0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Blackstar HT Stage 60 - 60-watt 2x12" Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Blackstar HT Stage 60 - 60-watt 2x12" Combo Amp?

Questions about the Blackstar HT Stage 60 - 60-watt 2x12" Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from East Greenville, PA May 26, 2016

    Finally....a real amp....has come back...to my house!!!

    Ok.....this is my 10th purchase from Sweetwater....and all I can say is that they just keep getting better. This amp IS THE ONE!!!....now I have been playing guitar for about 48 years (yeah Im old....lol) I have played so many amps throughout my life....fender...Marshall....Gibson...Vox..etc...and a lot of them have been good...some really good...but this one out of the box is absolutely different.....it is so versatile it isnt funny....the tone is fabulous....it takes blending two amps together to even get close to this beast....if...and it will be awhile before I can answer this....if this is durable as it is a incredible sounding I am a convert....and here's the crazy thing...how much better will it be when I re-tube? ....yeah....im a convert.....if you're looking for am amp that just does it all then this is it.....i threw a pedal board I have in front of it that I thought was dead and not only did this amp bring it back to life but its like having a 4th channel....just amazing!!!

  • from Pa February 3, 2016Music Background:
    Blues/ rock

    A monster

    This thing is a beast!!!! So many tones and sounds that it's endless. Takes all kinds of pedals, but this animal really loves a octave effect. With a tube screamer,this thing begins to growl in anger!!!!! Drop the tuning to do and you unleash a Monster! Serious man. This amp replaced my Marshall half stack and my fender. Not that they are not great amps. But this blackstar is a wonderful machine. It will give you more tone and sounds then you will know what to do with but still eazy as pie to use. This amp is a rock/ blues amp and it is Sooooooooo fun to play. 1000 bucks? Worth every penny. Going to play it right now. .Rock On!!!!!!!!

  • from Miami October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Jazz, Classic & Alternative Rock, Funk, Latin Rock, Cumbia

    Wicked!!!

    It difficult to be unbiased to write a review for any amp. I normally don't leave reviews, don't have the time. I have been playing the guitar for 20 years or more and I don't consider myself a pro but my experience on the road giging in south Florida for the last decade with so many amps, it gives me the opportunity to share my feelings for this amp. I have played many times with a dual rec ,ac30, a jcm 800, a hot rod III deville and all of them are superb amps, and any good guitar player can get all their tone with their pedal board if well routed, but if you want to have them all in one, this is the amp. I give 5 stars because the price. You cannot beat the price with any amp I have just mentioned. This is a working horse and responds when you need it. It gives you 3 beautiful lush channels( clean, crunch/overdriven, and over drive high gain), and each one of them with 2 different voices. It is heavy to carry, though if your band work as a team is all good. It sounds beautiful at low and high volumes because it has a master volume. Like any amp when loud at home, can sound a little out of place but blended with the band it is magic. The the fx loop is serial and the cabinet emulation help so much at the venues. The HT Venue name is being honored with this amp. I used it with Eleven rack and/or the Gt-100 some times can't complain at all. If you are picky and you come from those amps I have mentioned before don't worry the ISF lets you dial the tone you need.
    Please get this amp with confidence, you won't regret it.

  • from Dallas, TX USA September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Exactly what I was looking for

    I was looking for an affordable tube combo amp that would suit my style of playing. I take pride in my tone, and boy does this amp deliver! I can get every tone I am looking for out of this amp. It cuts through very well, and it looks good too! I run an Eventide Time Factor through the effects loop, and man this thing just sings!!! Loving it!

  • from fl, USA September 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Good for Gigs

    Excellent choice for gigs that you have to lug your gear up stairs. Has all the tone of a marshal and then some. If a marshall is an 8, orange would be like a 10 then I would have to say this is a solid 9. Yep, seriously. You have to try one yourself. I also have an orange rockerverb half stack and this is a better choice for gigs with limited space. Buy it. Trust me :)

  • from United States July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician.

    Totally Awesome

    The most versatile amp ever, and I've had a lot of amps... 3 independent channels! The ISF control works really well. Good for all kinds of music!

  • from Warsaw, IN August 4, 2013Music Background:
    Local Musician

    Solid and Sounds Great

    I was originally looking at the Mesa Dual Rect until I stumbled upon this amp. Jammed on it for about 20 minutes at Sweetwater and fell in love. Huge tube tones and the cleans sound very vibrant, much better than what I expected. I play alot of 90's rock (stp, pumpkins, rhcp, etc) and this amp is versatile enough to handle all that. Got it home, ran my effects through and they sound great as well. Very pleased with this amp!

  • from AZ USA July 18, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Best Combo AMP for the Price

    The HT 60 is a very versatile amp that gives you the widest range of sounds. The IFT feature works very well to take you between UK and US tone. In fact, I don.t have any effects pedals hooked in right now because I can get everything bewteen clean and full saturation distortion. The three channels are great as I can set up each and then use the included foot swith. Two 12' Celestion speakers give the Amp a powerful punch. If you want a great, all around Amp for a great price buy the HT 60! You won't regret it. And of course use Sweetwater, you cannot beat their prices, service and support.

  • from Riverhead, NY April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Awesome!

    I've owned Ampegs and Marshalls across my 45+ years of guitar playing, and after playing this amp for only a half hour after buying it...I exclaimed this is the best sounding and most flexible amp I've ever owned...I can play my Taylor acoustic through it on the clean channel...and my PRS and Gibson ES 335 through the other two overdrive channels with unbelievable flexibility and diversity of tonal sound! ...and the price is simply beyond fair! completly satisfied!

  • from Fort Smith, AR April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Playing with family and friends.

    This amp is an incredible combo amp!

    You can't beat this amp. The range of tones are amazing. I would recommend this amp to a friend! Thank Sweetwater!

  • from des moines, ia June 29, 2012Music Background:
    rock

    Blackstar ht stage 60

    This amp is not for everybody. Its only for those that are looking for the preferct amp-

  • from Houston Tx April 18, 2012Music Background:
    16 years playing blues, rock, alternative, and prog metal.

    Amazing amp

    I was on the hunt for a Mesa or Hughes and Kettner when I came across the 40 watt version at a local shop...i ordered the 60 watt from Sweetwater the very next day! If you are looking for alot of mid range crunch with tons of power...look no further. This amp is very easy to dial in and has very workable features, and tons of all tube tone. The clean is amazing, channel 1 distortion is articulate, and channel 2 distortion is the lead tone ive been searching for! I cant see paying twice the money when this WILL bring the growl and finesse. Im very picky and Im very happy!

  • from detroit, mi April 2, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    sounds like a ****** off marshall!

    The clean channel can go from vox like to fender with the voice switch. The overdrive channels can go from vintage Marshall to modern mesa like gain and everything in between. The range this amp has is amazing and brings out all the qualities of a guitar. Very versatile with the three footswitchable channels. Build quality is sturdy, no cheap parts here. Reverb, effects loop and line out all sound solid. You'd be hard pressed to find a more versatile valve amp for the money. Thanks to my sales engineer Ryan Murphy for helping me find the amp I have been looking for.

  • from United States December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician (Humble Wolf)

    Fantastic Amplifier

    From the moment I pulled the this amp out of the box I knew I had made the right decision. What an amazing piece of equipment. This amp has covered all the sounds I have been looking for and I could not be more pleased. I highly recommend!

  • from Seattle Wa October 3, 2011Music Background:
    40 years experience Pro & Semi Pro

    Great Amp!

    Just received this amp, it was a demo model..not that you could tell, was in perfect shape, box was a little beat up, but was shipped in two boxes...Great packing job as usual sweetwater! Now the sound Just unbelievable! Great tone and is it loud!I I have 4 more amps and this by far is the best,, even better than my Bogner and that is saying something..Do yourself a favor and buy this amp you won't be sorry. And thanks for all your help with the purchase, John Ptak (Sweetwater)

  • from Canton, Illinois November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Redneck rock

    Blackstar HT 60W of mayhem

    I needed a replacement due to my Marshall needing mending. It was delivered quickly, and upon getting it I pushed this amp through the rigors of rehearsal, then three hours of open stage and this amp proved it can handle the punishment. It takes my the pedal board really well, and the two gain channels sound fabulous. Almost to the point of not needing the pedal board as much...ok maybe I embellish just a bit but honestly this amp is versatile with the sonic tweaking options on this amp. Furthermore I really appreciate the built in handles on the side. 60 Watt combos can be a pain hauling to and from place to place, these handles make that much easier.
    This amp sounds great as a stand alone amp, and when I go stereo it sounds even better. Overall this amp rocks. So far I have not had any negatives to report. Rock on!

  • from New Franklin, Oh November 12, 2016Music Background:
    Semi amature

    Best amp I have ever plugged straight into...

    I should start off by saying I have always been against tube amp distortion for any kind of standard tuning metal. They ... IMO...always sounded "tinny" and "twangy" but were great for that AC/DC...or any classic rock sound....but if you wanted that Metallica "crunch" and tightness ...they always fell short for me...This amp is the exception.....I was able to plug right in and dial in a sound that I love in each channel. I am a huge fan of Boss/Metal Zone distortion (pause for snickers and laughter) but I don't know how many times I've dealt with guitarists that brag about how great their Marshall is but have to put a Tube Screamer in front of it and use another amp for their clean channel..not with this amp! .AND ANOTHER THING!......60 watts? Is that enough?.....I call BUll****!...I haven't been able ( or was too scared to) turn this passed a 1/4.... I would give 5 stars but I feel I still like my simulated distortion better ( but barley)...and I think ALL amps should have a built in noise gate....WOW....just a great all around amp...This amp would win a debate against Donald Trump....

  • from Peoria, Illinois October 6, 2016Music Background:
    All things musical

    BlackStar

    The amp is SWEET!!! Three channels delivering diverse tone? I think yes. I purchased this due to my JCM 600 (1997 model) continued dying on me, and because I have a Blackstar 5 watt all tube practice amp I could not resist. So far this HT Stage 60 W 2x12 has performed remarkably well. I will use this in several different musical ventures which makes this amp extremely versatile. The clean channel is wonderfully pristine in clarity, and handles my pedal board very well. The two overdrive channels sound dynamic and the amp allows for complete control over your drive tones with additional tone preset/boosts in the form of a button on the amp. The first day I owned it this amp was pushed through the rigors of tribute band rehearsal before enduring three and a half hours of grueling open stage mayhem.
    The true test for this amp will be: can it last? Is it durable? I think yes.
    A hearty shout out to Sweetwater for making this deal happen with extremely quick assistance, purchasing, and delivery. Rock on!

  • from United States May 26, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician

    So Far So Good!

    Very happy with my guitar tone! Plenty of power on stage and lots of warmth. Also looks great!

  • from southern md. December 28, 2013Music Background:
    muscian

    Blackstar Stg.60

    This amp is exactly what i wanted, i have had a few hours w/ it now and have found the only limitation is me,i cant seem to settle for a specific setting, just when i think i have it nailed i find another tweak that takes me in another direction, fantastic.
    It has the Marshall nailed even at room volumes, and the fender is smokey and lush.
    The only reason i gave it a 4.5 is that i haven't had time to hook up my 11 rack and crank it, and i want to keep this review as honest as possible, i know how hard it is to get the jing together for gear but i highly recommend this amp for the price1

  • from Tampa January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Christian Metal Guitar Player

    YES!

    I was looking for an amp that would give killer clean sounds, plus some blues crunch as well as metal mania. Was saving for the Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier until I came across this power house of an amp!

    The sound is fabulous on all three channels and 1/3 the price of the Mesa!

  • from Fort Smith, AR August 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Blackstar HT 60 Review

    I would go lower rating if possible. This amp has upset me at almost every turn. The day I received it the foot switch was broken. Sweet water being as awesome as they are replaced it immediately. It has been six months and now the volume is shot. Do not buy this amp

  • from San Angelo, TX November 7, 2016

    Not impressed...

    Let me start by saying, this is a fine introductory amp for beginner players. I know some pros love Blackstar, but I haven't found them to be that versatile. Let me just say "Nope". Not even close to a Boogie. Not in the same Galaxy as a Boogie.
    I've played live with the Stage 40 1x12 and the Stage 60 2x12, and their tone is way to tinny. I used this Stage 60 2x12 live for about 2 weeks, working to dial it in just right, never got there. The clean channel is nice and chimey with a semi-thick tone, but WAY to twangy, even with the treble dialed way back, and the bass is too flubby if you try and compensate. The overdrive channels sound like a bad distortion pedal plugged right into a sound board, and the attack response is not there. I've read several forums that suggest purchasing different tubes and speakers for these and it makes a world of difference, but what's the point of buying it if you have to rebuild it to make it sound decent? If all you want to do is crank the amp to 11 and turn your guitar volume all the way up and power chord your little Drop-D heart out, this amp will be fine. If you want to play with any finesse whatsoever in your pick attack, volume/tone controls and have a decent tone response, it will frustrate you to no end. I sent this back and purchased a Hughes and Kettner Tubemeister 36 for the same price and it blows this amp out of the sky.

Questions about the Blackstar HT Stage 60 - 60-watt 2x12" Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway