0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Sennheiser HD 202-II Lightweight Closed-back On-ear Headphones Reviews

3.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • Hayden Aiken
    from December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced

    Excellent Sound, Quickly uncomfortable

    Disclaimer: I think I have bigger ears.
    These phones sound amazing; very clear and excellent bass and everything.
    I can't wear these things for more than 30 minutes to an hour and I have 2 layers of foam shoved inside them. They're not very deep at all and without modification, my ears were sore after 10-15 minutes. if you have small ears, don't care, plan to modify, or are on a tight budget, they're perfect for you.

  • Customer
    from November 17, 2016

    Pretty good, but flimsy

    They sound fairly good, and the price is right, but they've got some issues. Earpieces are just barely as large as my ears, the earpieces pop off sometimes when you don't expect it, and where the cable connects to the earpieces breaks/frays very easily. The lab that I run has three pairs of these that only sound out of one ear because of the last issue.

  • Customer
    from March 12, 2016

    Extremely Powerful Sound

    Love the headphones especially when watching movies on my tablet. It has a perfect sound, can't complaint.

  • Ed
    from Earth October 14, 2015Music Background:
    Always learning

    Great for the $

    My only complaint is the cable is super long and I have to keep it wrapped up with a cable tie. Other than that, I use these headphones for my home PC and ipod. They don't sound too bad for the money. You can't go bad with Sennheiser.

  • J
    from Nashville April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Solid for the price

    So you're starting out a studio and you want to put your money where it does the most good (mics, pres, monitors, acoustic treatment). You might be able to afford one set of really nice headphones, but you also need a whole bunch of others for when you're tracking a larger band.

    That was me 7 years ago. I bought four of these plus an ART 4-channel headphone amp as a package deal for about $110 bucks. They were absolutely perfect in that regard. The almost ten foot cable means you don't need to buy a whole bunch of extensions so that the artists can move around the tracking room. They come with 1/8 to 1/4 adapters so you don't have to buy those, either. Most of all, they are super comfortable to wear and surprisingly durable. I still have all four and all four are still in working order after seven years of use.

    The sound is solid, but it's not anything to mix with. They are a little choked for high end, which actually is nice if you're just using them to monitor while tracking, as it means no ear fatigue. They are lightweight and comfortable and also allow for plenty of adjustment. Over the past seven years, I've upgraded my tracking headphones and have bought others that are better. However, I still keep these guys around for when I have crazy sessions and still need a few extra cans to hand out to people who might be hanging out in the studio.

    At any rate, I think these are the perfect headphones for a beginning studio. They are durable and do their job without costing an arm and a leg, so you won't feel bad about replacing them when you're able.

  • Isaac
    from Castillo March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Extremely Uncomfortable!!!

    They are extremely uncomfortable!!! I cant go longer than 30 Minutes wearing them, even after taking long breaks in between. Go with something great like AKG, amazing quality and awesome comfort.

  • Phil in College Park
    from College Park, MD USA September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Part time audiophile and played in college band.

    Great Bargain Headphones; Sennheiser HD 202-II

    Have had these for about two weeks. They are very comfortable on my largish head. No pressure points so far. For the money, the sound is like a $250 set of phones. They ear cups surround the ears and provide a good acoustic image of the recording venue. The HD 202s image the best of my 3 sets of headphones. Sound is balanced and clear. Will eventuallly get another pair, possibly the momementum by Sennheiser.

  • Rav
    from Kansas December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/Production

    Great phones!

    These are great. I love the directions the earpieces move in (they sort of swivel in place in a way you wouldn't expect). Easy to adjust, super comfortable (I love the pad on the top head piece!!)

    As far as sound goes they're great. They've got nice crisp clear sounds without any major frequency gains - it's flat but clear.

    Don't let their cheap price fool you, they're great phones!

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 202-II Lightweight Closed-back On-ear Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway