0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Vox Ice 9 Satriani Overdrive Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Zach Neels

    The Vox Ice 9 overdrive pedal is absolutely stunning! After setting up a raunchy rhythm tone, engage it for a great lead tone that anyone playing hard rock or metal would be jealous of. Turning on the "more" button gives you a great boost for soloing, as well as full blown lead lines. The Vintage/Modern switch also provides a huge palate to chose from when crafting your own signature sound.

  • from June 26, 2014

    Best drive pedal yet

    WOW.. This thing is the best drive unit i have used by far. The different sounds and tones are like little preset settings after you get used to it.
    Bass is a must have in any drive pedal, just impossible to find. Set up on a clean or crunch channel for best results imo, but have a pen and paper ready, because when you start playing with it, you cannot stop.
    Done looking for drive pedals now.

  • from Lake Tahoe, Nevada USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician; guitar and keyboards.

    Velvety smooth tones with killer sustain.

    The first thing I noticed is the total absence of background noise. The next thing I discovered is that the Ice 9 is incapable of making too much distortion which means that the last half of the gain knob isn't wasted on settings you'll never use. If you listen to Satch then you should have a pretty good idea what type of voicing this unit will give to your leads and it won't disappoint; if you are looking for a dirty, crunchy sound this is not your stomper. The distortion is rich and creamy with a texture that is ultra compatible with deep reverbs, delay driven sustains and subtle chorusing. The sustain is way better than I'd expect from a stomper with such mellow overdrive and I really like the control it gives me over the feedback with my whammy bar. I also like the way it reminds me of the power sponge on my Peavey; I can get the sound I want without having to crank the volume way up. The "more" button is set at 14 dB which turns out to be perfect for that extra punch when I want to break out of a mellow-dy into a shredder and even go back again with ease. The toggle switch gives you the choice between two similar yet distinct sounds and the knobs have the feel of quality to them. The dials provide consistent change over the entire range of travel so they quickly becomes intuitive and predictable to set. Overall, if you are looking for excellent quality and an easy way to dial in to Satch's sound you will love this unit.

  • from Makaha Valley, HI USA January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Get This!!!

    Bought this pedal almost four years ago. Used it and loved it. Moved a few times and completely forgot about this pedal...my son found this pedal in a box marked "misc."...Needless to say, this pedal offers an awesome, medium gain type of overdrive. If you're into heavy metal, don't get this pedal. If you're into blues, this pedal will NAIL the Stevie Ray Vaughan tone...doesn't matter if you have a solid state amp or a tube amp, use the clean channel, set the gain on the Ice-9 around 9:00, tone and bass to your taste and Crank that volume, throw in some reverb also. Pair this pedal with a compressor pedal and you can get some Keith Urban and Brad Paisley tone. Get this pedal!!!

  • from Soo Michigan January 21, 2011Music Background:
    FREAKAZOID

    TRANSPARENT

    I kind of went out on a limb with this one because, every overdrive pedal I've ever tried didn't cut it. Thanks to Sweetwater's return policy, I decided to go for it.
    The biggest thing here is transparency. When I click this baby on it doesn't sound like a Vox Ice 9 pedal. It sounds like my amp with that bit of extra drive we're all looking for. Also, it works well to retain my guitar tone. AWESOME! Doesn't matter what your settings are. I tried different amps and guitars/pickups. When I'm running clean, click it and it sounds nice and punchy. When I'm running full on high gain, click it and it blisters. All my tone is intact. Actually works like an overdrive pedal should. GREAT!
    Bottom line: Best overdrive pedal on the market, a reasonable price, and it looks pretty cool. Gotta love it!

  • from Yakima, WA January 15, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Nice 9

    This pedal has all the makings of a vintage overdrive with warm overtones and excellent flexibility. Then switch it down to "modern" and WOW, it's like having two pedals in one. Excellent contruction and the "more" button rules!

  • from Knoxville, TN November 22, 2010Music Background:
    Worship Leader.

    Nice

    Well when i received this pedal i was blown away by it. I had been looking for overdrive that had a nice thick bottom and a good sparkle on the Top end. If you crank the tone knob(its just like a low pass filter.) and put the bass knob at 12 o clock it sounds just like homemade cake. I like it better than pretty much every other overdrive ive used. Its got the perfect amount of gain too. I love it. The Satchurator was way too dirty for anyone that doesn't use any high gain sounds. But this is perfect. I may buy another one.

  • from North Canton, OH May 17, 2012Music Background:
    Praise & Worship musician

    VOX ICE 9

    This overdrive pedal is amazing, specially when used with single coil pickups. The thing that amazes me the most about this pedal is the separate bass control and the Vintage and Modern options. Not a common sight to see in overdrive pedals, and the "MORE" button it does meant what is for!. Awesome pedal for your rig. Between Joe and VOX this is a high quality product.

  • from CO March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Praise worship, amateur musician

    This is a "great" pedal

    I did a side-by-side with the Mosfet today. Used a Gretsch 5422 and American Tele through a VOX AC15 custom on its normal and boost channels. If I were only rating it on the Gretsch, I would give it a 3-3.5, and the Tele a 4.
    The fact is the pedal's sound was WAY too heavy with the Gretsch. I couldn't control the low end at all, and had to keep the bass knob at 12 o'clock or lower, no matter the other settings. And using the top-boost channel, I had to keep the volume below about 2 o'clock and really had to mess with the bass/treble - which made it all out of whack when I switched the pedal off.
    As for the Tele, the low end was much better. Still thought it was a little heavy for my taste, and I again would not recommend using it with the top-boost, unless you can set your bass/treble/volume and leave 'em. The "More" switch is nice. To me it sounded like it cleaned up the sound while providing the extra fat tones, and gives a good setting for that extra boost to do some crackling solos. Definitely like the "Vintage" toggle over the "Modern", but both are great, as the "Modern" toggle provides a little extra oomph.
    Overall, the transparency was good. I wouldn't go as far as others have, because it got a little muddy with Gretsch buckers, and therefore I'd question it through any other ones as well, but the sound through the single coils was quite nice.

Questions about the Vox Ice 9 Satriani Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close