0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

TC Electronic Hall of Fame Reverb Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 71 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Hall of Fame Reverb Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Hall of Fame Reverb Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Diego, CA November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist, occasional gigs

    Killer Reverb Box

    Ok, I have owned the Hall of Fame for half a year now so I think that is enough time to write a fair review.
    This pedal is not cheap. While Strymons may cost upwards of $400 that is only one company, and the vast majority of us cannot lay out that kind of cash. There are less expensive options out there, but trust me, this pedal is worth every dime of what it costs.
    Let's start with the two best parts of this pedal, the control and, of course, the sound. The pedal sounds spectacular, all the reverbs are beautifully detailed and shockingly accurate. I once ran the HOF into my friend's all-tube Fender combo in the FX loop and compared the HOF's spring reverb setting to the Fender's real tube driven spring reverb. Despite him being a big naysayer, after a few seconds and some tiny adjustments even he agreed the the HOF sounded better than the real thing! While the Hall, Spring, and church settings are my favorites, all the reverbs are phenomenal and are all quite useful.
    Now on to what REALLY sets this pedal apart from it's less expensive competition, the controls. This thing has about the same number of knobs, switches, dials, and buttons as the average 1960's spaceship. However all of them are extremely intuitive to use and are actually useful under regular circumstances.
    I really like the analog dry-through with the FX level knob which keeps my level constant but still allows a tailored amount of reverb.
    On top of that I hear that the stereo I/O is very very useful (some friends of mine are ambient rock guys and they use these with twin amp setups and get some seriously trippy sounds out of it) and the choice of buffered or true bypass just adds another level of personalization to this pedal.
    That is actually something I really like about the HOF, unlike other pedals that when kicked in people say "oh that's a... (insert famous pedal here)" but TC's creation really bends to fit your style and can tonally shape shift to become the reverb you need for the situation. It's not an overbearing pedal, but if you tell it to it can get as wild and spacey as you want and go right back again.
    Some other features: the casing is super rugged, as well as nice and compact. The LED indicator light is quite bright, and the pedal is easily readable at a distance in terms of levels (also you can easily adjust the FX level with your foot, which is probably the only on-the-fly adjustment you'll need, good placement there)
    I cannot say enough good things about this pedal, it's an awesome addition to any guitarist's pedalboard. However, to be entirely fair I should mention this: this thing just INHALES 9V batteries. Seriously I used a big hall reverb and powered this thing off a battery, and it was dead within 6 hours of active time and that's probably generous. However, with a pedal this complex running an even more complex algorithm while processing a signal in realtime is a pretty power heavy task and you should probably expect it. I just run it off of a One Spot now and it runs perfect (the silent switch is a nice touch too, this thing has ZERO noise).
    All in all the Danish wizards at TC have hit another home run with this pedal and it will remain my go-to source of reverb for a long, long time.

  • from Tennessee October 29, 2016Music Background:
    Former Pro from 60's, 70's - retired IT Professional

    Best of the Best HOF Reverb

    This little pedal opened up a whole new world for me for recording in my home studio. Vast array of possibilities with this little beast. And I haven't even delved into TonePrint yet - not that I'll ever need to with what's available out of the box. Using this both for guitar and for my Hammond C2 and Leslie - need to buy another LOL. Can't say enough about how pleased I am with this purchase - thanks guys.

  • from Dallas June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    Great, versatile reverb

    This is a great reverb pedal for versatile selection of reverb types and tweak-ability. Good value, too.

  • from East Greenville, PA June 23, 2016

    All i can say is.....

    they dont call it Hall of Fame for nothing!!!

  • from Iowa March 26, 2016Music Background:
    25 years as a guitar hack!

    It's all you need for reverb!

    I am truly impressed by the quality of this pedal, both construction and functionality. With the huge array of options for different reverbs, and the toneprint to boot you just can't go wrong. Turns out I just prefer the room reverb over everything else, including the spring in my 68 Custom Princeton Reverb ( I know, sacrilege, but at least I am honest about it) .

  • from Chesapeake, VA March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Pro musician, teacher, composer/arranger

    A non-effects guy

    I'm an old guy, been playing 44 years. Jazz is my thing so effects aren't all that important to me. That being said, I got a church gig where all styles are needed. I have a 25 year old T.C stereo chorus pedal that is wonderful so I built my board around T.C. products. This was the last piece and it is exactly what I needed for a direct in connection this gig uses. I now can sound like anyone, rhythm or lead.
    I'm looking forward to recording with it in stereo. And Sweetwater is the best. Luke Herian is my guy.

  • from new Jersey December 11, 2015

    yes!

    Ok this wasnt my first choice in reverb pedal..had to send the ehx back..
    originally checked this out at my local store as i was looking for a nice plate reverb -sonething like the Talisman but less expensive- and i didn't care so much for the plate on the HOF. BUT thsnkfully i heard about the tone print and how you could download players customised settings. The Paul Gilbert 0h that's nice!
    Was just what i was looking for.
    should be the stock plate sound so i could use tone print slot for snother amaxing reverb. So whatf there's anything to complain about it would be that theres only patch you can download st one time

  • from CUDAHY, CA December 7, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist, audio engineer, worship team leader

    A great addition my pedalboard!

    You won't find another pedal that you gives you this many great sounding options at this size and at this price point. Did I mention it sounds great? Try one for yourself!

  • from September 29, 2015

    Great Reverb Sounds

    I love the way this reverb sounds. The many different types of reverb gives a wide variety of tonal options. My favorite, so far, is the gated reverb. With the HOF Reverb at the end of my pedal chain, behind my delay, the gate kicks in after the decay of the delay. You can be as subtle or as out there as you want as this pedal has it all.

  • from August 27, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician - Blues/rock

    Hall of Fame Endeed!

    This is a great reverb unit. I play it through a Vox AC15 amp and it sounds superb. There is almost too much choice between types of reverb but I love a wet sound and this one gives you the flexibility to use in different sized rooms with different acoustics. It also allows for precise decay which goes from a rockabilly clipped echo all the way to endless repeats. There's way more here than I will probably use, but it's wonderful to have all the options, and the price is very reasonable.

  • from So Cal June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Best Reverb

    I owned this pedal before and regretted letting it go. So I bought another one. I like to play surf music drenched in reverb and this pedal does it in spades. You can put a mic into it and it will do an amazing job for vocals. Great great pedal.

  • from South Burlington, VT April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Educator/Semi-Pro

    Love it!

    After fiddling with a mouse over thousands of effect presets on a computer, this pedal returns me to the simple joy of a straight forward layout and the tactile experience of dialing in sound WITH REAL KNOBS.

    It sounds great and feels solid.
    I am hooked -buying another TC Pedal tonight. After visiting my Dad in the Cardiac Ward, and seeing all the people on their way out-I thought Life is now! so lay some sweet sound on me TC!

  • from March 27, 2015Music Background:
    started playing when the Beatles were popular and still gig to this day

    better than advertised

    I'm using a PRS into an Orange Tiny Terror and a 2 x 10 cab. I play mostly rock and blues and a hint of jazz. I stopped gigging with my twin reverb because of the weight but I missed the reverb. After a lot of research I finally decided on the hall of fame. First the reverb is very natural and is hi fi in tone. The pedal itself is smallish. There are a huge amount of great tones available and is easy to use. I did comparisons with dozens of other pedals. For tone, features and value the the tv hall of fame was the clear winner. It is dead quiet and true bypass. It appears to be very gig worthy and well built.

    No I'm not a representative or salesman

    If stolen or lost I would buy again

  • from Pittsburgh, PA March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, composer, Professor of Guitar at Duquesne University and California University of PS

    Great Reverbs coupled with great value.

    A small footprint, great sound and flexible features, and toneprints. I Am currently using one of Paul Gilbert’s toneprints. You can't go wrong with the reverbs here. And I love the color!

  • from January 26, 2015

    SO NICE!!!

    This pedal is very compact, but yet tc managed to squeeze in so much stuff in it. The reverbs are very realistic, and the toneprint feature lets you download artist presets, and also edit your own custom setting. Also the tone nob is useful, cuz it enables the brightness of the reverb. often reverbs tend to get dark, so you can compensate with the tone knob.

    That is a small peak of things that are on this nice pedal. If you are out of the budget to buy like a strymon reverb, eventide, and other big and expensive pedals but are still looking for a awesome reverb, then this is it. It is AWESOME!!!

  • from Denver, CO January 25, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-professional musician

    Perfect

    I purchased this pedal to replace the useless built in reverb on my amp head. It is well constructed, sounds great, many tonal variations and I can simply go on. Usually there is at least one thing that we as guitar players don't like about a pedal, but we also find that all the awesome stuff outweighs the cons. Well this one is the exception. I don't have one single critique for this pedal. This is the first time I have ever given any product 5 stars and that is because I have never used a perfect product until this one. I would never use any other.

  • from NC October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Verb

    Great Pedal, Great Sound, Great Price. Very easy to use and dial in, haven't got around to the TonePrint function yet

  • from Baytown, TX USA September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician.

    Aptly named

    Versatile reverb unit with stereo capabilities and a small footprint. If you can't get the reverb sound you want out of this, I would be very surprised. The decay, tone, and pre delay controls are all you would ever need to get world class sounds. The tone print functionality just takes it over the top in terms of customizing your sound. Artist presets are cool too. Totally satisfied with this purchase. Well done TC Electronics!

  • from Pittsburgh, PA September 5, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio, multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter, gear fanatic.

    The End.

    Yep, this is pretty much as good as a reverb pedal can be I imagine. My search has ended. Thank you TC. The End. :)

  • from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Thanks Tony Dayton Sweetwater Rep!

    Best reverb pedal I have owned in 35 years. Stellar!

  • from Chciago Area July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Guitarist, Vocalist, Recording Engineer and Producer

    Hall of Fame

    As always TC makes great products. I have my Stereo Chorus/Flanger pedal on my pedalboard for more than 20 years. The Hall of Fame worked out great and my Sweetwater guy, Tony Dayton, is the best at pointing out the fine points of the products and working with Sweetwater. Keep up the great work.

  • from Chesterfield, MI June 15, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Wicked Awesome Reverb!

    Being a Multi-Instumentalist, my pedalboard is my lifeline to the rest of the Band. Consistency is everything. After trying several Reverb/Delay pedals, the HOF pedal by TC Electronics locked down my pedalboard. I use a '59 Bassman Reissue which has no Reverb. I previously used a Boss RV-5 and a Boss FRV-1 ('63 Fender Reverb Tank in a pedal) and although nice, did not give me what I was looking for. After working for an hour with my Lead Guitarist on the total pedalboard, we were able to dial in the Lush Reverbs that I was accustomed to hearing when using other Fender Combo Amps. Love it, Love it, Love it!

  • from NEW BEDFORD MA. USA April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Retired Semi Pro Musician Bass And Guitar Player!!!

    HALL OF FAME WOW THAT IS THE TRUTH!!!

    WOW! I WAS BLOWN AWAY BY THIS AWESOME REVERB PEDAL! YOU GOT TO BUY THIS REVERB PEDAL! YOU WONT BE SORRY!!! IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A PEDAL THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY EXCELLENT REVERB SOUNDS!!! LIKE I SAY HALL OF FAME WOW THAT IS THE TRUTH!!!!

  • from Sonoma County , CA April 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby , parlor/barn , player who loves to play

    Want great reverb , with a little footprint on the pedal board , well , HERE YOU ARE

    After wrestling with the price of a rel tube reverb , and how great they sound , I think I have found a solution in the Hall of Fame Pedal for my reverb needs. OK , it's not a 500 buck , stereo reverb , BUT for what is does and how little space it needs on the board , I am more than happy. AND for all you that love to " tweek your 'verbs " , well there is a space to store custom settings AND for the " web fans" , you can go to mfg. web site and share custom settings until the cows come home. So , in closing , BUY this pedal if you want a fair priced , small , reverb with limitless possible settings. Ah .... but those tube driven reverbs

  • from sacramento December 3, 2013Music Background:
    church musican, guitarist

    perfection

    I love this pedal even if you hate the stock reverb setting the tc tone print editor will let you create your ideal reverb sound. I like my reverbs to capture the sound of my guitar and envelope them in a nice long echoing deep cathedral type of sound. I normally use this on slower songs where im playing more ambient leads with volume swells or when I want all my little nuances sound like there huge. I love this pedal its so flexible its amazing. I cant picture not having it on my board

  • from October 25, 2013Music Background:
    s

    Good reverb

    There's really nothing bad to say about this pedal. Well build with awesome reverb sounds. This was a good buy, can't gig without it.

  • from Jasper, TX September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Amazing Tool!

    I have always had an amp with on-board reverb, so I never really needed or even wanted a reverb pedal, until I was able to get my hands on a few more amps to add to my collection that had no reverb. I tried a few others but when I found this, I was absolutely blown away! And I haven't even gotten into the Tone Print Editor, which I don't know if I ever will need to. This thing works great! I even use it in place of the tube driven reverb in my Deluxe Reverb. One thing that I am starting to notice and really enjoy, is the "Tone" knob. It can actually take a little muddiness out of my amp when I need to! Bottom line is thing works flawlessly, and sounds incredible!

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana September 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist , Composer

    Hall of fame pedal puts others to shame!

    First of all, You need this pedal! This thing Rocks! Easy to rail in just what u need. Super small footprint. I Love the red color too. TC Electronic makes great pedals , and this is one of them. Also has toneprint too which is really great.Buy it now!!!

  • from Albany, GA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    Free Candy

    This pedal makes tons of sounds. Very easy and simple controls: Select your reverb type, use the FX Level to blend between dry signal and effected signal, set the tone in the middle because it doesn't do a thing, set your decay to the middle then vary it while you play, keep switching the short/long switch ad infinitum, then eat the free candy Sweetwater sends you.

  • from Cranesville WV May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Producer, Studio

    The WOW Factor

    A Pedal Reverb without artifacts! WOW! This is what I have always wanted on my board and I knew it within moments of strumming that first chord.
    Sounds as good as my Lexicons. Simply gorgeous. And people notice. They might not know what it is but they notice.
    Rock solid build. Sensible layout. USB connectivity and TonePrint works flawlessly. Use a power supply. Enjoy.
    AND definitely download the new TonePrint editing software from TC and write your own patches! A very cool feature.

  • from at home March 23, 2013Music Background:
    part time pro and life time student of guitar.

    the best

    truly deep and rich reverb, and not just 10 versions of one program, really different reverbs with different responses, almost need two of them.

  • from February 27, 2013Music Background:
    Play lots of stuff in lots of places

    Excellent verb pedal

    This pedal does everything you could want from a verb pedal. Everything is adjustable and sounds great. When it's bypassed it's truly bypassed. Very happy. None better. From bedroom volume on your practice amps to showing up to a big gig with some ******* back line, this pedal saves the day and your tone.

  • from Rogers, AR November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro-Musican and Worship Leader

    Greatest Boutique Reverb Ever- this far

    Sounds great on acoustic and electric, plus I am getting a TC Electronic Spark Boost for free. Great pedal and my sales rep TJ was awesome as well. Great service by Sweetwater.

  • from July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro Guitarist

    Fantastic Sound from a little box

    Small footprint, big sounds. There is so much versatility in this pedal with the factory settings, but perhaps the coolest feature is the Toneprint. Try Steve Morse's Spring Verb for a more subtle verb, and go big with Big Room w/ a View. You won't be disappointed with this.

  • from HONOLULU HI. July 9, 2012Music Background:
    MUSICIAN

    HALL OF FAME ON TOUR

    SPENT 2 WEEKS ON THE ROAD AND THIS PEDAL WILL NOW GO EVERY WHERE WITH ME. SOUNDS GREAT EASY TO DIAL IN. I CANT ASK FOR MORE. THANK YOU ALL AT T.C.

  • from February 27, 2012

    TC Electronics Never Fail

    Such a great reverb pedal in a great casing. You can make several different sounds with this pedal and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • from New Jersey February 21, 2012Music Background:
    34 Years - Still active

    Great Pedal

    Awesome Pedal. Even sounds good in front of the amp for those without an effects loop. Can be used as a conventional subtle reverb or all out effect to add ambiance. Have not not even had a chance to try it in stereo yet. I have tried Boss, Hardwire and a Lexicon Rack Unit. I prefer this pedal. The Modulated Verb is absolutely fantastic.

  • from Washington State, USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Amature guitarist and hobbyist for 30+ years (rock, blues, acoustic)

    Buy It Even If Your Amp Has Built In Reverb

    Hall of Fame Reverb is great. So many options here and different settings, including the new toneprint system. This makes you think more about the importance of reverb and getting the sound "just right" for your musical style. I use it all the time even when the amp I'm plugged into has built in reverb. The new line of TC Electronic stompboxes is fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • from Memphis, TN December 20, 2011Music Background:
    1 semester away from a bachelors in guitar

    Amazing!

    The Hall of Fame is just incredible! My favorite setting right now is the "Big Room With A View" TonePrint but the Church setting is pretty epic as well. I love that you can change it to buffered bypass and have the trails die naturally when you switch it off. This is the first reverb pedal I've owned that sounded good enough to use all alone. Normally if I was ever gonna use reverb I'd always turn on delay as well. But the Hall of Fame sounds so huge and rich that I can just play my guitar and this pedal and it sounds glorious! I can't recommend it enough. Order one RIGHT NOW!

  • from Hartford County, CT, USA October 13, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    TC Electronics Hall of Fame Reverb

    Wasn't sure what to expect, but I was blown away by the TC Electronics Hall of Fame Reverb pedal! This little guy is more than what you'd might expect; the reverb is lush and spacious, and is just the right size for your own effects pedalboard, slightly smaller than a Boss pedal. The pedal has a number of different waveforms that enhance the effect; at this writing I have tried only 3 but I am almost certain my experience with this gem will not be fully realized until the remainder of the settings have been utilized. This pedal is a great value. I would recommend this pedal for anyone who wants studio quality reverb at an affordable price.

  • from Elk Grove , CA May 12, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Guitarist playing and performing for 45+ years

    Hall of Fame Reverb pedal rocks!

    Currently I play my Strats and arch top Gibby CS-356 Bigsby Custom through a Roland Cube 60 amp which sounds great except for the reverb..I was thinking of getting a Fender Tube amp with the Accutronics tank/tube/spring built in reverb unit but saw a guitar magazine review on the Hall of Fame Reverb Pedal which received a "guitar pick " award and got a stellar write-up. Plugged it in last night and it did not disappoint ...clean, no buzz, no hum, mono or stereo, and a great variety of reverb types with neat controls to shape the sound. (please see the Sweetwater specs ) . It sounded sooo good I aborted my plan to buy a Fender tube amp exclusively for the Accutronics spring reverb because this pedal is killer! Lots of reverb flavors, true bypass, and absent an a/b comparison with the accutronics unit ...I felt is was just as good while offering more reverb types... from subtle enhanced spacial dimensionality to wet drippy surf sounds. I can recommend this product without hesitation. Call your Sweetwater Engineer for more details of if you don' t have one, check out my sales engineer, Mark Magdich at X1265...Mark is a great guy, a Pro player, and very knowledgeable across the broad Sweetwater product shelf.

    PS check out the "Tone Print" capability to download your favorite artists setting(s) to the pedal - I have not tried that yet.

    Peter Gutierrez
    Elk Grove, CA

  • from Asheville, NC May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Reverb City!

    After watching the youtube video of the TC Electronic demo this pedal I decided to order. I thought surely it can't sound as good as the video, they've doctored it somehow. How wrong I was! Every single reverb on this pedal is fantastic sounding, realistic, and useable in different ways. Plus it doesn't affect your guitar tone at all. I've tried a couple of reverbs including the Boss RV-5 and the Tech 21 Boost R.V.B. and this one blows them away. Great Job TC Electronics and thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI April 6, 2011Music Background:
    Professional musician, obsessed gear test driver... owner of only what my ears say sounds great !!!

    Rich caverns or as little as you need

    Simply love the entire new line of T.C. Electronic small footprint boxes. The Hall of Fame reverb has lush, rich reverbs of many different styles (see the close up picture for a list of the reverb styles.) The box is so lush and rich I am considering a second one to velcro to the side of my Allen & Heath ZED-14 mixer for live vocals reverb. Amazing features in a small footprint box that leaves room for more items on your already crowded pedalboard. Hall of Fame deserves to be in the hall of fame for the home run it hits by T.C. designers!!!

  • from Rochester New York November 28, 2016Music Background:
    Musical family, Guitar and passion. Bands that Rock

    Hall Of Fame Reverb

    If you are looking for a versatile reverb for that extra ambience to your sound and then some you won't be disappointed. Not gonna give you fancy lush landscapes,not for that. Awesome pedal Toneprint Editor is a great feature.

  • from July 3, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz

    Great Reverbs

    A great variety of reverbs, all done well. I am using it for bass guitar. The ambience setting adds a nice presence to the sound, without being obnoxious. The modulation setting is a great special effect that's not for everyday, but I needed it a couple of weeks ago, and it worked superbly. The only reason I gave it a 4.5 instead of 5 is because it would be nice if there was a way to switch between the different types of reverb by using your foot, instead of having to reach down to the floor. But you can only fit so much in a package this small, and I think this is one of the best reverbs out there.

  • from Virginia April 5, 2016Music Background:
    Performing guitarist, Recording hobbyist

    Best of the Best

    I recently ditched my modeling amp for some sweet analog flavor and lost my built-in effects in the process. So, I'm taking it as a positive rather than a negative and a reason to build up a killer pedal board. I looked around at several reverb units, analog (out of my price range) and otherwise, and settled on this baby.

    Let me get the basics out of the way....and please listen!....1. BUY THE POWER ADAPTER - You will get 3 & 1/2 hours (at most) out of a fresh 9V battery and there is very little warning of the impending power loss. It may seem like a nuisance, but once you hear this baby, you'll realize that it's completely unreasonable to expect a little 9V battery to power it for any length of time. 2. KEEP THE BOX FOR TRANSPORT - I kept mine in a little pocket in my gig bag and the bottom corners seem to have absorbed some of the black color of the vinyl. It's almost as if the coating somehow reacts with other plastics.

    These minor issues should not cause anyone to hesitate to buy this pedal. It has the cleanest, thickest, most lush, and most editable reverbs I have ever heard. I almost lean towards suggesting the HOF mini...ALMOST. But you've gotta have the decay and tone controls (yes you can set the HOF mini to control multiple parameters with the software, but it's no comparison to the knob on the box). It runs silent whether active or bypassed, the switch and knobs are top quality and smooth, and the housing is bulletproof (except for the coating issue mentioned above). The LED is clearly visible in any light conditions.

    Just for fun, I took it to my local music shop and compared the spring reverb setting to the classic fender spring on a hot rod deluxe III. There is no comparison. Your boring 70 year old reverb tank is completely outmatched by this studio rack quality beauty. I'm going to stop here, and so should you. Just buy it.

  • from Honolulu, HI January 11, 2016

    Does what it says

    What a great sounding reverb pedal for the money. I like that if I need other settings they are there, but to be honest I prefer to just set it to my go to settings and leave it there. Sounds fantastic!

  • from Brooklyn May 1, 2015

    Sound of the Hall of fame peddle

    Its really grate. I use it with different keyboards and the sound is beautiful. Thanks. Elliot

  • from Wisconsin April 21, 2015Music Background:
    ClassicRock - Folk rock- acxoustic and electric

    TC electronics Hall of Fame

    When playing acoustic guitar the only effects I use are chorus and reverb; I wanted to find a smaller pedal for quick and easy set up. I am very particular about tone and for the most part I only use analog effect pedals. This pedal has been a pleasant surprise, the tone is surprisingly decent and the options are many. If you can't find the type of reverb you want on this pedal, it hasn't been thought of yet. For the price this is a really good reverb pedal, with plenty of options. I can't speak to the durability of this pedal I have only had it for a short while, but it seems very well built. I have had the TC electronics Poly Tune 2 tuner for a while now, it has been working great with no problems.

    Also I worked with Ryan at Ext 1306 at Sweetwater; he was a big help and worked hard to go over options. I appreciate that Sweetwater has people answering the phone that actually know what they are talking about. Not the usual hey dude crap you get from other online music equipment outlets.

    Well Done Sweetwater,

    CC

  • from April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Learner

    TC electronic HOF Reverb pedal

    This pedal has quite a few bells & whistles, it does the job for me.
    I have enough to keep me busy w/for years! I've not tested many of these and I've not played w/any either this is my first, I like the TC products they seem stable/reliable.

    4.5 since I cannot compare it to something else, does the job for me.

  • from Springfield, MO March 22, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player for 28 years.....never professionally.

    Great pedal

    this is a very good reverb.....and totally customizable!

  • from S.E.TX April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist 25 years guitar

    Awesome! Believe The Hype!

    I can't add much to what so many others have already said about this pedal except that while most products that have this type of following rarely live up the hype, this one does.
    I suspect it has to do with the analog dry through because in my amps tube buffered effects loop this is the single best sounding reverb I have ever owned where most digital pedals ruin the sound of the tube preamp.
    The perfect balance of adjustability and ease of use, grab a preset and go or download the editor and make your own custom reverb sound.
    Highly recommended.

  • from MKE, WI April 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Singer-Songwriter

    Realism & Ease of Use

    I was nervous about this verb at first, but once I plugged it in my doubts vanished with the reverb trails. The verbs are dense, and complex without being over the top. When the pre-delay is "short", the guitar is more in the forefront, when it's set to "long", you really start to feel the distance of the guitar. I really dig it. I was looking for the perfect reverb pedal and I totally feel like I've got it.

  • from United States January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician/ Producer for 30 years

    Sweet sounding reverb

    I use this mainly for the spring reverb sound and it works beautifully. The other sounds are outstanding as well. I'm very happy with this device.

  • from Phila. PA August 21, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer: new guitar player

    Fun and easy to operate...

    If it was an analog pedal it would get a 5; but it is digital which does have an advantage like toneprint. This pedal
    is very easy to operate and gives many reverb choices.
    Love to combine it with my MXR chorus pedal...what a
    delightful sound combo.
    I highly recommend it for stylish build and quality reverb
    in a digital pedal.

  • from Philadelphia, PA August 18, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, beginning guitar player

    Billy B. "Doc" Brice

    This is a digital pedal, and since MXR does not make a reverb this
    is the best choice. Toneprint is really cool and the pedal definitely is
    clean with sparkling reverb sounds from Hall to Lofi and back.
    This is a great reverb pedal and if it was analog I would have given it
    a 5. Moi Bueno to TC electronics for a great digital pedal.

  • from Singapore October 4, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    TC Electronic Hall of Fame Reverb

    Does what it says and quite well. This is really adding another voice to my guitar not just an effect. I love TC Electronics pedals. Buy it!

  • from May 26, 2016

    Flexible and priced right

    A little too digital artifacty for me, but kept tame it does the trick.

  • from Baltimore md. December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician for almost 50 years, also recording engineer

    Review of Hall of Fame Reverb

    This device is small and well made. I have only had it a short while and have not gotten all it has to offer. It has done its primary job for me in cleaning up my sound esp. On acoustic gigs. On electric with a few more stomp boxes I did notice an odd sound quality and may want to try the buffered setting. I have not done so yet. It also makes some noise in the electric line up. This is not bad but noticeable.
    The reverbs themselves tho not studio quality are a definite improvement over previous reverb stomp boxes and it is nice to have something other than a spring reverb for electric guitar.

  • from Santa Cruz, Ca, USA August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, producer, guitarist 40yrs

    Great sound, but eats batteries

    Fantastic sound and more tweakable than you would first think with only 4 knobs and a switch. The case is well designed, and the switch is wired for True Bypass (switchable to buffered if you want to keep the reverb tail). The Tone Print feature is quite handy when used via USB, though the iPhone app is unusable (version available 7/2012). Only downside is it will eat a fresh alkaline battery down to stone dead in less than 6 hrs.

  • from NC June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro guitarist

    TC HOF

    Small, simple to use, affordable. I don;t use a lot of reverb and pretty much leave it in the "Plate" setting. I'm using mine to add a little ambiance after a guitar preamp that is running direct to a powered monitor and to front of house.

    Does just what I need. Haven't downloaded any patches and doubt that I ever will.

  • from Duluth, Mn. March 30, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician, teacher

    Hall of Fame Reverb

    I have been very happy withe the Hall of Fame pedal. I have been using it on my jazz gigs using strangely enough the church setting dialed down on the delay and fx level and I love that sound. I also use it playing my strat in a worship band and been using a few different settings depending on the tune. I have used it also on a solo gig using an acoustic guitar, suffice to say it has been getting a work out and I have been very happy with it and the service at Sweetwater, I will definately be buying from them again.

  • from Grand Rapids MI February 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice reverb pedal

    I really do like this little pedal.. I get the sounds that I want from it. It does not exceed my expectations but it does meet them. I usually leave it on the spring mode. I find it to be smooth slightly warm and not offensive. It does what I want and that is why I bought it. The hall reverb has a nice sound as well as the plate and cathedral settings. You can get some crazy reverbs going if you wish. Would I recommend it? Yes. Would I buy it again? Yes. You cannot beat the verbs in this pedal for the price. If your thinking about getting it.. Do it.. You will keep it..

  • from Chandler, AZ USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    20 years of gigging off and on, mostly blues rock.

    Well rounded reverb unit!

    Excellent room, spring and hall reverb with good controls to dial in just the right amount of decay and FX. I mainly use a small amount of room reverb for certain songs and dry mostly. For what I need, this unit has a professional sound and doesn't leave me hungry for tube reverb. The Hall of Fame has way more reverb options than I would ever care to use or explore, but that may be a selling point for others. I also like the small size (doesn't take up much room on the pedal board). Overall very pleased and would purchase again.

  • from Cleveland, OH October 4, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar player in Rock band

    Hall of Fame Reverb

    Works well with my new T/A 15 Mesa. Plenty of options to get the exact sound your looking for in each room you play in. Easy to make adjustments as needed.

  • from Ohio October 21, 2013Music Background:
    40 yrs hobbiest

    Battery Not Included

    HOF is a very good pedal and one I am glad I added to my arsenal. My only dissatisfaction is for the overpriced cost of pedals, rarely are ac adapters are included.

  • from Smalltown, KY December 27, 2011Music Background:
    gigging musician

    good pedal

    This is a solid built reverb pedal with alot of different reverb types that are very good. overall I'm very happy with it.

  • from April 29, 2013

    Mixed Feelings

    I tried out the Hall of Fame as I was assembling a small new acoustic setup, and have owned a Flashback delay for a while now. My impression with both pedals is about the same. They're feature laden and definitely get the job done. But the sound leaves something to be desired

    On one hand, you cannot argue with the overall features/versatility for value. The bypassing options, stereo capabilities, solid construction, number of modes, and of course the power of Tone Print make these some of the best pedals on the market, without question.

    But the actual sound of the emulations seems very average to my ears. Make no mistake, the sound is functional and very usable in a live situation, but I've lined this pedal up next to a Boss RV-5, EHX Cathedral, and Strymon Bluesky, and even the Boss outshines the HOF in terms of nuance and sheer sound quality. I was particularly disappointed with the Spring Reverb emulation on the HOF. With an RV-5 or the Bluesky, you can actually hear the springs rattle more or less depending on how hard you hit the strings of your guitar. The HOF spring setting sounds more like a slapback delay or something very different than an actual spring tank. On other comparable settings as well (room, hall, etc), there just seems to be far more nuance and realism built into the algorithms of the other pedals.

    If you have less than $200 to spend or just need some of the features in this pedal, I wouldn't steer people away from it, by any means. Just know that there are things that sound a lot better out there (like TC's higher-end models), if you can afford to take the leap.

  • from Austin January 10, 2017

    Rather bland with a lot of useless options.

    I bought this to add reverb to my AC30 Handwired head and it's an OK sounding reverb. It doesn't particularly stand out or inspire one to create, The coolest setting to me was the church setting on long pre-delay. I didn't find it useful for writing, but was very fun to play with an loop...unfortunately all of the Reverb modes, for the most part, sound VERY similar. I just don't see the point of having so many unremarkable and similar sounding options. This could easily be condensed to 2 or 3 sounds options. I started using a Earthquaker Device Levitation instead, and the difference is night and day. The Levitation sounds incredible and inspiring...and it's base tone with the EQ knobs make for a much more interesting and versatile reverb that cost more or less the same as this one! This is not a terrible pedal by any means, but I cannot and would not recommend it to anyone when Earthquaker devices has several phenomenal Reverb pedals in the same price range.

  • from Chicago July 10, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician of classical/jazz/folk

    definitely a bit hyped: can sound really good, but does less than it claims

    I have this and am using it on accordion and acoustic guitar and some of the settings sound really good! But (often depending on how much you turn up the decay), some of the setting have a real corny digital-sounding ring to them. Not quite as deep and rich as I had hoped, but I guess there's no substitute for physical resonance. If you listen close and tweak the knobs, you can find sounds that are interesting to you and quite beautiful and usable.

    The hall and church settings sound as good as I hoped, and the tile setting was surprisingly amazing. The mod sounds pretty dumb. The mod sounds meh-ok if you turn the decay all the way down. Two of the toneprints I tried sound bad. But I will keep trying them. Some of the other settings have very little effect to the sound (especially "Ambient") and are indistinguishable from each other, and some of them just sound like a less or more intense version of the settings that sound good.

    The toneprint thing is kind of gimmicky idea. It would be alot more artistically interesting to develop a way for TC Electronic (or any pedal company for that matter) to provide education to buyers to tweak their own pedals. Of course there's nothing stopping us from opening it up to its guts and experimenting. But for the price of this one, it might be better to leave it as it as and go experiment on a Behringer.

    This thing sucks a fresh battery in less than an hour. I tried this pedal on a gig I had this morning with accordion, and it didn't make it through the gig. FAIL! I guess I have to use the AC adaptor.

  • from Bellingham, WA September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Highly experienced/ semi-pro

    Meh...

    This pedal does lots of things, and none of them stand out. I haven't found anything on this pedal that I find inspiring. I would much rather have a reverb pedal with just an inspiring spring simulation than this thing.

    I will keep it on my board because it's well made, and stereo, but sound-wise it's really disappointing.

    It sounds very processed and fake to me. Not convincing at all as real reverb, and not unique and inspiring the way that some pedals are that don't quite do what they're intending to do.

    When I click this pedal on with my other pedals, they all kind of lose their mojo. Solo, this pedal sounds OK. I'm shocked at how much I like my sound when I click it off!

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    7-12-2012

    Readers of SweetNotes and Sweetwater's other publications know that I love to get "hands on" with gear of all types. That's why I was so thrilled to be asked to work with TC Electronic to create an exclusive set of Sweetwater TonePrints for TC Electronic's pedals. Talk about hands on -- we were way deep inside those boxes!

    But let's take a step back here. TC's TonePrint line consists of five pedals: the Flashback delay, the Corona chorus, the Vortex flanger, the Shaker vibrato, and the Hall of Fame reverb. These compact and affordable pedals sound great and offer excellent features and benefits, such as allowing the analog input signal to pass through completely untouched. They're also very versatile, with algorithms drawn from TC's long history of amazing studio and guitar effects processors. That versatility is kicked way up by the TonePrint part of the equation. A TonePrint is a free downloadable preset that can be loaded into one of the five pedals. This preset might be an artist-designed sound or something from TC -- or in this case, special sounds crafted by yours truly. You can get the presets off the TC site and load them in your pedal via USB. Or, even cooler, you can use your iPhone or Android to "beam" a TonePrint into your pedal, instantly, anywhere you might be.

    Creating a TonePrint isn't as simple as playing with the front-panel knobs on the pedal to find a sound you like. TC uses specialized editing software that allows you to go deep into the pedal to adjust hundreds of parameters. It's an intense process, but also a lot of fun! In my case, I brought in a box of vintage pedals I'm no longer comfortable taking to the gig, and TC's Tore Mogensen and I spent hours re-creating the sounds of those pedals. We ended up with four TonePrints: a BOSS DM-3-style analog delay for the Flashback, a BOSS CE-2-style analog chorus for the Corona, a BOSS Dimension C-style multi-chorus for the Corona, and an original Electro-Harmonix Electric Mistress-style flanger/chorus for the Vortex.

    After hours of work, we were very pleased with the results. Our goal was to capture the spirit of the original pedals, and I think we succeeded! Best of all, you can have these TonePrints for your own TC pedals, completely free of charge, courtesy of TC Electronic and Sweetwater! Simply use your computer to load the TonePrints from tcelectronic.com, or use your iPhone/Android to access them. TC pedals and TonePrints are a staple in my rig, and I hope that you find them just as useful.

    In the end, what I came away with from this experience was a true appreciation for just how powerful these unassuming little TonePrint pedals are. Check them out!

Questions about the TC Electronic Hall of Fame Reverb Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway