rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Novation Impulse 25 Keyboard Controller Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Novation Impulse 25 Keyboard Controller?

Questions about the Novation Impulse 25 Keyboard Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from USA November 24, 2015Music Background:
    I produce various types of music ranging from death metal to dubstep. Guitarist, vocalist, drummer, DJ

    Great!!

    I barely use any of the knobs/pads, but it's a great, quality piece of equipment that I don't know what I'd do without.

  • from September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Metal/ industrial

    Awesome

    great small midi controller! I also have a impulse 61 and this one is great for portability

  • from Doylestown PA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Music hobbyist and student.

    Keyboard fits the bill

    Novations Impluse 25 is a perfect match for DAW and Abelton. My son is also using it for his first class on Ableton. even before attending any classes, he began cutting his first tracks, working with many advanced features of this keyboard. It is intuitively laid out and great to use. The arp and roll functions are excellent, the pads have a great feel, and the semi-weighted keyboard has good touch. Tons of features and capabilities in a small package

  • from OK, USA March 26, 2014Music Background:
    edm producer, sound engineer

    BEST THING I'VE EVER OWNED

    This is without a doubt the most intense piece of musical equipment I've ever owned. Such a necessity for any producer. If you're in need of a small-ish keyboard with drum pads, knob controllers, and pitch/mod wheels...definitely get this. It makes things so much easier and boosts my work flow tremendously. GET THIS!

  • from Gulf Breeze, FL June 27, 2013Music Background:
    psytrance, dubstep, and ambient producer

    Serious Controller

    Really great controller with incredible design quality ! The perfect centerpiece for any producer, whether they are just getting started or a veteran musician .. I can't wait to unlock the full potential of this awesome controller !

  • from Detroit August 3, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Amateur Musician and Studio Engineer

    Great MID Controller!

    I bought this mainly to interface with Ableton. My top priority was a keyboard with decent action so I could get touch sensitive input. The action felt really great out of the box, but has broken in a bit since I have been playing for the past month, so now the feel is just okay. Still provides a really nice dynamic range for expressive playing.

    The 8 knobs configuration lines up really well with the effects and instrument parameters in Ableton, though it seems like the ratio of spin is off a bit (have to spin probably three full times on the knob on the device to get the knob to turn once in the program).

    One of the best features is the drum pad - It's very responsive, and provide some cool tricks with the arpeggiator and roll functions. Also, it's really handy to use as a clip launch/record pad.

    I'm sure there are many other ways the Impulse can control Ableton, unfortunately the included users manual is nil to none. It requires a lot of online research and digging, and the AutoMap feature can be a bit quirky sometimes. The included BassStation download is really great as well - really dynamic and flexible.

    Takeaway - Really decent controller which provides a lot of nice features for controlling your DAW (Specifically Ableton). I would say the price is just right.

  • from Milledgeville, OH April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Soundesigner

    Hardware OK, Software Horrible

    In general the hardware portion of this keyboard is average. The problem arises when you try to implement it with the software that is supposed to set it over the top, Automap. I found the software to be buggy at best. It wraps your plugins to be used with it which cause some not to pass Logics AU examiner that worked fine before wrapping. Fault number 2 is that for whatever reason, whenever I started Logic it would re-examine all of the wrapped plugins. This occurred every time I started Logic and is an obvious deal breaker.

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    2-24-2012

    The latest USB keyboard controller from Novation, the Impulse aims to provide complete control over your entire rig, with a slew of controls and functions. Does it succeed in its goal? Let's check it out!

    There are three flavors of Impulse available: 25-key, 49-key, and 61-key. I received the 49-key Impulse for review. Aside from the number of keys, the controllers are all similarly featured. The semi-weighted keybed has assignable aftertouch, and it feels great under your fingers. The obligatory pitch-bend and modulation wheels are provided. A nice blue LCD screen gives you visual feedback for what you are doing.

    But this controller is about more than just the keys. It's decked out with eight assignable rotary controllers (knobs) and nine sliders. (The sliders are only available on the 49- and 61-key versions -- there isn't room for them on the 25-key version.) Having nine sliders allows for full control over tonewheel organ simulation, if that's what you're using them to control. They could also be assigned to control DAW mixer faders or other control applications. Each fader is accompanied by an adjacent assignable soft switch.

    There are eight responsive groove-box-style pads for playing drums. Additional switches allow you to use these pads to do rolls, launch clips, or arpeggiate. A full set of transport controls rounds things out.

    All of these controls, plus others, can be quickly and easily assigned to send out MIDI control change messages. As just a MIDI controller, the Impulse has all of the control and features you could want. But it's when you install the included Automap V4 software that things get hopping. Automap V4 is an application that automatically detects what software you are running on your computer and instantly configures the Impulse to be able to control the parameters in that software -- be it your DAW, a plug-in, or a virtual instrument. This feature is amazing, and it truly allows the Impulse to become command central for your entire virtual studio. It's a joy to be able to get your hands on your software, whether you are mixing, tracking, playing, or processing. Automap V4 makes the process seamless and transparent.

    The Impulse is one of the most full-featured controllers I have encountered, with a great-feeling keyboard and plenty of controls. Combined with Automap V4, it's a stellar package that can take charge of any virtual rig.

  • Matt McKible
    10-20-2011

    Novation's Impulse 25 is professional USB/MIDI controller. It features a precision keyboard and a full control surface powered by a brand new version of Novation's Automap control software. When I tried it, it gave me everything I needed to control my DAW and virtual instruments effectively and efficiently.

    The software installed very easily and I got it set up with Ableton Live Lite, and in just a few minutes, I was able to get a session started and begin writing a song. The controls mapped to Ableton nicely. The eight pads are velocity sensitive, have arpeggiation and roll features, and are also able to launch Ableton live clips, which makes creating music even easier. The semi-weighted keyboard felt good in my hands. The black keys are more of a matte finish than shiny plastic, which I prefer to avoid slippage.

    Encoder resolution/acceleration can be a problem with some keyboards, but not with the Impulse. The rotary knobs are speed sensitive. If you turn them slowly, they increment slowly. Turn them fast and they increment rapidly. All of the Impulse models also feature mod and bend wheels. The bend wheel has good feel and centers quickly. All in all, the Impulse did everything that I needed it to and more. I would highly recommend picking this USB/MIDI controller up and trying it for yourself!

Questions about the Novation Impulse 25 Keyboard Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway