rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Ebtech Hum X Ground Loop Hum Exterminator Reviews

4.5 stars based on 57 customer reviews
Questions about the Ebtech Hum X Ground Loop Hum Exterminator?

Questions about the Ebtech Hum X Ground Loop Hum Exterminator?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 1, 2017Music Background:
    Fourier Transform

    Seventh Day Adventist

    The Hum X are real good for cleaning ferrite screens. Place a ferrite screen or two halfway between your light switches and ceiling light/fan, then plug a Hum X into a nearby outlet and the hum will come out of your ceiling light in 7 days.

  • from Florida December 10, 2016Music Background:
    long time amateur player

    Great Hum killer

    I had an untraceable hum going on and I could not localize it . I checked my pedals, my amp, and my guitar and still couldn't find it. But after plugging the HumX ground Loop in the hum was gone!

  • from Columbia, SC June 30, 2016

    Hum & noise grounded for life!

    What is there to say but that this gadget really works. If you have hum and/or noisy hum, you can rely on Hum X to work a fascinating wonder.

  • from Columbia, SC June 3, 2016Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter (God's Water) & kb musician

    X-treme reduction!

    This thing is outstanding. I only wish I was a receptacle so I could plug it in and enjoy the difference even more. Joke aside, the Hum-X really knocked down my hum problem substantially. As a test, I played some music rather loudly. Then I paused that music and adjusted my ear to within 15 inches from one of my monitors. Absolutely no discernable hum. Thanks sales eng. Patrick Schaefer!

  • from Missouri February 18, 2016Music Background:
    keyboardist/singer/songwriter

    No White Noise!!!!!!

    WOW what a difference. I struggled for years with cables, etc on my vintage Oberheim and could never get the hiss out, well no more! I ordered this from my sales engineer, Alan Finkbeiner, and it made a world of difference. Through the years I just sort of got used to it and thought that was the way it was, but not true. Now I just plug my synth into this Ebtech unit, plug that into a power conditioner (which I used all along) and I'm all good to go! I would highly recommend this product but check your cables first before going to this next step!!! I love it!

  • from Destin, Fl March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Studio owner/artist

    Beyond thankful!

    Ok, the product solved my problem in as long of time as it took me to plug in. What impressed me more about though was when I called the company directly with a few specific questions as my exact question wasn't exactly popping up on the other reviews. Bill Wenzloff picked up the phone and not only answered my question but went beyond them and offered a brief education, as well as other beneficial info. Not often someone takes the time like this. I'm thankful. Suppose I'll buy more just in case another issue arises. My issue was with one particular tube microphone, the most expensive one in the studio arsenal. 5k buzz gone.

  • from Houston Tx March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Student

    Works perfectly!

    highly recommend does exactly what it says!!

  • from Zearing, IA November 15, 2014

    BUY THIS!!!!!

    I run with a focusrite scarlett 18i20, an Asus ROG fully loaded laptop, yamaha monitors, HDMI to a 45 inch TV. I run Cubase and Pro tools 11. I bought a furman M8x2 that I hoped would take care of some of the buzz. I like that because it gave me more outlets but it didn't diminish the buzz at all. I have tried all sorts of other things. I bought the HumX because of the reviews on here. I plugged my laptop into it when I got it and turned on my system. NO BUZZ AT ALL! This completely solved my problem...completely.

  • from Mn November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar guy.

    Excellent Product!

    I play through two amps. Ground loop hum was very loud and irritating. I plugged one amp into the Hum X and the ground loop hum was gone. Silence. This product works!!! Of course, make sure you are trying to eliminate ground loop hum and not single coil hum or something else that the Hum X isn't designed for.

  • from St. Louis, MO. January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist, guitarist

    Best Bang for the buck

    I don't know how it works or why it works. But my QSC 153 speakers are completely quiet when plugged into one of these. I have one for each speaker, and absolutely zero noise or hum. Buy one and try it, I think you will be shocked at how well it works on items that draw 6 amps or less.

  • from Hebron, CT November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Blues Guitar Player

    Buy this Gizmo!

    I recently bought an expensive botique tube amp. I couldn't wait to use it with my Fender Strat. Once plugged in the sound was agonizing. Hum, cracking, etc. I read all of the stuff on-line about ground loop issues with single coils, shielding the guitar ( copper tape around the outside of the pick-ups, pick guard, etc.) I thought before I commit to doing that I would see if there was anything out there might address the issue. Googled the Electro-Harmonix Hum Eliminator and other products that are probably very good, but twice the cost of the EBTECH Hum X. I was skeptical thinking a $50.00 product would solve the problem, but went to GC, picked one up and plugged into the wall, crossed my fingers, turned on the amp, and buzz and hum was gone. If your problem is ground loop, thn this should work for you very well.

  • from Bellevue, WA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Audio QA Engineer at Fortune 100 company, Recording/Mixing/Mastering Engineer, Composer

    It does the job well

    I recently had to move to a 50+ years old apartment. As you can guess, electrical blueprint was a mess; owners didn't do a thing about making an improvement. And guess what I was hearing; Ground loop.

    It's my first time hearing such phenomenon. I read a skeptical review from somewhere else about this not being able to eliminate GL, but my salesman Tom Koch ensured me that I can return it if it doesn't work. With such offer I said "sure why not." I also ordered Monster Power Pro 2500 just in case.

    MPP2500 did get rid of some GL, but not even close to what Hum X can do! I appreciate the power conditioning so I connected the MPP2500 to the outlet, and let Hum X sit between MPP2500 and my PC and now GL is completely gone! If you can't get rid of the GL then try this before dropping hundreds on power conditioner.

  • from Boynton Beach, Fl April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Misician

    HumX

    This product works as advertised right out of the box!

  • from Sun Valley, CA March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player

    Hum X Works!

    Had a Line 6 HD500 and an ABY box to a Peavey 5150 -- The Line 6 goes to a mixer and powered speaker. As soon as I plugged into the ABY box so much hum it was ridiculous -- it was amateur hour at rehearsal.
    Researched ground loops and saw a you tube video of HumX.
    It get's rid of equipment but still grounds everything so you don't get electrocuted like you can by just usiing a ground remover plug.
    Best $71 dollars I ever spent on Music Gear Ever!!!

  • from Santa Monica, CA January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Bassist, Engineeer

    Amazing device!

    I was having trouble with my new Yamaha HS80M monitors. They were everything they were advertised to be, great flat sound, but horrible hiss and static even when grounded properly in discreet outlets. The speakers were near the computer monitor due to lack of space, and I'm sure the power in my place is far from studio standards.

    Last ditch attempt before taking them back, I tried one of these. They are now dead quiet under all circumstances 24/7.

    Wonderful product!

  • from Muncie, IN November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Touring, Studio, Small time Pro

    It Works

    I had a terrible hum at live shows with lights. We have a crew with a nice light rig; dimmers, cans, movers, projectors, etc., and particularly when they would be dimmed I got A LOT of buzz through my Eleven rack, direct rig. My light guy said this should help. I got it and put it on my Eleven rack. At the next show, my sound guy said "Your rig sounded great, no buzz at all this time!" ...at which point I told him I got one of these. He didnt know I had it, but he certainly could tell a major difference. Now all we hear is a bit of single coil hum, but thats also expected.

  • from Washingtonville, NY USA October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Mixing/Mastering Engineer

    Saved a full band session

    I didn't realize how useful this could be until three years after I'd bought it. I was running a pair of focusrite rackmount units, linked via ADAT, recording a full band. And despite my best efforts up to now, I started to get some pervasive hum/interference in the DI bass track. We tried three different basses, all with the same noisy result. I grabbed this thing from my old pedal board, plugged one of the rackmount power cables into it, and the hum was completely gone! If I didn't have this, I could have spent a great deal more time completely rearranging all of my power needs, and I could have screwed up the entire session.

  • from Richland, WA August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Professional jazz singer and keyboard player

    It works

    I was getting a nasty B natural hum through my PreSonus 44VSL AudioBox. I mean it was really annoying. I whined about my problem to my sales agent, and he swore that the Hum X was the answer. "Are you sure?" I asked. It seems like in this high-tech age, nothing is that easy. But it does.

    I plugged the power chord from my Yamaha Motif XF8 into the Hum X, and the Hum X into the wall socket. Then I ran my output lines from the XF8 into the Presonus 44VSL and, voila, no hum. I'm amazed. Whenever I gig, I'm taking the Hum X with me.

  • from Orlando, FL August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriting/Home Recording

    Buy this magic gizmo.

    Love it when something does exactly what it says it will do.

  • from Atlanta April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player and engineer

    NoHum

    This takes about 85% of the noise out of an amp, especially an old one.

  • from United States October 25, 2011Music Background:
    Professional musician in Hollywood for 30 years.

    Ebtech Hum X

    I purchased the Ebtech Hum X to clear up a ground loop problem in my amp. After plugging the Ebtech in the hum was substantially reduced without effecting the output or sound of the amp. It corrected my problem.

  • from Monterey, CA June 21, 2011Music Background:
    DJ

    Great product

    I'm a DJ and was having a slight hum (noise) on my system when no music was playing. After putting the Hum X on the system that problem has been eliminated. This thing works great and is well worth the money I spent for it.

  • from Va Beach, VA USA January 6, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, student

    I'd give this one hundred stars if I could...

    I was in the studio one day - great clean guitar recordings...then the next day there was terrible hum coming through the amps. The studio was running on the same grounds and power as everyone else in the building. I plugged my amp in to this - and it immediately disappeared.

    If you've got hum and noise - get this! For the price - it's amazing and I thought it was too good to be true...but it isn't. Get this.

  • from Glastonbury, CT October 22, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Artist, Frustrated Bass Player

    Solved Laptop Problem

    I was getting a buzz/hum when I had my laptop computer running off of the ac adapter but not when I removed the adapter cord and was using the battery. I tried different outlets, etc., but nothing would solve the problem until I tried this and it worked perfectly. I run about $12,000 worth of equipment and it sounded horrible until I spent this last $70. Highly recommended.

  • from ND, USA October 22, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    Amazing Device!

    My studio monitors were emiting high frequency "whines", which I understand is frequent when computers are used as the source input to the monitors. I bought one of these bad boys and connected my computer's AC adapter to it and now my studio monitors are crystal clear with no noise whatsoever!

    My band has used one of these for quite a few years, which comes in handy when some bars don't have the cleanest power.

  • from Cincinnati, OH USA February 16, 2009Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Amazing!

    This little device saved me a million headaches. I had a weird hum/buzz going on in my studio monitors. After an extensive search/elimination process, I found a ground loop between my laptop and display which was causing noise to be transferred to my audio interface. If I used my laptop without the external display everything worked great and the monitors were silent.

    So I took a chance on the Hum X and connected it between my display and power conditioner. Like magic, the hum/buzz was GONE! This is an awesome little device.

  • from New City, NY USA January 13, 2009Music Background:
    Songwriter / Engineer

    It really works. Clean up your ground loop noise!

    I have had an on again, off again ground loop situation. When you boot the computer, if you put your eat to the speaker, you can hear light digital noise happening. If you move your mouse back and forth, you can hear the noise change, corresponding to your mouse movements. When you boot your audio app, in my case, Pro Tools, the digital noise gets a lot worse and can be described as a 'whine'. My audio is coming out of an M-Audio 1814 powered by firewire, into a Tapco 260 mixer, then out to my Alesis RA150 power amp. I put this Ebtech Hum X on the end of my RA150's power cord. My audio is now clean and that digital noise and whine are gone. This thing works like a charm. Do yourself a favor and correct your ground loop problem the right way, by picking up the 'Hum X'.

  • from Oneonta, NY October 19, 2008Music Background:
    Metal guitarist, aspriring producer (but only of my own stuff)

    SOLVED MY RE-AMPING GROUND LOOP WOES!!

    Fantastic! I was getting a horrible ground loop when re-amping with my laptop, Mackie Onyx Satellite, Little Labs Redeye (passive unit), and Peavey JSX. Unplugging the laptop (running it on the battery) made the noise go away, but that's hardly a workable solution, so I bought the Hum X, put it between the wall and my JSX's power cable, and BAM! Hum X'ed! Thanks Ebtech, works perfectly, and without having to put anything in the signal path!

  • from mason,ohio usa September 13, 2008Music Background:
    have been playing both bass and guitar since 1969

    ebtech humx ground loop eliminator

    i was having a problem with hum,so i thought i'd give the humx a try.how much could i lose? the humx did the job. well done ebtech.

  • from Tennessee January 4, 2008Music Background:
    11 Year House Music DJ, Beginner Producer (Just Underway)

    It totally eliminated my laptop ground loop noise/buzz!

    I was getting noise when running an output from my Torq Xponent into my main PC sound card. I knew what was causing the noise, but I really didn't want to use a 3-prong to 2-prong adapter to totally lift the ground from my laptop because it's not completely safe, so I chose this little gem to see if it would do the job. It got rid of every bit of the noise and now my shoutcast streams sound crisp and clean again.

    Laptop noise is common with laptops that use a 3-prong plug. If you have this problem, I highly recommend trying the Hum X. If it doesn't work for your situation, Sweetwater has one of the best return policies in the industry and will take care of you with excellent/courteous customer service.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ January 10, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Works But Experiment With It If Needed

    I have a 27" iMac, Yamaha HS80's and an Apogee Quartet. I was getting nasty hum and in researching I read that using a simple Home Depot ground lifter plug on the Quartet would eliminate the hum. Tried it, no go. So I bought the Hum X, plugged the Quartet into it, then plugged it into the wall outlet and still tons of hum. I then decided to plug both of my HS80's into a heavy duty triple outlet extension cord, plugged the cord into the Hum X, then into the wall outlet and bam! Noise gone. The way it worked out here was cleaning up the HS80's, not the Quartet. Finding your exact source may take some trial and error but if you figure things out this definitely does the job.

  • from Western PA November 20, 2015

    Another Happy Customer

    This product worked for me as advertised and completely solved my ground loop hum problem. I compared it to lifting the ground with a 3-prong adapter, and the hum reduction was the same. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it's a piece of hardware and I tend not to be "blown away" by technology. I might hesitate to pay the MSRP, but I feel it's well worth Sweetwater's price. To me, hum in live music is never acceptable because it's so distracting. This is a permanent solution, and amortized over many years, I think it's money very well spent.

  • from Mass February 13, 2015Music Background:
    audio engineer is the closest

    The Ebtech Hum X Ground Loop Hum Exterminator

    It works! Plugged it in and the ground loop disappeared. I don't know if its witchcraft or not. I can do the same thing by using a three wire converter but that floats the ground. I can only hope that this doesn't accomplish the same thing in the same way for a lot more money. :-) Oh well, it works.

  • from Vashon Island, WA November 28, 2014Music Background:
    40+ years as a musician and audio engineer

    Great item for your audio tool box!

    Don't leave home without it. this device has saved me on many occasions where there is just too much line noise. It even seems to help with RF as the area that I work has multiple AM radio stations can can be picked up through the A/C in the historic building that hosts musical shows. Nothing worse than hearing the baseball game through FOH when trying to do a quality show. But mostly, the hum from the old wiring system is reduced. I''ve got two of them that I take with me to all gigs.

  • from October 10, 2013

    ebtech hum x ground loop hum

    works well, just took a little work to isolate the hum, and plug offending agents into the hum X. As the instructions say, it doesn't work on 2 prong devices.

  • from Birmingham, AL May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Classical guitarist, audio engineer

    This thing is the real deal!

    Works like a charm, easy to use, solidly built,. There is no downside!

  • from Baton Rouge,LA January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Get It!

    If you hear noise from your monitors plug your computer into this and it knocks 90% of the buzz out. I use an Apogee Duet with a Mac and Yamaha MS50's. It's like kicking a crying baby out of your studio.

  • from NE IN August 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician and luthier

    When pedals don't play nice...

    Had a situation where the pedals on my VooDoo Lab Pedal Power conflicted with my Helicon Voice Live 2 producing a loud transformer hum. By connecting my amp to the Hum X the sound is perfect and quiet again and I can actually use my Helicon live! 4.5 star rating only because the drop down for 5 stars says, 'wow blown away',,,a bit much but yes very pleased.

  • from Central New Jersey February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound, songwriter , recording engineer

    Works in the right situation.

    I bought his little guy hoping to tame the sound on a tube amp. I felt it was picking up noise in some locations and not in others and ground hum seemed to be the culprit. It didn't help. But I don't blame the device. In my home studio I sometimes get him with multiple monitors connected and this little guy kills it. Have used twice at gigs with poor wiring on our mains to kill hum, and sometimes on bass amp when d'ing. So hats off ebtech. Use it for what it's designed for, it will do its job. Now if someone could just square away my amp lol.

  • from Denham Springs, Louisiana February 16, 2015Music Background:
    None. I listen to music.

    Hum X

    I moved to a different home and when I plugged in my subwoofer amp it made a loud hum. Tried regrounding the home but it did not work.

    Purchased Hum X and installed it.

    MAGIC! No Hum.

    A few days later it was humming again. Now it is working fine. Can't figure that one out.

    But it still seems to be working so I am satisfied thus far.

  • from seneca, sc. June 30, 2014Music Background:
    playing guitar since 60s, and being fully retired have devoted more time to my passion

    good product

    Living in a house without an upgraded electrical system, I use to get a buzzing noise through my amp..since installing the hum x a lot of the buzzing subsided..overall, it would be worst without hum x..

  • from Point Arena, CA March 13, 2014Music Background:
    likemindedgearhead

    Buy It

    If you're playing in different places this product will help a little bit all the time, a lot sometimes. Cleaning up an audio signal is a large and expensive enterprise, from humbuckers and cable shielding to line conditioners and bringing your own generator. Anything that helps and fits in you shirt pocket you should have.

  • from CT USA November 11, 2013

    Does the job

    A tad expensive for how simple it is, but it does its job. Don't expect it to remove other EMI interference than ground loop hum, but it does that, and very well too.

  • from Sewanee, TN September 27, 2012Music Background:
    musician, performance music teacher

    Ebtech HumX

    works in tandem with my power conditioner to clear up lots of power and ground loop noises.

  • from United States July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer, producer

    Works Great!

    I purchased 2 of these a while back and noticed an immediate change in the sound of my powered near field monitors. Almost all of the line noise disappeared.

  • from Lansing MI USA April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound and Recording Engineer

    The Hum X removed the AC noise problem I had with my laptop.

    The Hum X removed the AC noise problem I had with my laptop.

  • from January 4, 2016

    Good

    The device works well and solves the problem, but very expensive.

  • from far, far, far northern california March 26, 2013Music Background:
    I can now say "professional guitar player" (sort of)

    I am still not sure

    I was invited to play 2nd guitar in a little theatre orchestra. It was held in an old high school auditorium and the whole orchestra had one electrical receptacle to plug into. The first thing plugged in was a stand with a rheostat so the director could dim the little lamps on the 13 music stands in between our performances. Then we plugged in the two small guitar amps, my pedal board and a bass amp and a fan for the drummer. (We are lucky the building did not catch fire.) There was a moderately loud buzz that got real loud when the dimmer was used. I used an old expensive isolated power strip from my home stereo rig and that helped a bit, but the buzz would vcome back. So I tried the Humx and it sometimes helped and other times did not.
    This may have been a situation that was completely unfair to assess the value of this device. I will say it did diminish the buzz, just not to the level I would have liked.

  • from rantoul,il. August 23, 2012Music Background:
    lead guitar player

    ebtech hum x

    it works rewally well eliminates hum.Ican concentrate on playing!

  • from April 5, 2015

    Its A Crap Shoot

    It will either work or not work. This is my second one. If the hum is not the 60 hz type variety you will be out of luck. But if the hum is, one will notice a reduction but not an elimination of hum. Note that it does nothing for hiss. Pricey for what it does.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ. July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Composer, Arranger

    Hit or miss

    Sometimes it works to solve the problem, sometimes it doesn't.

  • from July 27, 2012

    Doesn't eliminate as much hum as I expected.

    Wanted it to help mostly when I had distortion pedals on, but it didn't help much, if any.

  • from Manchester, New Hampshire USA July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Music teacher and performer, mainly guitar.

    Can't really tell.

    I can not tell if this thing works. I can say it does not harm the sound, but I can not say it eliminates electrical noise in all cases. In the worst of rooms, if you play them you know what I am talking about, this thing does not stand a chance....bad electricity is bad electricity....I can't imagine there is anything we can do as performers....maybe if we were electricians and re-wired these venues for bands. In my experience if the place has old or bad wiring then your stuck with bad electrical noise, power fluctuations, blown fuses, and all that jazz! with all that said though I do not want to return it for it may come in handy some where.

  • from Anchorage AK USA August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar

    is it working?

    did not "X" out my "hum" haven't returned it even though I don't hear any difference here in old badly wired apt. Keeping it with my board and hoping it may help when I perform live in my local venues.

  • from May 9, 2015

    Useless

    I've had one for years and it never stopped the noise on my rig at my rehearsal, studio. Tried it again last night and Bzzzzzz!

  • from Albany, NY June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter, cartoonist, Mac tech specialist

    No help

    I bought it because of periodic noise from my KRK 6 speakers, connected to my iMac. I had to replace them with M-Audio's, which didn't hum. Also bizarre is that the KRK's didn't hum connected to older G5 iMac. This product didn't do a thing for me, unfortunately.

  • from Tucson, AZ July 1, 2004

    X-out your ground hum with ease!

    All I can say is WOW! I purchased this product as a special order through Sweetwater right after it was released, and it works perfectly!


    I run live sound for a mobile church. We're in two different buildings every single week, so we set up our entire sound system twice every week. We need gear that is light, compact, effective, and innexpensive. The Ebtech Hum-X is exactly those things! We used to have ground loop hum every single week because of the nature of our setup. We have a really long snake running to the back of the room where our sound board is. So all of the board stuff runs on one electrical circuit and all of the stage equipment and amps run on a different circuit. We ended up just putting a ground lift adapter on the power strip that connects the amps to the wall outlet. But that is dangerous to both equipment and its operators.


    After we blew an amp and two monitors one day, I decided it was time to find a better solution to our hum problem besides a ground lift. I was looking for a 'magic black box' that would keep our gear safe AND eliminate hum without having to mount yet another piece of rack gear, run more cables, and spend a lot of money. I found the Hum-X, and it was exactly what I was looking for. My Sweetwater sales agent helped me get the product quickly even though it wasn't in stock yet, and we have been amazed at how clear and absolutely hum-free our sound system is ever since! The first day that we used it, our worship leader didn't know the system was on, since he was so used to his monitors humming at him! BUY THE HUM-X! You'll be happy you did!

Questions about the Ebtech Hum X Ground Loop Hum Exterminator?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway