0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Mackie HR624mk2 6" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie HR624mk2 6" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the Mackie HR624mk2 6" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Robert Williams

    A really big improvement from the original HR624, a lot tighter bottom and clearer mids. The adjustment options make it easier than ever to get the monitors tuned to your room. Add some stands or isolation and you're good to go!

  • from ATX March 31, 2017

    There are days when I miss mine ...

    The Mackie HR624mk2 completed my first real near field/mid field monitor setup. Unlike each superceding monitor I've purchased, the Mackie's didn't need the same kind of break in time. It was a curiosity, they did eventually "ease into themselves" or I should say, "ease up on me". They always sounded fantastic !

    There IS a certain inherent "color" to these units. But, it could be argued who wants to really listen to a speaker that is super flat, super cold and not inspiring for hours on end ? I know don't : ) They're fun, while still critical and detailed. The color part about these speakers is tastefully applicable. It doesn't get in your way or take you way off base when you've gone down to the car or to the mastering house to mix check. They'll keep you in the game. From my experience, the 624's make excellent near-fields and pretty good mid-fields. I'm sure the 824s (which appear beastly) are more suited for mid-field work. Those possess that "Unfolding mid-range" much like the HS8's, but with more detail and music in the basement. Curious, Mackie points out that the 624's mid range driver are actually just under 7". Whereas the 824's are almost 9 inches !! That ... is a big boy. Don't worry ... the 624's can still crank... very much so. Trust me. At 140 watts/channel, there is no shortage of power issues.

    I gave these 4 stars because sometimes the tweeter is a little overly-persistent. But thats why we take ear breaks, yeah ? The trade off: 2 - 5k range is right. there. but smooth enough to cut what you need to cut.

  • from Massillon, ohio May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player, studio engineer

    Great sound

    I had one of my older 624 go bad after 16 yrs and dcided to get them again so i only bought one to replace the broken one til i could get money to replace the other. Dont get me wrong these speakers are awesome! Down fall is i guess after 16 years i was kinda expecting a huge difference btween the old and new. To be honest there wasnt much if any difference. Very satisfied customer tho

  • from Washington DC March 22, 2016

    Mackie Hr624

    Very accurate you can now mix and master with ease you can hear everything

  • from Alpharetta, Ga. August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Song writer/Producer

    Mackie review

    Probably the best purchase I've made in a long time! The Mackie speakers let you hear every part of your mix clearly and that's what I've been searching for. I think I can take my production to another level at this point! Thanks Mackie and Thanks to sweetwater! Great product!

  • from Moreno Valley,CA. October 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Novice Recording Engineer

    The Mackie HR624mk2

    Extremely Happy with these monitors. Like the advertisement states, "You simply can't go wrong with these Pro-Caliber monitors." They have a very accurate and natural frequency response. Perfect for my smaller studio. They are terrific. Thanks for the quick delivery.

  • from Miami, Fl USA July 7, 2013

    One Word... Awesome

    Im a sound engineer and I`ve been looking for a studio monitors that suit me best I listen to everything genelecs, yamaha, m-audio, krk, and narrowed my options to adam a7x and mackie hr 624 mkII. My bet, mackie won they are simply amazing and its really easy to make them sound great in any room because of their acoustic space adjustment.

  • from United States April 12, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    very happy with these in a home stereo setup

    These sound just great in my home living room system. I've had electrostatics, BWs, Rogers, Maggies - these are more accurate (and thus less fatiguing) than any speakers I have had. They also play much louder and cleaner. Plus, the amps are included, saving real money. The looks are fine for a living room as well.

  • from Illinois October 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist for Acoustic Duo, Student, Amature Recording Engineer and Mixer

    The Mackie HR624mk2

    I'm an Audio Arts and Acoustics major at Columbia College Chicago with a concentration in Audio Design and Production. These were the first monitors I ever owned. At the school we have listened to Genelecs, other Mackies, and what not. I don't know how I was ever able to do my assignments before. If you sit in an equilateral triangle in relation to the mackies with your ear between the driver and tweeter, you get the best sound there. For the price, it's really fantastic. If you have the money for the upgrade to the 824, do it. If not, you won't be disappointed.

  • from Taipei,Taiwan May 27, 2008Music Background:
    recording,mixing, producer

    No.1

    I build my new studio for mixing one years ago. The monitor bored me much,Genlec 1030,1031,8040,danyaudio,adam audio s2a...many some of them put it at my living room is very good, for example adam, But I can't use them to work, I have very used the sound of genelec 1031, I use it for mixing over 8 yesrs, But I have better choice now, Mackie 624 mk2, It sounds better than mk1, a little bit lack at HF of mk1. Mk2 is very good at 16-21K and leave the very good LF of mk1.

  • from NYC April 8, 2008Music Background:
    Electronic music production for records and film.

    The best monitor I have ever used!!

    I was looking for a compact professional monitor for my new studio - finally got a great room and needed a suitable classy monitor. Tried many different ones from Genelec, Dyn and even K+H..... But these simply blew me away. The fact that they are way less expensive than the competition is simply a bonus.... Cannot recommend them more!!

Questions about the Mackie HR624mk2 6" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway