0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender American Standard Jazz Bass - 3-color Sunburst, Rosewood Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Seattle, WA January 28, 2017

    Excellent Bass and amazing value (while they last)

    I jumped at the chance to get one of these classics before they are gone. They are being discontinued in lieu of the new American Professional Jazz Bass. The only differences between the two is that the AmPro has a genuine bone net, Narrow-tall frets (as opposed to medium jumbo), and a different (not necessarily better) set of pickups. The AmStandard is a fine bass and getting one for two hundred bucks off the original price (while they clear out inventory) is a bargain, especially considering that the new Professional is a hundred dollars more expensive. The bass plays like a dream (this is my 5th Jazz bass).

    Per usual, the bass arrived in amazing condition, and was even still in tune. Sweetwater's customer service is the best (thanks Jason Cannon!) and it is by far the best possible online guitar purchasing experience you could ever ask for.

  • from Tacoma, WA December 21, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist

    Excellent Instrument Overall

    I've started playing Bass since 1992.
    Since then, I've owned several beginner brands.
    Not until a fellow veteran offered me his 2004 American Standard Precision that got me to play more and more.
    Because I was blown away by its tone and attitude, it even leads me to get a 2013 Gibson Thunderbird to have the best of both worlds.
    I thought that was it, but surely doesn't feel complete.
    So I went to try other Bass guitars in order to find that perfect balance.
    The American Jazz Bass was the answer. The feel and how the instrument carries itself, you can't ask for anything else.
    A remarkable instrument! Job well done, Fender.
    Many thanks to Mr. Kurt Martin as well for his topnotch customer service.
    And thank you Sweetwater.

  • from Broken Arrow, OK September 30, 2016

    I'm impressed!

    I bought the 2016 Fender Jazz American Standard and it did not disappoint. It growls, it pops, and smooth as I want it to be. String height, neck, pickups all feel and sound wonderful. Comparing from other Basses this one stands out immediately. I am very impressed. Fender did a great job on this instrument. The real bonus that made this purchase so amazing was my Rep Dennis Konicki who kept me in the loop, sent me the pictures, and let me know the bass was delivered. The 55 point inspection is fantastic. It was perfect out of the case for me. Everything they stated in that 55 point check was done. Bravo Sweetwater team!! and a big thank you!

  • from HI April 11, 2016Music Background:
    active

    Full circle w/Fender Jazz Bass

    My first Jazz Bass was in 1967 and it was stolen a few years later... this American Standard is my second Jazz Bass and after many other basses, I'm glad to be home again... this bass looks and feels great ! ... I have small hands and the new neck shape is so comfortable and feels just right.. the noiseless pickups are completely quiet and the tone impeccably distinctive Jazz Bass... the bass was put into immediate service and is now earning it's keep ... and what a joy to play ! ... Thanks to Sean and Team Sweetwater for a job well done !

  • from Southern California March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Fender American Standard Jazz

    Straight out of the box, and into the recording studio, the Fender American Standard Jazz played and sounded great. It was everything I expected. Thanks Alan, and Sweetwater.

  • from S W Fla September 29, 2012Music Background:
    playing 43 years, hobbyist now, Will go for the buck again after I retire

    Very very nice

    Quality with a wonderful sound. The strings that came on the JB were garbage, Put some DR High Beams on it and fell in love! Highly recommend Sweetwater.

  • from Houston, TX October 13, 2013Music Background:
    retired pro

    Wonderful Workhorse

    Bought one of the 2012's from Sweetwater last month. This classic is solid, heavy and substantial. The sound is versatile, the neck is straight and true and intonation is usable on every string to the last fret. The fit and finish is perfect and I can't find any production flaws. That's everything you could ask for in an affordable daily workhorse that will age better than you or I.

  • from Berklee January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Musician recording engineer tech

    Cool

    2013 American Standard is still a pretty good value. This one is nice, but The 2008 edition was superior in terms of feel and look of the materials. The 2010 American Standard feet less I have also seems a bit nicer. Otherwise, it's a very playable bass.

Questions about the Fender American Standard Jazz Bass - 3-color Sunburst, Rosewood Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway