0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Mackie HR824mk2 8.75" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie HR824mk2 8.75" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the Mackie HR824mk2 8.75" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jeff Hollman

    The HR824mk2 is Mackie's newest update to their best selling HR824 speakers... and they've done an incredible job at bringing their industry-standard studio monitors to our modern times. These are yet another classic monitor speaker that should be considered for every studio setup.

  • from New Jersey July 26, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass, Drums, Studio Engineer, Music Lover

    I love(d) these Monitors

    I used to have these monitors when i had a full studio, they sound great they are big, but only because of the 8 inch speakers, so they are not bigger than other 8 inch woofer monitors, so when i had to go with a small in my bedroom sort of setup i almost cried when i realized i just didn't have room on my small desk in my room, if i had a bigger desk i could have kept these because even at low volume which i would have had to use them at, they sound so full yet so accurate at the same time. when i was able to use them as monitors are meant to be used at medium volume for mixing or high volume for tracking or showing off the final mix for clients, the room felt like a stadium concert, but way clearer. I now have rokit 5's only out of necessity if i could have chained these to my ceiling to keep them I would have, when i did purchase these originally it was from sweetwater and it was my first purchase to fill up my studio, i purchased these with about $7,000 of other equipment that i needed for a full start up, and even though it was 1400 for the pair i believe that out of all of the equipment that came that one faithful day in the mail through sweetwater, which was like christmas in july these were that special gift under the tree that was your favorite in the morning

    get these, for me and when when you listen through them think about how i am jealous that you are doing so

  • from December 4, 2015

    All EDM producers need these

    If you've got your own set up, whether it be a full size room or a closet in your apartment, you absolutely cannot go wrong with these.

    Now I know most of you who produce trance, dance, etc; will almost always go to the KRK's, but seriously, if you want to do it right the first time in the studio, buy these and you won't regret it. Sure, these speakers aren't going to be nice to some beginners; you're going to find that everything you were producing in the past didn't REALLY blend as nicely and your channel settings weren't THAT perfect- but that's exactly what you're looking for- some HONEST active monitors that show the true color of your work so you can be more precise and get it right. These have helped me from making some big time fails in the studio on even the smallest errors. Not only that, they're awesome to just you know, listen to music like we all obviously want to do. I have people come over just to listen to new releases through my speakers. Kind of king.

    If you've got yourself a typical living situation with a bunch of people who are always complaining about the BASS ("what is that, that pounding! I can hear it all the way out in the yard!" kind of people), these monitors are also great in terms of control. You can have them blasting, which is out of this universe, but when people are sleeping or crabbing or having headaches or whatever you can still get that full room sound complete with harmonics and detail at a low volume level. Great thing for us stubborn people who feel that "turning it down" ruins the experience.

    Yeah, these are probably the love of my life. Enjoy.

  • from Mayslick KY September 26, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer, Pro Musician

    Second pair I've owned

    Mackie does it again and does it better this time. This new design is fantastic and the sound they produce is almost identical to my original pair of HR824's. Mackie monitors, in my opinion are the absolute best out there for the price. And the amazing thing is that after allmost 20 years the cost was not that much different from back when I put my first studio together. Back then I had a bit of help in deciding which monitors to go with and I must have spent 3 hours in the Mars Music listening room trying different monitors with a reference mix I had put together. After all that time I still could not find any speakers that sounded any better for the price then the Mackies. I bought these sight un heard and am VERY pleased the quality control at Mackie is still top notch.

    If near flat response and clear lows, mids, and highs are what you crave then look no further then the Mackie HR824 Mk2. Oh, and BTW, they look very cool!!

  • from hawaii March 29, 2012Music Background:
    serious hoppyist...but not pro yet..

    wow!

    wide sweat spot. just got them a few days ago and i am redoing my mixes all over especially the bass and mids...scarry how low these gets. besides translations to good mix, i jumb on it before the price goes up some more lol. i guess the guality and value just keeps going up lol. anyways do get them but be sure you cleared it through wify or else lonely night sets in...but hey, more time playing and creating music...

  • from Rogers, OH USA December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer, home recording hobbyist

    Solid Mackie Quality...

    I have owned several Mackie products over the past decade, and they never fall short of amazing quality for the price point. The HR824mk2 has been on my wish list for a long time. Well, needless to say I was completely blown away by the deep, tight bass response and the articulate, detailed midrange was everything I could ask for in an accurate nearfield monitor. The high's are realistic without causing ear fatigue and I love the room tayloring switches for lows, highs, and acoustic space placement. The auto power on function is a nice included feature as well. I will be using them for mixing and rough mastering in a home environment, and once again Mackie gives you a lot of "bang-for-the-buck". They have perfected this second generation monitor without question! I just wish everyone could hear my mixes on them...

  • from Woodstock, NY October 27, 2009Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Mixer/Writer/Recording Artist

    Mackie HR824mk2

    I've had the original HR824's - a pair of the American made ones, and a pair of the Chinese made ones. There was not very much difference between them.

    The mk2's, however, have a tighter, more focused bass, and wherever you move in the room - the sound is very consistent. They are definitely an improvement, by about 25% in my opinion. They are very well made, and I never had any problems with the original pairs I have had for many years. I have recorded and mixed many records on them, and everything translates well to other systems and sounds great on the radio.

  • from Chesterfield, Va. August 24, 2009Music Background:
    Producer, Jazz Pianist

    YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THESE....

    These monitors will identify exactly what changes you need to make in your mixes. Accurate mixes without accurate monitors is close to impossible. These monitors will give you the pinpoint accuracy and the confidence to make decisions on your mixes that will save you much time. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THESE MONITORS!!!!!!!

  • from Little Rock, AR USA September 13, 2008Music Background:
    Student

    Mixes Translate Great!

    All I have to do now when I mix is make it sound good on these monitors, and I know that it'll sound good everywhere else too!

  • from Nashville, TN USA September 13, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound, Recording Engineer, Music Business Student

    Awesome Monitors

    These are amazing speakers for the price. Tight lows and crystal clear highs. I usually turn and run away from Mackie, but these have totally changed my mind about the company. I would recommend to any project studio as a must have.

  • from CASTRIES ST.LUCIA IN THE CARRIBBEAN February 2, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer,Pro Musician

    Mackie HR824 mk2

    YOU would think with this speaker when you first start listening to them that its has a huge colored button but thats not true .with these speakers what you put in is what you get.The speakers are natural al the way.I DO alot of caribbean groves reggae ,soca,dancehall and some pop and I just had to write a review on these babies.I don't normally write review but I had to take time out to do this one.I notice sweetwater has incresse the price by 50 dollars its starting to get really pricey but with these its still worth every penny since thats what you will be hearing your mixes through.I just wish the had made these earlier .Now I just have to go do all my mixes over.THANKS KEVIN SCOTT AND SCOTT DEMARKO I HOPE I GOT YOUR NAMES SPELL RIGHT. GUYS IF YOU GOT THE MONEY TO SPEAR BUY FOUR 2 TO USE IN THE STUDIO AND TWO FOR WHEN MACKIE STOP MAKING THEM SO YOU WOULD STILL HAVE THEM AROUND.YES THEY SOUND BETTER THAN THE ORIGNAL HR I HAVE HAD THE OPERTUNITY TO SAMPLE THEM BOTH .NOW these are in my studio permernently

  • from Orlando, FL USA January 8, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Composer

    Great Translation

    I'm super impressed with the clarity and tightness of the low end in these monitors. The adjustable parameters on the back of these monitors make them very versatile as far as placement in your studio go. For the price, these are an ABSOLUTE MUST. With the right amount of thump and nice creamy highs, I would recommend these to anyone looking to go from the hobbyist / $200-$500 per-pair range, to something more professional and accurate. These beasts can handle very high SpL's with ease.

  • from Las Vegas, NV January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist for Spyro Gyra, chief engineer for SchuBox Studios

    I love Mackie products!

    One of my Event Precision 8 tweeters blew out and I had a session coming in. So I went with my gut and got 2 Mackie HR824mk2s. I should have gotten these a long time ago. My mixes are more true from the studio to the car or ear buds, etc. I also used to have a bass node in my control room with the other boxes. Somehow, this node disappeared when I installed the Mackies. They really are mached perfectly to the Mackie 1640i which I raved about on my previous review. Mackie has become my favorite all around company for all my mixing and monitoring needs.

  • from Joplin Missouri August 10, 2011Music Background:
    Studio owner, producer, artist.

    Perfect as second set of ref monitors

    I wouldn't suggest these to mix with but they totally rock when it comes to getting a great A/B on sound. They auto turn themselves off and on. And sound great with a lot of power.

    They do however add bass and warmth to the sound that may be too much color to mix with. they do for us. But this is our second set!

  • from VA December 31, 2016

    Pretty great but not perfect

    I'm not a fan of the passive radiator design and one of my speakers developed a weak tweeter after a few years. They are a joy to listen to but I will go with a closed cabinet with no bass enhancement when I replace them.

  • from Parsons, KS United States October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Engineer, Musician, Recording Arts student

    Not a magic problem solver

    I realize I am the minority here, but I have listened to these speakers for hours! I can tell you that they are certainly not perfect.

    I am glad Mackie provided some guidelines and a few parameters on the back to help, but even so, these monitors have a color to them that sounds the opposite of what most are listening to.

    I need to experiment with the room I am in to be more precise with this review, but I can say this. For all the money you will spend, shouldn't you get something more accurate?

    I have to go listen to my mix in my car's stock speakers to get a more accurate rep of what the song sounds like. I shouldn't have to for this price.

Questions about the Mackie HR824mk2 8.75" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway