0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Closed-back Studio and Live Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Closed-back Studio and Live Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Closed-back Studio and Live Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indianapolis December 25, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, Guitarist, Bassist and Drummer

    Just bought them.

    Perfect headphones for breaking into the recording world or in your home studio!

  • from New York December 18, 2016Music Background:
    DJ, Producer, Engineer, Pianist

    JUST GREAT

    When I first bought these I put them inside my vocal booth and didn't remove them for almost 2 years. Recently tried using them to mix down a record and wow...They are so revealing and true. I am so impressed with these headphones from Sennheiser that I am now in the market for one of their open back hi end models.

  • from Hollis, NH December 1, 2016Music Background:
    Graduate of MI Hollywood CA, Live/Studio drumming. Live and Studio

    Best in this range

    For audio comparison and "A-B-ing" tests, I own a ATH-M50x, AKG K240, Sennheiser hd650, and Beyerdynamic DT 770 Studio. The K240 and hd650 are open back so not apples to apples. But the 770 and m50X are similar closed back like the HD 280 Pros.

    For my ears the hd650 are amazing, VERY flat, smooth accurate, super detailed, the best for truly accurate listening and mixing. I use them to compare sound of other cans.

    The only closed back sets I have found that are even close in sound to the hd650's are the HD280's. No, they do not sound the same but they have the most natural mid range and hi end of the other two closed back I own. To me the M50x phones are very hyped in the high end and low end, mids seem scooped. The 770's have better mid range and hi end but a tad less low end than the 280's.

    I like the larger ear cups of the HD280's and 770's. The smaller ear cushions on the M50x's are not as comfortable. The M50x's may be better for tracking due the the more pronounced hi end, but for general listing they are to hyped for me...almost harsh.

    As far as tracking with drums, non of these closed back are great at blocking out loud drumming but I find the HD280's a tad better than the 770's and M50x's.

    Between the 3 closed back can's I own the HD280 are the most comfortable. All around if I'm traveling, mixing live etc and can only take one set of can's with me, I always go for the HD280's.

  • from Opelika,AL November 11, 2016Music Background:
    30 years playing guitar

    Great headphones

    Very nice headphones. I got them mainly to listen to my guitar through my Helix and was blown away with the sound quality. They are crystal clear with tight low response. They are also very comfortable. Highly recommend especially for the money.

  • from Panama City, FL January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Sound guy since 1979 (4 channel Realistic!)

    Recent Headphone Purchase

    I recently purchased these headphones to use while using one of our sound boards at church. The amount of attenuation of outside noise is great, but also leads to a tight fit on the head. The flat frequency response is also noticeable and they just sound great with a clean thumping bass all the way to crisp clear cymbals.

  • from Albany Oregon January 3, 2017

    Closed-back studio headphones

    Love the headphones just wish they had the option of changing the cord to both sides of the ears. They sound great and feel good.

  • from December 7, 2016Music Background:
    VoiceOver

    Sennheiser Review

    These are great! All I hear is what I recorded and I can hear the smallest background sound in any recording. These headphones are a great investment.

  • from Kissimmee, Fl November 21, 2016

    Nice Cans

    Very comfortable headphones, a little tight but they should wear in nicely. They were very compatible w/my Samson SR850's but better at cancelling any outside noise. A nice quality set of cans to last many years. As always Sweetwater's service does excel, thanks James for helping me w/my decision.

  • from December 16, 2016

    Great product

    Thank you for the good deal. Awesome headphones! This is my 2nd pair. My first pair lasted since 2005!

  • from December 9, 2016

    Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Monitoring Headphones

    Pros: Great Headphones for drummers. Great sound isolation and very good audio sound quality with impressive low end and full ranges frequency response. Single heavy duty cord with 1/4" and 1/8" interface.
    Great value for the price!

    Cons: Coiled cord is a a hassle, the coil of wire is to heavy hanging from your head and should be a straight cord.

  • from Decatur, TX November 27, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Good Headphones, but...

    I wanted another pair of monitoring headphones and didn't want to pay the price for another A-T M50x. Based on a couple of reviews I ordered these. They are nice and actually more comfortable than the A-T's. But, that is where the pro's end. The A-T's have much better sound quality, especially with bass quality. The A-T's also seem to be better built. I realize since they are not as expensive as the M50x, I'm not really comparing apples to apples. If you don't want to spend more than 100.00, these will certainly serve you well. However, if you can afford the extra, the A-T's are worth it.

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Closed-back Studio and Live Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close