rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Millennia HV-3C Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Millennia HV-3C?

Questions about the Millennia HV-3C?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Los Angeles June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Harpsichordist

    Modernist Harpsichord Recordings

    I bought this for recording a CD of original modern harpsichord music in a maximalist style. Tonal clusters in the exterior registers, string harmonics, arpeggios, runs, you name it - this preamp has handled everything. I am running two M-49s through it which sound amazing. The thing is insanely quiet. It really allows the nuances of the instrument to speak for themselves.

  • from Akron, OH September 8, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Commercial Studio Owner, Voiceoverist

    High Praise for High Voltage

    My Millennia HV-3 preamp is so old that it has the original cosmetics and 5-dB stepped pots for gain control. Those are the only two things I don't like about my unit, and as you can see, MM has fixed both.

    High voltage, high headroom, high bandwidth. If you think you can't hear what's over 20k, demo this preamp. My application is commercial recording, including a lot of voiceover. I like the signal chain to start out clean and clear - we can always add "character" later if we wish. The HV-3 is a key piece to that puzzle.

  • from Salt Lake City, UT March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / Composer

    So Clean, Simply Amazing

    This was definitely money well spent. I was recording with an Audient Mico preamp before this, and the difference is so noticeably fantastic, I am extremely happy. I am recording solo piano, using a close mic condenser setup, and the clarity, the purity, and the overall crispness of the recordings is so much better than I expected. I feel like I've taken my recordings to a whole new level. Highly recommended.

  • from Tulsa, OK December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer / Mixer

    Amazing!

    The HV3C (along with other Millennia products) are often misunderstood. When people think "transformerless" and "clean" and "high headroom' they think digital, harsh, sterile, lacking character. I think it's totally unreasonable to think of this preamp with such harsh terms!

    I was a skeptic at first. Primarily working with API, Neve, and UA preamps, I've had my fair share of colored pre tone, which I love and still use all the time. However, there are instances when you don't want color, you don't want low-mid grit, you don't want warmth, but instead you have a higher goal - REALISM and CLARITY.

    This preamp sounds so "real" it's like you're sitting there listening to the performance in the room. It's my new goto for acoustic instruments (piano, acoustic guitar, strings, even overheads) as well as keyboard DI's, and almost any stereo recording (room mics, etc). I am wanting to hear the beautiful pristine sound that I hear in the room, unaffected by anything! It blows my APIs out of the water on strings and acoustic guitars. Not because the API pres sound bad, they are just not transparent; they add their own color to the chain.

    The HV3C is a MUST for anyone wanting beautifully clear, "as you hear it in the room" sounds. The top end on this thing is nuts - sounds so open and precise. Five stars, no question.

  • from Dallas,TX January 13, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Mixing/Mastering Engineer, Music lover! :)

    INterEstiNG

    Hands down, the best pre I've ever used. Had a pair of Neve Portico's but man! Heard this piece of gear and my mind was set. Goodbye coloured sound, hello neutrality!

  • from St. Petersburg, Fl October 17, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musician/ Project Studio owner

    The Ultimate Clean

    I have 4 channels of this preamp and it is the cleanest, quietest most neutral pre there is. If you're recording clasical music, jazz, acoustic music, or anything that you want to hear just what the microphone is picking up, this is the pre to use. Handles transients great, and it's the closest thing to a straight-wire-with-gain you can get. no transformers, just neutral, clean sound.

  • from Brookville, OH January 29, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Character is not always a good thing.

    When reality and detail is what you're trying to capture, the Millennia HV-3C is a must-have.

    The Millennia HV-3C keeps the natural tone of instruments and voices intact without adding coloration or "character".

    The HV-3C sounds so clean and natural that I don't rely as much on EQ plug-ins anymore.

Questions about the Millennia HV-3C?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway