0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Sennheiser HD 201 Lightweight Closed-back Over-ear Headphones Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser HD 201 Lightweight Closed-back Over-ear Headphones?

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 201 Lightweight Closed-back Over-ear Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Kent Arnspiger
    from Hurst, TX January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Electric/Accoustic Guitar Hobbyist

    Very Happy

    I needed some headphones for practicing electric guitar and the Sennheiser HD201 are perfect. Great sound, very comfortable, and perfect for my needs. I didn't want to spend a lot for headphones and took some time to read the reviews on Sweetwater. Decided to take a chance on these and I'm very happy with their performance.

  • Customer
    from September 3, 2015

    Great for the money

    I own two pairs of these and love them. I also own a pair of Bose but these are great and come very close to the Bose. Lows and Highs are very natural sounding.

  • Bruce Bartlett
    from Asheville, NC December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound engineer, mic engineer, pro musician

    Great value for the money

    As a recording engineer and microphone engineer for 30 years, I'm often looking for headphones with a wide-range, neutral sound. I wanted an affordable backup for my preferred headphones, AKG K271 MKII which I gave 5 stars in a Sweetwater review.

    The Sennheiser HD 201 ($29) comes close to the sound of the AKG K271 MKII ($199) for about 1/6 the price. Starting with the low end, the HD 201 has tight, deep bass that is more emphasized than the AKG. In other words, the Sennheiser seems to have a little too much bass for accuracy, but it's probably marketed to many listeners who like extra bass

    If you wear eyeglasses while using the Sennheiser, their frames create a small leak in the 'phones air seal which reduces the bass to a more-accurate tonal balance, in my opinion.

    In the midrange, the Sennheiser really shines. It's an uncolored, smooth sound that does great justice to the human voice. The treble frequencies (cymbals, etc.) sound smooth as well, if a little diminished compared to the AKG.

    Construction is sturdy and the 'phones are comfortable to wear. They have a little more pressure on the head than the AKG.

    I took off 1/2 star for the exaggerated bass, but otherwise these 'phones give a lot of bang for the buck.

  • johnnyc
    from Cleveland,OH January 1, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great value

    they sound great, price is right, you can't go wrong

  • Jeremy
    from Scottsdale, AZ August 1, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Guitar Player, Producer

    Great Head Phones

    These headphones are great. I got them a couple years ago when I started recording. I used them for many years until I recently upgraded. They sound great and the price is great too.

  • Gregory Morales aka Flu Season
    from Gastonia, NC/Paterson, NJ September 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hip Hop/Rap/R&B recording engineer and artist

    They get it done...

    i have had these Sennheiser HD 201's for a while now....they get the job done....good quality studio headphones....durable, reliable, and comfortable....they dont get very loud however....when you really want to crank up the mix, you wont be able to....so if you are looking for something that does you might want to upgrade from these and get something a little bit more pricier...overall though, these are pretty good for the price..

  • Michael Gardner
    from Illinois November 2, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player, Guitar Player, Composer, Producer

    Good for the Money

    I would have liked to buy more expensive Sennheiser headphones, but alas, so many dreams, so little money. These ones are inexpensive and not bad, for the money, but they do fall short of better quality Sennheiser headphones - by a long shot. But they are sufficient for regular use as a simple listening device. However, I could not use them in music production as their reproductive quality is just not up to snuff. Overall, I'm satisfied that I got my money's worth though.

  • M. Stolarz
    from Pittsburgh, Pa. March 14, 2015

    Sennheiser Sound off

    I recently purchased the Sennheiser HD 201 headphones. Ok sound, not loud enough for one thing. The worst part about these phones is the under insulated cord. I have had this pair about two months and I couldn't get any sound out of them. Under closer inspection the cord had a cut in it. I realize that in a studio environment theres a lot of switching of sitting and standing from one instrument to the other. especially if you're a one man show like me. It must have got wrapped around a chair leg or something. That's the nature of cords and cables. Sennheiser should make the cord stronger and thicker. I know It only cost me 30 dollars, but that could have been spent toward a better quality set of headphones. Kind of bummed, but you live and learn. My advice do your homework before rushing to buy a set of phones.

Questions about the Sennheiser HD 201 Lightweight Closed-back Over-ear Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway