0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass - Black?

Questions about the Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 1, 2017

    Not my bass

    Based on various reviews on the net I purchased one of these basses. It looks very nice, but it is not a good instrument. For me. It is impossible to intonate and that is my main complaint about this one. I traded it after a few months for another bass.
    But it looks very nice.

  • from Thomasville, GA March 13, 2017

    All around the best

    So while searching for what I could call my end-all go-to bass, I came across this beauty. I'm glad I did. Everything about this bass is amazing, from the sound to the finish. Having both the j bass and the p bass pickups is something I really value as I played a jaguar bass and really wanted the tonal options not given with a regular p bass or even a j bass. This bass does it both. The tone is amazing, deep and full and the sustain is out of this world. Even though this bass is "ergonomic" as in it is very thin and light, it has no effect on the tone whatesoever, simply makes gigging for extended periods of time easier. The controls are simple and to the point which I enjoy, and then there's the looks. The thing is beautiful, from the lack of inlays to the matching headstock to the smoked chromehardware, this thing draws attention which is new thing to most bass players haha. All around best bass for the price, Japanese flawless construction as always at cheaper than American price, and you can't beat that.

  • from April 12, 2016

    I Love This Bass

    I have had tendinitis issues, because my day job is working on computers. Desperately wanted to get back into playing bass, and a friend recommended this bass. Bought one a month ago, and wow, it's the difference between being able to play bass and not being able to play, and my other bass is also a J-bass. This thing is pretty much the closest thing to an ergonomic bass I've ever seen. No finger pain whatsoever, and I've been playing the hell out of it.

    And did I mention that it sounds great, especially if you replace the strings with some good flatwounds.

  • from Stephenville Tx April 5, 2016

    solid bass

    I really like this bass. Great tonal variation. Very well balanced and does not feel heavy when its strapped on. Sounds great through my Rumble350. My only complaint is a "sticky" knob for the p-bass pickup. I was thinking about possibly putting a G&L bridge on it. Overall very satisfied. Sweetwater was great as usual

  • from MN January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist in a semi pro band

    Really good

    This is a really great bass. It feels nice, slick and light. It has the most tonal versitility in a bass I've ever seen. It can be dark and heavy or or bright and light. It looks amazing, plays amazing, sounds amazing. It's really just amazing! (best with flats).

  • from FL August 26, 2015Music Background:
    bass geek/ audio tech.

    Outstanding!

    Looks amazing, light weight, and lots of tonal capability.
    I put on a set of fender Flats..bliss...

    AMAZING value for the money. Bought mine sight unseen based on reviews.
    Not disappointed at all. You got to have this one in your collection.

    Get yours before Fender CIJ closes the doors!

  • from Ohio March 21, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player for 45 years.

    A great bass!

    I have an earlier version of the Aerodyne that I bought about 10 years ago. It has the regular Jazz Bass jack instead of the Strat jack, but I don't know of any other differences. It's a great looking, great sounding, great playing bass, and light and comfortable to play out at a long gig (unlike my Warwick Thumb B.O., which feels like an anchor hanging on my shoulder after awhile, lol). My only complaint, a minor one, is that the fretboard w/o dots or inlays can be hard to read on a dark stage. Also a problem w/my Warwick. I would definitely recommend the Aerodyne to any bass player who loves that fast, thin Jazz neck.

  • from Dover, TN September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Hobbyist

    Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass, Black

    Beautiful to look at, very light weight, and sounds great. Took it to a music store to have the action adjusted and the staffer at the store offered to buy it from me right then and there.

  • from United States September 19, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner to Intermediate

    Fender Aeordyne Jazz Bass

    Beautiful to look at; light weight, fast neck and easy to play. What more can one want. This is a real beauty. After I received it I took it to a local shop to have it intonated and the action lowered. As soon as the technician saw it he asked me if I wanted to sell it. He loved it. I hadn't even played it yet. Obviously, I didn't sell and now it's putting out great tone and sound. By the way, about the beautiful black shiny finish and fingerprints. Sweetwater sells a product for that. Just put it on a good soft rag and rub the body down. It keeps fingerprints from getting on it. Tyler Moore also a great sales person and musician. Very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • from Oregon, USA February 16, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Fast becoming one of my favorite basses...

    ...after shielding the control and jack cavities. This is sweet bass with great sound from heavy p bass lows to bright jazz highs, and it growls too! And it is light and comfortable. But it was effing noisy with hum. Fender does not shield the control, jack, and pickup cavities - there's no conductive paint or shielding. I used copper foil to shield the two cavities and replaced the single coil jazz pickup with a Fender Super 55 split coil jazz pickup. This brought the hum down to very low level. Next time I replace the strings, I'll shield the pickup cavities too. This could be a really great bass if Fender shielded it.

  • from Plymouth, IN USA November 8, 2013Music Background:
    Bassist

    OMG!

    I just picked this up yesterday, so I know I've got the new factor going on here, but I love this bass! I have been playing a Schector for the last couple of years. I wanted something different! Something lighter in weight, but with a fast neck and a narrow one as well. I wanted that certain sound that was crisp, low and round. I found it with this Aerodyne! It's easy to play, fun to play, and it looks great too! Oh, keep a rag handy, it does show finger prints! That being said, the Aerodyne is a wonderful bass that will give you a professional sound at a price that doesn't break the bank! As far as Sweetwater, Tim Harrington is an amazing Sales Engineer! He remembers his customers! It is so nice to purchase equipment from real musicians like Tim! Sweetwater is your only stop you need for musical equipment! Call Tim at extension 1395!!!!!

  • from Cincinnati, OH United States August 22, 2013Music Background:
    Playing bass since 1977, hobbyist, frequently gig

    Captures any sound you might want

    Made in Japan solid performer that looks sharp from any angle. The Aerodyne is a lighter weight option than typical Fender Jazz and Precision basses. That's good for the shoulders when gigging. The contoured body, front and back, is easy on the wrist and forearm and really accommodates a lot of different playing positions. Of course the sleek, look of this black bass with cream binding gets a lot of attention. Smoked chrome hardware is a nice touch as well. This is my second time owning an Aerodyne. I bought one when they first appeared over ten years ago. Loved that one too but worked my way up to an American Made Fender Jazz. It just became too heavy for my old shoulders and they just don't make one this sweet looking.

  • from Pittsburgh August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Musician.

    Aerodyne is sexy

    This is a very attractive looking bass. A black beauty if you will. I play it in BEAD tuning and even though the bass wasn't designed to take the B string, after filing the nut and a slight bridge adjustment, this thing is growling! I am very happy with it's sound. Great for any loud band with an edge. The only minor problem is the J pickup being noisy in certain rooms. Since it's little thinner than regular Jazz Bass, it's also lighter and way more comfortable to wear on stage. The neck is very fast. I love it.

  • from Columbus, Oh December 18, 2012

    Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass

    I give this Bass a 5 WOW.
    1. It sounds great.
    2. Its easy to play this bass.
    3. Its easy to dial in your tone.
    4. It is beautiful, looks great on stage!
    5. The Price is half of your top end bass.

    Went through a lot of basses trying to find one that I love as much as my 2004 Warwick Corvette, and this is my go to bad boy. Wish I would have found this from the start, it would have saved me lots of money, so if your looking for a bass, try this Aerodyne, you will keep this one, and did I mention the price, also easy to setup yourself. Im tempted to buy a backup, its that good peeps. Sweetwater does a great job with the shipping and handling and personal customer service unlike the other online music vendors.

  • from United States December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Primarily Acoustic Guitarist taking a walk on the Bass side.

    My First Purchase In The Bass World

    While I have to preface this by saying that this is the first Bass guitar I have ever purchased, I am completely satisfied with my decision. I put some flat wound GHS strings on this and it has exactly the type of thump I was looking for. Easy control of the Jazz or Precision pickups, tuning is rock solid, neck is easy to get around on. The only reason I took half a star (and I had heard from others so wasn't too shocked) is that this thing is a finger print magnet. Keep a polishing cloth handy though, and you'll not be disappointed. The best part for me though is knowing I can always count on Sweetwater and my sales rep Jon Gillespie to get me the gear I need (OK, want) and get it to me quick!

  • from Norway, -europe November 17, 2011Music Background:
    Bass player in several bands, at this time I┤m playing blues

    Topp two in one

    P-bass and J-bass in the one and only. Nice smooth Japan prod. The sound is great and I love these feeling and punsj ....

  • from Sweden April 18, 2011Music Background:
    "Semipro"

    Aerodyne jass bass

    I`ve got a cuple of basses during the years, but no one like this babe! The only problem is, that I`ve go`t to polish it after every damn time I`ve used it! That`s the only "drawback"!!Otherwise I`m so happy with these beauty!!

  • from Mount Vernon, WA April 5, 2011Music Background:
    I have been playing the bass for over 40 years. I started when I was 13. I play for fun and my current gig is with "Hardwired". I play everything from rock to jazz to country to polkas. I love all kinds of music and being a good, solid bass player is one

    This is my new favorite bass!!!

    I love this bass. It looks really cool, the neck is fast, slim and very easy to get around on. The pickup configuration is one I have never used before but I was very impressed and it sounds great. The build quality of the Fender basses made in Japan is outstanding. I would highly recommend this bass to anyone who is looking for a a J-bass neck with a heavier more muscular tone. I had Mike Lull Plek it and do his magic setup on it and it is just incredible how awesome this bass is. I also have to mention what a pleasure it is to do business with Sweetwater and my personal sales engineer Mark Thompson. Mark is first class and always takes care of me 100%.

Questions about the Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway