0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

PreSonus HP4 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier Reviews

4.0 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus HP4 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Questions about the PreSonus HP4 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Randy Akins

    The cleanest, loudest headphone amp I've ever heard! Drummers love this for recording as they can finally hear their drums through the headphones instead of over them!

  • Billy
    from Rhode Island November 22, 2016Music Background:
    Various genres

    Presonus HP4

    Good pairing with Studio Live

  • Brandon Beatty
    from Bloomfield, NJ November 2, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer

    Great Product

    Great product that accompanies any home or intermediate audio interface. Very Quiet amplifier with a basic design.

    My only complaints are that the power supply feels a littles cheap, and that the knobs are numbered to 12, rather than a sensible 10.

  • Joe
    from New Jersey April 3, 2015

    Headphone amp

    Does the trick. There isn't much more to say. Get it!!

  • Edward Halterman
    from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Good for the doe!

    This little box has done fine for me... now don't get me wrong it is no Dangerous Music Box as recommended by my Rep Tony Dayton, but I didn't have the doe for the other one and this one so far has done nicely.

  • Ming Cash
    from Myrtle Beach SC August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Presonus HP4

    This was the missing element for my studio. It's a must have.

  • Tom Bumpous
    from Volunteer State December 31, 2013Music Background:
    Ex-rock drummer & studio owner.

    A Fine Headphone Amp

    It easily does exactly what it is supposed to do and it does it well. Mine has driven 3 low-impedance headsets cleanly and PLENTY loud. I'm impressed. Get one...! Everything I have used from PreSonus has worked very well.

  • Justin Dean
    from Columbus, GA July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Mixer, Musician

    Perfect for the price

    Huge, clean volume, easy setup, and it looks great!

    The only problem I have with the HP4 is that it does not have an on/off switch. Not a big complaint but still something to consider.

  • Jason Lee
    from Honolulu, HI February 8, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Great device

    I got my monitors and three sets of headphones coming out of this and its always been real reliable and quiet. Ive never owned a high end headphone amp so I dont know what to compare it to but it does what i need it to do...control my monitors and headphone levels with ease. Monitor mute button comes in handy a lot. Never used the mono button though lol....

  • Customer
    from January 4, 2017

    Clean and powerful.

    Simple, powerful amplification up to the task. I paid for clean headroom and rugged hardware and did not throw money at having e.q. and metering on a headphone amp. Perfect. Also, these units can be chained together for other rooms and users. In my opinion, this is a great unit at an excellent price.

  • James Tavegia
    from Villa Rica, GA June 22, 2015Music Background:
    Vocalist, composer of sorts. Piano player

    Great headphone amp with great detail

    I bought this unit a few weeks after buying a ART Headphone 4 for my home studio. This is a great headphone amp with some nice features. I use it with my AKG K701s; AKG 271 mk2s, and my 2 pair of Sony 7506's. The Sony's are getting less used these days now that I have the 271's.

    4 features I like are the mono switch, the on/off switch in the power cord, the separate control for the pass-through for linking multiple units for more headphone outputs, and the 1/4" mono TS input jacks. Nice additions for the $129 price.

    Sound wise the unit is a detail machine without being bright or harsh sounding. You will hear what is in your mix. Cables do matter, so experiment and choose wisely. The bass is very, slightly more extended and fuller than the ART Headphone 4, but I would expect so for twice the price.

    You will not be disappointed with this unit at all. I'm very pleased.

  • Elijah A
    from Columbus, Ohio May 17, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Arranger and Composer

    Perfect

    Prefect piece of gear for a GREAT price. Best part is the SERIOUS amount of volume it can pump out! LOVE that it can control my monitors as well!

  • Tmoney
    from Chicago, IL USA July 7, 2006Music Background:
    Home Recordist, Musician, Previously Live Sound Engineer.

    Great headphone amp

    Very basic with just enough feature-wise to get by-- balanced ins and outs, monitor section, and mono button are very nice and quite useful. Great transparency and this amp is LOUD. With my interface at unity, I sit the pot at about 2-3 ticks up, of about 15 or 20. I love this thing. Pots do get scratchy, but this isn't the fault of the actual unit, it's a fact of working with audio.

  • Adrian
    from indianapolis December 2, 2016Music Background:
    indiana

    good headphone amp!

    purchased this headphone amp about 7 months ago. no problems, works as advertised! Thanks to my sales rep Bob mondock! yep!

  • Stan Swiniarski
    from Boston, MA September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Songwriter, Producer

    Convenient

    The best part of this for me is the ability to have it on my desktop, and mute the monitor rather than having something more complicated set up in my DAW. The only con is that it only has 1/4 headphone jacks, would be great if it had both 1/4 and 1/8.

  • Kevin Wagner
    from Detroit, MI USA September 4, 2014Music Background:
    Ancient Chinese Secret

    PreSonus HP4 Headphone Monitor

    This is a pretty high-performance box, well worth the cost. Even if you crank the output to 11, it's still clear.

    My only caveat would be that if you're using higher-impedance 'phones, you might want a little more power. I'm using some Beyerdynamic DT880 Pro 250 ohm headphones, and I'm left a little wanting for volume. On the other hand, my Sennheiser HD280 pros will tear my head off at much lower levels from this unit.

  • Jack Pursian
    from Peotone, IL August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer/home studio

    Headphone amp

    If you work with amps, this works well. Enough headroom for volume increase. I would buy this before buy some 30-50 dollar cheap amp. There is no on/off switch. I have mine in a studio that a strip breaker for a few other speakers and monitor are plugged into, then just use that as a master shut off..

  • Tyler Spence
    from Orofino, ID June 17, 2013Music Background:
    Bass player

    A good offering with some minor drawbacks.

    I use this at church for my IEM. It fit on my pedal board, That is a plus. The description is deceptive, as it only can handle two mono mixes, with two outputs each, or one stereo mix with four outputs. But all of the headphone amps are described that way. The sound is crystal clear. My only major complaint is the PLASTIC JACKS! Other than that. A great product.

  • Customer
    from Richmond, VA USA September 17, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Music Educator

    PreSonus HP4

    Overall great box. Relatively clean channels. LOTS OF HEADPHONE VOLUME!!!

    I like the mono function and that it has a "Monitor Section".

  • Customer
    from February 8, 2011Music Background:
    Musician and Recording enthusiast 10 years

    3+ year owner

    I'm happy with mine....I read the other reviews of ppl having there's short out on them after a short period of time and must say im lucky...cuz Ive had this thing up n running throughout the whole stage of my recording career...its one of those backburner pieces that just never let u down....THANKS presonus... a great piece of my DAW setup.

    I run 1 of the headphone outs into an RCA adapter that connects to a nearby stereo system AUX and thru some Bose bookshelves as reference for mixing. I also got a set of HD280's and Equation RP22xs plugged in..

  • Jawn Campbell
    from Morgantown, WV August 2, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Better than I expected

    I purchased the HP4 in a pack with 4 AKG M80 headphones. The HP4 works well and sounds terrific..PLENTY of headroom. The 'mono' button allows you technically to send two separate mixes to the HP4..although I only use one. My only complaint would be the 'monitor level' knob. the ability to mute my monitors would be awesome, but i won't use this feature because the monitor feed isn't purely pass-thru. you can adjust the volume of the monitors from the HP4. I would have much rather had a passive monitor mute control..and perhaps used the additional amp for a 5th headphone channel. Nevertheless, it's still a great unit and a good buy.

  • EN76
    from hawaii March 4, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist :D

    not bad

    do the job! use my AKG Q701 on these and its pretty good. not bad.

  • Brian
    from March 9, 2016Music Background:
    Technical Director

    Find something else

    I've used 2 different models of these: an older, and the revision. Neither has proved its worth. The plastic everything breaks down quickly, the jacks are now loose, and like another reviewer said, the volume levels aren't matched across each output. You can do better for your 130. To its defense, I picked them up for a small music conservatory and they get used pretty heavily, but it goes to show that they aren't built to last.

  • Adam
    from Seattle, WA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist Drummer

    Not suitable for studio monitoring use

    This unit is pretty good, but for a few problems that prevent me from using it as a serious monitoring controller.

    1. The pots, like in some other Presonus gear I've used, are linear taper, not audio taper. This means that, past 1/4 turn or so, there is very little change in audio level (and massive change before that). This makes it very difficult to tweak the volume at moderate sound levels. I might mod the unit, replacing the linear pots with audio taper pots.

    2. At lower volume levels, the two sides of the headphone are not at the same volume level. This could be due to the drive circuitry, or perhaps the pots weren't properly matched. This caused me some difficulty on a mobile live recording job, when I thought I had a problem with a microphone or preamp. It turned out to be the headphone amp.

    3. The 51 ohm impedance won't properly drive some lower-impedance headphones, such as Audio Technica M50 (35 ohms), or basically any of the in-ear monitors that some drummers prefer to use in the studio (some of them as low as 14 ohms). The 63-ohm Sony 7506, of course, would drive fine. (Note: when your load impedance is lower than your drive impedance, it will all still work; but, you will get a gradual rolloff in the bass and your headphones will sound "thin".)

    4. Due to a combination of problems 1 and 2, it's basically impossible to listen at a low or moderate sound level; if your goal is loud, and your headphones are 51 ohms or greater, this unit will work fine.

    Pros:
    It's sound quality is actually quite good once you turn it up.

  • Music lover
    from OP, KS March 19, 2009Music Background:
    Record for fun

    Not that great

    First one I got was defective. There was no increase in volume after the 12-o’clock position. Second one worked. The salesman told me that this amp would be loud enough for a drummers headphone mix during recording. Not true and not even close. It does provide decent sound but my stereo amp that we still use for recording drums, sounds better and is louder. I would not recommend this for those who need the headphone mix loud, but at low to moderate levels this is probably as good as other brands in this price range.

  • Jeff Greenberg
    from New Orleans February 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician, home studio

    Good when it worked, but didn't last long.

    In less than a year, the outputs began shorting out. I could get it to work for a while by pulling out the output plugs and re-inserting several times. Then it just completely crapped out. I can't afford to buy new equipment every year, so I'll be looking for a different headphone amp.

  • Gaby Kafka
    from Montreal, Canada October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Piece of junk!

    Like many items "Made in China" it doesn't last. All the headphone volume knobs stopped working suddenly (1 week after warranty expired). No volume control and sound can be heard only on the right side. I took it apart to see what's up. All potentiometers are soldered to a board connected via a ribbon cable to the main board. There's no way to fix the pots except by changing the entire board. Not worth what it costs. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Jeremy Cimino
    from February 1, 2005

    its a nice little piece of equipment unfortunately it has started to sizzle when turning the voume knobs

Questions about the PreSonus HP4 4-Ch Headphone Amplifier?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway