0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Herco Guardfather HE360 Humidifier Reviews

3.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Herco Guardfather HE360 Humidifier?

Questions about the Herco Guardfather HE360 Humidifier?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Yuval Fuchs

    I'm impressed with this humidifier, which is so easy to use. Just open the lid, immerse it in water for 5 minutes, remove excess water, close lid, and pop it in your guitar case. Repeat once every 2 weeks. No leaks, no messy sponges, no need for pricey distilled water. The best $4 you'll ever spend! Simple!

  • Larry Reed
    from MILLERSBURG, MI February 13, 2014Music Background:
    50+ years of playing string instruments

    Herco Guardfather

    These humidifiers are simple and work great. I like using these with f -hole guitars, mandolins, banjos and dulcimers,

  • tony
    from valpo. In. August 31, 2016

    might as well use it

    when i placed my order for my guitar and case, they were telling me about this item, which i was not aware of. then he said he will put this item in with my purchase, no charge. i just follow the directions and put it in my case. might as well use it, if its going to keep the guitar in good shape.

  • Bruce
    from Missouri January 24, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simple humidifier

    PRO: Easy to use. No mess. inexpensive.
    CON: Remembering to refresh it at least weekly.
    Unsure: No way to know that it is keeping the inside of the guitar case at a good humidity level. Not sure how long the molded in hinge for the lid will hold up.
    If you have a room that you can humidify, that will be better. Use this when traveling.

  • Greg Baum
    from Fort Wayne, IN February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Singer/Songwriter, Performer

    Herco Guardfather HE360 On Your Axe

    This is one of the world's finest Luddite products that works. As you know, wintertime can murder a guitar. Even a solid body electric brought to extreme low humidity can suffer damage: Fingerboard shrinks, the tines of the frets stick out on the sides like little razor blades. I keep all of my guitars in a room with a humidifier. I also put one of the HE360's in every one of their cases. One of my guitars gets 2 HE360's in its case. I do not have humidity issues. The HE360 is reusable forever. I probably own a couple dozen of these. I will get more if I need them.

  • Mark
    from Rockford, IA January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced musician

    Cheep & Works Good

    This product works as advertised. It is very simple to use and it keeps my acoustic guitars from drying out. If you play often you won't forget to do the necessary refills because you see it in the case when you remove the guitar. If your guitars spend a lot of time in storage you may want to get something that doesn't need to be refilled every 2 weeks. I like the fact that once you buy this you don't have to buy refill packs so it is cheep to buy and cheep to own. It also doesn't drip water. The only down side is that you will want to find a way to secure it so that it doesn't move around in the case when you are transporting the instrument.

  • Tommy
    from Richmond, Va February 3, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Works well if you keep your guitar in a case

    I bought this because it's been dry and I thought I could just humidify my guitars "as needed." I thought I'd just stick the guitar in a case for a week with the humidifier and "refresh" it. Unfortunately, it doesn't work like that. After I did further research, I realized your guitar needs to stay at a constant humidity, not fluctuating. I can't stand keeping my instruments in cases because I'm lazy. I need them on a stand for easy access or they won't get played. So I decided to invest in a room humidifier instead. As for this product, I still intend to use it when I travel. It is easy, convenient, and effective when you have your instrument in it's case.

  • Dave
    from Albany, NY September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Collector, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Good Humidifier!!

    Call me paranoid but I use a humidifier on every guitar in my collection (28) and this one is the best deal by far. Compared to the price of the 'other' humidifier you can't go wrong. I use those on my acoustics because they can be hung into the hole and held by the string, but these are a quarter of the price and contain what seams like a solid clay substance. I still soak them for 30 min in distilled water and in a closed case a get a perfect reading for months. Put double sided tape on them so they don't slide around in your case. If they did that I would give a 5!

  • Jim
    from Hermleigh, TX USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Singer / Songwriter

    Herco Humidifier

    This low priced humidifier does its job well. I don't like the idea of sticking a humidifier between the strings and this one just sits in the case behind the cutaway. Very satisfied with it.

  • Mike Leake
    from Albuquerque, NM March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Former Pro Musician, Now a Hobbyist

    Substandard humidification

    The best I could do with this is about 37% humidity inside the guitar case, according to my trusty hygrometer, and it was sometimes lower than that. I'm looking for a humidity level of at least 40% and preferably 45%.

    I live in the desert southwest and keeping guitars humidified is critical--especially for acoustics, of course, but even for electrics in order to prevent shrinkage around the frets in those instruments. Typical humidity much of the year where I live is in the 20s and 30s with only a month or two getting up into the 50s. Right now it's running in the low 30s, so this humidifier is doing very little above the room humidity level.

    For my acoustics I use both Oasis and Planet Waves in-the-hole humidifiers, which work great. But for solid body electrics I strictly wanted a case humidifier, so I thought I would give this one a try.

    A test I did revealed that the Herco Guardfather H360 would gradually absorb a teaspoon of water over a one-hour period. No more water would absorb for me beyond that point. That would be fine if it would humidify adequately for a few days, but it doesn't. I understand that this product used to have a different hard material inside that would rapidly soak up a few teaspoons of water. Then they "improved" it by replacing that with the current clay-like substance.

    A side-by-side comparison showed that tossing a standard in-the-hole humidifier in the electric guitar case by the headstock would give me over 40% humidity within several hours, as compared with 36-37%. I can't really recommend the Herco if you live in a dry climate. It might work adequately in a higher humidity environment, however.

  • Customer
    from So Ca. March 27, 2015

    Herco Humidifer

    Pretty much useless for me, have never raised the humidity in my guitar cases.

  • Edward Baker
    from Virginia February 20, 2015Music Background:
    extensive

    Not the Best

    Although I am surrounded by water as I live on the east coast, my guitars must think I live in the Sahara Desert. these just do not seem to make any difference to my 2 gauges

Questions about the Herco Guardfather HE360 Humidifier?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close