0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Blackstar ID:15 TVP 15-watt 1x10" Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from Tacoma,Washington January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Worship,five years

    Shocking

    First off simple amp to use with realiatic tube modulatations,i mainly play power and thrash metal like Iced Earth,Blind Guardian and megadeth fits perfectly for those genres i also use it for classic rock and christian music.The cleans are very nice and warm and distortion very aggressive sound with out getting muddy.Best solid state amp under $ highly suggest one of these amps.

  • from November 7, 2016

    Good investment so far.

    Sounds about as good as my little Fender Super Champ X2 tube amp. Just as loud and there are some great tones to be had with both amps. More than enough power at 15 watts, for around your house or a small gig or party. I very pleased with it.

  • from October 13, 2016

    Awesome sound in a small package

    I bought this for practice and recording in my home studio. I am spoiled by my Marshall Jimmy Hendrix anniversary edition stack. This little powerhouse has such a wide range of programmable sounds it is very impressive. Paired with the footswitch it is a great combo.

  • from Honolulu, HI October 6, 2016

    TVP Issues

    This is a follow-up to my previous review. The choking on lightly picked notes with TVP on only occurs with some very low output single coils, so it's probably the pickups rather than the amp. And as for the brightness (e.g. shrillness) and slightly artificial sound I spoke of, both seem to be eradicated with a little bit of EQ tweaking. So, in retrospect, all my reservations about TVP have been eliminated, and it seems to be just as magical as it's greatest fans claim. And build quality on this amp seems to be the best in class. So, ten stars for this incredibly engineered amp.

  • from Honolulu, HI October 5, 2016

    Superb sounding SS Amp

    Just got one of these. Better sounding than anything I've tried in the price range. The most tubey sounding SS or digital modeling amp I've tried in a long time, even better than the excellent Vox Av series or Fender Mustangs. I even prefer it to the Super Champ X2. At first I was really impressed with the TVP feature, but after some experimenting, I now feel it's kind of a gimmick. Like all modeling it sounds a bit "simulated", although it does a really good job of it. It's definitely much louder with it on, but sounds a lot brighter (shriller at times) than with it off. The thing I like least about it is that there seems to be a noise gate activated when it's on which kind of chokes the notes when I try to play really lightly. But, with it off it's extremely dynamic and responsive, even better than the AC10 I compared it to. Five stars all the way. The best amp I've had since my Classic 30.

  • from June 28, 2016

    Blackstar ID:15 TVP

    I already have a TVP 120 as well as an ID Core and I use the two smaller amps including the tvp 15 in my studio where I teach and was actually surprised that this 15 watt amp had some weight. I compared it to another famous name-brand that I was very interested in purchasing but I decided to go with the this one after testing the famous name-brand that in my opinion failed on the clean sounds since to my ear they sounded tinny. There is so much sound variation with the TVP 15 as well as the fact that it is loud. With the ID 15 you get a lot of bang for your buck and I believe that there is nothing out there at the present time which matches this little amp sound-wise as well as in price.

  • from British Columbia May 13, 2016

    A lot of Bang for the Buck

    As other have already said, I've over 45 years live band experience and most always have used tube amps for the tone I like. My old Fender Princeton was ,, well getting old, so I sat in a music store one day and tried amps. I was not really thinking of a modeling amp, I have my pedals, but the tone of this amp grabbed me instantly.That was just the default clean setting. After one year of gigging I love it more and more. As you get good with the dials you can slowly toss your pedals away. I'm here today to order the footswitch.
    You can use your laptop but I like foot pedals for live so I can keep my hands on the guitar
    The bonus I didn't expect is it is also perfect for recording if you cannot play loud in your home. You can turn the master volume down and the stereo line out will feed lots of tone to your DAW.

  • from Midwest April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Stop Searching

    If you're reading this chances are you're looking for a small amp for home or something to easily transport to small gigs and basement jams with your friend. You can stop looking because nothing in this size and price range comes close to the ID15.
    Like many I started playing decades ago and have owned or played everything made. It takes something special after all those years to impress me and this amp did it and then some. To the point I recently bought the ID30 and would love to grab the ID60 next. First off don't be fooled by the name ID15 or the fact it's advertised as a 15 watt amp. It can get as loud as others that are rated higher and unlike some that turn to mush at high volume this amp still sounds good doing it. If you only heard it and didn't see it you'd think it was much larger. My Mustang II 40 watt had nothing over this in the volume department. The criticism of solidstate amps is they can sound harsh or digital. Blackstar TVP technology has outdone the competition. They were only a tube amp company up th the ID series release and it's obvious they wanted to outdo what was currently on the market. I'm not a metal player but love the bottom end sound of this small amp that others lack. Great for chugging through rock power chords. Clean it has the punch of a good tube amp. Blackstar is thought of as a company that caters to the metal crowd and that's true but this amp can cover all styles. Like some other amps it comes with software to download and create patches but my experience has found it's so easy to dial in great sounds from the front panel you probably wont use it. Bottom line if you're wanting the best sounding amp in this price range look no further.

  • from Florida March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Proffessional guitar player for many years

    OUTSTANDING!!

    I've had and used several other modeling amps( Vox - Marshall - Fender etc.) and this blows them all away. Perfect for Studio - practice (with or without band) - Live if you mike it. Check it out on YOUTUBE or try one if you can and Hear for yourself. This Amp is OUTSTANDING! The best in it's class.

  • from valencia, ca. March 17, 2016Music Background:
    45 years

    Great little amp

    Small, lightweight, does everything.

  • from Michigan September 19, 2015Music Background:
    recreational player

    Amazingly Tube-like!

    Had an ID Core 40 which I really liked, but had to replace under warranty. After watching many videos online, I chose to go with the ID:15TVP. All I can say is WOW! This is so much more flexible, louder, and with the footswitch you can store and access 128 presets on the amp.

    The TVP (True Valve Power) is what makes this amp shine. The voices, EQ, ISF, and effects all sound pretty much the same as the ID Core, which is a good thing. They both sound great! The difference is when you press the TVP button. You have a gain and volume knob for the voices, and the the volume knob acts as the gain for the emulated power amp tubes. The higher the volume is, the more you notice the TVP. There is a master volume to adjust your overall volume. Between the 3, you can dial in so many different levels of gain for each setting.

    It truly does respond like a tube amp! I know cause I've owned many of them over the past 35 years!

    Buy it you won't be disappointed!

  • from Michigan April 9, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner, Blues and Jazz

    Great Amp

    I bought this amp as an upgrade from my previous as I was intrigued about the TVP. Let me tell you this just blew me away. The quality and sound is excellent even for a beginner like me. The ability to change the different amp settings is easy to work towards the tone I am trying to hear. I like the ability to emulate different amp types and the Insider software is a big benefit. Aaron was great to work with on my purchase.

  • from Lexington, NC July 9, 2013Music Background:
    20 year veteran woodshedder.... From metal to blues

    All I can say is BUY IT!!!!!

    I have had a variety of amps over the years, a lot of "tube emulation" type amps, including line 6 spider IV amps. Those amps were good for what they are but, Blackstar has really outdone themselves! It doesn't sound kind of like a tube amp, it sounds like a real tube amp, from the headroom to the responsive feel. They simply nailed it.... The 15 watt is loud as valve!!! You won't be disappointed!!! Thank you Kevin Porter@Sweetwater for the great advice! Your customer service is second to none!

  • from Fallon, NV USA March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Self taught

    Best digital amp made!

    I have been long anticipating this series from Blackstar because of the new TVP technology. This amp does exactly what they say it will, and it does it very well. My first impression was that the build quality is top notch and it's a good looking amp. I have only owned this amp for one day now and I can see its huge potential for musical variety. This amp, to me sounds just like a tube amp. And don't let the 15 watts fool you, it's LOUD and has plenty of low end for heavy metal. I don't care much about the crunch channels but they are also very good. All of the effects are high quality and super easy to use. The GUI software is extremely easy to use and allows you to deep edit and store patches from the online community. And it also gives you the MID knob that the amp is missing.If you want the best practice amp for any genre and this price get it, you'll be amazed!

  • from Peoples' Republic of NJ November 16, 2016

    Blackstar 15TVP

    I'm almost speechless! In the same room with the Backstar is a AC15 and PRRI. Those two haven't been powered up in two weeks as I enjoy solid state heresy. To be sure, on my best days with my best set of ears, the tube amps perform better, but not by much. Nor was this an easy purchase. My first amp was a modeler who's name is known to us all and I hated it. Just gave it away. It did take me twenty or so minutes to dial in the tone I want, and this amp has plenty more in the bank if someday I feel adventurous. So impressed with Backstar I also bought their HT1R, but that's another review for another day.

  • from United States December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitarists and singer/indie film sound guy.

    Make your own tone

    This is a fantastic amp. Modeling has come a long way. I like Blackstar's approach. Rather than giving a menu full of 'classic' amps from which I am supposed to choose, they let the player build their own sound. 6 preamp voicings, 6 TVP power tube options - mix and match. Throw in the ISF and tone controls, and you have a huge range of great sounding options to dial in to your liking. The sound and response are very tube like. You can get great tones at low volumes *and* get some serious volume.

    It's a shame that the 15 doesn't come with the mid, presence, and resonance knobs. And it's unfortunate they omitted a real effects loop, opting instead for built-in effects (the curse of every modeling combo amp since the beginning is money/processing power wasted on built in effects). But I enjoy this amp so much that it barely matters. I'm tempted to get the 60, but I really don't play anywhere where I could crank it up. Again, that's why I wish Blackstar had put al the tone controls on this smaller model.

  • from Fairfield, IA October 5, 2016

    Easy Access to Great Sounds

    After spending a few hours with the amp, I am thrilled with the sounds I am easily getting, including a great Robin Troweresque sound that had eluded me, wonderful clean sounds, a good blues sound, rockin' Fendery sounds, and more. I've spent most of my time playing and only a little time tweaking the sounds. I love turning knobs instead of working on a computer screen.

    I bought this amp because I became frustrated with my Line 6 POD. The POD is an incredible instrument, with an enormous set of options and fantastic sounds. However, using all those options is too much work. I was unhappy with the sounds I produced unless I used the computer application for editing the sounds, and the editing application, although beautiful in its own way, is tedious to use! I got very tired of scrolling up and down on a computer to change the values of the large number of possible adjustments to the sound.

    This Blackstar amp allows you to get a variety of great sounds very easily, and the way you store and access them is the best I've ever seen. The indicator LEDs of different colors are very helpful--something I had not realized from watching the videos. It's wonderful. The effects are useful and good. Sometimes less is more, and here, less complexity provides excellent sounds and more time playing and enjoying the sounds.

    I've always thought Line 6 products sounded great, and I'm sure the capabilities of their products are continuing to improve. I loved an old Line 6 Flextone amp that I used for many years. I'm curious to read users' comments about the Spider V amps because it appears to me that they have continued to increase the complexity of the user interface, making it laborious to search for and repeatedly access one's preferred sounds. I suspect many customers will mistakenly conclude that the Spider V amps don't sound good. The problem is NOT with the sounds available; the problem is that discovering the sound you want and making it accessible in the future is WAY too much work.

    It's interesting to see how Roland has also decided less complexity is more satisfying. Roland's Blues Cube Stage and Blues Cube Artist amps have received rave reviews from users, and this is for an amp with very few knobs and a limited variety of sounds; however, it's fine because those few sounds are fantastic. And people have enthusiastically paid a premium price for an amp with a narrower range of options because those fewer sounds are the ones they have been craving--and now they have them easily accessible.

    So far, the only thing I don't like about the Blackstar amp is the weak signal coming from the headphone jack. I live in an apartment and do all my playing with headphones. I need to use a separate headphone amp to drive my headphones to a good level. This is weird and dumb. It's still a great amp, but I hope Blackstar fixes this problem. Also, the headphone jack doesn't seem particularly sturdy. Blackstar should realize that many players use headphones at home and provide a sturdy headphone jack and a much stronger signal.

  • from United States April 7, 2014Music Background:
    "old" hobbyist

    Upping the Ante

    This little amp could have easily gotten 5 stars, but "WOW" doesn't seem appropriate. I have only owned a few amps this small, but without a doubt, this one tops the chart. How Blackstar could pack so much into an amp this size really is amazing. Everything is designed with simplicity in mind. No complex programming to do, because it's ALL right in front of you. One of the best features of the amp, from a personal standpoint, is their design of the tube simulation. I don't know EXACTLY what an EL84 or a 6V6 sounds like, but from listening to the sounds on this little amp, I know what they SHOULD sound like! From the screaming little EL84's, all the way up to the power punching KT88, there is a VERY distinct difference each time you twist the knob. And the effects, too, are all right on, but the most impressive portion of the amp is the ability play around with all those tube simulations. There are only 12 presets on the amp, but it seems like there are 10 times that many with the TVP feature. I don't believe ANY musician, pro or otherwise, would be disappointed with this amp. Maybe it does need a WOW!!

  • from January 8, 2014

    Very good for practice and rehearsal .

    I've been playing for fifty years and have played and owned plenty of different tube amps as well as solid state. This amp is the only solid state that comes close to real tubes. Sounds better than most digital s.s. and you don't have to wait 20 minutes for the tubes to warm up . It has enough variety of amp types and effects and tube emulations to keep you busy tweaking to make practice fun.I also purchased the foot controller which gives the feeling like you have a tube amp with a pedal board. I don't think I would use it for live gigs , but in a pinch could possibly be a back up . I'm glad I got it and I think it's very good for the money.

Questions about the Blackstar ID:15 TVP 15-watt 1x10" Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway