0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Peavey IPR 1600 - 1600 watt Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • Donovan Schulteis
    from Colorado Springs, CO April 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Amp - Lightweight and Loud

    I now own 2 of these, and one of the 3000 models. Great setup for a small-to-mid-size PA/venue, and very nice to transport (no more dolly's!). Great, clear, loud sound. I couldn't wait any longer for the 5000 in order to have my PA fully ready to play, so I went with a second 1600 and down-stepped the mains and subs from where I wanted them to be, and it is still really loud - may not need the 5000. I do notice if you get a loud pop (such as plugging something in) after the power amps are one, one of my 1600's goes haywire, makes a nasty digital noise, and needs to be power cycled. Strangely enough, this only seems to happen on 1 of the 1600's, and not the other. We just have to be a little more careful to have things muted when plugging and unplugging systems into the mixer. Might send the one in for service, if it every becomes a real problem - right now it seems to only happen at setup or breakdown, and not during a show/practice. Other than that, it would get 5 stars!

  • Frobie
    from Findlay, OH February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Active, gigging bassist, Live sound engineer

    Go with QSC

    After using this amp for a live show (running both channels at 4 ohms) I have to say that this amp doesn't sound as punchy and dynamic as QSC's GX series amps. I'm not saying that this isn't a good amp but it definitely is not the quality of Peavey's other amps. I'm not convinced that the power ratings are completely accurate either but I have not bench tested this unit to find out for sure. My QSC GX3 is much more dynamic and better at reproducing bass frequencies. Overall, this amp is okay but I think you can get better performance from QSC- especially the RMX series amps.

  • Just Yack
    from California July 7, 2011Music Background:
    DJ

    love it

    Did not think this amp would have so much power, Purchased this amp last week have already done four gigs with it. Lighest amp I have ever owned!!!!

  • Simpson Desbonne
    from St. Croix, Virgin Islands June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I like this amp

    I have to give this amp five stars. I love it. It is ridiculously light (I had a 47-pound Peavey before) but not light in the power department. I am running a Mackie 24 channel board into the amp. The only other thing in my rack is a Fuhrman power strip and a Lexicon MX400. I have two Mackie cs300Z's and I run the mono out from the mixer into a Mackie SRM 1801 powered sub...sweeet sounding system, clean and powerful.

  • wolfman63
    from Dayton Ohio April 11, 2011Music Background:
    Experienced Enough

    It is what it is

    It is a light weight, low cost, Peavey power amp, manufactured in China. It is NOT a CS800, If you need massive power for huge sub woofers, you probably need to look elsewhere. It is digital, which equals acceptable lows, and lots of mid and high frequency power. Great for a system which reproduces VOCALS. It is from China, which is where things are built to Peavey specs at greatly reduced labor prices. For the price it's hard to beat. Low weight, good power, and Peavey reiiability. Mine works really well after a little over a year. It has it's place in my small gig system . Can't speak for others.

  • N. Sims
    from North Alabama April 10, 2011Music Background:
    Southern Gospel, Bluegrass and Bluegrass Gospel

    First Peavy Amp

    I needed another amp to run more monitors at an outdoor event comming up. I usually use Crown but choose to try this Peavy instead because of output and the features it has. ( price was also a consideration) I am happy to say I am well pleased with its performace. We set it up in our project studio and turned up the volume it is very loud and clean. I ran set of JBL 412 M-Pro's and it pushed them well. I would recomend it to anyone who is playing small venues 250 to 600 folks. Churches, clubs, ect.

  • Walt Archambeault
    from NewHampshire December 13, 2010Music Background:
    Hobby musician

    Fantastic!

    I power a set of Behringer pro 18 subs with this amp. With the built in crossover network this unit rocks. I play in a classic rock band @ local venues and it's more than enough. Has done wonders to our sound!

  • Hal
    from Kansas City, Mo. November 12, 2010Music Background:
    giging musician

    Big bang for your bucks

    I have two of these amps, one powering the mains which are two PV15s, and one powering the floor monitors which are also Peavey 15" with horns. Plenty of power for my small band and the sound is as clear as can be. I plan on adding 18" Peavey subs and will power them with another Peavey amp, the IPR 3000. I think the IPR series gives you alot of crisp clean power for a price thats easy on the budget. I have a ton of Peavey gear that I have purchased through the years, and have never had a piece of Peavey equipment let me down. Nice job Peavey!

  • Jajuba
    from Los Angeles, Ca June 2, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not working out

    I bought a Peavey IPR 1600 a couple days ago. Mounted it in my rack hooked everything up, (I'm using it for my bass guitar) Did some tests, sounds good nice and clear, pretty loud. I decided I need more power so I'm waiting for the IPR 3000. Tonight I had my first band rehearsal using the 1600, and it started acting weird before we made it through the first song. The DDT light started coming on a lot on the right channel. turning the speaker off and on on that channel. so I turned everything down a bit, same thing... I tried switching speakers, inputs, cables, etc. the only way to make it stop was turning it down so low that my 200watt bass amp was louder... After looking online I found they do have a few problems that I could send it in for free to fix the problem, but I'll just take it back... Not sure If I want the 3000 or not now...

  • Shane Haley
    from Jacksonville, IL April 22, 2010Music Background:
    musician/Dj

    great amp

    I don't know how Peavey got all this power in a amp that only ways 7 pounds. I run my amp With a pair of PV 115. I would recomend this amp to anyone. Besides the awsome sound quality, The blue led lights inside are vary stylish. Well Worth the money

  • Doug Rogahn
    from Minnesota March 11, 2010Music Background:
    Owner of Mobile DJ Service

    Peavey IPR 1600

    I Received my Peavey IPR 1600 today, I already have owned a Peavey PV 1500, which I use for mobile DJ at wedding receptions,
    hooked up to a pair of Peavey SP2s, I did a/b test on some music
    comparing amps, and the new IPR 1600 compared well to the Peavey
    PV1500, The new IPR 1600 sounds great and power out apears to me just a bit more power out than the Peavey 1500 in the stereo mode, I beleive the IPR 1600 is not able to bridge the output, ( my only complaint )
    I like the selector swith to ouput full range , sub( below 100 hz ) and hi out ( above 100 hz). on each channel independly. The gain controls are smooth and well labeled but no detents,
    They must have gotten a good deal on blue led lights ,cause they have the inside of the box is all lit up with them, : ) At only 7 lbs its amazing the output you get with this amp, The varible speed fan is quieter than the PV 1500 I have. The price and service from Sweetwater was great, I will need to put it thu the rigors of mobile DJ Events to give the final verdict but so far I am very happy with this amp. I am going to place an order for a 2nd one.

  • mark fenech
    from sedona az February 11, 2010Music Background:
    Singer

    Light in the loafers

    great on my back, struggling to push my monitors
    Looks good too... i am going to try the 3000 whenever it shows up
    glad it was priced well

Questions about the Peavey IPR 1600 - 1600 watt?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway