0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Blackstar ID:Core 10 2x5-watt 2x3" Stereo Combo Amp with FX Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Blackstar ID:Core 10 2x5-watt 2x3" Stereo Combo Amp with FX?

Questions about the Blackstar ID:Core 10 2x5-watt 2x3" Stereo Combo Amp with FX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Faith, SD November 28, 2016

    Little amp that could

    I been looking for a small amp with big sound and after researching, I decided on the ID Core 10. The sound is awesome and not only that, you can play with this amp and get many voicings. Plus, with the duel speakers, the sound is amazing.

    Love this jewel.....

  • from July 13, 2016

    Great Practice Amp

    I got this as a practice amp as I already have a 60 Watt Blackstar Tube amp and at normal volumes it was too loud for the small apartment I live in.

    I was immediately impressed by the ease of use and the tones I could achieve out of this little 10 Watt Amp! I play a lot of small clubs and pubs, I'm thinking this might be all the amp I need for some of those smaller places. For only being 10 watts this thing is pretty loud.

    Either way, I'm very happy. For the money it really has impressed me!

  • from St. Marys, Georgia December 2, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Singer/Songwriter

    Best $100.00 I've ever spent!

    I bought this amp over 1 year ago to use while I was trying to decide on a larger gig amp and for use in my small studio as a practice amp. I have tried a crazy number of amps, both tube and solid state over the last 5 years. All had good and bad features, but NONE compare to the overall performance, sound and ease of use I experienced with this great little amp. I still use this amp as part of my practice/writing regular playing and have had NO Problems at all with daily use.

    I like it so much that I have added a ID Core BEAM AND ID15-TVP to my amp stable, and my next TUBE amp will be a Blackstar. All this started with buying the CORE 10 amp. Catch the fever!

  • from Charlotte NC November 18, 2015Music Background:
    50 + year guitar geek

    Great little amp

    This is a great little amp for practicing, recording and learning. Easy to use interface and computer access. Very useable patches that are very easy to edit and store. Stereo effect is very, very nice. Crunch and distortion tones are very juicy and respond well to pick attack. Effect selection very nice and tweakable. Clean channels are very nice though some may object to the compressed feel, I happen to like it. Very impressed with construction and functionality. Was using a Fender Mustang as around the house amp before and this is much more to my liking as it is easier to to get useful tones and set up the effects. Though there are fewer choices in amp styles on the score as opposed to the Mustang, the fact that you can have three effects at once and each is individually tweak able from the control panel is a big plus.A steal at $99 and needless to say, buying from Sweetwater is always a good experience.

  • from Memphis, TN October 2, 2015

    Nothing comes close for the money

    The thing about this little amp is the power to weight ratio. It has a nice clear sound, and the two crunch settings give it a nice sound when you want some overdrive. The reverb is nice, too. I haven't found a better deal for the price.

  • from Deighton March 27, 2015

    Killer practice amp

    Picked this little beast up last week for home practice and WOW I've never heard tones like it... the amp plays itself! Best hundred bucks I ever spent

  • from South Central PA January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar bass,40 years experience.

    BEST PRACTICE AMP EVER

    For 99 bucks this little amp has it all and in stereo. I have yet to use any of the pc compatible features, love it for the huge variety of tones,effects and big stereo sound. The stereo effect is much more pronounced if you stand back from the amp 10 feet or more. Love it!

  • from Texas December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The ID:Core 10 is awesome!!!

    My wife bought me this as a birthday present and I'm so happy with it. The Super Wide Stereo is great when you kick in the effects and it's super versatile. I would recommend this to anyone that likes to jam at home and still sound good. It's the best practice amp I've owned!

  • from November 21, 2014Music Background:
    Self taught guitarist

    Blackstar ID core 10

    This amp gave me the most for my money. The sound clarity is Unbelievable! Has awesome settings for any hardcore metal player, or even for blues playing! The clean channels are outstanding as well as the reverb, delay and modulation! I'm so happy with my Blackstar ID Core 10 amplifier!

  • from Vermont, USA September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great price, great performance

    I was looking for an affordable, smaller amp that also sounds great. Look no more! This Blackstar amp sounds great and packs quite a punch for its size. If you are looking for a reasonable investment before you want to commit to something larger, this is exactly what you want.

  • from Santa Rosa, CA. August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great little amp.

    This little thing packs a punch. Has all the inputs I was looking for(line in and usb), as well as reverb. I needed a small, easy to move around the house amp, and this is perfect.

  • from Odessa, TX April 1, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Television Audio Engineer, Hobby Guitarist

    Blackstar CORE10 ID

    I got this amp the day Sweetwater got them in stock. Three days later I had it in my hot little hands. I am blown away that 3" speakers can sound that full. The tone on this little amp is amazing. I haven't had the time yet to explorer Blackstar Insider software. My manual tones are incredible. I would suggest this to anyone that wants a little practice amp on a great budget. It sounds close to tube, you can back off your picking and it will clean up. I haven't had the gain past "6" for any setting there is plenty there. Do yourself a favor if you are in the market for a practice amp forget the rest and get this Blackstar.

  • from MA January 12, 2016Music Background:
    previous serious musician

    Great amp

    I needed an amp to practice, get great sound, and not drive the pets from the house, this it. I've had it six months and use it non stop for everything but stage. The case seems a little cheap, and knobs on the top make it less convenient, but pluses outweigh this.

  • from Croton, OH April 15, 2016

    Just What I Was Looking For

    Was looking for a small amp that would allow me to practice in my hotel when I am out of town for work, but needed one that I could plug in my iPhone to play along with. This has a really good sound for such a small amp and the distortion settings are respectable as well. For the money you can't beat it. I even play it at home sometimes when I'm too lazy to move the big Marshall around. Highly recommended.

  • from Arkansas November 29, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    Great practice amp!

    Sounds really great, you can get just about any sound you want with it. It records nice through the USB port too. Only reason it's not a 5 is that the construction seems a little cheap. Does not affect the sound though.

  • from Findlay,OH June 4, 2015Music Background:
    since the 60's. bedroom to living room to bars.Hobbyist.home recording.

    Core10 ID-Handy

    sounds good,easy to use,quick to set-n-play. as compared to the Mustang I. I may use the wrong word here,but to my ears, it sounds like, too compressed. when you strike a chord or single note the initial attack doesn't seem to be there. small dig. The size is great. I get a vibe off the sound so it serves it's purpose very well.

  • from October 6, 2015Music Background:
    Prog, rock, worship

    Good amp, unless...

    My first impression of this amp was that it was the best thing since sliced bread. When I heard its stereo effects I was impressed. Tried it as a stereo for my iPod, it worked well too. Then I started using it seriously as a practice tool, and the honeymoon was over. Like one of the reviews here states, the response of your attack is not captured 100%. I downloaded and used the software to turn off the noise gate, but the lack of dynamic response I felt was still there. Which is what it boils down to, the amp "sounds" great BUT does not "feel" great when you play, in my experience. For the record, it is not a case of expecting too much or comparing it to my main rig. My previous practice amp was a GDEC, and even though the CORE sounds better, the GDEC response is more natural. The CORE would have been awesome as a first amp 25 years ago, but the strange feel dynamics wise just bugged me too much. So for now, I will keep practicing using JamPro on my IPad...

  • from LA March 23, 2016

    Okay When You Factor In Price

    I've had this amp for about a year and used it for quiet practice (what I bought it for) both through the internal speakers and headphones, both with and without an iPod plugged in for accompaniment. I have also used it connected to a computer as a recording tool.

    As a standalone guitar amp it is pretty dismal. Lots of hiss through the speakers. The models are extremely unconvincing and uninspiring when playing it this way and the effects are, at best, marginally accurate. The noise gate on the higher gain models is very annoying (although you can turn it off using the softare) and the models themselves are too wooly to be usable. The clean models are lifeless and don't have any of the glass that you expect with these types of sounds...not at all pleasant to play. The medium gain sounds (crunch and super crunch) are the best choices when going through the speakers, but still lack a bit of dynamics and seem overprocessed and compressed, however on the plus side they do respond very well to the guitar volume control and you can actually clean them up quite a bit by rolling them off.

    Using with headphones as a practice tool it fares slightly better. The terrible hiss is gone and the amp models have a lot more authority, as the cab simulator is on when the headphones are engaged. The clean tones benefit most from using the 'phones and you are able to dial in a pretty passable Fender-style clean, and with a distortion pedal in front of the amp you can get a good, meaty tone out of it once set correctly. The medium gain model are a bit more authentic sounding this way as well, also benefitting from the cabinet sim. With modest use of the built-in effects you can dial in a gritty, spacious rock tone that is pretty passable but still quite generic. However, here too the higher gain sounds are pretty unusable and hard to control.

    This amps best use has been plugged into the computer as a recording tool. The caveat there is that only one of the amp models sounds good (crunch) but it works well enough and sounds just realistic enough when it is tracked with drums and bass that it makes the purchase of the amp justifiable.

    Maybe I am being too critical of a $100 amp, but considering the quality of tones available in the similarly, or slightly higher, priced Fender Mustang I feel like a made a poor decision, and I will likely be looking for an alternate practice amp and then use this strictly as a recording box. Probably something like the little Orange Crush amps. They only have one sound, really, but they are all-analog and I would rather have one good tone than a half-dozen bad to mediocre ones.

  • from July 24, 2016

    Loud Hiss

    This little amp has good features and a nice sound. The one problem is the constant hiss even when nothing is plugged into it. The main function of an amp like this should be low volume practice but the hiss is so loud that it makes it a terrible amp for what it is intended for. Read the Blackstar forums this is a problem with all the models in this line. I have tried this with many guitars and even tried a different house thinking maybe electrical interference or something caused it but it is the same issue. If your looking for a low volume practice amp I would suggest to look at something other than this.

Questions about the Blackstar ID:Core 10 2x5-watt 2x3" Stereo Combo Amp with FX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway