0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Vic Firth SIH1 Isolation Headphones Reviews

3.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Vic Firth SIH1 Isolation Headphones?

Questions about the Vic Firth SIH1 Isolation Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Pier Giacalone
    from Pennsylvania January 27, 2017Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/studio owner

    Reviews say it all: Sound like crap, isolate great, Drummers love 'em

    I'm not a drummer so I can't stand these things. You feel like your head is in a vice and they sound horrible. But I run a commercial studio and they are EVERY drummers first choice. I have DT770s and 380pro, they don't care. "Give me the Vics". It all a drummer cares about, they stay on their head through an earthquake and they block out the entire known universe. So 5 stars for doing what they're supposed to do. If you wanted them to sound good you're in the wrong dept. Spend at least $ on some 7506s.

    Incidentally these are the models used to make ISO headphones for autistic kids - they just paint them friendly colors. That's because they REALLY do isolate. Like a drummer with gas :).

  • John
    from August 17, 2015Music Background:
    Performance and Recording

    Great Headphones

    These have been the best headphones! Since purchasing these seven (7) years ago, they have always worked great!. I used to jam with a drummer in a silent studio who demanded we use these headphones. You just have to be careful when handling them around the wires coming out of the headphones because you can pull them loose over time. They are still working just like new.

  • chris hayes
    from May 1, 2015Music Background:
    20 years drummer, 4 months producer

    great isolation

    As a drummer I was having problems with head phones staying on my head, and click track bleed through. Both problems are solved with these. Because of the ear muffs style they block out more of the drums so I don't have to have the volume cranked to hear my live playing. the tight fit also helps with bleed through with out having to wear a head band to keep then from shifting.

  • Dave D.
    from Bedford, NH June 8, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Great for practicing

    These headphones do a great job of isolating the drums during practice with or without playing along with a cd.

  • Chaz
    from Denver, CO December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Teacher, Asst. Worship Director, Live Sound

    Vic Made these?

    I purchased these about 2 years ago. I wish I would have got two. The low end from the closed cup is awesome. I picked them up for recording purposes, because the click track was showing up in the mice. I talked a sales rep and they said for less then $70 I wouldn't have to look for anything else. When the cups close it's pitch silent. when you pull them apart you recognize the sheer monstrous power they have. Down side which is a plus as well. They are super snug and you will develop a headache from it. But rest assure, you won't hear a click track in your recordings.

  • Bria
    from Laporte May 3, 2017Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Sh1 h headphones

    Nice reasonable cost comfortable well built closed design

  • Mark Myers
    from Napoleon, OH February 21, 2017

    Great Noise Attenuation, Good Sound

    I use these phones in my praise band at my local congregation. I play an acoustic kit that I converted into an E-kit and use Zildjian GEN16 cymbals played acoustically. I have moderate to severe tinnitus and hypercusis and really have to be careful with volume levels. On that end, the SIH1's do a very good job when it comes to volume reduction. I was even able to ditch ear plugs, something that I've used for almost all of my time drumming. We're using Behringer 16 channel individual monitor mixers, and it's great to be able to hear everyone clearly while controlling the volume of my monitor mix. Sound quality is pretty good overall. I have a set of Shure 440's that are definitely superior in that regard, but are insufficient for attenuating external volume. So, there's a trade-off happening: in my case, I'll give up a little sound quality for the sake of my ears. So far, they have been very comfortable to wear and I haven't had any issues quality wise.

  • Carl
    from Dayton, OH December 2, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer

    They work as advertised...

    I haven't had any of the problems some of the other reviewers complained about. I did set them on a snare drum and they fell off that and when they hit the floor they broke, but I can't knock them headphones for my mistake.

    Sound is decent, nothing you're going to get blown away by. The cups fit snugly over my ears and do a good job of isolation unless I tilt my head at an awkward angle, like when trying to see where a dropped stick may have gone off too. I wear eyeglasses at all times, and even though the fit is snug it isn't bothersome. I also have a huge head, and these manage to fit me, so unless you're a giant, they should fit most people.

    The isolation is what you would expect from over-the-ear ear protection. The lows tend to come through more, which I don't mind with drums. They cut out the cymbals and more cutting tones of snares, which is where you get most of the damage from anyway. (As a side note, when I jam with people, I'll use both foam ear plugs and then put these on and everything sounds amazing! Nothing is overbearing and it's like hearing an EQ'd mix live!) I do plug them into my phone to practice with a click or to play along with tunes and I never have to crank the volume completely up.

    Given they are headphones, they will have the same drawbacks all over-the-ear hearing protection has. They do squeeze to give a tight fit. I'm good for about an hour to an hour and a half before I feel like I need a break. But before that problem sets in, I'm usually getting pretty sweaty from them. The plastic wipes clean easily though. Also, whenever a rogue hit goes astray and I've struck one of the cups with a drum stick it took it just fine.

    The cord is sufficiently long for my purposes. My headphone amp is about four to six feet away and I have no problems reaching it with the supplied cord. It also came with a 1/4" adapter, which is a nice touch.

    You won't be mixing with them, but that's not why you buy these. They offer great isolation, decent sound, and will fit a big noggin. The cord length is decent. Just don't drop them! Only thing I'd like is if the price came down just a little. Not sure they warrant the current cost. I think $50 is about right.

  • Robert Robitaille
    from Dallas January 25, 2017Music Background:
    semi pro

    Isolation good, sound quality bad

    I have three pairs of these and I have used one pair for about 5 years and the two new pairs were for "slient" band rehearsal and recording. If you are just trying to keep your click track from spilling over into your mix then you're good to go but these headphones are incapable of recreating any low frequencies and you will not hear your kick drum. This will cause you to play different as you will tend to play the kick drum louder. If you are just trying to protect your hearing with no click then just get some headphones for the shooting range for $. In theory these are great but unfortunately in practice not so much.

  • Paul
    from November 4, 2015Music Background:
    Basement rockstar,

    Isolation good, sound bad

    Many others have already mentioned the design flaw where one side will short out shortly after you buy them even with careful use. I find the sound quality pretty poor as well. Just mids, no highs no lows. The isolation quality is good though.

  • Sam
    from Los Angeles September 6, 2015Music Background:
    Post Production/Music Production

    Bad Design

    The isolation for these headphones is pretty good and the sound quality is ok, but the construction and reliability is pretty awful due to a significant flaw in the design. The headphones will, over a relatively short period of time, begin to short out due to a bad connection (where the wire wire connects to the headphone). It is subtle at first, but then becomes a severe drop in audio, stuttering in and out, which makes following a click, backing track or a mix practically impossible.
    I've had one pair fail under warranty and a second fail out of warranty. Vic Firth won't admit to the flaw, yet 2 other friends of mine had the same thing happen to them with these cans.

    Fix this flaw Vic Firth and they'll be a great pair of isolating headphone for the money!

  • Joe
    from Old Bridge, NJ April 27, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    worst headphones I've ever purchased

    These headphones have been NOTHING but a problem. I bought them for their isolation qualities, and they work great, WHEN THEY ACTUALLY WORK!?! I bought two pairs from guitar center, in both pairs one side went out. Returned them to guitar center, received two more pairs, and the same thing happened to both pairs AGAIN. I contacted the company, told them what happened, they sent me two new pairs. About 3 months later, both busted!!!!!!! An absolute joke, nothing but problems and embarrassments in the studio. I've had 20 dollar headphones last years and these don't last weeks. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Questions about the Vic Firth SIH1 Isolation Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway