0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Martin HD-28E - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin HD-28E - Natural?

Questions about the Martin HD-28E - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Muscatine March 20, 2017Music Background:
    Playing guitar since 1956.

    My new D-28

    My new D-28E Retro arrived the next day, in pristine condition. Perfectly in tune after shipping. Beautiful guitar that even smells good. Plays like a dream with enough volume to cover up my (sometimes) bad singing. The on-board tuner works great and provides "Spot on" tuning as good or better than my clip-on tuners and works with a push of a button. The finish is beautifully done and without blemish.

    Oh, by the way, I love it (in case you couldn't tell).

  • from March 10, 2017

    2 Years Now

    This is a fantastic guitar. The sound and depth of the guitar (especially if you do some finger picking) will make you very happy. After two years of playing it (bought on Sweetwater), I can say it holds up very well. Sound has only become better. My only complaint about this guitar is the nitrocellulose finish is a bit touchy. It doesn't take much to leave marks in it. Be very careful if you play gigs in warmer climates or sweat at all during playing. I've had to put an arm sock on to keep sweat from ruining the finish where my arms hangs over the guitar.

  • from Ct December 13, 2016

    Best I've ever had!!

    The look, the feel, the smell of the wood, the sound, I can't put this guitar down. When I take it out of the case at a gig or open mic night, it gets passed around like you know what. Everyone who plays it loves it. Thank you Aaron for helping me rationalize this purchase, he always does, no matter what I'm buying!

  • from New Jersey October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Lead/acoustic praise and worship band

    Amazing!!!!

    I have owned this guitar for about a year now, and I'm still blown away every time I play it. I play Sunday praise and worship and this is my go to acoustic guitar. To note I also have the Taylor 814 with the new ES2 but this Martin guitar is different. I don't understand why people would say it doesn't sit well in a band because it does and it sounds amazing with the proper setup, gear and settings. Johnny Cash or Elvis Presley could not have played a D-28 if they are not good, right?

  • from Texarkana, USA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    "Jack of all trades, master of none"

    Martin HD-28E Retro

    Nothing surprising, it's a Martin!
    Ordered it on Tuesday and was playing it before noon Friday. Came out of the box unblemished and in tune. A typical example of the professional service of Sales Engineer Matt Kreager and all the people of Sweetwater. It's hard not to get a complaint from a 70 year old but you succeeded.
    By the way, the Fishman F1 Aura+ electronics are great.

  • from Denver, CO USA November 26, 2014Music Background:
    Mech Engineer / Gigging Musician Side Job

    Electro-Acoustic Cannon

    This Martin is fantastic! I've had it for about a month, previously played a Taylor cutaway through a Fishman Aura Spectrum. The neck is just right for fast bluegrass pickin down on the open chords, and running up the neck whenever you like. The sound is fantastic - sounds like an acoustic, only louder! My history is playing Upright bass through every Fishman piezo imaginable, via a good AI amp. Switched to guitar, and have struggled to get a loud acoustic punchy tone until this beauty. Have added a drummer to our acoustic act and turning it up is no problem within reason - and I've seen no reason to get into the advanced settings, basic F1 settings do just fine with no fuss.

  • from Cedar Rapids, IA November 6, 2014Music Background:
    Professional - performance, studio and worship for 40 years.

    After 2 years with this dream guitar

    Everyday, I grab a guitar; at this season of life, a six-string is a tool of the trade. Having said that, I've never enjoyed an instrument like this Martin Hd 28e retro. Perfect neck, fingerboard, tone and electronics. Unplugged, this guitar intuitively recreates 50 years of the sounds that define a perfect instrument. Engaged, the Aura system bypasses the complexities of a studio environment. As it ages, the guitar is "opening up," sounding like a lifetime of favorite moments. From Taylors to Gibsons, I've owned and played them all, but this Martin out-performs anything I've touched.

  • from Phoenix AZ USA May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, lover of fine acoustic guitars! Beatle nut.

    Martin HD-28E...the best of both worlds!

    What serious guitarist hasn't dreamed of owing a "Vintage" Martin Herringbone Dreadnought? Since I don't have $20,000+ to buy a "pre-war" model, I thought I'd try a new HD-28E Retro. What Martin has achieved with this model is incredible! It has all the "Vintage" vibe you want in looks, plus the amazing rich, powerful tone that Martin is famous for! This is one beautiful, well made guitar that delivers! The Aura+ System has so many options that, if want to get serious about dialing in your tone, it will give you all you can handle! For me, I am happy with the "Easy mode" pre-sets (3 plus pick-up only), which is very simple to use. The built-in tuner is a nice addition, and the mute feature is great for live gigs. The lower bout strap button is separate from the plug-in jack, with easy access to the 9v battery...love it! I can't say enough about this fine Martin guitar...wonderful tone, great sustain, punchy bass, full mids, clear/bright treble, comfortable neck, 1 3/4" nut, bone saddle/nut, aged toner top, open-geared butterbean tuners, old-style Martin logo decal, beveled Tortoise shell pick guard. If I could only own ONE acoustic guitar...this would be it. BTW, Sweetwater is the BEST...buy from them!! Great customer service, and nice, friendly people too.

  • from CT March 11, 2014

    Bucket List

    A true instrument, not just a guitar. The sound is so rich and the action is the best. A pleasure to play. A life dream to own.

  • from Greer, SC March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Performing musician, recording engineer, live sound

    A great investment for performing musicians

    Opened my new baby yesterday and it is everything I expected and then some. The acoustic sound is pure Martin. The Aura f1+ offers 9 great sounding images with fully acoustic sound. Even when on full pickup mode, its very acoustic. No "quack"! I love the new neck profile on this series. Extremely playable all the way down the neck. You will love both the power and flexibility of this new Martin creation!

    My purchase has been enhanced as well by the standard of excellence in service from SWEETWATER. They are simply the best! Ordered the guitar Monday afternoon and it arrived Wednesday several states away. The Martin shipping box had been repacked with additional padding and then entirely repacked inside a SWEETWATER shipping carton. Couldn't ask for better. Service like this is what makes SWEETWATER my first call for all equipment needs. Brandon Eden is my sales engineer and was assisted by Arron Finkbiner on this order. Thanks guys!

  • from USA February 7, 2016

    The Real Deal!!

    What can I say? This is one of those instruments that is exceptionally well made (it is a Martin after all!), sounds great and plays very well and is, IMHO, what a guitar should look like. Even if you never use the electronics, it sounds fantastic. The "Retro Series" has very nice upgrades over the "Standard Series" HD-28 like an "aging toner" on the soundboard, open back tuners, ivoroid binding and heel cap, a 1 3/4" nut on the modified low oval profile w/performing artist taper neck, nicer inlays on the fretboard, and of course, the uniquely designed Fishman Aura 1+ electronics designed just for the "Retro Series". They don't get much better than this and, if they do, it'll cost you dearly!

Questions about the Martin HD-28E - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway