0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Blackstar ID:30TVP - 30W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Blackstar ID:30TVP - 30W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Questions about the Blackstar ID:30TVP - 30W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Colorado October 22, 2016

    Great Amp!

    I was in the market for a smaller amp and when I called Sweetwater, Jim Watson suggested I check out the Blackstar ID 30 TVP. I’m so glad he did because this is exactly what I was looking for! Between the 6 voices and the 6 tube emulations I can create virtually any amp I want. And the three types of effects are icing on the cake! It sounds good with single coils, humbuckers and particularly great with my Ric 12 string. And since the tubes are virtual, they still sound good as you lower the volume to human levels. All in all, a terrific amp at a terrific price. Highly recommended.

  • from Midwest April 4, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend gigging

    TVP MAKES OTHERS TAP OUT

    Yes, the Mustangs, Vypers, Valvetronixs and others sound great compared to solidstate amps years ago. I've owned or tried them all along with the junk I started with 30+ years ago. NOTHING comes as close to the tube feel, dynamics and bottom end as the ID series.
    Don't let the names ID15, ID30, ID60 fool you. They're all much louder than other amps amps in the same price range thanks to the TVP button which produces their "Loud As Valve" claim. Tones are so easy to dial in you probably will never used the Insider software that comes with it (which puts Fender Fuse to shame by the way). The interface is super easy to use. No LED screen or endless scrolling, Blackstar received a grant from the UK to help them develop this amp series and the R&D has definitely paid off. The ex-Marshall employees raised the bar with their first solidstate release. Well done fellas!

  • from Oklahoma March 7, 2016

    Incredible!!!

    This amp is absolutely INCREDIBLE !!! There nothing you cannot do with this amp...It far exceeded my expectations! Best amp I have ever owned!!!!

  • from Orlando Florida February 14, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    This amp is Bad ***

    I'm a rookie guitar player only a mere 6 months under my belt, so I have not even scratch the surface on all that this amp is capable of doing. When I bought my guitar it came with a small 10 watt amp that sounded like crap, so I have been shopping around for amps and was advised by a local music store to try out the Blackstar ID series. They let me play one and it sounded great. I bought the 30 Watt and boy am I glad I bought this amp, it is super! I am still learning how to make my own patches, but there are thousands online that you can download.

    This amp is bad ***. If you are looking for a new amp, you owe it to yourself to check out the Blackstar ID series!

  • from Richland WA USA February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Worship Team Guitar, Recording

    Awesomeness...! revised

    Just correcting my earlier review. The Noise gate is for OD1 and OD2... It does not interfere with the clean channels... I was confused :)

  • from Richland, Wa USA February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Worship Team Guitar, Recording

    Awesomeness...!

    This amp Rocks! All of the channels sound great and are useful. You can create a variety of sounds for different styles. It can also get very loud. Get the foot switch! it makes it much more versatile.

    I have had a Vox Night Train 50 tube amp and the Valvtronix VT30 amp, Line 6, Digitech, Boss, & Zoom processors. I own a Marshall 50 watt combo tube amp, & Boss GT10... This amp blows them all away. It sounds great and has great low end.

    This amp sounds good even when going direct to the PA from the line output, and you can also use the amp as a monitor at the same time, the main volume knob to the 12 inch speaker is independant from the direct out signal (very nice). Or you can Mic it if you want. Also the stereo effects from the line output are killer!

    Each time you change the TVP output to a different valve, it immediately sounds like you are playing through a different amp.. You can save your favorite settings in any of the 128 patches.
    This would be a great amp for an Electric guitar player on a Worship team or in a cover band (very portable).

    A few negatives:
    -The foot switch triggers when you let up after stepping on it... Takes a little practice to get the timing right.
    -The noise gate is global, so on some clean sounds that you have the gain really low, it is not strong enough to get past the gate. and you need to have the noise gate on to stop the noise when you switch to the overdrive channels.
    -Takes some time to try all the combinations of sounds (not really a bad thing)
    - It would be nice to have a volume pedal as part of the foot switch

    These are not show stoppers for me, and I like the gain up on my clean channels so when I strum harder it breaks up a little..

    I gave it 5 stars anyway, because of how great it sounds. It is a "Great" sounding Amp, not a "Perfect" Amp. but you can't beat it for the price, and you won't need to haul around a bunch of gear.

    And if this is your first amp.... Heaven !

  • from United States September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician

    Love this amp!

    After hauling large amps to gigs for years I was looking for something smaller and lighter, but all the amps I tried sounded hollow and boxy. I bought a Fender Deluxe, Vox Ac15, and a small Line6. After a couple of months I sold them. They sounded fine in the music store, but when you get them on stage they show their true colors. The ID 30 has been the answer to my dreams. It has an unbelievable low end, it's super versatile, and can sound better than the amps it emulates. The different effects you can download are great, but the different tube sounds it features is what sold me. Being a Fender amp guy I usually use the 6L6 setting, but you can also make it sound like a Marshall, a Vox, or most any other amp you want, and best of all it sounds like a big amp. Very solid and rich. We mike our amps, but it has plenty of volume to hang with almost any band, especially when you use the valve power button. I just can't say enough good things about this amp.

  • from Pennsylvania September 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unreal Versatility

    I've had modeling amps. I've had hybrid amps. And I currently have tube amps. But I wanted something a little more fun and versatile for home, so I picked one of these up after reading rave reviews all over the web. And I was absolutely floored. The responsivenes of this amp would fool even the most hardened tube-fiend; cleaning up a lot of these settings/channels is simple using just your volume control. Hit hard, and the amp hits back. The onboard effects are much, much better than most others I've heard; I got rid of a Valvetronix recently that I thought was pretty decent but it was nothing compared to the ones here, especially the reverb. You absolutely cannot go wrong with this - and if you need volume, you'll get it by engaging the TVP function. Much louder than any other 30 watt solid state I've played. Most importantly, it does clean with tons of headroom as easily as it does hard crunching modern metal. Well done Blackstar.

  • from Georgia October 14, 2016Music Background:
    25 years playing experience

    Believe The Hype

    After having this amp for a few months and experimenting with the different settings, I am convinced at this price range, you simply won't find a better amp. This amp comes as close to tube as you can get in this price range. What really suprised me with this amp are the clean channels. They aren't just good, they are outstanding. I was able to dial in very nice lucious clean tones, in addition to some country spank. The gain channels are extremely versatile as well, with some serious tube saturation going on. you can play just about any style you want. This would make a perfect practice amp for anyone looking for an amp in the $300.00 range. I have tried just about all the others, and this beats them all. If you're considering this amp, just go ahead and get it, because you will not be disappointed.

  • from Elkhart, IN March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    LIVES UP TO THE HYPE...AND THEN SOME

    I bought this while looking for a really nice sounding practice amp, too save the tubes in my Half Stack. After checking out a ton of reviews and demos, I decided to go for it.
    I bought this along with the IDFS 10 Footswitch (which Sweetwater has as a package deal), and got way more then I bargained for.
    This amp is KILLER!!! All the tones are great sounding, and you can get a lot of different sounds just by choosing a different voice,Tube, and American or British sound. (Voice,ISF,TVP) respectively. Want Southern Rock, check. Want classic 70's Rock,Check. Want Punk, check. Etc... you get the picture.
    Add the pedal, go online and get the Insider Software, and you get unlimited access to creating your own amazing tones. You don't have to get the pedal, but I highly recommend it.
    This amp may be great for recording also, haven't tried that yet.
    If I knew about these amps when I was looking for a new Head, I very well may have gotten the 100 watt head instead of the Amp head I did buy. Still love it, but I play this way more.
    Great value, great tones, great sounding effects, and very versatile. Well worth the money.

Questions about the Blackstar ID:30TVP - 30W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close