0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Ebtech HE-2 2-channel Stereo Hum Eliminator Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Ebtech HE-2 2-channel Stereo Hum Eliminator?

Questions about the Ebtech HE-2 2-channel Stereo Hum Eliminator?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 27, 2017Music Background:
    amateur studio engineer

    Reamping ground loop eliminated!

    I'm using a Line 6 Helix as both my USB audio interface and as a reamp box to record guitar and bass DI tracks directly into my DAW and then have the option to reamp those tracks either digitally all within the Helix or through my collection of real amps and cabs mic'd up. This setup works brilliantly but whenever I used it for my real amps there was a nasty ground loop noise coming through that made high gain reamping unusable. I tried everything I could to solve the issue without buying additional equipment (isolating all equipment into one power conditioned UPS, separating non grounded (2 prong) plugs from the grounded plugs, etc.) and nothing worked. I put the HE-2 in line between the output of the Helix and the input of the amps...problem instantly solved! The passive design that doesn't require any power is a definite bonus as well.

  • from April 4, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist

    It does a great job.

    I have a small home recording studio set up. I live in an old apartment building from the 70's. I started picking up the dreaded 60 cycle hum. I changed around plugs, and surge protectors. Eliminated 3/4 of the hum, but it was still there. Got the Ebtech, and no more hum of any kind. It works.

  • from Carlsbad, CA April 24, 2015

    Dead Quiet Speakers

    This Ebtech hum eliminator is brilliant. My new studio monitors had an annoying low-level hum that I couldn't get rid of. I tried several cheap solutions but nothing worked. I found this Ebtech on Sweetwater and it's not cheap but it had good reviews, I gave it a try.

    I hooked it up and turned on the speakers. They were dead quiet. They were so quiet, I had to double-check that they had power! Amazing. Now I'm enjoying crystal clear playback without any annoying hum.

    The Ebtech hum eliminator is worth every penny.

  • from Burnet , Tx October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician , Student , Recording Engineer

    No more hum

    Great product . Plug this baby in and play ,love it, don't leave home with out it !!

  • from Elverson, PA USA August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Sound Engineer & Musician

    Works great, built like a tank

    I am a gigging musician and a sound man. I was having trouble with broadband noise between my mixer & FOH system. Playing in venues with "iffy" electrical systems made me question the wisdom of lifting grounds all over the place. I picked up the HE-2 and it works flawlessly. Hum gone. Electrical grounds... grounded. I've used these for a little more than a year. Never and issue. They still work great even after a year of life on the road. I'm picking up a couple more just to have in my tool box.

  • from Sherwood, AR May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Audio and Video volunteer

    Annoying Hum Problem Removed

    Ever since I started helping our church on weekends with the audio and video I had notice an annoying hum from the speakers. No one knew why or how to fix. I had tried troubleshooting 1 cable at a time but with no success. I finally gave up and installed the EBTech hum filter between our stage snake and the amplifier that I purchased from Sweetwater. Wow what a difference it made. This is a night and day type improvement and I can highly recommend.

  • from Kokomo, IN February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Oh thank God

    After building my new studio I had a slight hum in my monitors. I didn't really bother me (I thought) but another engineer commented on it. So I went out on a limb and tried it.


    GONE. My CR is completely silent. It my become a problem though because I can hear the water in the pipes now....

    In all seriousness, it is allowing my to monitor at lower volumes since I'm not fighting a hum. So comfortable. Just do it.

  • from New Jersey December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    Hum gone

    Worked as described. Removed hum from my Mac based studio.

  • from New York September 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Elimates Hum - just like it says

    I was having ground loop issues using my ISP decimator g-string because it's both before the amp & in the loop. Using this fixed the issue.

    (Side note: Instructions are a bit lacking -- I had to use both channels on the device)

  • from Fort Wayne, IN June 16, 2011Music Background:
    Former Pro Guitarist

    Must have!!!

    I purchased this to use with a TC Electronics G System, and some of the high gain amps I use. The line noise is GONE!!!! I'm always skeptical about adding anything in my signal path that can negatively color my tone, and was shocked with the transparency of this device! This is definitely going to be in my bag of tricks for many years!

  • from Tallahassee, FL December 28, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Musician/Keyboard, Band Director

    Everything Everyone Else Said-Great!!!

    FedEx just delivered the package, 5 minutes later, hum was gone!!! I'm talking crystal clear signal chain from my S90XS to the mixer!!!! Incredible! Don't know what other products costing hundreds more could've done that this doesn't do, but it really doesn't matter, does it??? IT WORKS!!!

  • from Philadelphia January 10, 2007Music Background:
    Professional musician and composer

    Solved my "Fantom" buzz problem

    I recently purchased a Roland Fantom X8 (which has balanced TRS outs) and a Hartke KM200 amp (which has unbalanced inputs) for live gigs. I was getting a slight buzz when my Fantom was connected to the amp. I tried a variety of cables, using a direct box, even lifting the ground on the amp--none of which solved the problem. Then I read about the HE2. I now run TRS from the Fantom to the HE2, and TS from the HE2 to the amp. BUZZ ELIMINATED! It now sounds completely clean, and I believe I even get a bit more gain from keyboard. If you have a similar problem, I recommend this product.

  • from Los Angeles October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Professional pianist/composer

    Does WHat it claims

    Seems to do what it says. Bass player in our group would always get ground hum when hooking his bass through the house sound equipment. The problem is in the improper wiring of the sound system with regards to the electrical wiring of the building. The bass player's instrument would always generate hum through the system into the house amp/speakers. It only stopped when he had his hands physically on the strings of his bass. When he removed his hands the hum /noise would be fairly noticeable. This little gadget got rid of that problem w/o having to properly rewire the electrical (which will eventually happen)

  • from Hillsboro, KS February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Audio restoration

    Works great!

    The HE-2 Hum Eliminator completely eliminated a very troublesome AC buzz in the line from my PC to a MOTU 896mk3. How nice to hear nothing - except when you want music.

  • from Canada January 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobby Guitarist for 40 years.

    Does what it is supposed to do

    It is a simple circuit really. It matches balanced to balanced or unbalanced and also breaks ground loops. Be wary of claims that brand X works better than Brand Y... unless they are defective, they will work exactly the same! I went with the EBTech because the build quality of the circuit board looked a bit better, but the Nady or Art products will also do the trick. Note to guitarists who also use these... they do NOT work like a noise gate. They break ground loops and also allow the interconnection of typically unbalanced guitar gear to balanced electronics without losing the noise rejection of the balanced cables. For the problems they are designed to solve they are a reliable solution. For other issues (noisy pickups, tube noise etc) they will do nothing.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio April 28, 2008Music Background:
    Amateur recording engineer by night, Circuit designer by day

    This unit solved a puzzling problem for us

    I just installed a new sound system for my church. We have had hum problems before solved by good grounding and using better grade equipment. Now, for the first time none of the former tricks worked. Lifting safety ground (undesired) only helped some.
    All the equipment was thought to be balanced and good Belden cable ran to the amp. A pre-install test had been done to check for crosstalk sensitivity with the nearby AC power lines but the problem only showed up after install. The real problem was traced to an unbalanced amp input! Now what? It was getting late on a saturday and the system was needed in the morning. Then I remembered seeing a so-called hum eliminator box (HE2) another sound guy had left several years ago. It had been used in a noisy video setup, now unused. I had actually tried to use it quickly one time and it did nothing. But... I connected it up and ...silence!! It worked great, the safety ground is now connected again and the system has remained silent with no input. It's a real treat to the ears and hum does not distract from the message.

  • from Petoskey, mi March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Newbie!

    Hum not eliminated

    When I add the eliminator to my hook up and run the line to the amp the hum is even louder. Seems it's a ground loop because when I touch the bridge or the strings the hum goes away. I've tries a few outlet and different cuircuits, still the same issue. Sweet water has been very responsive and is letting me send it back they will test it and if it's defective send me a pre tested replacement. If the item is not defective they will let me return the item. Sweet water has been great.

  • November 1, 2005

    Could not be easier!

    I have this unit and the rack version in my studio. They fixed all my problems with multiple computers, mixers, and a whole house audio system. No more ground issues with equipment in different rooms on seperate power outlets. Doesn't color your sound either.

  • from Knoxville, TN January 1, 2005

    There are better and cheaper options

    I agree it works, but, compared with an ART CleanBox II, the CleanBox worked better for me, and it is about half the price of the EBTECH's hum eliminator.

  • from Columbus Ohio April 1, 2004

    Cut out a radio tower's signal from next door

    We were playing a gig Saturday night at a club that is right next to a radio station's transmission antenna. Most of our amps, etc. were affected, and I couldn't use my wireless mic. Fortunately our sound man got the PA clean by using one of these EBTech Hum Eliminators, it cut the radio station right out. I suppose that makes sense since the ground loop is an antenna that can pick up any signal, not just 60 cycle hum. It worked great. I just wish he had a few more so I could plug it in to my wireless mic system too. Time for me to order one, or possibly the ART Clean Box II, depending on what my salesman (Andy DieKroger) recommends more highly.

Questions about the Ebtech HE-2 2-channel Stereo Hum Eliminator?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close