0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D (boxed) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D (boxed)?

Questions about the Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D (boxed)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Utah January 27, 2017Music Background:
    19 year studio veteran and university music teacher

    MarkG

    Synthogy's Ivory II American D is fantastic! It's a true recorded sampling of a 1951 New York Steinway grand piano that the Steinway company picked out as a superb piano for demos and promotion. The quality of Ivory II is such that I feel as if I have the actual 1951 piano itself in my studio. My most recent recording was with a pianist who selected the American D herself as the sound she preferred from among my piano plugin options. Synthogy's products are very professional and I recommend them to all who wish to purchase a quality piano plugin.

  • from Lancaster, NH October 9, 2016Music Background:
    Stong classical training...also New Age, Cinema, and Rock.

    The Best There Is!

    In addition to being an electronic musician, I am a serious classical pianist. I had long given up on finding anything that would come close to an acoustic grand. While the latter will likely never be duplicated, I must say that I am thrilled with the American Concert D! Having tried MANY others, the Concert D is the most realistic in EVERY way....It is far more "open," less compressed-sounding, with far greater dynamic range. The multiple samples paid off, as I am able to bring out true pianissimo and forte! It even has Una Corda Isoft pedal) samples, making full use of my 3 pedals on the wonderful Kawai VPC1. The additional personal controls enable one to create the "perfect grand for the occasion." I'm still learning all I can do to fine tune the sound...and I'm loving every minute of it. Congratulations Synthogy!!!

  • from AZ January 6, 2016

    Good

    Nice clean sounding. Detailed sound. I did not give it 5 stars because the effects are not as good as Eastwest and Garritan software has lot more punch. the treble does have as much bite. Individual notes sound clear, but i want real punch like real instruments. So if you want more powerful notes UVI, Garritan, or any Korg.

  • from Detroit December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Music Teacher, Digital Musician, Professional Musician

    This is the Piano you're looking for

    I've owned Synthogy Ivory for several years and never use any of the other sampled acoustic pianos in my library, though there are several others for me to choose from. The sound of others doesn't come close as a solo instrument or in a mix. Ivory is perfect in every situation. Ivory has so many options to tweak and it's so incredibly simple to use. When I started my virtual instrument library I knew it needed to begin with a solid piano and this is where I started. I didn't know much about virtual instruments at that time, but all these years later I am so glad I stumbled into the perfect choice. If you need a dedicated piano instrument, you can end your searching here. I purchased the full version (all three grand pianos), which I would recommend simply for the choices. I use any of the three for different situations.

  • from October 28, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer\Producer\Singer\Songwriter

    Someone finally got Piano Sampling right

    Absolutely stunning piano sounds. But what would you expect, when the average keyboard has a meg or so, and this has several gigs? Sounds far better than any keyboard out there past or present, and makes the "Mini Grand" that comes standard with Pro Tools sound like a toy. Very impressive, and well worth the money.

  • from N.E. Florida USA August 3, 2015Music Background:
    Piano, Organ, Synthesis. Choir Director, Projects

    Synthogy Ivory II American Concert "D"

    I did a lot of research before purchasing the Synthogy Ivory II American Concert "D". This software came highly recommended by many people on synth forums as one of the best piano emulations available. I have been extremely satisfied with this Concert Grand Virtual Instrument. It sounds very natural and fits well into the mix. The settings for timbre, velocity and others are extensive. It has the ability to conform to your style of playing so their are no huge, unnatural jumps in volume and brightness. The program itself has all of the settings you need without having to rely on a lot of outside effects. In a live setting, nothing beats an Acoustic Concert Grand. But whenever you have to mic or record a piano, this sounds better without all of the hassles. Synthogy has done all of the work for you. I am very pleased with this program. It is my "Go To" synth for piano. Don't need any other piano software with Ivory II American Concert D.

  • from New Hampshire March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician. Multi-Instrumentalist. Studio Owner. Advanced Expert.

    THE Best of the Best.

    This is THE best piano library you will find. I've used them all - Native instruments, Galaxy, Steinberg, EWQL, Toontrack, XLN Audio, you name them. I must say, this one takes the cake. Yes, it requires an iLok key, but in the end it probably won't matter to you because it sounds so amazingly beautiful. The only problem I had is that I chose it as a download option, and the download manager took roughly 20-29 hours to download it (45 GB). On the other hand, buy it - you'll be thanking yourself for it later.

  • from Nashville March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter & church musician

    Ivory II American Concert grand

    Nice sounds, much better than the mini grand that is packaged with my ProTools 10. However, had some difficulty getting this set up to actually work with my home studio. Much thanks to the great tech help at Sweetwater, now it's working and I'm happy.

  • from Sewanee, TN USA September 24, 2014Music Background:
    College Professor, Jazz Pianist, Composer,

    I Finally Got A Steinway!!!!!

    I've always loved Steinway pianos an would kill to be a Steinway artist. However, affording a Steinway is so far out of the question right now I have to laugh at myself each time I start to think about how I could possibly purchase one. Maybe one day, but in the mean time Ivory II American Concert D definitely fills the gap, hands down.

    I read the reviews on this software earlier this past summer and thought about purchasing it, but tried out two other options instead. I halfway kick myself for not just buying this first, but it was a good learning experience. I have been very satisfied with the pianos in XLN's Addictive Keys Studio bundle (the upright is ridiculous), but in my opinion they are better suited for playing at gigs/live shows as the software doesn't take up much space on the laptop and if you've got a good amp or PA speakers to run through then you are golden.

    Ivory II American Concert D however is 200% better suited for recording, practicing, and composing. It truly is amazing how good the pianos in this software sound. I have a Steinway M in my office that I teach and practice on, and this software competes well with it. Not having to pay for a piano tuner is also very cost effective. What I particularly love about this software is that the pianos are rich, dark, and the low end is AMAZING!! Traits that I immediately identify with Steinway pianos. I'm not a fan of the iLok device that this requires even though I understand why it's needed.

    Now the only things left for me to do regarding this software are to get a little bit more familiar with how to customize the sound of the instrument and upgrade the keyboard that I'm using as a controller which I'm sure will make a huge difference in the playing experience.

    All things being equal, you can't go wrong by purchasing this software. It's a good tool to have in your home studio. I highly recommend it.

  • from Saranac, Michigan May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, Recording Engineer

    Synthogy Ivory American D

    What a Sweet sounding Sampled Piano. Just love it

  • from Boston, MA April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Like having the Steinway in your studio!

    I bought the Synthogy sampled set for an acoustic music CD with fiddles and accordion. I can only say that the piano lines—captured on a trusty Yamaha P80—came to life as none of us could have imagined. A track which started as solo piano, with the intention of being replaced with other instruments, wound up staying as a piano lead, with some fiddle tracks as backing. Such attention to detail and fidelity was loved by all of us!

  • from Columbia, SC March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Church Musician

    Great Software

    I got the Ivory 2 American Concert D to use with Kawai VPC1... amazing combo. The software sounds absolutely amazing thanks to my top of the line Bose speaker system allowing the sound to be enjoyed. The Kawai VPC1 is the perfect compliment with its wooden key action and feel just like my real Kawai piano in my living room. I use both along with Finale software for composition and arranging.

  • from Illinois USA March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest Songwriter.

    Truly amazing

    I have both the Italian Grand and American Concert D. Both are just beautiful to play. my setup includes KRK VXT8's, an S10 Sub and a Motif ES8 Keyboard. With this setup it is nearly like playing the real thing. Bang the bottom register and feel the rumble. No nagging artifacts or breaks in the sample that cause any other sampled piano distracting at some point.

    My main point of reference is NI Komplete 9 pianos and none of them begin to approach the transparency of the Ivory 2 Pianos.

  • from Morristown NJ USA December 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist, guitarist, songwriter, home studio recording

    Awesome Virtual Piano!!!

    As a piano player since childhood I was looking for a very real authentic sounding virtual piano to record solo piano pieces. Well I am absolutely blown away by the realism and quality of this piano software. It can be used as a standalone or as a plugin. There are so many factory preset options to choose from or you can truly customize your own unique piano sound and settings. I have this loaded on my computer for a few days now and I can't put it down. Synthogy out did themselves with this one. And for under 200 bucks I swear you would think you're playing a genuine Steinway grand piano. I can't recommend this enough for piano players either on a budget or tight on space. Two huge thumbs up !!!!

  • from Los Angeles September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist, producer, arranger.

    Great For Use In Tracks

    Definitely worth the price, and great sounding particularly within tracks. I own a really nice acoustic piano, and this is not going to replace that (particularly for solo or very exposed parts), but it's nice to have a really good sounding sampled piano if I don't feel like taking the time to setup mics etc. This one is a pretty mellow piano sound compared to the Yamaha pianos, so if you like a super bright pop sound you should look to Ivory's other offerings.

  • from August 11, 2013

    So so

    Despite a popular brand for musicians who need the right mix for certain genres except classical and others. I went ahead with ViIabs TrueKeys which sounds close to the real Steinway with the same characteristics, tones and sympathetic resonance. compare to VSL Vienna Imperial (Bosendorder) would be my second choice.

    American Concert D don't sound like a piano when playing at fast pace.

  • from New York July 21, 2013Music Background:
    Professional film composer

    Outstanding Piano

    Have shelved the East West Pianos and others- this is the sound I have been looking for - It is quiet [background hiss and garbage], has great key sounds and choices of hard or soft pianos as well as on board effects and synthesizers and many many musician controls of the sound- the best thing is the "Musical Quality" of the instrument- the held notes ring on and on without looping, and it is just plain "pretty". Kicks the *** of pianos costing 3 times as much. JUST GET IT!

  • from Los Angeles, CA May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Classical Pianist

    Very disappointed

    This is an average sampled piano sold at a premium price. After three weeks of trying to make it sound decent by tinkering with the settings I'm still very disappointed with it. It sounds like any other sampled piano, nothing special.

  • from Austin, TX March 21, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Composer, and Pianist

    Ivory II American Concert D

    I was currently using Ivory II: Grand Pianos however found some of the sounds wasn't what I wanted. Don't get me wrong the Ivory Grand Pianos were very good indeed however it lacked a sound I was looking for.

    After listening to the demo of Ivory II American Concert D I was very impressed and decided to give it a try. This alone sounded amazing. I was impressed by the clean and distinguishable sound produced being identical to a real Steinway. After using this I haven't looked back. Best part is both Pro Tools 10.0 and Studio One can load this as VST. It will surely make your production sound a lot better versus the native piano virtual instruments provided. Now if they can make every single instrument other than piano sound as this realistic I would be the first one to buy it.

  • from Austin, TX February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Solo Piano Recording Artist

    The Most Realistic Sounding Concert Grand

    I own many sampled synth grand pianos including all of Ivory. This latest Ivory product, American Concert D, is the closest so far to a real concert grand sound, and I may choose to use it in my next Solo Piano Stylings CD. It has just the right amount of sustain longevity for an excellent studio production concert grand sound. The Ivory German, Bosendorfer and Italian Grands are great, but this has that one notch improvement due to long samples of a virtually perfect Steinway Concert Grand. It also offers many different preset variants of the piano, or allows you to customize your own. If you buy only one sampled concert grand synth add-in, this is it.

  • from Branson, Mo USA December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Composer

    Truly Amazing!

    This has made it possible for my home studio to put to rest the idea of purchasing a grand piano, because this product its that good. Simply replaces a real grand piano and gives my home studio a sound quality that frankly I wouldn't be able to achieve in my current facility

  • from United States December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Soundwriter.

    Amazing Update

    I have been a long time Ivory user. I recently decided to pickup this upgrade. I was hesitant at first because the Ivory Pianos II already has a Steinway model included. Let me say that this piano blew me away. The articulations and detail in the samples are unreal. The biggest thing that happened to me to cement that I had made a good purchase was the compliments I got from the band I was playing with the following week. "What did you do to your piano? It sounds amazing." nuff said...

  • from Atlanta, GA November 22, 2012Music Background:
    Composer

    Truly Brilliant.

    I have plenty of virtual pianos. Some are better than others, some are worse, but each has their place. Then I added IVORY American Concert D to the mix. Now there is no comparison. When you load it up, you cant help but be inspired by the sound, feel and touch of the piano. The songs came flowing out of me for the first couple of hours. I A/B'ed it with a C7 that I had recorded professionally, and I literally could not tell that the IVORY was virtual. The level of control that it offers is mind boggling--You can change so many parameters so that when you are mixing, if you need to make it sit better you can change it. Stick up, room tone, pedal noise...So in a dense mix you can lose all of that stuff, or in a sparse one you can have all of that juicy stuff and more. If there was any bad thing at all, it is that it does hog my CPU...I am running a 2.1 ghz MacBook with 4gb of ram and it eats up 75% of the CPU at any time. But it is worth it. Trust me. IMHO, it is the most realistic and glorious sounding Grand Piano I have ever played-except for the real ones of course.

  • from NYC September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Superb Virtual Piano, but i-Lok almost kills it!

    Pros: This virtual piano is best I've every played. The sound is warm, deep, and rich. The subtlety of the instrument is astonishing, wonderful to play.

    Cons: The iLok authorization is the worst. Besides having to lay down $50 for a piece of useless hardware - to protect the company's product - it doesn't work. Besides that, make sure you have a hefty system with lots of speed and RAM to handle it.

    I didn't mind spending half the afternoon installing the piano, that's understandable as its huge - 49 GB of piano samples on 7 DVDs.

    But when I carefully followed the instructions to authorize the iLok, I got an error concerning Active X. I called Sweetwater for help, the rep said that he had the same problem with iLok and could only get it to work by RE-INSTALLING WINDOWS!

    I spent a good deal of time Googling this issue and trying various fixes - no help. Finally - I found a user who said he had a fix: he installed an old version of Firefox - version 3.6 ( 10 years old?) and connected to the company through that browser. I found and installed the version, connected through the browser and sure enough, it worked.

    It's unacceptable that users should be put through these hoops so Synthogy can protect their software. It's no wonder people get pirated versions.

    Five stars for the great work Synthogy has done recording and sampling this beautiful piano. Minus five stars for the iLok.

Questions about the Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D (boxed)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway