0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Martin HD-35 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin HD-35?

Questions about the Martin HD-35?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Austin December 26, 2015Music Background:
    Project studio, musician

    Tremendous sound

    When I was a young buck we used to say Martin's are a "man's guitar". Somehow along the way, I never got around to buying one until now. Thanks to the advice of T.J. Watson, my sales rep, we settled on the HD-35, and I laugh when I say settled; the sound of this guitar is superb... Very rich in the low end and yet excellent detail on the highs. More so than other guitars I have, this guitar reacts based on technique and picking used... As apposed to one tone that respresent the acoustic sound, the HD-35 picks up my nuances while retaining the richness this guitar is known for... It's hard to put this baby down...highly recommended!

  • from No. Ca July 6, 2015Music Background:
    Born again guitar player

    The Last Guitar I'll ever need

    I had always dreamed of owning a D35. So turning sixty, I decided to splurge and finally purchase one to fulfill my mid-life crisis.(I have always been a late bloomer) Since Sweetwater was currently out of stock of the D35, they made it very easy to be talked into an HD35 for a few bucks more. I thought what the heck, I was willing to go that far, I might as well spend a few more dollars. I am very glad I did.
    Not only was I very pleased with the quality and workmanship of this beauty..but also the sound an easy playablility. It's amazing how playing this sweet, suddenly you're playing with ease with confidence galore!
    I was very skectical of buying online, but received it as described on photos and packaging and shipping (just a few days) was superb, and arrived in pristine condition.

  • from June 10, 2015

    My Fears Were Completely Unfounded

    I had done considerable research on exactly which guitar I wanted to buy so by the time I reached Sweetwater during an internet search for Martin HD-35's my choice had already been made. They had four guitars to choose from with complete "professional" photographs that covered every visual detail, plus the serial number for my choice. My Sales Engineer Derek was both courteous and knowledgeable and even made suggestions that I hadn't considered. My biggest fear was how my precious purchase would be packaged and shipped. Derek assured me that they shipped guitars all over the world without problems. My Martin HD-35 arrived in 2 days having been double boxed and tucked securely in it's case. It was PERFECT. The whole process has been a completely pleasurable experience.

  • from Fruita, Colorado April 16, 2015

    It's a Martin: nuff said!

    For the 50+ years I've been playing guitar, I've always owned low to mid priced guitars, because I never thought I could afford a Martin, although it's always been my dream to own one. Well: I'm 71 years old now, retired, and I decided now that I can afford a Martin; I'm going to buy one! When you reach your 70's, you start thinking about the fact that you don't have a lot of time left, so damn it; it's time to buy the expensive things you were afraid to buy in your youth. So I bought myself a new HD-35 Martin from Sweetwater about a month ago.
    And what a guitar it is! I've heard players say that it's bass is 'boomy', but I disagree with that opinion. The tonal balance is perfect for me, and I like the fact that the bass is a little 'pronounced'. This guitar is perfect for my playing style. It sounds like it's 'alive' when I play it, and it's response is absolutely amazing. It's a Martin, after all! Since I received this guitar from Sweetwater, I haven't been able to put it down! I play it so much, I'm actually becoming a better player; which isn't saying much, because I have a lot of room for improvement anyway! And I can't say enough about the workmanship of this guitar. It's so beautifully made, I just sit and look at it when I'm not playing it. I love it for that fact alone! But as I've already said: it's a Martin! And the fact that Martin is a family owned company, which has been in business since 1833, means a lot to me. That's the main reason I ride a Harley Davidson: it has a rich, American made history.
    In closing: I can't say enough good things about my buying experience with Sweetwater. The service I received from my sales rep, Tomir, was the best customer service I've received in years. And every time I've made subsequent purchases from Sweetwater; Tomir has called me to follow up on my order. I've always purchased most of my guitars and related equipment online, because I live in a relatively remote part of western Colorado, and from now on, I'll only do business with Sweetwater.
    Best guitar I've ever owned, it's a dream come true, and in my opinion, it's worth every penny of it's price. If you're like me; and have always wanted to own a great guitar; consider this Martin. It's a bargain!

  • from Southwest Virginia September 3, 2014Music Background:
    Bluegrass Gospel

    C.F. Martin, there is no substitute.

    The Martin D-35 was always the guitar I strived for when I began playing 15 years ago. But after hearing the difference between the D-35 and the HD-35 there was no question about it for me. The scalloped bracing in this guitar makes an incredible difference in the tone overall. The D-35 has always been well known for the deep bass tone it provides but with the HD-35 you are offered a much more "crisp" sound along with the booming bass. Martin just did a wonderful job with balancing the tones so that you get the best of both worlds. The playability is a breeze, and the neck is smooth as silk. In my opinion, you will not find a better sounding, better playing guitar.

    I will be looking to Sweetwater first and foremost for all my music needs. The customer service is exceptional. The time and attention they give really lets you know they care about what they do.

    You can't go wrong by purchasing this guitar from these wonderful people.

  • from United States March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    One Amazing Guitar

    I've been playing cheap Chinese-made learners for most of the last 17 years. Now that I'm able to afford some nice guitars I decided to get an Acoustic that will be a friend for life. This guitar did not disappoint.

    I played just about everything I could get my hands on in the music stores and took a while to decide on what I wanted. I'll spare the long story and just stick with what I love about the HD-35.

    It came out of the box in immaculate shape. The grain was exactly as pictured on the website. The finish was impeccable. And the smell of the cedar kerfed lining was heavenly. When I first turned it over to view the 3-piece back, I was in awe, like when meeting a celebrity, dumbstruck. I couldn't stop staring at it. Truly a work of art. Would almost be worth it just hanging it on the wall or in a display case.

    But OH YEAH this thing is meant to be played! After tuning and playing that first open chord I knew I had a winner. It's loud like a dread is supposed to be. The bass is signature Martin but the highs are surprisingly precise and clear. The sustain is great and has a natural reverb to it. I don't think the action could get any better for my preference. The fingerboard isn't as fast as a Taylor but is still very comfortable. The only negative is that it isn't an easy string bender but that was expected with a 14-fret no cut dread. Finger-picking is precise sounding with just grown out nails.

  • from topanga, CA March 1, 2014Music Background:
    48 years

    martin

    i have been playing guitar almost fifty years now . i have other martins and they are fantastic but this is the most soulful reaching guitar and i played them all.
    the volume just blows u away. i can't put it down i find myself in the ultimate hi

  • from Houston, Texas January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, bought my Yamaha FG-180 in 1969, still play it.

    Martin HD-35

    I am enjoying my new Martin HD-35 immensely. Wanted one for a long time. Sweetwater did everything right. Couldn't ask for better service. No surprises.

  • from Phoenix Az August 12, 2013Music Background:
    former professional now hobbyist

    Why Did I Wait So Long?

    First of all, I never thought I would buy a guitar, let alone one that cost this much, whithout having held and played it. I did however, play a few of the Martin HD 35's (and other models) in stores around town and they all were a little different in feel, tone and finish.....so how was I to know what to expect. Truth of the matter is I didn't. My Sweetwater assosiate, Matt, was extremely helpful in helping me arrive at a decision as to which Martin I wanted, and giving me the confidence and assurance that my purchase would be something I would be completely happy with.....and am I ever! I've been playing guitar for 40 years and have many "high end" electrics but have been playing the same Guild D 25 since the 70's. Why I waited this long to buy an acoustic like this I can't explain as I am blown away by how different the experience of simply sittin' on the couch in my quiet living room just playin' whatever I feel like is with this guitar. The sound is beautiful.....things I have been playing for years sound completely different.......and it is a beautiful instrument as well. I told Matt that this is probably the last acoustic guitar purchase I will ever make but now that I realize this amazing new world of sounds I may be considering the Gibson he said he likes best. I have shared my Sweetwater experience with many of my (skeptical) musician friends, and I know that I will never go anywhere else for any of my music purchases. I love my Martin HD 35....play one and you'll see....or mabey it's a different model....everyone has their own comfort zone....but to me, this guitar purchase is something I can't believe I waited so long to do. Thanks Matt and Sweetwater....you have a customer for life!

  • from Warrior, Al June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Outstanding Tone & Playability

    For anyone looking to purchase a high end solid wood acoustic guitar, the Martin HD-35 is certainly worth your consideration. The tone produced by this fine instrument is second to none. Playing is an ease, the intonation is accurate and it seems to stay in tune forever. The workmanship is excellent as you would expect from people who have been making guitars for 180 years. Yes, it is expensive, but if you've reached a point in your life where you feel you deserve it, go for it. I wish I had bought mine sooner. Absolutely love it and the fine people at Sweetwater are great to work with (special thanks to Kal).

  • from February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Student, Musician.

    Balance and kick

    I've never got two Martin guitars on a same quiet room, so I'll be of no use trying to compare this one to another Martin. I bought my HD35 from Sweetwater last november, and right now I'm certain that I'm keeping it until I die. Strumming this amazing guitar just makes you want more. And it's the perfect companion of a singer. It gives incredible balance to the sound and precise tuning.
    The real thing came when I recorded it: FULL sound. It pleases so much that it's hard to try and cut any freqs with an EQ. Just good vocals and this instrument would be enough for me on a record.
    Until I got to record it was the moment where I realized what I was holding in my hands. It's almost insane an acoustic guitar that sounds like this.
    Playability is excellent. It's not easy to let it rest.
    Case is very good also.
    I'm really thankfull for this guitar.

  • from Bergenfield NJ September 12, 2012Music Background:
    intermediate hobbyst blues classic rock

    Martin HD 35

    Thanks Ryan for all your help. The Martin Is a work of art and the sound just blows me away. This will only get better with age.
    looking forward to dealing with you in the future. Thanks Again

  • from Rural NC, USA January 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin HD-35

    First of all the Sweetwater people are great to work with . My guitar arrived in pristine condition , double boxed and in its case , The smell of the rosewood is just great and continues 3 weeks later as I write this, The Martin HD-35 is just an amazing piece of musical artistry , I have 3 Martins now and this one is louder than my Martin D-41 because of the way the back is constructed which is beautiful to listen to and look at . The action is extraordinary and I bought this one specifically for bluegrass country flat picking . I use the D-41 for finer pick work and this complements both models . Best price on the web BTW and I looked for about a year after I was disappointed with local shops .

  • from Central California January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Sound!

    This is an amazing guitar!
    The sound is unbelievable!
    Strong bass with a smooth balance to the treble side!
    I only had one disappointment and that is that the fret ends are sharp.
    It's an easy fix however it costs and my nearest Martin Authorized Service Center is 2-1/2 hours away.
    I will make the trip.
    It will be the perfect guitar for me!
    I should have considered purchasing locally!
    Overall Sweetwater has been ok!

Questions about the Martin HD-35?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway