0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Yamaha HS80M Reviews

4.5 stars based on 58 customer reviews
  • from N.j December 19, 2015Music Background:
    Music producer

    Yamaha HS80M

    Yamaha HS80M is what you need for anything and like how they translate my mixes my go to for studio work

  • from New Jersey June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer

    The best of Studio monitors

    Best of the best

  • from Ontario April 24, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engineer, producer, singer song writer

    Yahama HS80Ms....WOW!!!

    I have been a Sound Engineer since the mid 90's , and I always used passive speakers in my studio with amps, EQs etc. I am now building myself a new studio from the ground up as all of my previous equipment is no longer with me.

    Been reading up on monitors to see which were the right ones for me. It came down to 2 sets to choose from...the KRKs or the Yamaha s80Ms...i picked the latter.

    WOW WOW WOW!!!! Didn't realise how poor some of my recent mixes were when i played them through these monsters...yes, that's what they are, A BEAST! I'm so happy with this purchase and i would recommend them to anyone. respect to Yamaha...I can't stop smiling.

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 27, 2012Music Background:
    experienced emcee, noobie producer/hobbyist

    Putting together a project studio? Get these.

    I can't speak for more experienced pro engineers since I'm a noob. But after researching it, I opted for these HS80M's over the KRK's and everything else. I just needed something that gave me an accurate reference. I was sick of being unpleasantly surprised whenever I played my beats anywhere other than my KRK headphones. Basically, I don't have a treated room. I have a little 200 dollar audio interface (Komplete Audio 6). My desk is too small, so the speakers are not placed far enough apart. I have more work to do. HOWEVER: When I mix and master on these puppies, and I get my songs to sound good on them, I can be sure that they will sound even better anywhere else. Most producers do not have decent monitors in their studios. Their speakers color the sound, or they're not actual monitors, they're just speakers, etc. Getting a solid pair of speakers like these Yamahas will give you an edge in your mix, so you can be sure your mixes sound better than the next beatmakers, which makes all the difference IN THE WORLD when it comes to sales. You always need a quality sound, and that is only possible to achieve with flat high quality monitors. A great beat or song that isn't polished will not sell as fast/well as just a decent beat/song that IS.

    So if you don't have solid flat speakers, get some. But realize: you will see these white cone Yamahas everywhere from project studios to major studios going back DECADES. These are as much a part of the classic polished pro sound as an SSL compressor, because you HAVE to hear what you're doing.

  • from Florida December 25, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Pro Musician

    Best Monitors I've Owned

    As an electronic music producer, I was looking for something where I could do my own mixing with little outside help. I initially got the HS50M's. While they were great, they really tapered off on the low end. It was very lacking. However, I heard nothing but awesome things about Yamaha's white coned legends. Figured I should just step up to the 8".

    What a difference it makes! The 80's are too amazing. Not only to my mixes sound many times better, but they sound great for all the other things I'm doing on my computer. Despite the "NS10 sound" that people seem to dislike, I use these not only for studio work, but for entertainment as well.

    I was gonna buy the matching sub when I bought these, but I figured I'd wait. Turns out, the low end is not muffled, muddy, or otherwise. The mids and highs are just plain better than the HS50M's (which were good on those, btw). Everything is so crisp and clean with a stereo image that is so obvious, it's difficult to mess up a mix.

    I used to think I would only get this kind of sound out of other, far more expensive monitors. At least every studio should have a set of these.

  • from United States October 28, 2011Music Background:
    artist, editor, music enthusiast

    Clarity, beautiful imaging, outstanding!

    I have tried other products in the similar range, including Mackie, Event, M-Audio, JBL,,,,,,even Hs50. I am truly happy with my combination of HS80 with HS10w.
    It handles all types of music beautifully, ( yes, some times it is a bit too bright depending on the piece and your mood) . It is brutally honest in terms of revealing a bad mix. But when you have a well mixed piece of music coming through these set, it is simply gorgeous. Clarity and the Imaging is just outstanding. I have another set of JBL Large speaker set with a sub in a living room. I have to say I often find myself a bit frustrated by the performance by the set only to find my self returning to Hs.......

    Highly recommended.

  • from Boston, MA September 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Semi-Pro Musician

    Fantastic Monitors

    These monitors consistently impress me with their clarity and flat response. Gives the sound of a Genelec 1032a on a much lower budget.

    If you're looking for an affordable speaker to give you a true sound and a mix that will sound good on any system, you should buy these.

  • from LA USA August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    These are great monitors

    I was using the original passive RoKit 6.5's for a few years in my home studio. I wanted my mixes to play well in other settings, so I got the Yamaha HS80M monitors because of their NS10M lineage and my experience with them. The HS80M is a chameleon, showing each mix for what it is and I like that. I just spent my first full day mixing and editing with them and I'm very happy with the work done. The HS80M's aren't aggressive sounding, but with consistent listening I heard adjustments that I needed to make in the tracks. Imaging is good, too. I felt more relaxed using these; I kept them medium-low volume and just leaned back and let them show me what was happening with the track. I'm very pleased with these monitors. In my studio both speakers have to be close to a wall, and I have one speaker by a corner, so I set the HS80M room adjustment switches to -4 for the corner speaker and the other speaker to -2. Simple, very adjustable and great sounding.

  • from Churubusco IN April 19, 2011Music Background:
    Studio Owner

    Wow...Is all I can say.

    I sold my Tannoy 600A which were a pretty decent speaker in the day. Picked up the HS80M's today and here are my first impressions. Huge imagining even when I step back 10 feet from my desk it sounds 3D it's got so much depth. The highs along with the mids are very well balanced. The low end has the "NS10' sound which I would have to get use to...but I did keep my Tannoy sub so I have that very lightly working in the blend and it's simply enjoyable to listen to. Sure there are better monitors out there but definitely not in this price range. Bottom line: these speakers don't give you 'hype' like many others in the price range they offer you clarity, like a new pair of glasses!

  • from Nashville, TN March 18, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Recording and Mix engineer

    Want your mix to TRANSLATE

    These speakers are the definition of truth speakers. No thrills or frills. They want hide anything or make your mix sound any better. They will simply look you in your face and tell you rather or not your mix sucks PERIOD. If your business revolves around mixing like mine usually does then these are the best out there for under a $1000, as a matter of fact these are some of the best out there under $5000. I use a multi speaker setup consisting of these, BX8a's, and Avantone's, and if I nail a mix on these they usually translate to the other sets and most importantly it translates into my car. So if you want your mixes to translate and not just sound good in your studio environment and you don't have $5000 or more then grab a pair of HS80M's (but don't forget to treat your room).

  • from Austin, TX USA March 15, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Producer

    Great sound and amazing Stereo Image

    First off... These things sound great. They totally create a full spectrum reference. I have a sub... And, they work great with it or without it.

    The "Stand Out" feature of these monitors is their stereo image. Wow! I'm serious! These guys really provide a de-facto picture of your stereo mix.

    Good mixing relies on experience. I'm not gonna' say that these monitors will make you mix better. However... If you've done a lot of mixing on lesser monitors... These will blow you away. Great frequency response... Great translation... And... There's no mystery about your mono elements. In other words: If the vocals don't seem too loud on these monitors, they aren't. Furthermore, if your whole mix sounds good on these... That's it. It'll sound great on anything.

    In addition... I have to say that you'll be hard pressed to get Bass Guitar sounding right without these.

  • from Atlanta, GA February 11, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Studio Owner, Engineer

    Great Monitors

    I've had these for about 3 years now and I must say they are great true monitors. They are monitors not stereo subs, any real mixer & engineer would know this, so if you're looking for low end with any monitor buy a sub. I mixed on other monitors, but when I replayed (mixes) mixed on other monitors on these they made my mixes sound like crap. Why? Because they HS80s were true. They didn't lie. So after remixing them on the HS80's, my mixes sounded great on anything. Thats the purpose right? I know so!

  • from California January 25, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    YES, Great sound!!

    Makes my little studio sound like WOW!!
    My friend bought the same set.
    Can not beat these even for 2x the price.

  • from Los Angeles January 12, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    AMAZING!

    These babies really show you what's going on in the mix. They don't lie to you. Make sure your room is treated before you buy these though.

  • from Los Angeles, CA January 6, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer (Pro)

    Good For Hip Hop & R&B

    These are the best speakers out, under $1,800. I prefer these better than the Yamaha NS10's too. I think they sound and translate a million times better than anything out their.

    Most beginners end up getting a cheap pair of studio monitors, or they end up with a pair of M-Audio BX8a's (like I did). I usually would have to mix my tracks at least 5 times before I nailed my mix because all other studio monitors are to colored.

    If you want a pro sound you should definitely buy these monitors because it will make your life easier.

    I never leave feedback on any product but this is a must have. I would also recommend these to recording school students because they will instill confidence, which will allow them to focus on tuning a tightening their other mixing skills.

    I will be buying another pair soon, just so if I ever need them I will not have to worry about them being sold out.

  • from Hialeah November 26, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Singer,Composer,Producer

    Yamaha HS80M

    OMG WHAT CAN I SAID I WAS USING A PAIR OF M-Audio until someone told me about this babes and i bought them they are amazin the sound like wowwwwww no words the best

  • from Atlanta,GA June 7, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Speakers!

    I couldn't pick a better speaker. I have used hs80 for about 5 months. All of my mixes translated perfectly everywhere once I got used to them. They are nothing like the ns10 but once you get used to them they are fantastic. They are pretty inaccurate in the low end but once you get used to them you will know. I have worked on mackie, krk, and jbl but by far these where my favorite speakers without a doubt!

  • from orange county April 4, 2010Music Background:
    recording engineer...sound design..producer....dj

    wish i had these years ago

    I had the Mackie hr824"s sorry mackie but eww ha my mixes sounded completely different every time i played them out. I feel like i waisted years on those. NOW the Yamahas are seriously top knotch. Everything has changed since Ive purchased the HSM 80s i also grabbed the sub. (must have..dont use any other sub because the yamaha sub just sounds tighter and less wobbly than the other 4 subs ive heard..KRK..Mackie>maudio>etc Im done with my monitor worries. True everything turns out exactly how it sounded in the studio , where as the Mackies the low end was muddy no mids... colored basically (sorry mackie..we want the truth..not colored BS)

  • from Brisbane, Australia March 17, 2010Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Acoostic Zoo Recording Studio Brisbane.

    I love my Yamaha HS80M with Sub

    I love my yamaha HS80M! WoW. I got two sets now so I could put one at home and one in the recording studio. They are the BEST speakers for me. I found that when I mixed on these, they translated absolutely perfectly on everything. They allow me to tune the perfect amount of "SNAP" in my Kicks and Snares. I wish they were around 10 years ago. Well done to the engineer/R&D at YAMAHA. This blow my V88s out of the Water. PERIOD. well, V88s are great, but these HS80M are a so Hi-Fi sounding it's very easy to mix on. Instills confidence when I mix on these, cos I know they will translate. Josef Horhay, Mixing Engineer. Acoostic Zoo Recording Studio

  • from vjrei@yahoo.com January 17, 2010Music Background:
    Sintesis, sound desing.

    These are great

    They will deliver "what you need to hear" rather than "what you want to hear" and I prefer reality than fiction.

    I was shoping for economic speakers for my keyboards based studio and the Yamaha was what I was expecting to find. They are not the NS-10 that needs some twicking, I believe the HS80M are different and better.

    I was checking on the m-audio and some other speakers in the same range but they colorise the sound and... produce ear fatige.

    The Yamaha HS80M will give you a raw sound and very accurate in a wide range. I was ok there but the big plus was again... no ear fatigue, so I could spend endless hours twicking sounds.

    I believe these are a great product, way beyond of equal speakers in the same price range and nothing to envy to more expensive ones.

  • from MN USA December 28, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    The best monitors under 2k or under 3K.

    I have KRK V8, Mackie 824, JBLs and these. I used to have Events and Genelecs.
    This set is the the best IMHO. It appears that they sound brighter than
    the ones mentioned above. However, Yamaha sound is more true(close to the original, no EQ) than the others. You will realize that if you compare them with very high end monitors.

  • from Phoenix, AZ April 22, 2009Music Background:
    listener

    Awesome speakers

    I liked the sound of these enough that I sold all my previous equipment and bought 5 of them (and an Onkyo Pro preamp/surround processor) for my home music/theater system! They are extremely good sounding, maybe a little bright but if you have an EQ or a system like Audyssey you can tone that down, if not there's a -2db high cut (which I've never used but it's there). I have a huge sub too but these monitors are capable of shaking the walls without it (they just won't go down to 10-15Hz like the sub).

    Basically EVERYTHING sounds good on these, like it was mixed just for them... And you can't beat the price either.

  • from Los Angeles March 15, 2009Music Background:
    Pro LA Audio Engineer/Drummer/Producer

    Really nice bang

    I am amazed that these sound this good at this price point. They have extremely nice tight bottom end. They sound great quiet and loud. They have more than enough power. Mixes translate well and clients like them. There is a slight bump in the upper mids. So be sure to check vocal levels on other systems. Always check your mix in the car!!! I've had them for about a year and a half. I've done many many mixes on them. I'm still pretty blown away. I think these used to be less money. Perhaps Yamaha wised up.

  • from Meridian,Mississippi "Home Of Peavey" January 10, 2009Music Background:
    47yearold musician who's still In Love With Making Music

    Alan Say's "Buy It"

    Thank You Joel Gragg @ SweetWater for Helping me make a sound decision on purchasing a pair of the Yamaha HS80M Studio Monitors. I just graduated from a pair of Yamaha MSP3 Studio Monitors to the HS80M and I gotta tell You........"WOW!" If You are into recording and have been looking for "The Perfect" Monitor that won't Break the Bank.........Look No Further..........These Babies are Awesome! I'd Like to also say Thanks for the "SWEETDEAL".......Man what a deal you made me on a Pair of HS80M. I will definitely be dealing more in the Future with SweetWater. You Guy's are Great!

  • from Grand Island, NY USA December 12, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Studio and Live Engineer

    Pro Engineer retiring my NS10M Studio's for these!

    I'm a Pro Studio and live engineer who's been mixing National Artists for years. My studio has relied on a pair of Yamaha "NS10M Studio" monitors for 20 years. ( NS10M Studio are second gen. mon's designed for the studio, with proper horn dispersion, vs. older NS10's designed for home use. I will admit that I had an eq on the old monitors to tweak them to perfection, but the only way NS10M Studio's ever produced ear fatigue was if they are not placed properly. Any stereo monitor system must be place at least 60 degrees off center (30 degrees per speaker) to hear a true sweet stereo mix. I read the reviews on these HS80M's and I went to audition them with a studio mix CD. Forget about anything else!!! These monitors blew away any other powered monitor in any price range! After installing them properly in my studio, they are truly a step above the NS10M's as well. They are the truest representation of a mix that I have ever heard. The entire frequency band is truly reproduced accurately, and no further eq'ing is needed whatsoever. I saw one review claiming that these were brighter. Wrong. They are fantastic and true. They sound brighter than other high-end boxes because there are a lot of other boxes that falsely over-emphasize low-mid frequencies poorly, and you don't get a real mix of your sound. These have great low end, but not added frequencies that aren't supposed to be there! You will hear your true mix and you can eq your mix to how you want it to really sound. Also, I saw someone claiming these have a hiss? WRONG. Learn proper grounding of your studio and avoid grounding loops. Installed properly, there is no hiss whatsoever! They are as quiet as can be. I agree, if it sounds good on these, it will sound great anywhere! I also demo'd the new Yamaha RH10MS Headphones and they are as perfect and true as the HS80M's. If you want great headphones just as accurate, pick them up as well! There's no debate, buy them both and go succeed!

  • from Cincinnati, OH USA December 8, 2008Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Outstanding!

    I just received my pair of HS80M monitors from Sweetwater! I am blown away. I upgraded from a set of M-Audio BX5a's. To say the least, these Yamaha's are WAY better than the M-Audio speakers. The bass extension is awesome; no subwoofer required. The midrange is prominent, but doesn't fatigue the ears. The highs are crystal clear. I can work for hours at a time, all the while hearing every aspect of my mix and my ears don't scream at me. I can't say how true these speakers are in comparison to Tannoys or Dynaudios, but they smash the old M-Audios to bits when it comes to having a true mix. I've been reviewing everything from the past couple months on these and I can actually HEAR my music now instead of a complete mess. I can take a CD to my car or play it in my home stereo and it sounds right. Before, I had to compensate for my monitors' lack of bass response and extension. I'm sure there are better monitors out there, but for this price you're not going to find a better set!

    I see a lot of guys reviewing these against the Yamaha NS10 speakers. I can't compare since I've never heard NS10's but I can say that these are GREAT monitors that are perfect for anyone who doesn't want to spend $3K on their monitors.

  • from FL, USA October 2, 2008Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer, post production, Producer, Studio Owner

    My go to Monitors!

    I absolutely love my Yamaha HS80M's! They have turned into the work horse monitors in my studio. They are so versatile and the ability to adjust and tweak their settings to any room is such a great feature for the Pro or Home studio! First question I'm always asked about these is "are they like NS10's?" Well ya they are, except I personally think they have a far better full range tone and won't give you the massive ear fatigue notorious of the NS10's. Whether your throwing together a rough mix for a demo, doing post production surround mixing, or audio mastering the HS80's always provide a great mix (heck I've even used these in an audiophile setup to playback vinyl and they performed on par with a $5000 set of handmade monitors). For the price I have yet to find anything that comes close to the HS80M's

  • from LA, CA September 17, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product

    When I bought these monitors I had no big-studio experience and was worried that my mixes at my home studio would not translate well. Luckily i chose the right monitors! At home I write and compose all my music listening throught these monitors before I take them to a big studio here in LA and everything comes out great. Thanks Yamaha!

  • from Orlando, FL USA March 10, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    I'ts worth the money!

    I really Love these monitors, I am glad I didn't go with any other monitors. Whatever mix you do on these monitors is exacly how it going to sound everywhere else! I love the buttons on the back! It helps you so u can set the right prefference for yourself. Modifying the sound my personal taste is so easy and increadible, I can really tell the diff every time I move the buttons. I've tried it with different sound cards and even though they all sound different they're all very accurate and you can mix good on whichever. For me there is a learning curve, I just have to get used to them but the more I get used to them the better my mixes will sound! But its pretty direct.. what u hear is what it is. The manual is very clear. Sound quality is the best, you can really depend on these speakers... i just worry a little in the high mid freq.. The price is wel worth it, I dont think there are cheaper monitors that sound better than this, the only comparison are the new mackies. I love the way they look every time I walk into the studio and whenever someone else walks into the studio! It has a great presence and people say "wow this is a real studio" I think if I ever buy another set of monitors it would be the new mackies or genelecs but I think u can mix just as well on these monitors.. So I'm good.

  • from Jackson MI January 16, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Intermediate Recording Engineer

    Amazing! Best bang for your buck.

    Boy am I glad I didnt go cheap! Very happy that I spent the extra money to get a pair of 80Ms. These are the first set of "real" monitors I've owned so really I have nothing to compare them too, but I can tell quality sound from "so-so" sound and these are quality. I'm sure they will be in my set-up for years to come, so I'm glad I didnt go for a lesser monitor. CAUTION - Lift with your legs when handling them, they weigh close to 30lbs! Now THATS a piece of equipment.

  • from Michigan August 19, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, etc..

    Awesome!!! It's like an ns10 in a bigger package

    I've been adding to my home studio...little here, little there. Next step I've wanted to upgrade my monitors... Traded in my alesis m1 620's for these. WOW I was blown away... Great flat respines and very very responsive to transient details... every little noise will come through with clarity and life.. Listen to me and others... Just buy them! You wont be dissappointed!

  • from hollywood ca May 31, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Blu room studios

    flat chested as a 12 year old boy.

    Just buy them so you can post your own review, If your even looking at the hs80's....buy. Because you obviously have nothing to work with, and you're looking for something better just like I did for years. Translate perfectly. If you are ok at mixing on anything else you will be a mixing god on the hs80's.

  • from Wadsworth, Ohio October 7, 2006Music Background:
    Recording engineer, recording workshop, chillicothe ohio...

    THIS ARE AMAZING!!!

    The sound is great, to test any frequency in the spectrum, did a little searching,,, As a mastering engineer, this truly gives me alot of controll over the lo end, you can really hear what is going on,, when they say flat they mean flat... honestly these monitors will finish your studio.. And yes no more nights of wondering if the bass could be a little tighter, these definitely are one of the best monitor pairs I have purchased.... (terrible frequencys stick out like a sore thumb on these) things other monitors don't make as distinct

  • from Florida June 12, 2006Music Background:
    Musician, Student, Engineer

    Great Buy

    These monitors are GREAT. They really crank out some sound when you turn them up; I only use them at half power and have only turned them up once to see how strong they were. The frequency response is very flat and the Various controls on these powered monitors are all those you expect to see on monitors twice the price. Great stereo image. Great monitor. I've had a pair since February and I like them a lot. Also use Mackie HR824 and the Yamaha's get the job done just as well and you can't beat it for almost half the price.

  • from orlando September 11, 2013Music Background:
    13 years Audi engineer over 300 song mixed...

    Upgrade to perfection HS80M

    Yamaha hs80m are not my first pair of monitors, so I am not blindly saying that they are great.
    I've previously owned (Roland ds 50a, behringer truth b2031 and Mackie MR8mk2 monitors) They were all good for beginners who are looking for a "In Your Face sound" ,but they translated differently on other sound systems. Unlike the Yamaha Hs80M are far the best monitor that i've ever own, The highs are flat and not ear fatiguing, while the low are clear.If you as an Audio engineer are looking for "Bang for your buck", don't mess around with those other "colored" speaker, just stick with a company that is Known for their greatness...

  • from Berkeley, CA December 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Tour Sound Engineer, Audio Consultant, Pro Musician, Songwriter

    Most Amazing monitors for the price ever in the history of sound engineering.

    These are not the best Monitors ever. But you will have to spend $2000 a pair to get anywhere better than these that come in at $500/pr. These babies are nothing like the NS/10 at all, believe me. Full and precise the whole spectrum down to the sub range and up to the air. Mixes translate really easily into any other system, but the big difference you won't hear your average person say about these is that the Tweeter is really what makes this one outshine the rest in this price range. forget the harsh-mids of the KRKs, or the stuffy lack of high end that the Mackie MR series provides. These are the silkiest tweeters in this range, which makes these monitors very accurate in the high end and very clear and articulate from there down. What else can you ask for? these babies make it very easy to mix and i could easily grow old spending hours mixing on them, to my delight! These are what I use, along with Event 20/20s, Event ASP8s, and when i'm really lucky my favorite pair of Monitors is the Genelec S30c.

  • from Nashville, TN May 5, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Pro live/session keyboards

    True and Accurate

    If you can't spend more than $1000 and you need a monitor that will represent your mixes accurately, this is the best for the price that I have heard. Yes, you can spend $3500+ on Focals and get something better, but to be honest, the difference isn't as drastic as the price would indicate. These monitors are just really, really flat and spacial, and if your mixes sound good on these, they are going to sound good on anything.

    Also, having compared these to the HS50M's, I would spend the extra money for these if you can. The HS50M's sound great, but there is a very big difference in depth between those and the 80M's.

    Lastly, some have criticized these for lack of bass and have even gone so far as to suggest they need a sub to be useful. Not so; in my experience that statement usually indicates a flat monitor and a misunderstanding of that fact by the user, and this is no exception. The bass sounds *great* on these. The only way I would recommend a sub is if you really have to carefully define and tune your sub-40hz range (and unless your tracks focus on the bass, you probably don't).

    Overall, really awesome monitors.

  • from Toronto, Canada April 9, 2010Music Background:
    Recording artist, engineer.

    Take me to your leader ...

    I finally had the opportunity to conduct a comparison with the following monitors, Yamaha HS80M, KRK Rockit 8, Adam A7, M-Audio BX8a Deluxe and Dynaudio BM6A.

    I tested with 3 different genres of music, HipHop, R&B and Jazz. The first thing you notice in comparison is that the Yamaha HS80M monitors are brighter and cleaner sounding than the rest of these monitors. (Whether this is a good or bad thing is subjective to the listener). The dynamic range is incredible, mids and highs are distinctive, Bass is tight and accurate, spacial representation is also good.

    The sound is flat and brilliant, I found the over-all quality in construction and feel is excellent, these feel like a high-end monitor, studio-worthy.

    the M-Audio felt muddy in comparison, with a lack in the mid area, The Rockit 8 also did not sit well with me, both of these monitors represented more low end, distorting the mid-high value.

    The Adam A7's were excellent, flat and true, I would recommend these monitors as well. The true winners here were the Yamaha HS80M and the Dynaudio BM6A, the price point however makes the Yamaha monitors the only contender!

  • from Saudi Arabia August 10, 2009Music Background:
    Audiophile

    The Monitor for the Audiophile

    Being an audiophile I really did not need a monitor for home listening.One day last month,while buying Guitar strings for my son,at Yamaha shop ,I spotted HS80M on display.Out of curosity,I asked the saleman whether these speakers can be driven by audio source like CD player or Turntable.Surprised salesman obliged and connected HS80Ms to a yamaha CD player and played few tracks.Despite owning a decent system of Wadia/Audioresearch/Martin Logans,I was struck by the clarity of sound.I would compare the sound to the RAW image on a fine NIKON FullFrame DSLR. Every instrument and voice was crystal clear.Poweful and subtle at the same time. Different but in a league of their own.I would suggest to every serious music listener to audition HS80M and experience the RAW sound of music. welldone Yamaha..

  • from Australia June 11, 2009Music Background:
    Live Engineering, Bass

    Great nearfield monitor

    I bought these mostly due to the reviews here and have not been dissapointed.
    In fact it shows my music collections in a very different light, as I can now easily hear poorly mixed/mastered tunes. Especially overcompressed tracks that seem to predominate lately.
    Would be nice if they had mounting options built in into the base, or capability to add a cover to protect the cones.
    Otherwise, brilliant value for money.

  • from South FL May 18, 2009Music Background:
    Composer producer film & video documentaries

    The last pro/semi-pro monitor

    I challenge any professional music gear/monitor manufacturer to top what Yamaha has done for the composer/producer/songwriter. Be he pro or, semi-pro recording studio engineer or musician, and for the money? I'm not here advertising for Yamaha but after using the JBL's, the Mackies and the Genelics off and on through the years, it was a refreshing awakening to hear my music through the HS80M's. I thought the Mackies and the JBL's were exciting until I heard my compositions through these. Finally a truly flat set of monitors for less than 1/2 the price of comparable, industry standards.

    Yanaha has gone one better than the NS10's. These are sure to be around for at least as long. "Way to go" Yamaha!

  • from Beograd, Serbia November 13, 2008Music Background:
    drummer, sound engineer, student

    Details, details, and even more DETAILS!!!

    Ok, guys, after having those for just couple of days, I can say that these are far the MOST DETAILED MONITORS I have ever heard. Stereo image is just amazing, low end is tight, mids sound very present and highs are silky and have that cool analog vintage "sand" that somehow everybody wants, if you know what I mean:)
    Tweak buttons on the back work just great, especially if you have issues with your room and its acoustic design.
    HS80 are built solid as a ROCK and weigh about 13,5 kilograms, which makes this baby very hard to carry especially if you live on the third floor and you have no elevator:)
    One more thing, they are incredibly flat and accurate, and I can feel free to say this especially after having heard ADAMs, KRKs and the rest in this price range.
    With these Yamahas all your problems are solved, just ENJOY!
    The only reason I am giving it 4,5 and not 5 stars is the thing that I have had these for only a couple of days and I still do not know if I am going to discover any dark sides of these monitors, but I really doubt it!
    Cheers!

  • from Dallas August 18, 2008Music Background:
    Musician - Hobbyist

    Excellent

    I basically wanted some active monitors to use with my Roland KF-7 keyboard at home, and had narrowed it down to the Mackie MR8's and the HS80M's. I bought both and took them home to A-B them with the keyboard. I alternated them at least a dozen times. The MR8's had a more pronounced bass response, almost a touch boomy in comparison with the Yamaha's, and seemed to have more of a "personality" that accentuated certain frequencies. The difference was not huge, but still noticable. To my ears, both seemed to reproduce the high frequencies about the same. One of the main things that infulenced my decision; when playing a programmed rythm track on the HSM80's, the reproduction of the mid-range sound of a hand hitting the drumskin was incredibly real. Another thing that influenced my decision was the somewhat smaller size of the Yamaha's, and the fact that they could be tweaked more via the controls on the rear of the unit. These have brought life to my keyboard!

  • from Charlotte NC February 8, 2008Music Background:
    Producer

    Pretty cool

    For anyone looking for a good monitors for the money, you will be stunned by the hs80m's. The are not ns-10's by any means, but if you know your stuff, you should know that the ns10 was a horrible monitor!!! It produced a terrible sound! So bad that if you had a good mix on those, your mix would sound good anywhere. Thats the reason you see them in every studio. The concept on this monitor is supurb accuracy, not bad sound. These are great and don't produce ear fatigue as the ns-10's does. Great job Yamaha.

  • from La Garita, P.R. November 24, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Full Sail Grad, Producer

    Great Sound for the price!

    I think that you can't really compare these speakers with the ns10, because the ns10 were unique in there own way, construction wise! Therefore to have the same response & sound it's quite impossible. Know compare this speakers with others at the same price range(KRK,M-Audio,Alesis,etc.) and then you'll be able to compare how superior they are. Not everybody have a thousand plus dollars to get a pair of speakers. This is the bottom line: if your sounds good on these speakers it will sound good and decent in any system, that's all yamaha promise. And that's all I'm in for.

    Please Excuse my spelling my first languaje is Spanish!

  • from ON, Canada September 19, 2007Music Background:
    Live & recording engineer, semi-professional musician

    Stands up to the best.

    These monitors stand up to the best in the industry. I've worked heavily with dynaudio, genelec, JBL and other top name monitors and these are right in the same quality range. Beautiful, crystal clear high end, articulate, clear low end that is not at all boomy or tubby. I definitely recommend these to both the beginner and professional engineer.

  • from Durham, NC October 2, 2006Music Background:
    Producer, Recording/Mix Engineer, Professional Musician

    Very Accurate Speakers

    The Yamaha HS80M are very accurate monitors. They are good for mixing a variety of styles and, paired with the subwoofer, they provide a great mixing system. I will soon purchase them for mixing R&B and Hip-Hop style mixes. They work great for rock as well.

  • from KCMO January 24, 2013Music Background:
    ENGINEER, MUSICIAN

    WHAT NEED FOR THAT IN YOUR FACE MIX

    LOVE THE YAMAHA HS80

  • from Monterey, CA May 29, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer/Musician

    Good budget monitors

    HS80's are a good monitor for people on a low budget that want great quality speakers!

    Vocals never tend to sit right, always a little too loud or a little too quiet on other references.
    The bass never translates too well either, I always seem to find that the bass is "heavy" enough, but not quite clear enough. In your car stereo the bass will sound too loud!

    Albeit these minor imperfections they are good monitors. The hiss problem is resolved by simply using balanced cables and good power strips.

    As far as reliability goes, I'm going to be honest... They are not great. One of my speakers now sounds "deader" in the highs and mids than the other. They definitely do not match.

    Also my tweeter in my right (the bright one) now starts vibrating when I play certain freq.
    This cannot be fixed, it must be sent into Yamaha for a replacement. I have heard of many people getting this issue.

    Even with the issues they give a pretty unique, and good sounding mix. I recommend them to anyone that can't afford something better (like Focals or Genelics).

    For only a few hundred dollars more you can buy NS10's used, not bad. Although in the end I can recommend these.

  • from South Louisiana October 7, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Arranger

    ...as so many have said, great monitors for the price...

    I'm most impressed with the low frequency response. If you can place these about 10 or so feet away from your ears, you get a very accurate representation of the low end (the most difficult frequencies to get 'right' in a mix). I'm not under any illusion that these beat multi kilo-buck monitors (haven't had that luxury, yet...), but after using three other brands that are near this price point, these are the best yet!

  • from Hollywood,CA March 6, 2010Music Background:
    Composer/Mixing Engineer

    NS-10's

    A mixing engineer must-have for sure. If you can make your mix sound good on NS-10's it will sound amazing on anything else.

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA August 3, 2009Music Background:
    Producer/engineer

    The Producers Club First Impression:

    Got these about a month ago after using events for ten years. They’re amazingly quiet! I’m totally blind and after my initial setup, I thought something was wrong cause I didn’t hear any kind of hiss…until I touched the motif and heard the pianos ring out as clear as ever before. I usually like Yamaha products…cept for their monitors. But Now that I’ve heard these live in PhoreGround studios, that exception has to die away.
    Highs and lows cross very smoothly and I’ve noticed that my mixes come out exactly the way I intend them to in one shot, without having to check them in my friends cars first.

  • from November 19, 2013Music Background:
    35 years playing guitar and recording. https://soundcloud.com/ric_rho_2012

    More like Headphones

    To me they make almost all music I play on them sound good. Mostly because have no ear fatigue. They sound good at medium volumes and will get loud. They remind me of my headphones. Most important thing is if you have a no ear fatigue speaker it is hard to remove/notice the harsher bad peaky frequencies when mixing!

    They should of put the power buttons on the front. They should of put the volume knobs on the front. They should of had the volume knob notched to help balance They should of put a protective cover over the 8" woofer.

  • from Canada March 10, 2009Music Background:
    Music aficionado

    Yamaha HS80 monitors

    I picked-up a pair of these about 9 months ago and have been using them since. Overall they are very nice looking speakers with a good build quality(love the white on black presence). They are very capable monitors that would have no problems delivering the punch all on there own. However... for those seeking to cover the full sound spectrum, I would recommend pairing them with the HS10 subwoofer, as it really does make up the difference for a host of sources(keyboards etc.)

    The one complaint I would have with the HS80's is the infamous hiss they exhibit when they are on. Yes... the problem is real and we replicated it with other units at my local shop. With some experimenting, we've concluded that the noise is generated in the power supply stages as they exhibit this all on their own(without any connections whatsoever).

    It is also possible that the power supply section of the HS80's does not do well under 115-120v current. Though we were never able to substantiate this by adjusting the source voltage either(to bad).

    The good news is however, that the hiss is only audible at/or around 1.5m from the source. So if you're setup can afford standard positioning then they will be completely silent and transparent. However, if you are tight on space, you may find yourself looking at something else, as such things can completely consume you.

    All in all, I am satisfied with these monitors. Though I'd say that they do not come near the quality of the HS50's in terms of silence and transparency. On the upside, the HS80's completely bury their siblings in both volume and low response performance.

    They were priced very competitively here in Canada and they make very compelling piano monitors.

  • from bahamas August 18, 2011Music Background:
    producer, composer, programmer

    i guess they don't lie..

    they almost make badly-recorded music not fun to listen to. . most rock/metal sounds terrible on them.. could just be because it is hard to find a decently mixed rock/metal album. i will say, however.. for my studio purposes (they ARE studio monitors) they serve fine, and i know that if it sounds good on these, it is going to sound great (and true) on a better or worse system.. thats what you are paying for here. translation. do not buy these if what you are actually looking for is a consumer sound system. these are mid-grade FLAT monitors that are not forgiving in the slightest.
    it does make me feel good to know that everything i produce now sounds better, cleaner, and more true.
    for the record, i work on mostly electronic music.

  • from nashville,tn March 14, 2006

    These sound beautiful!

    Changes my mixes for the better...really clean and flat for superb mixing...I love them! I couldn't get them at my local stores because They were out...they were flying off the shevles and i see why.

  • November 1, 2005

    Nothing like NS-10's

    I just bought a pair of these new Yamaha speakers and every sales person I talk to anywhere is hyping this speaker that it's like the old NS-10's that Yamaha stupidly discontinued making. I took them to a studio that I intern at and compared them to a pair of NS-10's and they sound nothing alike. I tried every combination of EQ setting possible on the back of the HS80M's and could not reproduce the sound at all. A friend there mentioned that he thought that the speakers sounded like the tweeter and the woofer where battling against each other. I think Yamaha is just trying to build off the name they made for themselves with the NS-10's and give us a new product that looks very similar to the old NS-10's (Stupidly taken off the market and discontinued!!!) and try and pass them off as great as the old NS-10's. While these speakers do have a nice sound though they have is no comparison between them and NS-10's. So overall though I would give them a 7 out of 10 as far as speakers that I think sound good for mixing.

  • November 1, 2005

    The new Yamaha standard.

    These sound nothing like NS10s but they are quality monitors. NS 10s were discontinued because yamaha could not find a suitable replacement for their paper cones. The plup used for making these was getting harder to find, and Yamaha could not find an acceptable substitute. So rather than making NS10s that were inferior, yamaha decided to discontinue them so as to preserve the NS10 reputation. Yamaha did not want to stop production, they simply made a tough choice.

Questions about the Yamaha HS80M?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway