0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat - Natural?

Questions about the Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Devin Cunningham

    The Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat Acoustic is exactly what I've been looking for: a truly great-looking and great-sounding guitar! Whether you're playing beside a campfire or onstage in front of 10,000 people, there's no denying the easy playability of this 1960s-inspired acoustic/electric.

  • from Portsmouth March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Love It!

    Fender, and Mr Armstrong you have really went above and beyond in creating something worth double its price. I played through the Martins, and Taylor's, in this range and honestly this has a more amazing tone and quality then either. You will not be disappointed. Again I really appreciate my sales engineer Sweetwaters Phil Schwan who is always a pleasure to work with, even for an Aussie!

  • from Iowa September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Play for fun and possible open mic in future

    Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat Acoustic

    I contacted my Sales Engineer Ryan Schmidt and as usual he went above and beyond helping me out with this purchase. I bought this guitar without actually seeing or playing one in person. Ryan recommended a hard shell case (Journeyman Deluxe Wood Case) and when it was delivered two days later I pulled it out of the case and it was actually in tune. It is very well made and looks even better than the pictures online. It sounds great unplugged and plugged into my Egnator Tweaker amp. The on board tuner is a plus and convenient for when I am not near my gear upstairs where my EHX Polytune is located. Purchasing this guitar has pushed me to practice more and gives me the freedom to play where I want without an amp. If I did not know the price of this guitar I would guess in the $700 to $800 range.

  • from Houston June 11, 2016

    Smooth little guitar!

    Ordered this for my grandson from Sweetwater for his upcoming new year at school. He needed an Electric Acoustic for his advanced class coming up. He's going into his third year of guitar at his performing arts school in Houston Texas. Well, he loves it totally. He has two pet cats and a skull bobble head on his computer desk, lol. So the Fender Hellcat fits right on in as for as a theme goes for him. Now about playing this little jewel. Mighty fine music it plays, yes sir! When he first went to playing it, he chose Country Boogaloo to play and went at it. Wow, blew me and grandma away with his rendition! We're so happy that we selected this Fender Hellcat as a surprise gift for him. The looks, the feel and the sound are quite impressive indeed. Oh, we dumped the Let's Go strap and got a Joe Satriani Black & Silver Skull Sketches strap which goes perfect with it. Happy, happy, happy, everybody is! This is a great little Electric Acoustic that Fender has put out!

  • from Texas October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It's as killer as it looks!

    This is one of the best looking guitars out there. To follow that, the price is WAY lower than it should be.

    Plays great, sounds great and for everyone. Beginner to advanced players.

    If it disappeared today, I'd buy another one, later today.

  • from sarasota, fl March 15, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar Player 23 years, Guitar Teacher 8 years

    Best Guitar for the Money and then some

    I had the pleasure of teaching in a guitar store over the past few years. The owner let me play whatever guitar I wanted for the lessons. No matter what guitar came in, from Martins, Taylors and other brands, I always picked this guitar off the wall. Something about it just made it play easy and feel great when holding it. Honestly one of the best guitars I touched. The low end is as robust as I am used to because of its small size, but, it still sounds amazing unplugged and plugged in. The playability and neck feel of this guitar is so unique and enjoyable. Just get it.

  • from Sacramento Ca USA September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Play for fun.

    One Great Guitar.

    I did not buy My Hellcat from You guys.But if there is any one looking for a great Acoustic electric this is the one.I play mostly country and this guitar kick,s it.I just love My Hellcat.

  • from Grayslake, Il August 4, 2013

    This guitar gets played the most

    My title says it all in my humble opinion. This has become the guitar I am most likely to pick up and play, noodle or practice. My Taylor sits all the time now. My electrics are also getting a lot less time.

    I started with Electrics. I always wanted an acoustic that played, fit and felt like my electrics. Well, that is nigh on impossible. However, this Hellcat comes as close as you can ask for.

    I also wanted a smaller body. For practice, I don't really need the volume of a big dreadnaught. Of all the other Acoustics I tried of similar size, The Hellcat just sounded best. It's a balanced tone, not too bright, not too boomy, scooped, etc.

    The neck is one of more comfortable I've found. reminds me of my Taylor, as well as my Les Pauls. Satin finish is very fast to play. Also has a nice radius that I like. Body fits and feels nice. Really comfortable to play.

    Love the Mahogany grain all the way around. The guitar is really beautiful look to it. I could do with, or without the hellcat and skull. But, they do set it apart.

    The Fishman electronics were MADE for this guitar. They sound great together. Ran through my Zoom A3, the Hellcat sounds glorious.

    A part of me knows my Taylor is a better guitar. But, I am likely selling it, as it is NOT a better guitar for me. The Hellcat, fits well, plays extremely well, is comfortable, and sounds good. I'm giving it a 5, because at this price, it rates a 5. If it were $100-200 more, then a 4.

  • from Columbus, MS January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Avid home player lol

    A hella of a guitar

    I bought this from a Sweetwater trusted source and was anxious to try it out. It came as all do in pristine condition and set correctly by the staff. All I can say, is WOW!!, i didn't know what I was missing until my first run down the fret board. The harmonics are so easy to chime. I thought the workmanship was first notch, but disappointed that it was manufactured in China as that dilute the resale value.

  • from Bakersfield, CA January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Super Fun!

    This guitar is so fun to play. Can't put it down. The most stable guitar you can buy for under 500 bucks. You could really beat it up. I gave it a five for it's price range, nothing beats it. Sounds good, feels good and again is too fun. Reminds me of a pawn shop archtop.

  • from Belfry Ky November 7, 2011Music Background:
    I personally don't have one,

    Bought for someone else

    I am sorry, I bought this guitar for a stepbrother that is in prison in Ohio, But his last letter said he did love it, and was learning alot from it, so thanks alot for making it alot easier to buy for him and send to him. Thanks again

  • from Peru, IN March 23, 2011Music Background:
    Band, Student, Hobbyist

    Hellcat on wheels!

    I actually drove up to Sweetwater to buy this guitar. Fantastic service and they checked it out and got it to me that day. Impressive place and people. I'm new to guitar but my friends are not and this thing sounds great. The Fishman tuner and preamp push it over the top. I'm very happy the Hellcat, awesome. It has skulls on it, how can you go wrong?

  • from Alabama July 28, 2009Music Background:
    rookie

    Fender Hellcat Amazing for the Money

    For the money you cannot beat this axe. Rich tone easy to play. I am a rookie but my most excellent instructor was amazed at the price for the sound. Thanks Fender and Thank you Tim Armstrong!

  • from Swartz Creek MI December 11, 2016Music Background:
    ATOMIC BETTY

    FUHNOMINAL GUITAR

    I am so impressed with the quality of this guitar. It feels great! sounds great! looks great!! I'm so happy I purchased this gem from you guys! I HIGHLY recommend to any level musician. The only thing I found not to my liking was the action. I did had it adjusted down a little.. however, I believe this guitar is designed and set up old school.. Purchase it!! you will not regret it!!!

  • from Nashville, TN December 6, 2016Music Background:
    worship band musician (bass, guitar, mandolin)

    Unique Guitar

    I didn't know what to expect, I'd never played a mahogany top acoustic before and ordered it from Nick @ Sweetwater based only on some youtube videos I watched. It took some getting used to and a slightly different playing style but it really works especially as a solo instrument. You have to play with a bit more attack than spruce but it responds very predictably and sounds great. Definitely a keeper.

  • from Tucson, AZ August 14, 2013Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter and engineer.

    Smooth

    For the price (and my lack of expertise) this acoustic has a great warm tone and was set-up perfectly right out of the box. Played alongside my professional friends with their Martins and Guilds and still rang though. On-board electronics are very good. Stays in tune and looks cool too. I play it every day!

  • from Alarska July 13, 2009Music Background:
    Professional, Recording Hobbyist

    really nice for the price

    this guitar is really nice for the price. i played it today at my local music store along with some other acoustics. it has a really fast neck and nice clear tone. definitely check this out, even if your a higher price range this one is a goodie.

  • from Alabama July 15, 2016Music Background:
    forever learning

    Hellcat

    For all the glowing superlatives, please read the other reviews; I'll not restate all that, because I agree. I do have one strong dislike however. What's up with the tiny little plastic tuning machines? This is not a toy guitar, Fender! Put some adult size butterbeans on there! (Fender makes this great little instrument and then puts on Yugo knobs. One wonders, what could have possessed them to do that?)

    The experience of buying my Hellcat from Sweetwater was all pleasure and no pain. Adam S. (1761) is friendly, knowledgeable and articulate. The guitar was delivered quickly, in perfect condition, perfectly set up and only the tiniest bit out of tune; even the Fender factory strings sounded great. Guaranteed, my next guitar purchase comes from Sweetwater. Thanks Y'all!

  • from Bradley IL January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Gargage Bands

    Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat

    This is Fender acoustic is everything I've come to expect from Fender. Sweetwater did an excellent job of shipping and after a little personal setup it was playing like a guitar that cost twice as much. My only complaint is that I found it for fifty dollars cheaper just a few days after my purchase from Sweetwater and asked for a price match and did not get it. So do your home work, still a real good instrument for the price.

Questions about the Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway