0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Blackstar ID:260 TVP 2x60-watt 2x12" Stereo Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Blackstar ID:260 TVP 2x60-watt 2x12" Stereo Combo Amp?

Questions about the Blackstar ID:260 TVP 2x60-watt 2x12" Stereo Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Whiting, IN December 7, 2016Music Background:
    Rocker, roller, out of controller...

    Very Happy, Great amp!!!

    The amp sounds awesome. Everything from great clean tones to old school rock tones to over the edge overdrive tones. The best amp I have owned. Drove down to Fort Wayne to buy amp and check out the Sweetwater Facility. Great staff / musicians. Very happy with the Blackstar!!!

  • from Albama November 24, 2016

    This amp rocks

    This loves to be in big room cranked up it is loud and has a full tone from the low end to the high end also the mids are right on. I'm. Very happy what this amp can do for the test I was using the 6L6 setting at times I was getting that Van Halen tone! This amp just cuts threw really well also with a band it will kick butt for sure. I love Blackstar I still want there tube amp as well. I say get this amp you be. Very happy with it.

  • from November 11, 2016

    Life Changing Event

    This Amplifier Changed My Life!!!!!!
    This is by far the most awesome amplifier I ever had bar none it is the most fun to play

  • from October 20, 2016

    Beyond the Beyond

    I started with one of the first processors the ART SGE, iv got the experience to say that, without a doubt this is the best guitar amplifier ever. Any type of music, Country to Sci-Fi. Phenomenal piece of equipment. Of course I removed the nameplate and it looks completely generic. They dont know whats making those sounds.

  • from Alabama August 7, 2016

    ID:260TVP -120W 2X12 Amp

    Were to start there is so much going on with this amp Looks Great for one thing this is heavy picking it up! Now lets talk about the tone! First of I'm a Valve lover for one I have all ways love the sound from a valve amp my valve that I like was EL34 never really liked 6L6 I have to say I fall in love 6L6 this amp has a very nice tone that gets in your face! EL34 does that too! The settings were great as well. This is a amp that I keep for a very long time. I do want a valve head some day it will a Blackstar for sure! Now i said what I wanted to about the amp let say Sweetwater did a great job getting my stuff and it was so much fun talking to them and everything!

  • from West Virginia May 24, 2016Music Background:
    Rock blues

    TVP 260

    Blackstar got it right it's attack sensitive & gig versatile. Effects are excellent. Add a Behringer midi controller & it's a dream real time volume control & real time effects control. Love the voicing & tube options. I'm a Marshall fan & it's not my Marshall but it's very close & U don't have to crank it to get that sound. For smaller gigs that's important.

  • from SALEM NH August 1, 2015Music Background:
    PLAYING SINCE 1966

    my second purchase

    I HAVE 2 VINTAGE LAB L-5'S THAT I USE IN STEREO. I BOUGHT A BLACKSTAR 260 TVP A SHORT WHILE AGO LOCALLY BUT ON MONDAY 8-3-2015 WILL BE ORDERING ANOTHER 260 FROM SWEETWATER TO GO WITH THE GUITAR I JUST ORDERED. THIS AMP OUT DOES EVERY AMP I'VE OWNED SEARCHING FOR THE SOUND I WANTED. I'VE TRIED AMPEG, SUN, MARSHALL, CARVIN, A REISSUE SUPER REVERB, FENDER HOT ROD DELUX AND OTHERS. THIS IS THE MOST VERSITILE AMP ON THE MARKET. MARSHALL MANAGEMENT MADE A MISTAKE NOT LISTENING TO THESE GUYS. THEY NAILED IT. CAN'T WAIT TO HEAR THESE THINS IN STEREO.

  • from Maine May 12, 2015Music Background:
    lead Guitar

    Very versatile, very easy.

    Absolutely Love the Amp. Perfect for my performance every week. Thank you guys at Sweetwater , Jonathan was there every step of the way in getting me not only what I want but what I need.

  • from Eugene, OR February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Student

    A great amp

    Love the features and settings. I can hook this baby up to my computer and listen to it through headphones just using the usb. Great features and the sound is killer. Putting pedals in the FX loop made this amp even better. Great amp great sounds from clean to dirty metal.

  • from February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Fantabulous

    ID 260 TVP ; This is beyond any doubt , the best amp I've ever owned . Ive had mainly Marshall amps over the years and I progressed through stompbox territory , multi effects , Boss , Pod etc etc . I played a festival gig recently and as soon as Id finished I ordered one of these . I played it for 15 minutes and was literally blown away by the warmth and power of the unit . One of the great tell tale signs of a " nearly " good amp , is that the clean is ok , the high gain is saturated and ok , but the crunch is at best unimpressive . This amp will deliver everything you need and everything in between . The warm crunch sounds are just vintage tube and the on board effects are as good as an array of the best stomps . This is a SERIOUSLY good amp . I now wont go past Blackstar . To me , they are what Marshall should have aspired to be a decade ago , and by the way , This is is also a loud beast of a combo if you crank it . I wont look back . Thank you Blackstar , I love you !

  • from Missouri November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Wow! What A Rad Amp!

    I had serious doubts about this amp but after spending just 3 days with it, I'm absolutley blown away! In my opinion, it sounds, feels, and reacts just like a tube amp and I've owned many tube amps in the past. I will give another review later on the reliability. It's as loud as any tube amp I've ever heard. There is a bit of floor noise on the clean channels but my Hot Rod Deluxe and most other tube amps I've ever owned have that floor noise too. I think that comes with just about any amp out there. It's definitley one of the best amps I've ever owned. Effects and features are pretty good. I sent back a Peavey 6505+ 112 and a Marshall DSL40c before I got this one. Those amps are not near as good as this one but that's just me. To each there own. Blackstar took a familiar sound with them when they left Marshall to start there own company. I've always been a Marshall fan, but I think it may be time to move on to better technology from Blackstar. I love this amp! Special thanks to Matt Masek, He is the best in the business!

  • from Hesperia, CA September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro for 40 years

    Great solid-state amp!

    I used a Line 6 Vetta II for years and loved it but I felt a need to simplify and this amp fit the bill perfectly. I love how easy it is to use and how good it sounds.

  • from Las Vegas, NV May 6, 2014

    Blackstar ID:260TVP 2x12

    This Blackstar ID:260TVP 2x12" 2x60-Watt Programmable Stereo Combo is unbelievably AMAZING for not being a tube amp. Just so many twist & bend of options on getting some real nice sounds. This projects lots of sound and pretty on the clean. The DIRTY w/ that crunch, od1, &od2 is just on par. Seriously stoked on this purchase! Sweetwater had fast shipping & sells an excellent product and sweetwaters customer service so far has been 2nd to none.

  • from Warren Maine March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Wanna-be guitar God

    Blow away by tone

    I love this amp. Its a great practice Amp with killer tone and built in effects.I have been using it to practice with my band-Its a lot easier to carry around then my half stack. The guys I play with are blown away by the sound of this little powerhouse. I would recommend this Amp to anyone looking for an affordable amp with great distortion and built in effects. The delay is great.

  • from Northern Michigan March 10, 2017Music Background:
    Back in the saddle again!

    Affordable = Awesome? Absolutely!

    Iv'e been playing thru this amp for about 3 weeks and I'm truly amazed. The sounds and tonal quality is miles above and beyond of what I was expecting. The tones that can be created (recreated) is nearly limitless and surprisingly accurate with the TVP and ISF. Volume? Yes! Loud and Clear. Definitely stage worthy for nearly any venue. I want to thank David at Sweetwater for helping me with my new rig. Totally impressed!

  • from Norman, OK November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Garage band musician of 20+ years (Rock & Country Rock)

    Nice little amp

    Needed something small to have for a standby amp in case we had a failure (which has never happened) for our bigger rigs at a show. Really like the Blackstar line and opted for the ID:260. Like the fact that is has onboard effects and that we can just plug right in without having to set up a bunch of pedals or outboard gear to keep playing a show. The only thing I am not to keen of is how you select the specific effects. You turn the dial and if you can't remember which effect is on what number, you kinda have to listen to what comes out. I saw some reviews that this amp isn't very loud....I beg to differ, can be used as a practice amp or crank it up and it will put out enough to hurt your ears!

  • from CA October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby Player

    The new modeling standard for the regular guy player

    This amp is the best sounding modeling you can get without going broke. The sound is very present & punchy with a lot of harmonic detail. A wide range of tones are available and are quite satisfying. The sound dispersion is quite wide with the stereo sound. Blackstar is really on to something here. My wishlist for V2.0 would be an LCD patch display and a wider variety of effects.

  • from San Mateo, CA September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician for 18 Years

    Great amp, Recomend for sure!

    When I took this out of the box and plugged right in I was not dazzled but i found that after spending a little time and going through all the options it has all the tools to get you the tones you want. I have a boogie which I love to death but wanted a nice solid state amp as well. Took my pedals great. I'm happy with my purchase!

  • from Reno April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    extremely satisfied

    I've been using a Mesa-Boogie Mark III head and 4x12 cab for years. I purchased the Blackstar amp to achieve good distortion at low volumes. This amp exceeded my expectations ! It has tons of volume and sounds awesome at low volume too. The six channels combined with the tube emulator has really given me the tone diversity that I normally can only get in the studio. I purchased the FS-10 footswitch also and there is a longer gap when switching presets than I'm used to, not sure if it's the amp or footswitch yet.

  • from South Carolina December 4, 2013Music Background:
    casual player and weekend warrior

    A Total Steal

    A great sounding and versatile amp at a bargain price. Buy one before Blackstar and Sweewater figure out they're undercharging! Just kidding guys!
    If you're on a budget you cannot go wrong with this amp. It has great tone in clean, crunch and overdrive settings. There are a dozen presets (literally) that sound great- seriously! - usually presets are less than impressive,but not on this beauty. The tube emulator is awesome. The reverb and on-board effects (flanger and delay) are very good. I have been in love since the first time I plugged into this one.
    So....why only 4.5 stars with such a glowing review? Two things. First, as another reviewer pointed out, this amp is not as loud as a comparable tube amp. I had a 50W Marshall combo,and that was definitely louder. I didn't buy this amp for it's volume, so to me this isn't an issue, but still Blackstar does make that claim. Second, when it comes to authentic classic rock crunch,there's no beating a Marshall tube amp. But! A 2x12 Marshall combo will set you back nearly four times as much and you won't get the versatility that you have in the Blackstar.
    Bottom line: You absolutely cannot go wrong with this one. Great amp at an excellent price.

  • from Southern Indiana June 1, 2013Music Background:
    Former pro musician that is now a weekend warrior

    Versatility and Great Tones

    Bought this amp from Sweetwater based on great reviews and sample videos. A friend had a similar model that I tried and it sounded great.
    Everything touted in the videos was true. The tube emulation and the ISF controls make the variations almost endless.
    I have used this amp now on several gigs and the tones are excellent. It is easy to dial in just what your ear wants to hear at that moment.
    With 128 presets (patches), just about any sound you want is there at the foot pedal. I can't stress enough how many different tones this thing contains. It is hard to believe I won't have to be changing and biasing tubes. The tube emulation is outstanding.
    The INSIDER software is pretty amazing. I've played for years and I'm 'old school' and never figured I'd be hooking an amp to my computer to design tones with the patches.
    The only reasons I didn't give it a "5" is because I was expecting a little more separation in the stereo sound with the effects and there are a couple of minor bugs in the software, but Blackstar was responsive when contacted and assured me updates would be released soon to address the problems.
    The service I received from Sweetwater was exceptional and the communication was great!
    I have no problem recommending this amp. If you plug into it and give it a try you'll be sold...

  • from Warren, Mi. November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Blackstar Solidstate combo

    Got this a few weeks ago and have been playing with it quite a bit. You can get quite an arrangement of sounds out of this amp and I am happy with it's abilities so far. Solidly built. The pedal has a learning curve and would be a challenge on the fly. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is that no matter what you do to try and produce a tube sound out of a solid state amp just doesn't sound like worn-in, warmed up, overdriven tubes. Very nice try though Blackstar. This was a very good purchase.

  • from Littleton, CO July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Performing musician

    Solid and Dimensional Amp - With One Caveat

    This would be a five-star review, except for one key claim. We'll get to that in a second.

    First off, the amp's fantastic. Know that up front. it's very difficult to plug this amp in and not be able to find a killer tone that's right up your alley within five minutes. The six different amp voices, six different modeled tube selections, ISF control, Resonance and Presence controls, full EQ...this amp's got the flexibility to handle anything from single-coil SRV blues to classic rock to modern metal. Once you've gotten within range of your tone using the voicings, EQ, and Res/Pres, it's a pretty simple turn of the TVP knob to 'audition' different tubes for your needs, and you'll find one or two (or three!) that work very quickly. I was somewhat surprised how much I liked 'nontraditional' voice/tube pairings, too, so don't just pull up the tried-and-true combinations - explore a little!

    The effects are very good and sound fantastic in stereo. They're quieter than most on-board effects, but I've seen several reviews that called them 'silent,' and they're not that. Obviously, your choices and controls aren't going to measure up to a giant pedalboard...but if your performance rig calls for a touch of delay, some chorus or a flanger, and good 'verb, there's more than enough options on board to handle your needs. I put a wah pedal in front of mine, set up a few clean, rhythm and lead presets, and was ready to go.

    So what's the missing star for? Blackstar's 'Loud as Valve' claim. It's right there on the outside of the box in six-inch black letters, and...well, it's kinda not true. Don't get me wrong; the amp's plenty loud for most stage settings, and you'd probably run a mic to the soundboard if you've got a true club sound system available anyway, so the realities of modern performing kinda render 'Loud as Valve' pointless. But it's their claim, so I tested it out. I demo'ed the ID:260TVP up against a few of my 20-, 50- and 100-watt tube rigs, and even the lowest-wattage of them held serve over the ID:260. Had Blackstar not made a big deal of this, I probably would've let this fact slide and enjoyed one of my new favorite amps (because it is - this is a GREAT amp!) But I can't let a claim like that one go unchallenged, and unfortunately, the ID:260 didn't pass the test. Don't let that deter you from buying it; just know that, while it's got more than enough oomph to handle most performance settings, solid-state still has a ways to go to catch up to the glowing glass bottles.

  • from March 22, 2017Music Background:
    intermediate

    good amp is undermined by footswitch control

    This amps Achilles heel is the four button footswitch and the software The id core software needs to come from the right website or source and has to signed into otherwise youll make changes that will be permanent in the amp and get a message that it is not connected despite the cord connection from the computer to amp. I know that might not make sense however, changes will be made to the amp hard to remove or undo. The first setting in the footswitch will taint the 4th channel setting. Be prepared to video tape any changes unless you have a memory the tendency is to set up all of your tweaks save them and forget so if you go to other channels and change settings ahhhhh video the same process. Press and save blinking lights while holding down the small buttons on the face of the amp work, but using the footswitch is a bit of learning curve, okay a lot. I had a semi clean setting limited by emg pickups and nailed Van Halens live sound with chorus and on the next channel Van Halens early sound to the t. However hooking up the amp to the id software changed the tonality of all channels! Something bled into the settings and Ive lost the tonality of the channels Ive spent months setting. So unless youre proficient with using the foot switch and the software which has a mind of its own, the mahe experience will be limited. Id add a effects pedal chain or an effects processor footswitch boards.
    Otherwise, the amp sounds balanced with a great bottom end to and volume is plenty loud at 3. This far Ive spent much time at many attempts to catch and keep sound patches like Van Halens, Cathedral, only to have them modified by working the footswitch on other channels! This one took a long time to nail his live sound for this song. If youre playing and using this amp in a live situation consider while using the footswitch the foot is required to rest on the button to get into the wanted patch but youll have to switch to go up if the one desired is passed and that is not so bad but in the process you may experience is turning off or going to different effects you did not initially save into the patch. I had high hopes for this but the footswitch is not user friendly so be prepared to walk up and adjust settings on the face of the amp verses using the footswitch. Considering either selling this one and starting over with a Marshall adding a different companies effects processor. If I could clear the footswitch settings as there are many that would be nice then nothing else gets in the way of four basic settings.
    The main thrust of the amp is having different tube circuitry to choose from, but the reality is some of the tube settings are quiet or don't act like they are reacting. If these are turned up and tweaked the channels maybe louder in comparison to the others you've saved. I'm frustrated with this thing instead of enjoying.

  • from oz February 26, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar -- 1969 to this place in time

    Good, but with UI issues

    Overall a very good sounding amp but with some clear weaknesses in the User Interface and bugs in electronics. First, dashboard is inset and well under the lip of the case, so none of the top labels are visible from arms reach sitting in front of the amp. Additionally, the small type for the levels under the nobs are directly under the nobs and not visible. So, sitting in front of the amp, for most nobs, you can read none of the information. You have to bend over and look under the nobs and cabinet lip, kind of like working on the plumbing under your kitchen sink.

    Next, noticed a bug in the reverb setting, when first turning the amp on and hitting the reverb button, the reverb does not come to level until you touch the level nob and then the reverb jumps in. What disturbs me about this, same bug I have seen on other cheap China made amps at the low price level. My bet, a bad common component, most China production is centralized town or factory, making for little difference in quality from high to low brands. On board tuner, as displayed thought the foot peddle gives periodic false string setting and can get so annoying I just default to the tuner app on my cell phone.

    Big UI issue for me is when turning the amp off, all the settings default back to off. Then when moving to manual setting, foot peddle changes to patch from mode. But not back when mode is set: same when unit is turned off. So, lets toggle back through every time you move back and forth to manual.

    Last, layering multiple sound effects introduce noise is some configurations. Overall, a good amp but the UI issues are annoying and easy fixes in design. So, calling BS on Blackstar’s marketing hype about their engineers. Lots of effects, but sometimes more is less. I noticed most people rate this amp 5 stars, probably says more about the state of amps in the modern world of China production and lack of quality options on the market. My first amp was a circa 1970 Fender Super Reverb. So, I come at this with an old world perspective.

Questions about the Blackstar ID:260 TVP 2x60-watt 2x12" Stereo Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway