0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sennheiser HD 600 Open-back Audiophile / Professional Headphones Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser HD 600 Open-back Audiophile / Professional Headphones?

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 600 Open-back Audiophile / Professional Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Pennsylvania January 14, 2017Music Background:
    DJ, Audiophile, Music Lover for Life

    Phenomenal TRUTH cans!

    I really don't need to say much in my review because I would be repeating what so many others have said. I'm the type of guy that prefers a flat and true sound. I enjoy hearing music exactly the way it was produced to sound like. My amp/DAC has a "Direct Mode" that when checked gives me the audio, mostly lossless FLAC or Monkey's Audio, in its purest form straight from the source. Any time I'm listening to music that mode is always enabled. I don't even use any EQ's at all.

    I'm addicted to these and also my pair of HD 650's. I bought lighter and shorter oxygen free cables for both pair. The longer and heavier stock cables are in the boxes safe from harm. If you want a good quality case for the 600 or 650 check out the Geekria EJB-0034-01 case. They fit perfectly in that great looking case.

    The only negative I have to add is that I regret not getting these sooner. I've known about them for many years. Many hours disappear quickly with these on my head but I suppose I'm trying to make up for the time I've lost not being able to enjoy them.

    10 out of 10 stars!

  • from Philadelphia November 17, 2016Music Background:
    Audio engineering student

    Sennheiser HD600 headphones

    Solved my problems of mixing audio in a suboptimal room. Comfortable too.

  • from NJ November 2, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer

    THE headphone for mixing

    You can't go wrong having these headphones in your collection. They really open up mixes and gives the music space that closed back headphones just don't give you.

    Deciding between these and the 650's really comes down to your application. These headphones sound flat and are there for great to mix on. The 650's are more suited to any audiophile who wants to "enjoy" music or even a movie. They have a great surround sound effect and really bring you into the audio. If you A/B the two, you may find the 650 more appealing, but ironically this is why it's bad to mix on per say, the sound is colored to be appealing vs being true and boring.

    I went with this over the AKG's and DT808's because of their delicate high end that doesn't get sibilant like other headphones tend to. Also, the price to performance ratio buts so many brands to shame...Cough Beats Cough

  • from NJ December 16, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer,Audio Geek

    ESSENTIAL CLASSIC HEADPHONES!

    Absolutely beautiful listening experience from these classic, reference-quality headphones! These are a step up from my 13-year-old HD580s, and I'm really spoiled now! Clean highs, just enough bass without any bloat, and that magical HD600 midrange! I've had this pair for nearly two weeks and have noticed some improvement in clarity during this break-in period. Looking forward to mixing home recordings! Comfort is first-rate as is typical of most Sennheiser models. THANK YOU MR. CHRIS LEONARD AND SWEETWATER! ORDERED IT ON A THURSDAY AND HAD IT BY SATURDAY!!!

  • from United States April 29, 2015

    AMAZING HEADPHONES

    Brian VanDeKeere has never failed suggesting best quality items to me, and THIS product simply makes me happy yet again. The CLARITY is so crystal, clear! Also VERY comfortable. I'm now using ProTools 11, and listening to playback with the HD 600 is truly pleasurable, facilitating my recording mixes. I looked at lower priced sets of headphones, but wasn't afraid to pay a bit extra if it made a difference. For this price range, you CAN'T beat these headphones!

  • from Austin, TX December 26, 2014Music Background:
    10 years Recording Engineer/Producer/Guitar Player/Studio owner

    These feel great and sound great! I love that if an artist steps on the cable (and they always do) the cables just pop out and you can plug them back in. They are comfortable and sound great!

    A must have for pro studios!

  • from Forest Hills, NY August 8, 2013Music Background:
    Production And Mastering Engineer

    Sennheiser HD 600

    After looking up all reviews on line and consulting with my sweetwater sales representative Brian VanDeKeere i was convinced these were good headphones. They truly sound great and I'm very happy with this purchase...A+ for Sennheiser ...

  • from NYC January 23, 2013Music Background:
    MUSICIAN/PRODUCER/ENGINEER

    HD600 HEADPHONES

    AFTER PURCHASING 1 SET & LIVING WITH THEM I DECIDED TO OUTFIT MY WHOLE STUDIO WITH THEM- 3 MORE SETS
    THESE ARE THE 1ST HEADPHONES I HAVE FOUND THAT ARE ABLE TO REPLICATE MY STUDIO MONITOR SOUND OF MY
    V-DRUMS & ALL VIRTUAL INSTRUMENTS ACCURATELY.
    VERY COMFY & SOUND SUPER ALWAYS ON ALL MUSICAL STYLES.
    GREAT FOR JAZZ/ROCK & MIXING IF NEEDED.

  • from AZ July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer,Producer

    Best for Mixing

    These are the best headphones ever. I was really surprised! It's like having 8" speakers in your ears. The truth

  • from Nashville, TN January 30, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great headphones worth the money

    I really like these headphones. I bought them cause I do live recording and the ocasional small orchestras. I have to say the openess of the sound is spot on.

    The stereo spread is sweet not overly wide, but with a great recording it feels like they wrap around you. It really made my last live orchestra cd great cause I could accurately place the mics and know how it would sound to tape.

    In live recording you have 1 shot to get it right and these gave me an edge I needed

  • from Earth March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Always learning

    Crisp, flat response

    I guess you have to compromise volume for quality. The overall volume output is rather low. But maybe that's part of the noise-reduction technology.

    For the price, i would expect sturdier cables coming out of these headphones. Other than that, it is built quite well and very comfortable to wear.

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 600 Open-back Audiophile / Professional Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway