Japan and Mexico made Geddy Lee basses, but I assume Fender is holding them close since this is such a popular model in their line of basses. Mine is a 2007-8 model crafted in Japan. I've owned and played Fender basses exclusively since the mid seventies (71 P, 76 Mustang, 78 J) and would not use anything else. As I got older I needed a bass that would be a little easier on my aging left hand and was grateful to have been introduced to the Geddy Lee model, which is basically an early seventies spec Jazz bass. The neck is razor thin which makes for probably the easiest and best playing Fender ever. I re-strung with LaBella Deep Talking Flatwounds and turned this bass into an ultimate groove machine. If Fender continues to hold the Mexican factory to the standards that Fender Japan established then this is a great investment that can take you as far as you want to go.

  • from Cleveland April 16, 2017Music Background:
    semi pro bass player,weekend worrier

    Getty Lee Black Mex Bass

    I really love the neck, however the pick-ups provided, Fender single coil Jazz Bass pick-ups, were to me at best, weak. For example, I plugged in my Epiphone Thunderbird bass on the same volume as my Getty Lee Jazz bass and the difference was quit noticeable. So, I purchased some Seymour Duncan Apollo, hum-bucking, Jazz bass pick-ups and now you have a weapon. I was really disappointed with the pickups provided for the price of the bass. After my purchase I compared the pick ups provided with basses in the same general price range and I discovered that other basses came with superior pickups.They weren't terrible but the bass deserves better.

  • from Draper, UT October 1, 2013Music Background:
    Bassist

    Decent Jazz Bass

    I own several basses and typically play a custom Carvin 6 string. However, I started playing more slap bass lately and felt like a four string bass would offer a better playing experience (it does). After reading reviews on a wide variety of mid-range-priced basses, I settled on the Geddy Lee Jazz Bass.

    THE GOOD
    I was a little worried after I ordered the Geddy Lee bass and found that they are no longer made in Japan, but rather Mexico. I have had bad experiences with MX Fenders in the past and was prepared for the worst. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the action, feel, and playability of this bass. I'm sure a lot of that has to do with Sweetwater's pre-ship test, but still, very nice.

    THE BAD
    While this bass makes it about 90% of the way towards a great sound and enjoyable personality, the 10% noise and feedback its electronics generate in certain positions knock it from a great bass for the price to just a good one. If the bass cost $400 or $500, the sound might be great for the price, but when you can spend a mere $100 more to get an American-made Carvin without any of these electronics issues, the Geddy Lee bass just doesn't meet the greatness to price ratio.

    Having said that, I do like the bass and I drag it around to practice and gigs all the time. The narrow neck feels nice and if you're playing rock music, the guitar(s) will probably drown out the hum this bass generates.

  • from Virginia Beach September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging basist for 20 years. Play mostly guitar now.

    Wasn't

    Mine was the black Japanese make. I had a Precision for 20 years that was to die for--blonde, nothing whatever to gripe about. This Geddy however never let me get the action low enough. I bought it because it had a gloss neck and I really dislike the satin necks on a lot of guitars and basses these days. I'm used to putting a little baby powder on my fretting hand and gliding up and down a nice gloss neck. But this Geddy was light and cheesy for my taste with action issues where I lowered the saddles all the way, the string hit the pick up, but the action was still high. Duh. What. Play one first and put it through its paces because it's customized for Geddy's specs and does not feel like other Fender Jazzes. Maybe you'll like it. Not me.

Questions about the Fender Geddy Lee Jazz Bass - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway