0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Electro-Harmonix Hot Tubes Nano Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Hot Tubes Nano Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Hot Tubes Nano Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Spring Arbor, MI December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Cranked!

    There's a lot of different sounds to be had by experimenting with the settings on the Hot Tubes. It can be a fairly clean boost, a cranked, tubes-burning amp or even a passible fuzz. Comparing it side-by-side with a vintage '70's model, they're incredibly similar in tone, to the point where I'd rather have the new, just for the ease of having the pedal so small (fits better on the board) and the warranty (though I doubt I'll ever use it). Hard to go wrong with this one, especially at this price point.

  • from October 20, 2015

    HOT TUBES OVERDRIVE

    Versitile tube tone. Works fine in the mix. Good with single coils and humbuckers.

  • from November 16, 2014

    HOT TUBES

    SWEET little pedal...

  • from Boston, MA November 5, 2014

    Beautiful

    A thing of beauty. Smoothest, best sounding transition between clean and breakup in any pedal I've ever heard. I mostly use it to add warmth and a bit of fuzzyness to a fairly clean Vox ac15 - especially lovely with lower output single coils. Very responsive to finger or pick pressure. Gobs more warmth and depth compared to most overdrives; I set my amp a bit more to the treble side and it sounds great. High gain settings can be flubby in the low end, but stacked with another overdrive or into a distorting tube amp it gives you huge warm, raging, compressing distortion.

  • from Philadelphia, pa July 20, 2014Music Background:
    amateur guitarist/ musician

    Electro Harmonix hot tubes

    overdrive / fuzz pedal with big sound, breaks up nice and cleans up with rollback of volume knob on guitar. Goes from a light almost clean overdrive to a heavy Tommy Iommi /Black Sabbath distortion.pedal is very responsive to your picking and play style definitely a must on the pedal board and with the switchable tone bypass there are many tonal possibilities. This pedal will surely not dissappoint

  • from Huntington Beach, CA June 15, 2014

    Ok overdrive....

    Good overdrive. Gets the job done. Does what it's supposed to do. Simply ok on its own. Does sound amazing with a boost in front of it. I find that with the tone off it gets a LOT of bottom end, so you have to turn up the treble on your amp and/or guitar to make up for it (unless you want a really dark overdriven sound...).

  • from Pa May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Hot tubes

    EHX has long been an industry leader with pedals. I had some when I started playing in the 80's. I then went to the multi effect units over the years. Guess what, I've come back to pedals and love them. Even in front on my pod hd which feeds my 120 watt peavy vypyr tube amp this thing warms up the sound to a classic Marshall stack. It,s a medium to high gain pedal. More so than the east river drive. Less so than the glove. Yes I have them all. Now I just bought the soul food which I think is the best of the whole lot, but this one has it,s own place and is a great hard rock pedal, the price was right too. As always I recommend Sweatwater to all musicians for service,reliability,shipping,and salesperson helpfulness

  • from Miami, Florida April 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Hot!

    Placed before my amp or in my pedal board, this baby rocks!
    I get that bite I love in both clean and crunch channels.

  • from Minneapolis, MN USA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician.

    Awesome, better than boutique OD's

    It's under 60 bucks and has a tonal range that beats more expensive boutique brands. Personally, this is not my one and only go to OD pedal, but some of the sounds you can get out of this thing can't be found on other pedals.. at least that I've tried. I run this on my board after a plexi-clone that IS a boutique brand (which I love). The hot tubes can take already overdriven tones to next levels, or it can give you a really, really nice gritty OD on it's own. It's cheap too!

  • from Twin Cities, MN February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unique, powerful, and awesome

    I'm glad to see some other favorable reviews here. There's some bashing going on for both the original Hot Tubes and this Nano remake, and I don't get it. Unless you are programmed to just expect everything to sound and behave like a Tubescreamer or other mass production overdrive, there's a lot to like here. I actually put this thing near the end of my chain and you can even boost it with other OD's (it loves Tubescreamers). But the primary function of this pedal with the knobs at noon is to give you this thick, fat, bluesy tone with lots of low-mids. It actually stays fairly clean from 8:00 to 12:00 on the OD knob, and then gets almost fuzzy as it breaks up beyond that. I guess you could kind of compare it to a Fender Bassman overdriving, but really, it's just a sound of its own. I agree that it likes single coils slightly better, and I deducted a half point due to the fact that it is a dark pedal that doesn't open up much with the tone control. But it is a really cool, under-appreciated circuit - and it costs all of 58 bucks.

  • from Mn November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    A unique , HUGE overdrive pedal

    EH hit a homer with this one! It's not a TS clone thank God! This one delivers nice thick, creamy od that keeps your original tone intact. Works great with humbuckers but its with singlecoils where the magic happens imo. I like using the Hot Tubes to od an already overdriven amp although using just the pedal through a clean amp is great. Much better than most od pedals I've used that way. For me, this is my Jimi tone with my Strat. Very happy with this one!

  • from New Jersey, USA November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Solid OD for the price

    This pedal sounds absolutely HUGE for such a small and simple overdrive. Sounds fantastic on single coils and excellent on humbuckers as well. The overdrive will get nice and fat and fuzzy when you set all the dials past 3 o'clock. Or keep them all at 12 o'clock for a nice boosted overdrive tone that KEEPS THE SOUND OF YOUR GUITAR INTACT! A lot of OD pedals out there really change the tone of your guitar. Not this pedal. It is very transparent and doesn't color your guitar tone much at all, even with the tone switch off. I usually keep my tone control around 1 o clock to keep it from getting muddy, or I'll shut it off completely for that muddy grunge rock sound. For those of you comparing classic OD pedals, this really does not sound anything like a tube screamer or any BOSS OD pedal. If you want those distinct sounds, get one of those pedals. But for a simple OD pedal that wont change the fundamental tone of your guitar (like a tube screamer does), for 58 bucks you can't beat this pedal. This pedal sounds a lot like the Fulltone OCD, but costs less than half the price. This is a staple in my pedalboard!

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Hot Tubes Nano Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway