0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Nektar Impact LX49 49-key MIDI Controller Keyboard Reviews

4.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
  • Customer
    from February 13, 2016

    Nektar impact lx49

    Very nice this is a keeper

  • Dave Deck
    from San Francisco, CA November 19, 2015Music Background:
    Composer/Arranger/Producer

    BEST BUY!!

    I have been looking for a small keyboard to use when on the road that works with Cubase. The Nektar LX49 offers the most features in its price range and allows me to leave my expensive keyboards at home. If you are using windows 8/8.1 you may find that Cubase does not recognize the keyboard after following the included setup instructions. You can fix this problem by going to Nektar's Support page and downloading a dll file on that site. This will fix the problem and the keyboard works flawlessly after that. I am very satisfied with this keyboard.

  • mrdjspice1
    from New Jersey USA October 18, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    LX 49

    The LX is all you need for Reason

  • Randy
    from March 29, 2015Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Great

    Extremely great product. I am able to use this with all my software. Ease of use performs flawlessly. I would highly recommend this product.

  • Frank Kaufman
    from Maryland, USA March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Song writer, home recording enthusiast

    The Nektar Impact LX 49 does it all

    Plain and simple, the Nektar Impact LX 49 is a highly functional and easy to use midi keyboard. While this keyboard has many excellent features, perhaps the most noteworthy is its fine selection of velocity curves. I've tried numerous midi keyboards and the Impact LX stands head and shoulders above the rest in its capacity for expressive playing. The key bed itself is a pleasure to use and offers highly responsive keys. The DAW software integration is superb! When using Logic x, the Nektar software affords access to a new musical universe via instrument and smart control integration. I must also give a shout out to Nektar tech support. When I had a question about keyboard set-up, I received a response within 24 hours and the recommendations helped me immensely. If you're looking for a midi controller, save yourself some time and get the Nektar Impact LX 49.

  • Jake Massey
    from United States July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Live Sound Engineer

    Best at this Price

    By far the best at this price point, I love the square front keys, and all the features packed in this making it compatible with some 400 dollar controllers, and at this price is a great value. I will probably buy another for a secondary keys station in my worship team.

  • Christopher A Neiman
    from York, PA March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Playing for 32+ years. I also have a electronics background.

    Love It!!

    I spent a few days going back and forth between this and the Novation controllers. I'm so happy I chose the Nektar. It's a very solid piece of equipment. All the controls feel solid and function perfectly. The action is a bit stiffer than my Yamaha Workstation (EX5). But since the pads function so well, I sort of like the more "piano" like feel The one reason I got this was for the pads. I never particularly liked using keys to bang out drum patterns.

    I use Cubase primarily so this was another reason for getting this. So far it functions as advertised with the software. I'm not a MIDI genius and getting deeper into the controller is easy to do. Just need to read the short manual to understand how to make changes. The LX49 is a very useful piece of equipment and I can see how this will be something I will use for a long time.

    I really like the design philosophy of Nektar and the company seems like they really know what the market needs. No hype products with purpose driven functionality and great pricing.

  • Ishmael Schoolfield
    from Seffner, FL December 28, 2013

    Best Midi keyboard out there

    This is a great keyboard controller. It should cost more. Does way more than I expected.......

  • RAM5063
    from United States November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best Controller for my $$$

    Just received the LX49. SWEETWATER is really the BEST!!! Do the math, controller was just released. Great piece of kit for the $$$$. Keys are semi-weighted and very playable. Sliders, knobs and buttons feel very sturdy. Mod and pitch wheels punch way above it's class. Great job NEKTAR. Now let's play!!!!

  • Christos K
    from Greece February 18, 2017Music Background:
    not profesional

    Very Good

    Hi, i have it 3 months now, and i am very very happy...
    I use it with Reason and Nuendo and i am 99% happy.
    The 1 % is because there is no lights at the keys when it is dark.
    The new edition i think have some color led lights at the keys

  • Charles Alary
    from New Kensington, PA April 21, 2016

    Best Bang!

    I was first concerned that it wouldn't work with Pro Tools, well it does. Going to Nektars web-site guides you in how to put it in emulation. The only snag is sometimes you have to shut off the keyboard, then turn it back on for Pro Tools to connect. Everything else is pre-mapped for Bitwig Studio, Cubase, Digital Performer, Garageband, Logic X, Nuendo, Reaper, Reason, SONAR, and Studio One. The controls are accurate and smooth.

  • Bill W.
    from Michigan August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Film composer, pro-musician 25+yrs

    Great value

    I bought this as a companion to my Kawai ES100, which serves as an 88 controller. The Kawai comes with no CC control at all, not even a mod wheel. It's just a piano, so the Nektar fit my extra needs well. I bought it based on the reviews here and I'm not disappointed.

    I would give it a perfect rating if it shipped with dedicated ProTools support. I use protools primarily, and although the Nektar website offers a mini solution for me (transport and mixer faders support), its no where near the interactivity provided for nearly every other software product. Why they left PT out of the mix is a mystery. Aside from that it's a great product. The keybed feels like a toy, but it performs surprisingly well and has good velocity response. The faders, knobs, pad and buttons are well laid out and encode accurately.

  • Jon
    from Canada June 22, 2015

    Great controller

    After purchasing (and returning) the Korg Triton Taktile, this controller is a blessing.
    It doesn't have all the features the Korg does, but guess what? The features it does have, actually work!
    I Literally went to the Nektar website, downloaded the file that corresponds to the DAW I'm using (Cubase), installed it, plugged in the keyboard and that was it. Everything worked. After 3 days with the Korg and I wasn't even close. Want to control the mixer? Hit mixer! Want to control a VST? Hit the Inst. (instrument) button. Faders and knobs all work flawlessly.

    Here's where I deduct half a star:
    The keys on this are not great. Almost picture the old Casio you had when you were 10. I 've used the Taktile, The MPK249 and an Axiom and this has the worst keys of the lot. Not by a long shot, but it is worth noting. (The MPK had the best keys but like the Korg, I needed a PhD to operate it)

    If you're in the market for a controller and like the idea of controlling the mixer, VST's, scrolling through banks and just want to get an idea down, do not hesitate to buy this. For this price, it's a steal.
    If you're a professional piano player (I don't know why you'd be getting this) but if you are, you may want to look elsewhere

    I'm just happy to see a new company actually do stuff better than well established ones, but I guess they have a lot more to prove, and they did.

  • big steve
    from orange county california May 13, 2014Music Background:
    music = life

    awesome!

    really awesome midi controller for just starting out or easing back into things. comes with a 100 dollar DAW that is no joke! so for 150, you have a great deal! i just wish it had midi i/o (not just midi through usb)
    overall amazing deal and sweetwater service is always well, sweet...

  • Isaiah Sonneland
    from Spokane, WA, USA April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Can't beat the price

    The integration with Reason is seamless. My only beef is the keys are a little bit stiff, but heck for the price it is amazing! Zero issues!

  • Kevrie Howard
    from phoenix, AZ USA December 27, 2013Music Background:
    home studio

    Great Keyboard!

    Opened this bad boy up and have been playing with new sounds and writing new tracks with ease. Great buy and an awesome price. Shipping was great as well!

  • Livinginthewoods
    from S.E.Texas July 17, 2015Music Background:
    25 years guitar and recording

    Backs up it's claims!

    Nektar's DAW integration is about as easy as it gets.
    I bought a similar controller from another manufacturer (also starts with N) and it was a nightmare trying to get it to work with Windows 8.1 due to driver issues, and there was zero support available from the manufacturer. It didn't even work consistently with the DAW software that it came with!
    So, I took it back and ordered this.
    I plugged it up to my computer, downloaded the latest DAW integration software from Nektar's website, and it worked right off the bat in Studio One with no additional setup or tweaking whatsoever. And it works WELL. In Reaper it took some very minor setup and was working great, the integration is not as impressive as it is with Studio One but still works well.
    It is heavier that the other controller and feels better to the hand in almost every way. The mod/pitch wheels are smooth and the faders feel fine for what they are. I like that the buttons have a tactile response that lets you know you have pushed it, something else the other controller lacked.
    The pads feel good and respond well. I will need to mess with the velocity levels but it's not bad as is.
    The keys are this controller's obvious shortcoming and the knobs could have a little tighter feel and some sort of tactile response but at this price and considering the ease of use, it's hard to complain.
    Overall, I am more than pleased and would recommend this product to anyone looking for a budget midi controller. Likewise, if I was in the market for a more professional level controller, Nektar would be at the top of my list after this experience.
    Of course as always, Sweetwater and their staff are the best in the business when it comes to customer service. (love those Atomic Fireballs!)

  • Glenn
    from Usa April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Gospel

    Love it

    I love it I upgraded the fader knobs just to have a more custom feel

  • Randy Ravenscraft
    from Hillsboro, Ohio USA September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Semi-Pro Musician

    Great Keyboard, great interface features!

    Was looking for a reasonably priced controller with a good keyboard feel. The LX49 served both. Action is much better than other controllers in this price range. And a great bonus is its pre-mapped DAW configs- using it with Studio One is a breeze. I do wish it had a DIN MIDI output and/or a separate power input jack, so I could use it with my ipad apps. The ipad doesn't provide enough USB power. And with no way to connect a separate power source to the LX, nor to plug into my ioDock MIDI, I'm stuck using the LX with just my Macbook. Guess a person needs to spend a little more for those features. So overall, I'm very satisfied.

  • jmox
    from United States July 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist , organist

    cheap keys

    Well build unit and nice looking ,but the keys have very bad response and not expressive and noisy and feels very cheap
    And after few months of use the keys are not even

  • Jim
    from NC February 18, 2014Music Background:
    songwriter

    Meh - underwhelmed

    OK, it integrates very easily with my cubase system but I thought the controls would be more direct. I don't want to hit shift and something else. I can do that with my computer keyboard. At least it was cheap, I'd send it back but for the shipping cost and the effort I'll just throw it on Craigs list.

  • Max
    from January 2, 2016

    Not good for piano players

    This keybaord has a lot of good things going for it. The integration is amazing and covers so many DAWs. Just download the software from Nektar and its plug and play. The one big letdown though is the keybaord. The keys are stiff and a little too springy. Also the velocity response is all over the place. Playing anything other than forte pop chords will result in an unsatisfactory performance.

  • Bill Berlinghoff
    from Montville, Maine May 30, 2016

    Annoying

    I REALLY don't like not having a DVD included! The idea of downloading the software may seem fine to city folk, but I live in a place where data downloading is limited and expensive. So I can't rate how well this item works because I haven't really been able to use it yet! That's frustrating and disappointing, especially since it was sold to me (rather than a less expensive, but keyboard) because it was supposed to be so easy to set up. I'm sorry I took that advice. I'll know better next time (if there is a next time).

  • Customer
    from September 16, 2015

    eh..

    no lights, cant work in a dark studio .. keys are un comfortable not inspiring to play.. feels ..clumbsy

Questions about the Nektar Impact LX49 49-key MIDI Controller Keyboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway