0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster - Olympic White with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster - Olympic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster - Olympic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sacramento May 4, 2017

    Customer for Life

    I knew what I wanted. But when it arrived. I was blown away the way the people at Sweetwater took care of me and my new guitar. The guitar is absolutely awesome. Love everything about it. It has become my main guitar now.

  • from S.L.C., Utah March 23, 2017Music Background:
    Fanatical Hobbyist for over 50 years

    Great Guitar, Great Value!

    Being a life-long Jimi Hendrix fan (who was lucky enough to see him in concert when I was 14 years old!) I HAD to have one of these Fender Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster guitars with all the various customizations! Fender has blended the best of the Hendrix guitar details with a neck that works for right-handed guitarists and isn't as unwieldy to play as Jimi's Strats were for him (upside down, with the vibrato arm, control knobs, and pickup selector toggle switch somewhat in the way. Not a problem, of course, if you're the Voodoo Child!). This MIM Strat is well made and plays very smoothly. The fretboard radius makes for easy string bends. The pickups sound good and probably reflect how Hendrix's earlier guitars sounded when he was in New York, and then England when the Experience was formed. The white and black Strats with maple fretboards were used mostly in 1969 and 1970, so the Fender Custom Shop '69 pickups might be a more historically accurate pickup choice for these maple fretboard Strats of Jimi (always an option if desired) but who am I to tell Fender what to include in their guitars? Still, this guitar has a sweet tone to it and is a superb value for the money! I couldn't decide on the white/maple "Woodstock" Strat, or the Black/maple Start that was a favorite of Jimi's (he's holding his black/maple Strat in the last known photo of him). So I got one of each! The quality control on both guitars was very good with no issues of any kind, which is amazing as I bought them about 6 months apart (which says a lot about quality control). The Jimi Hendrix Strat is a great value at this price, so if you're in the market for a really good Strat for your money, you should check one (or two!) out with Sweetwater soon. You won't be sorry! Tom Maxwell is my go-to guy at Sweetwater, but everyone there who's helped me over the years has been outstanding! You can't go wrong with Sweetwater...they'll take great care of you!

  • from Dallas, TX March 20, 2017Music Background:
    Active Musician 25+ Years

    That Vintage Strat Sound With Modern Touches

    I bought this guitar without playing one first. It is a bad a** guitar. I'm a Jimi Hendrix Worshiper and felt obligated to have this and to have the Olympic White is even more of a nod to Hendrix and is a real head turner. Plus the neck specs, radius made this a logical choice for my guitar playing related arthritis and carpal tunnel issues. This neck is fast and easy to play and I have short fingers. I am able to play faster on this neck than on my other strats, Tele, SG & Les Pauls. I know several people that own one and watched several reviews. I noticed several people saying that the pickups are to noisy to deal with and the tuners aren't very good. So I went in to this thinking I would be upgrading those components. However, when I plugged this BABY in the pickups blew me away. They have that true, authentic, vintage Fender sound you want and need. Yes, it has that cycle coil hum... Yes you can dial back most of it with a noise gate or noise suppressor type pedal. The pickups sound great I can dial in Jimi, Clapton, Beck, Gilmour and the list goes on. The reverse angled pickups and poles give this guitar a special unique beautiful tone. (much like Hendrix had) Bridge position 1 on the 5 way is smoking hot and position 2 quacks like a duck where as position 5 sounds like sweet, glassy, butter. Yes, you can get the "woman tone" The tone and volume control really work well for dialing back to get some nice cleans and crank it up for some punch as well as rolling the tone back if needed. Another huge positive besides the reverse neck looking SUPER RAD is it actually plays a significant role in the playability and tone of this guitar. The way the strings sit allow you to play leads and the high strings effortlessly. You are able to bend, solo and play faster and better. It also has improved my vibrato as it allows you better control over the high strings and allows you to play effortless vibrato due to the string tension on the reversed neck. The low strings also have a really punchy, crisp sound ready for attack. Making this thing a unique blues/Rock&Roll Beast. The pickups sound FREAKING AWESOME. They are true to the '65 era vintage specs and tone. The tuners never cause me any tuning issues and I've been playing on it 2-5 hours a day for over a week thus far. Just stretch the strings real good over and over, especially if you plan to use the tremolo. I havent even used the tremolo yet but I assume it will cause tuning stability issues like every other Fender I own . I immediately put Elixir Polywebs on and strap locks to protect my baby. Don't let the Made In Mexico fool you. It has top notch craftsmanship and playability. The only "cons" I find that are really more of a preference thing are that I wish they would have used the lefty bridge so the tremolo bar would be positioned like Jimi's was on top. This actually seems practical to me and makes it easier to use the tremolo bat and would have cost nothing more. Also, not getting a case is a freaking joke. Man up and get a case for this baby. The gig bag is equivalent to a road runner gig bag. They are ok but not great. I ordered a nice Fender case of of here as well for it. This was my first instrument purchase from Sweetwater and they sent me a beautiful guitar that was perfectly set up. Call them and they will make you a deal. I got the guitar and case in a combo deal. This guitar is worth it and is now my go to. I have played it through a mound of pedals and they all sound great. I have also played it through a Fender Supersonic Twin 100, Vox AC30, Vox Ac4, Peavey Classic, Marshall Dsl15 and they all sound so good. This this has a more authentic Fender sound than my '76 Strat and my' 95 Strat. This guitar also boasts endless sustain and gallons of tone. Don't be afraid to get it. You won't regret it. I can't help but channel Jimi. Everytime, I pick this baby up I channel the man himself. This is a players guitar . I would buy this again in a heart beat Peace & Love To All.

  • from Honolulu, Hawaii March 6, 2017Music Background:
    Lifetime Fender fanatic (since '65)

    Another awesome Strat from Fender Mexico

    As the title says, this is another incredible playing and sounding product from Fender Mexico. As with my other Mexican Fenders (Classic Player 60s Strat, Deluxe Ash bodied Strat, and Deluxe Roadhouse Strat) the quality is equal to American Fenders, in my opinion. I wish they had made a rosewood board version, as I generally prefer rosewood to maple, and Jimi actually played rosewood longer than maple, only switching to maple during his last couple of years. However, this guitar has that fat woody tone that most rosewood Strats have and many maple ones lack. The American 65 pickups are especially dynamic and ooze awesome tone in every position, with great quack in the middle positions. I couldn't be more pleased with this guitar. I just have to get used to the reverse headstock, so I don't try turning the wrong machine head when tuning.

  • from Cape Cod MA November 30, 2016Music Background:
    Music Buff

    Outstanding

    I bought this guitar along with numerous other items from Sweetwater in one big package. This guitar rocks and meets up to the Fender name. I want to give special thanks to Mr. Luke Herian for all that he did for me when buying this guitar and the sound package from Sweetwater. I wound not buy from any other place and Luke would be my go to guy. Thanks again Luke!

  • from Rockford, IL October 7, 2016

    The Strat tone I have been chasing

    I have been playing for 34 years, and have probably owned 7-8 Strats in my lifetime. This is one of the winners!

    This is the second Mexican Stratocaster I have owned, and both of my Mexican Strats were actually my favorites over my American Standards. (I did put a David Allen Echoes Pickup set in my previous 1997 Mex Strat).

    The Mexican plant makes great guitars. Period...do NOT fear the new MIM Fender guitars! This Hendrix flavored Strat is no exception. All of the Hendrix, Trower, SRV, Mike McCready tones you seek are in these pickups. The tone this guitar is so amazing that I just decided that my old amp didn't pass muster to what this guitar is capable of delivering, so I bought a Marshall DSL40C with a 12'' Celestion Creamback to give this guitar its proper due.

    Brent Leuthold, my Sweetwater sales concierge, was awesome as always. If Brent is paid on commission, I highly recommend him. Sweetwater's customer service is always world class! -- They treat us "dirty musician's" like we are rich folks buying a Rolls Royce. The little package of candy they include with every order is such a classy touch of service.

  • from Texas August 11, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbist and music maker

    Sweet!

    My wife gave me this baby for my 56th birthday and I am truly blown away (sing it Carrie Underwood!)
    Simply excellent sound and ease of play. It is a diamond in my small collection of truly amazing guitars. I am so happy to own this fine guitar. Well done Fender!

  • from Ma June 1, 2016Music Background:
    30 years wrighting, singing,lead guitar, studio musician

    Great customer care

    I ordered the EMG DG20 David Gilmour pre-wired pickguard. Great price. It came in exactly when said, with candy to boot! Nice personal touch. But most importantly to me, a Sweetwater rep called me before and after receiving my product. And again to ask how the installation went (very well), and how I felt about the sound. Also, he talked to me like a human. Not just for 3 secs. I Have and will keep recommending Sweetwater to any and every one looking to purchase any product they offer. Wich is pretty much every thing a musician, dj, engineer, producer,etc could need.

  • from Los Angeles March 3, 2016Music Background:
    Really Good

    Best Guitar I own (out of 12)

    Sounds great, everything you'd expect from a Strat, feels amazing to play and when you crank it up, it's a dream come true.

  • from Villa Rica. GA February 13, 2016Music Background:
    recording and jamming

    Jimi Hendrix Strat

    I am the proud owner of a Hendrix Strat. It's my first mim guitar. The quality is outstanding. I own a Eric Johnson strat and.I also own a Eric Clapton strat.. The quality of the Hendrix strat is right in between the other signature guitars. It is not fair to compare the new strat with the Eric Johnson strat because of a poly finish compared to a nitro finished. As usual AJ ,at Sweetwater gave expert service. This is my 2nd guitar from Sweetwater and when I unboxed the guitars they were both IN TUNE. Its a long way to Georgia from Indiana. The guitar was ready to go when I unpacked it. Sweetwater will always be my 1st choice. Thanks Sweetwater and AJ.

  • from Dallas, TX December 20, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Lead Guitarist

    Great Experience!

    I recently received my Fender Artist Signature Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster OWT from Sweetwater and must say am still blown away by just how awesome the guitar plays and sounds right out of the box. To my delight, it also sounds amazing without being plugged into an amp! That is when I knew it was a dream come true! Their 55 point evaluation is the real deal. The guitar was set up beyond my expectations having played electric guitars for almost 40 years. I could go on and on but the bottom line is this. Right out of the box I played my Jimi Hendrix strat through a 96' Hot Rod Deville for 5 hours at practice (Classic Rock band) and it out performed my cherry 1982 Fender Fullerton Stratocaster in PLAYABILITY and TONE and it wasn't even close. Keep in mind my 82' strat is my baby I've played for over 30 years!!!! If you want a QUALITY Fender Strat with real authentic vintage tone, and effortless playability, then get one and find out for yourself as I found myself closing my eyes and jamming in the spirit of Jimi throughout the practice! One last note: I can't thank Kevin and the team at Sweetwater enough for ensuring my shopping experience was P for Perfect from start to finish. Rock on!

  • from St. Clair, Missouri January 12, 2017

    Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster

    This guitar has ALL the right ideas. It gets the basics of Jimi's Strats of that era without compromising the comfort and playability for a right-handed person. That is why I will say the trem arm is where it really should be. Even if it was mounted on the left side of the unit, I would still like it, but this just makes more sense for a righty.

    The reverse headstock is what guitars should all have, in my opinion. The wound strings should have that extra length. Same thing with the bridge pickup mounted as if for a lefty and the reverse mounting of the pickups. It all makes a difference.

    I like the pickups a lot; I will not be swapping them out. Are they the best I've heard? No, but they make this guitar unique. I am really digging the middle pickup and usually the middle pickups just don't do anything for me. This one is definitely usable.

    Fit and finish are superb. It is gorgeous, yet classically simple. Form follows function here. I took it to my local guitar luthier for setup and other than tightening up the trem a little, he said it was perfect right out of the box. Intonation was already dead-on. Action perfect. Pickup cavity was clean and neatly done.

    I can't play like Hendrix (who can?) and my tone may not as close as I'd like, but this guitar is a pure joy to play.

  • from November 20, 2015

    There is a difference

    I played one of these, but I have to tell you, I have the "original" Voodoo Strat from 1997 that was discontinued due to the Hendrix estate not being very happy with the image/name being used. It seems Fender has taken care of al that. So, while the value of my guitar may be less because of this (some ebay ads had this selling for over 2k) I'm glad the rest of you can enjoy this. The flipped headstock is more than a gimmick - it means you have different string lengths (after the nut) and it really does make for a different tone. Add to that the reverse slanted bridge pickup and you have a strat that really does sound unique and whether or not you have the chops, does hit you with Jimi-ness, often when you least expect it. I'm not sure this has the same pickups as my "original" 97 Voodoo Strat - mine were listed as 69 or 69 "vintage," but if you can deal with the single coil hum, the sound is sooooo Strat. Punchy, quacky, funky... whatever you want to call it, I love it (as long as I am playing live and not in the studio or computer). The neck pickup gives amazing deep clean sounds that, IMO, are different due to the headstock flipping. Middle pickup or different combos with it give you the best Strat funk sound ever. If you are thinking of getting a strat in this price range, even you don't relate to Hendrix music, you should seriously consider this guitar. It is very versatile, very much a strat and a great guitar. One thing though, why on Earth would anybody choose anything other than the Olympic White?

  • from Santa Fe December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Player, teacher, basement jammer.

    Hendrix Strat

    Looks good, plays great which is the main thing in my humble opinion. The reversed string length does change the way the guitar sounds, and for some reason the way the guitar plays and feels. Only 4 stars because I believe Fender pulled it's punching not reversing the body as well.

  • from wisconsin October 16, 2016

    exceptional guitar for the price

    this is the third guitar I've purchased in three weeks from sweet water, two for my daughter & this one for me. early x-mas gift from my wife. & i might add, no disappointments in any of the three. my thanks once again to zach garrison for such good service..all i had to do to this guitar was shim the neck, & level the tremolo . i don't like a floating tremolo, has to be on the body..more resonance!! now the neck plays even all the way up.. I'm pleased with the build from MEXICO. nicely done. thank you sweet water for your great polices. love the candy ,,,lol maybe nachos next time

  • from April 4, 2016

    hendrix strat

    when you buy an electic guitar and it sounds beautiful NOT plugged in, you know you're in for a real treat when it's amped( with a quality amp, of course)...i have yet to turn this axe loose,just don't have the room yet...thanks, sweetwater...tony w

  • from Virginia March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Part time Band

    Definately Worth the Investment

    I was a little hesitant to buy this guitar. I have owned some previous Fender import Guitars from Mexico and Indonesia that were not the quality I expected.

    This guitar is excellent! The setup is excellent, much better than expected (a bad setup can cost $75 to $100 extra) ---- and the sound is also excellent.

    This guitar seems to get better high end response than other Strats I own (or have previously owned). Straight into a few different amps it is definitely very bright sounding and clear - The Neck pickup and middle pickups position sound really good, and bit thicker (Like Jimi's sound). The brighter high end response works really well in an effects chain and helps "cut through " high gain mixed with other effects with better clarity than some of my other strats.

    The upside down neck and with different string & tuner lengths and the different pickup position all seem to add to the unique sound of this guitar.

    The guitar is very high quality for price. Excellent workmanship and no real flaws I can find. The setup was perfect (hopefully this is consistent in others). It was worth the price and has become of of my favorite Strats. It comes with the lowest Gig Bag which is my only negative, but I also purchased a Gator Hard shell case.

    4 stars - probably deserves 4.5 because I really like it. - But I think Fender should provide at least a somewhat Hardshell Gig bag or case of some type.

    If all these production models have the same consistent setup, I highly recommend it

  • from Arizona April 17, 2017

    Not a Rocker

    I bought one of these slightly used. Intonation was good the action was good. It seemed to stay in tune as long as I didn't bend on it too hard. I did not use the tremolo arm. I bought it because it was an iconic rock and roll guitar. Wrong! I'd consider this a blues guitar at best. Unless you're standing in front of 50 Marshall stacks with 2 two fuzz boxes front of them it's kind of a dud dead sounding guitar. The finish on the neck had factory imperfections on the fretboard and the back cover was very cheaply made and very badly warped. The finish on the guitar body and the neck were beautiful other than the imperfections on the neck. I am a Rocker and I am used to playing through humbuckers. If you are a tone primadonna and intend to play this through Boutique amp in your boutique then this may be your guitar. If you're a rock and roller plan on changing all the electronics.

Questions about the Fender Jimi Hendrix Stratocaster - Olympic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway