0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass '70s - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass '70s - Natural?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass '70s - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Steve Ploense

    Being primarily a guitarist, I wanted to get a bass that wasn't too expensive but gave me the tone and feel I wanted. I started playing the Vintage Modified Jazz Bass and was amazed. At this price point, I got a comfortable neck, great-sounding pickups, and that cool 70s look. This is a fantastic, roadworthy bass.

  • from Dunn, NC March 14, 2017Music Background:
    Jazz Bassist.

    Squire modified jazz bass '70s

    I got one of these about a year ago, well, maybe 2. I have 4 Basses, but this is by far my favorite. I love to play it. The fit and finish are excellent, the action is great. It holds a note beautifully. I changed the strings to flats. It required almost no adjustments right out of the box! I might buy a sunburst next. Don't know if they're all this good, of course, but all I can say I feel like I got a $1000 instrument. Delivered to my door! I'm friends with the owner of the local music store and I tried to buy it through him. Couldn't do it. He can't sell these, which isn't good. In all fairness, though, Sweetwater's service was really excellent. I got the bass in perfect condition in a week, and they called me to see if everything was ok. They are a really good company.

  • from Dallas March 1, 2017Music Background:
    Lord of Super High Action

    Best Budget Bass

    I'm a guitarist and songwriter and needed a basic bass guitar for writing and recording. I absolutely love playing this thing; it feels incredible, stays in tune like a champ, and can get a wide range of tones. You can see where corners were cut to keep the price so low but the playability high; the tuners feel cheap, but they get the job done. I can play this guy for days without having to re-tune once. The stock pickups work well enough, but they aren't going to blow your face off or anything. Same story for the bridge; obviously cheap, but gets the job done wonderfully.

    If you sunk a little more cash into this guy and put in some decent pups and tuners, it would rival any $1,000+ bass on the market. I've played around with tons of basses, and this one plays as comfortably as ones five times the price. This would be a fantastic bass for a beginner; they could replace the lower-quality parts as they progressed and wind up with a top-notch bass.

    I should also note that I play in C# standard or drop B. I put the heaviest four strings from a five string bass set on this bass, and filed down the nut to hold the thicker strings. It handles it beautifully. I can't recommend this bass more. If you need a bass on a budget that will get the job done and then some, look no further.

  • from July 20, 2016

    A Steal For Any Bassist

    I had played this particular model of bass at a guitar center and fell in love with the tone. It is an absolute monster for slap tone, fingerstyle, or anything else really. It is an absolutely gorgeous instrument with a feel on par with a full priced fender jazz bass. I waited to get it from Sweetwater because of their warranty and quality service. Being in contact with my qualified sales engineer (shout out to Zach!) made the process flawless. This really is an amazing deal. Fender quality for a squier price. I highly recommend this bass to all levels and all styles. It's a perfect match for me!

  • from Memphis, Tennessee April 21, 2016

    I can't believe it's not butter! IT'S THAT SMOOTH!

    I was thinking that I would need the pickups replaced, neck tweaking, maybe a bridge butthis thing is pretty darn good right out of the box! I just lowered the bridge saddles a little bit because I like it low and it honestly plays like a $ 1400 Fender Jazz. Great bass! I played my($1000) Gibson SG Standard bass for a few songs at a gig and picked up the Jazz and it played as well and had a punchier sound.

  • from Philadelphia, PA February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Amazing Bass for the price!

    The team at sweetwater are top notch! I wouldn't shop anywhere els for all my instrument needs. This Bass is beautiful. It sounds very good. I'm totally shocked. It's a must buy for the price.

  • from Houston, TX December 22, 2015

    Great deal all the way around

    This is my second Squier Jazz Bass from Sweetwater. Their service is outstanding and so for about $1000
    I have two very different Jazz Basses w tweed cases. This model is great for 70s sounds; R&B, slap, very percussive in part due to the maple fretboard. The other is the James Johnston model, totally different look and feel and a big deep rumble w rosewood fretboard. I am a guitar player adding bass because of the needs of our worship team, so these were the right price and easy to play out of the box; Sweetwater set up just right. All of the reviews by experienced bass players that have compared these Squiers favorably with much more expensive basses really gave me confidence in ordering. I have to fully disclose that I am really enjoying playing bass, so I put together a pedalboard with help from Sweetwater as well, and am working at competence in various styles. Most of the Dunlop MXR bass effects are plenty for my level of skill. Who knew going to the dark side would be so much fun? Thanks to Marshall and the crew.

  • from Stafford, Virginia September 27, 2015Music Background:
    My Basement

    Great for Everyone

    This was my first (non-copy) bass, and I'm NOT disappointed in my decision. I was stuck between an Epiphone Thunderbird, Squier Jaguar, and this jazz, but after a few minutes play time, I knew I needed this beaut. My brother (an avid guitar player) said it felt easy to play. 10/10 would bUy agAiN

  • from July 28, 2015

    I'm very Impressed!

    First of all Sweetwater is the absolute best. Great service! The first guitar I ever had was a Squier and I hated it. That was something like 18 years ago. Since then I have spent huge amounts of money paying for big name brands. This bass is as good as any bass I have played. The only part that I think could use a slight improvement is maybe the bridge. I've noticed a slight buzz when playing unplugged. For the price I don't know why I would ever go to another brand. Don't be afraid. I highly doubt you will be disappointed.

  • from Jersey City, NJ June 11, 2014

    A Great Choice

    I'm a guitar player looking for a replacement bass for home recording. My old bass had seen better days and it was time for something new. I didn't want to spend a lot, but I wanted quality that will deliver (don't we all?). I researched many different brands, but at this price point, I kept coming back to the Squier Vintage Modified. I asked a few bass player friends and they also pushed me toward the Squier. So I took the pulled the trigger, and when it arrived, I was impressed by the look and quality of it. But the sound is the thing, so I plugged it in, took a little while to dial it in, and then I heard it. I kept hearing about the "growl" from other reviews.....but didn't really know what it meant.....until I heard it. Once I got it in the ballpark of where I wanted it, I re-recorded a bass track for a song, just to hear it in the mix (and any difference in tone), and then I understood what "growl" meant. It was present without being overbearing......deep without getting lost in the drums. It just......growled!! It's throaty roar was exactly what I was looking for. If you are considering this bass, don't hesitate.....it's a winner!!

  • from CA April 27, 2014Music Background:
    Live Musician

    A REAL Fender

    What a gorgeous looking bass! I still can't believe how cheap they are selling these basses for. Tight low ends and crystal clear highs. It's up there with the American JB's. The soft maple body is such a steal. Out of the box, it needed no setup except for tuning of course. So look no further, there is no risk here unless you are a brand snob.

    Props to Dylan for making sure the equipment was properly inspected prior to delivery.

  • from Napoleon February 15, 2016Music Background:
    drummer/guitarist/bassist

    Beautiful, Playable, Reasonably Priced

    This is the second VM Jazz bass that I've owned, the other being a '77 VM. Overall, I'm very happy with it. It was set up nicely from the get-go and plays very well. It's a little on the heavy side with the soft maple body. I recommend for the sake of your shoulder that you get at least a three inch wide strap. The pickups have the typical single coil noise, but that can be dealt with with some judicious control knob twiddling and keeping a little distance from your amp. Used in tandem with my new Fender Rumble 200 amp, it sounds great, especially in the "bright" and "scoop" settings. It has a nice cut, especially popping and slapping, easily outdoing my Ibanez SR370 in that department. This is a really fun bass to play and the natural finish is beautifully done. The stock strings are decent---I'll eventually go to D'Addario Chromes and am guessing that it will sound even better. Sweetwater was stellar as always.

  • from January 5, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate bassist

    Surprisingly good!

    I started on a cheap Ibanez bass, and eventually started looking for something a little more substantial. I had seen this bass in local music shops, but those floor models were usually beat up and had all kinds of horrible action.

    Sweetwater let me pick a great one--at just under 9lbs, much lighter than average. Setup was near-perfect, too. I love natural finishes, and the wood is very pretty for such a cheap bass. I also fell in love with the slick maple fretboard.

    This is a huge step up from my previous bass. I used to have to switch strings every 2-3 months to cut through those sludgy pickups. On this bass, even the factory strings sound bright and crisp, and have stayed that way!

  • from massachusetts December 22, 2015Music Background:
    novice

    Great Bass!

    I had the bass for about 2 months now. Love the tone, feel and look of this bass. I just recently put a BABICZ Bridge and flat wound strings. These upgrades really nail the Motown sound i was longing for. You know you got a good one when it makes you want to practice. Thanks Sweetwater for the setup and service.

  • from August 6, 2015

    What's not to like?

    This is a really solid, hefty bass, and remarkably well made for the price. Maple body is a huge plus for sustain. Basic build quality is as good as any Fender I've played since 1969. Kudos to Sweetwater for their feature of posting pics of the actual instruments instead of stock manufacturer's photos. For natural finish instruments this lets you choose one with good wood (very important at this price point).
    Expect a couple of minor finish blemishes when you are getting a $300 version of a $1400 bass! The cool thing is that you can easily do all sorts of modifications for not much money due to the surfeit of aftermarket parts and accessories.
    Very happy with this bass!

  • from Torrance, Ca May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, but improving all the time

    A Great Bass For Slapping

    Squire basses from Indonesia continue to surprise. Fender craftsmanship sounds at a very reasonable price. I have a Geddy Lee Jazz bass too, so here's my comparison. The Geddy Lee Bass sounds more composed, more refined. This Squire bass makes for a better slapping because of its raw "growl."

    The workmanship is stellar, except for the area where the body joins the neck. Most people wouldn't notice, but there is just a tiny woodworking gap. I mean tiny.

    I'd still call this bass a 9 out of 10. I auditioned this guitar against an American Fender P-Bass. I wanted to love the American Fender, but I bought this one instead.

  • from Blythewood, SC February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Recording Engineer, Semi Pro Musician?

    Really nice bass for the price!

    I was very impressed with this bass! Though at first, I was a bit skeptical. (Seeing the price and the name on the headstock) For the money, this bass cannot be beat. For a long time, I only played Fender basses and saw Squire basses a cheap crap. (I was SO wrong) Not here. The Vintage Modified line is amazing! It doesn't feel cheap. You can pick this bass up, and tell it's a quality instrument. The neck is slim, and easy to move around upon. The electronics are great. It took me a while to dial in my ideal tone. But eventually, I found it. When I first saw the price of this bass, I almost ruled it out as an option. But as soon as I picked it up and played it, I was SOLD. I would recommend this bass for any gigging musician or anyone who likes to do upgrades. The only mod I plan on doing is putting some Aguilar AG 4J-HC's in it. Squire nailed it with this one. BUY THIS BASS!

  • from Blythewood, SC February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician, Recording Engineer, Semi Pro Musician?

    Really nice bass for the price!

    I was very impressed with this bass! Though at first, I was a bit skeptical. (Seeing the price and the name on the headstock) For the money, this bass cannot be beat. For a long time, I only played Fender basses and saw Squire basses a cheap crap. (I was SO wrong) Not here. The Vintage Modified line is amazing! It doesn't feel cheap. You can pick this bass up, and tell it's a quality instrument. The neck is slim, and easy to move around upon. The electronics are great. It took me a while to dial in my ideal tone. But eventually, I found it. When I first saw the price of this bass, I almost ruled it out as an option. But as soon as I picked it up and played it, I was SOLD. I would recommend this bass for any gigging musician or anyone who likes to do upgrades. The only mod I plan on doing is putting some Aguilar AG 4J-HC's in it. Squire nailed it with this one. BUY THIS BASS!

  • from Jersey City, NJ July 1, 2014

    Not Just A Beginner's Instrument!

    This is a fantastic bass. Like many people, I always considered the Squier brand an entry-level type instrument line. However, with the Vintage Modified Series (at least in terms of this bass), that is clearly not the case. This is a gig-ready bass, with great sound, wonderful bottom end and mid-range growl, expected from a top end Fender Jazz Bass. The volume and tone controls are very responsive. The stock pickups do a great job and do not need to be changed to make this bass sound great, although that's always an option to further improve the value of this instrument. I needed to replace an old (28 years!) bass for home recording, so I didn't want to spend a lot, but I wanted quality. With this bass, mission accomplished!!

  • from Tennessee October 26, 2016

    One Fine Bass


    You wont be discouraged, buy it. Mine came from Sweetwater already set up did nothing but plug and play. Wow.

  • from April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur at best

    This thing is awesome!

    For the average player, this is an amazing bass. The action is super smooth, and it plays real easy just like a good jazz bass should. I'm really perplexed by what is happening to Fender. I don't understand how they justify charging $1000-1500 for the American jazz bass. Now, I understand the pickups, hardware, and some other things here and there (probably gonna change the pots on this because they crackle a little, but not nearly enough to be annoying) are of lower quality... big deal, upgrade them. That is the only reason i gave it a 4 instead of a 5. I have zero complaints at this price point. I played this in the store next to an American jazz bass and I liked this one better, no joke i'm serious. If you put another $300 into upgrades you could have a killer bass on your hands. What the heck Fender?

Questions about the Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass '70s - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway