0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Martin HD-28VE - Natural w/Fishman Ellipse Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Northern mi May 28, 2016Music Background:
    Many years picking

    Martin hd28 ve

    Received the hd28 for Christmas from my wife. 5 months later after playing it every day I am still. Blown away. What a great guitar fits into my collection of other Martin and gibsons .

    As usual Sweetwater delivered it with outstanding service. Including follow up call,s .thanks Sweetwater for your personalized service. Well done.

  • from Mobile, AL December 8, 2015

    HD28VE

    I received this guitar last week and it is fantastic! Love the tone and playability. I love the thicker neck too. I highly recommend this guitar. I had the opportunity to play this model guitar side by side with a HD28, J40 and the M36 by Martin. I kept coming back to this model and decided to buy it and I have no regrets.

  • from WV October 31, 2014Music Background:
    lots .. bands, solo work, singing, etc.

    Martin HD28V

    I have never owned a better guitar. I pick it up and.start playing a song that I have never played before. I have been playing for 40 years and I still find a new thing or two, especially so with my D28. Thank you so much for making it affordable.

  • from Missouri October 22, 2013Music Background:
    I'm a drummer with a guitar habit

    Phenomenal after some personalization

    So, thanks to TJ Bechill for helping me at Sweetwater, great customer service! Well this was a saga of sorts ending on a very high note. I wanted to love this. I got it home, ouch! High action sore fingers heartbreak! The Sweetwater folks came through big and offered to have things fixed as I like them etc etc. but that's hard to do long distance through a fedex truck and a phone call. So I put on some lighter strings. It felt better but sounded different. Then I took this to a local excellent tech who new just what to do. He adjusted the truss rod, lowered the action and restrung it with tony rice mediums. I thought oh no but OMG it is now like butter and has thump, sustain, brilliance, and ease of use up up up the neck. My point here is that these are world class guitars and Sweetwater is a world class dealer but Martins are good out of the box and stunning when you get it set up correctly for your needs. I have many many guitars and I do most of my own tinkering, but I wasn't comfortable tinkering much with a $3500 instrument. Glad I didn't . It is now the best playing guitar I have and without a doubt best sounding. As for the electronics...well I didn't buy it for them. They are top notch but not used by me effectively. But at the prices they were cheaper to get on the guitar than not have them. No brainier get if you may use them once. Soooooo..... Get it if your thinking about it. But remember,,,you get more out of it if you set it up to YOUR needs. ,it was $45 and worth twice that. Don't skimp on that piece of the puzzle. Your fingers and heart will thank you!

  • from New York, New York May 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The best Martin there is

    This is the one, the best sounding Martin in the world. Thanks to Paul Rowan for helping me out here, he's excellent and knowledgeable.

  • from Indiana, USA December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Herringbone

    I own the non-electric version of this Martin guitar. It is absolutely a super guitar for any style of music. It really shines though in flatpicking styles such as Bluegrass, Country, and Blues music. Not only it looks great, but sounds better with age. I have had this cannon for 5 years now and still am blown away by the sound each time I pick it up. When it comes to acoustic guitars, you CAN NOT go wrong purchasing a Martin guitar, they are also a great investment. This guitar is well worth the money.

  • from Palm Harbor Florida May 8, 2008Music Background:
    Writer/musician

    First Class!

    The guitar is perfect in all respects. As it turns out this purchase exceeded my expectations on every level.

    Although I have made many successful non-guitar purchases from Sweetwater, I was a bit concerned about buying a guitar "over the telephone". So, if you are like me, and concerned about buying a guitar before playing/seeing it, all I can tell you is that this is a company (sales rep = Jim Swain) I now trust as my source for ALL music instruments and gear. Sweetwater/Jim Swain is truly the first name in "First Class Service" for all my music needs!

  • from Florence, MT October 20, 2006Music Background:
    Christian / Country Song Writer

    The HD-28VE

    Well I must say that this HD-28VE was more than I expected. I’ve played for over thirty years with many kinds of guitars. C F Martin certainly is consistent with quality workmanship and sound. Whether I’m picking or strumming, the HD-28V is an incredible instrument. The HD-28V has a very clear distinct low bass along with mid and upper range for a beautiful balanced sound. Taylor holds no ground. The closest I’ve come to this beautiful instrument in appearance and sound is my Tacoma DR20, but in reality pales to this Martin. Price is always a huge factor in shopping guitars, but play with this Martin and quickly understand why. You won’t go wrong with this model. The
    Fishman Ellipse Blend amplification system with this guitar, played through my Ultrasound Acoustic Amplifier makes for one great sounding instrument.

    Contemporary Christian / Country

  • from Smithfield, VA June 28, 2016Music Background:
    working musician

    Martin HD-28VE

    I have several Martin guitars and have had pickups installed, but the HD-28VE with the Fishman Ellipse is outstanding. The guitar is amazing; not only does it look good, it has the great Martin sound. The sound is balanced between the low tones and the treble strings. The various settings available with the Fishman pickup make the guitar quite versatile. The one I ordered had a buzz when I picked strings 3,4,and 5. When I called and expressed by concern about this, the technician told me to return the guitar for an adjustment and I am anxiously waiting for its return. The technician sent me the shipping label which took care of the cost to return the instrument. I could not be more pleased with the service I received from the Sweetwater staff and I am thrilled to own this fine Martin instrument.

Questions about the Martin HD-28VE - Natural w/Fishman Ellipse?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway