0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Whirlwind IMP 2 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box Reviews

4.5 stars based on 44 customer reviews
Questions about the Whirlwind IMP 2 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Whirlwind IMP 2 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Florida May 11, 2017Music Background:
    Production manager

    Wirlwind Di

    A great little Di to have...

  • from Bonne Terre, Mo. April 19, 2017Music Background:
    "Retired" professional musician

    Great Value!

    Bought one of these for use with Acoustic Gtr. at Church....loved it!...brought out the clear sound of the gtr. ....so I ordered another one!,...I buy ALOT of music equipment for my own use....and Sweetwater has become my favorite online store!..Great customer service...fast shipping!

  • from MO April 13, 2017Music Background:
    "retired" professional musician

    Does the job!

    Bought 2 of these for our Church band. Very good price...and they are of good quality! They work great~!

  • from Dansville March 23, 2017Music Background:
    Long time guitar player but still a beginner

    Solid device

    I didn't rate it a 5 because I am completely new at this. I had a great deal of help from Mark Maddich on getting set up, Sweetwater is the best! I am VERY happy that the IMP 2 is designed and built in the U.S.A. This box is built like a tank, it will outlast me I think. For anyone requiring a direct box like this I highly recommend it.

  • from Corning, NY February 8, 2017

    Works Great!

    Simple, elegant way to play my electric and acoustic electric direct into the PA. Rugged enclosure should provide years of trouble free service.

  • from Ashland, WI December 11, 2016

    Questionable quality control

    Does the job and sounds good. It did fail after three months, problem easily diagnosed and repaired as a cold solder common connection to the input jacks.

  • from August 29, 2016

    Whirlwind IMP 2

    It works great! I play harmonica at church and use it to hook up to their sound system with 1/4"
    Cable and my microphone. Sweetwater staff recommended this product. I'm very satisfied.

  • from Indianapolis, IN July 16, 2016

    Whirlwind Imp 2

    Simple, easy, how can you go wrong ? Love it.

  • from Texas June 30, 2016

    Works Great

    Since we set These boxes up at our performances we had no more bad interruptive sounds. This box works incredible

  • from Miami, FL April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Sangary Brothers (Band)

    This thing gets the job done!

    The Whirlwind IMP 2 does exactly what a direct box is supposed to do. I gig a lot and being able to use an acoustic guitar is crucial to my set. It really does a great job in cleaning up the signal. The box is a rugged and simple design. I have no doubt that it will last a LONG time.

  • from Spring Arbor Free Methodist March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Director of Audio and Ligting

    Dependable

    Parallel in/out works great for instrumentalists that are wanting to tap into their rig on stage along side of giving me a straight signal to play with.

  • from Perryton March 15, 2016

    Whirlwind IMP 2

    It works great! We use it on stage for our band and has never let us down.

  • from Sandusky,Ohio February 10, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician & sound engineer

    Great, Affordable DI Box

    I have used these DI's for years, have some that are 10 years old, never any problems! They are just a great little piece when needed for sound systems.

  • from February 10, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician, singer/songwriter

    does what it is supposed to do

    I was having trouble with buzz through an old DI box so I got this. Our rehearsal space has everything on one circuit and the lights have dimmers so noise is a problem. The ground lift switch made the noise disappear. it's affordable and rugged and I hope it lasts 30 years like my last DI box did. I'm using it with a Taylor and Martin acoustic both with active pickups.

  • from St. Louis February 7, 2016Music Background:
    Performer, music teacher 20+ years

    Works great

    Does exactly what I wanted it to do. I'm using it on bass guitar for signal to the mixer. I'm getting a very clear, full, punchy bass sound into the DAW. When we first plugged it in the ground lift was on. Flipped the switch , silence.

  • from Boerne, TX January 2, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    IMP 2

    Your run of the mill barebones DI. Nothing fancy here. 2 1/4" inputs (paralleled, so you don't have to worry about guitarists plugging into the output), an XLR output, and one ground/lift switch. Pretty tough metal case and everything feels sturdy. Sounds pretty darn good for a $50 passive DI.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 3, 2015

    Nice gear

    Works great

  • from Colorado Springs, CO September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Church worship leader, lead and rhythm guitar, bass

    DI box

    I've been using these DI boxes for years in mobile churches and church plants. They've been beaten, dropped, kicked, and knocked around, but worked every time they're plugged in. You can't beat it for the price.

  • from Lancaster, OH July 8, 2014Music Background:
    I strum a guitar

    It Works !!!

    Needed an avenue to change the signal from our overhead projector to our P.A. system. It works great and no buzzing!

  • from Jacksonville, IL March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist, Vocalist, Sound Man

    Simplest DI Box, yet Solid & Reliable

    This box will kill any buzz you have whether it's from your speakers, or your keyboard with a crappy output jack on it. For only $50, you can't beat it!

  • from Green Valley, AZ USA December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musican

    Great Device to interface EWI with Helicon Voice Live 2

    Bought this to interface midi device with an XLR cable as input into a Helicon Voice Live 2. The perfect solution for using my EWI (electronic wind controller) with the Voice Live 2. Works great, effective low cost solution to allow one to produce some amazing effects with the EWI. Many thanks to Jason at Sweetwater for recommending this solution.

  • from Washington, DC November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Performing artist, professional

    Reliable piece of gear

    This DI is very light, has a perfect size but is still very strong. I play the violin and my instrument is coming out nice and clear, the sound have definitely improved.
    It will fit perfectly in your budget which to me, was the cherry on top.
    I recommend it.

  • from Mobile, AL USA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Does the trick

    Bought two of these for line level outs on a guitar and bass rig
    to the mixer. Works perfectly and the ground lift solved the hum
    problem I was having with a cheaper DI box.
    Built like a tank for road use, this is a great buy and an outstanding
    unit.

  • from Pacific Grove, CA July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Small Studio Owner

    Solid Product

    Does the trick on a budget. Sturdy little box, no self noise, solid connections. Everything one would expect from a DI box. Would absolutely purchase again

  • from Richmond, VA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Built Solid, Does the Job

    The IMP2, like most Whirlwind products, is solidly built and does what you need it to. For providing safe ground lifting and impedance conversion this is an industry standard.

    Folks looking for a "one size fits all" solution to any and all hum problems should be aware that EVERY item in the signal chain needs to have hum addressed. This is just one (albeit important) part of the solution.

  • from December 20, 2012Music Background:
    4-yr Guitarist

    Affordable and Worth its Use

    I bought this after looking at the price ranges for passive direct boxes, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this at this low a price - and amazed further when I got it out of the box and into my signal chain.

    I have been using it since the day I got it, and it performs its job well. My only gripe is that the paint wears off a bit quick when left on the ground - making it look a few years old after a couple months.. =)

    Other than that, the ground lift function works very well, and solved me some guitar pickup problems that I was having.

    If you're reading this review, don't hesitate to place the order now - it won't let you down; and at this price, it's a steal.

  • from Cheyenne, WY December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound

    I like what I see

    So far this is another good Whirlwind product. I have had the cable tester for a number of years and it's been reliable. This is my first experience with this particular model so we'll see over time how it holds up. The ground lift was an important feature to combat a dirty AM station in the area whose signal has infiltrated our wiring. If it holds up like the cable tester does we're on a winner here.

  • from New Jersey August 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician for 20 years. Acoustic, Electric, Solo, Band.

    Great unit for a good price

    This unit does what it is supposed to do and the best part is that it's passive. It's quiet but really delivers a punch on the other end.

  • from Union, Ms June 11, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Whirlwind IMP2

    Great tool for our sound system. The guitars love them.

  • from Knoxville, TN May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    IMP2

    Simple, practical, sturdy. Clean signal path and a simple ground switch.

  • from Atlanta, GA April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    IMP 2

    Does NOT help my electric guitar player loose that static, yet to find one that does.

  • from United States March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound, Hobby Recording

    Does what I it's made to do.

    Built as solidly as advertised.

  • from Sturgis, MI February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Does as it should

    This unit works great... Would have been good to include installation instructions or diagram as we haven't used this type of gear in a quite a while and some less experienced in our group didn't know how to use it or what it is for.

  • from TX February 10, 2012Music Background:
    Audio engineering and studio gear builder

    Good Direct Box at a Good Price

    The IMP2 is considered an industry standard direct box for good reason - It is rugged, long lasting, and does its job well.
    Inside is really just a transformer and some connectors which means that this direct box doesn't have any extra parts to fail.
    Highly recommended!

  • from Canton, IL USA January 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    did what it says

    it did exactly what i needed it to do, sounds clear, and clean

  • from Charleston, SC October 4, 2011Music Background:
    Music Minister (25+ years), University Professor (6+ years)

    IMP 2

    These are simply the best. I've never had one go bad. I will not purchase anything else.

  • from Florida September 20, 2011Music Background:
    Sound engineer

    Works Great

    The IMP2 works just like I had expected. But, no surprise from the folks at Sweetwater -- stuff is reasonably priced, delivery is fast, stuff always works, and -- best of all -- they follow up with contacts witht the customer to make sure everything is OK. Best on-line supplier that I've found.

  • from Enfield,CT September 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Quick Turnaround time and great service.

    Product works great. Very easy and stress-free transaction. Product arrived very quickly. Sweetwater contacted me to let me know the product had been shipped....then again after it arrived just to make sure all was well. Great service!

  • from New Hampshire August 20, 2011Music Background:
    Longtime folk and bluegrass performer

    IMP 2 is sturdy and noise-free

    We are using this DI to integrate electric bass with an otherwise acoustic band, with all other instruments miced. The IMP 2 gives a proper balanced signal to the PA mixer, while passing through the signal to the onstage bass amp. Most important: it adds no noise to either signal.
    If it still works this well a couple of years from now, I'll raise my rating to 5 stars.

  • from palatine, IL. August 10, 2011Music Background:
    live Sound / Musician

    Whirlwind IMP 2

    Great DI for the price. I own several of these and have had no problems

  • from Cape May, NJ July 28, 2011Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    It's simple and it works

    I use the IMP 2 at a restaurant as an entry point for musicians to connect to the house audio system. I no longer have problems with buzz and distortion. It is also well built.

  • from Iowa July 4, 2011Music Background:
    FOH engineer, Pro Musician

    Quality for price

    Good little DI for the money. Its built like a brick so you're not going to worry about breaking it on the road.

  • from Illinois January 24, 2011Music Background:
    Sound Board- House of Worship

    DI leveled the playing field

    We installed our new Yamaha powered mixer several months ago, the goal was to get all vocals and instruments through the board. I kept struggling with the bass and acoustic guitar; burying the gains, boasting the faders just to get a blink on the input. Finally called my favorite Sweetwater guy: Kurt Martin who happens to play an acoustic himself with direct input. Immediately he advised me that both the acoustic and bass had very high signal output impedance and recommended this quick fix. Amazing what $50 does to a line level; gains are back to normal, faders are back down; and low and behold- I have a signal input. Flip of the switch on the high lift and the guitar humm disappeared. Thanks Kurt- loved it so much I bought two. i also liked the fact that it is passive; we ran out of receptacles along time ago.

  • from Rhode Island April 1, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome in a Pinch!!!

    I was looking for a Direct Box for emergencies and did not consider this one at all. After calling in to my sales representative he steered me toward the Whirlwind, and I could not be any happier! You wouldn't believe how many times now I've either had a) The Guitarist's Active DI go bad or b) Their amp go and I whip out this little baby to save the day. Rugged, Reliable, and sounds great!

Questions about the Whirlwind IMP 2 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway