0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

Martin HD-16R Adirondack Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Nova Scotia March 22, 2016

    Affordable Adirondack/Rosewood Martin Powerhouse!!

    Bought my HD-16R back in 2008 (175th Anniversary) when they 1st came out. I had owned a D-16RGT previous, but the HD-16R is a different beast all together!! Big, big tone, lots of low end muscle, punchy mids, chimy highs and so much clarity and note seperation that you just can't get from sitka topped guitar!
    Its been 8yrs and its still my go to guitar!..if you think your new one sounds good now, give it a couple years, Mine has opened up big time.....some much power and so much clarity, best of both worlds folks!!

  • from Vancouver November 27, 2015

    Because you can't take a Pre war Martin to the beach

    With its M&T neck joint, hybrid bracing, and horrendous tuning machines, most Martin aficionados would scoff at the Idea of this guitar even being mentioned alongside a Pre war D28; however, in atleast one sense I believe this to be the best reissue of a golden era Martin on the market. Sure, in this day in age you can buy an authentic series 1937 D28, and once it breaks in, it will be a very fine guitar (not that it isn't already). The problem with those is that with their hide glue construction and VTS cooked tops, they come with a fairly authentic price tag aswell. At the very least, authentic enough that you would never put a pickup in it, or gig with it, or play it around a campfire, or on a hot day, rainy day, before washing your hands, etc. And so how will these guitars ever truly break in? The Hd-16r is a player's martin with all the necessary pre-war aesthetics. It is a guitar that you can live with and create stories with. One which is capable of living the life those early martins lived before they became collectable, and at the end of the day when the finish on the top looks like Neil Young's "Hank" guitar, your hd-16r will have more in common with its pre-war counterparts than anything coming out of the martin custom shop these days.

    I highly recommend; polishing the face of the headstock (an absolute must for any foil logo Martin in my opinion), bone pins, nut and saddle, and a set of open back Waverleys. This brings the price close to used hd-28v territory, but with its Adirondack top and 30s neck width and profile, I believe this to be the obvious choice.

  • from San Jose April 9, 2015Music Background:
    multi instrumentalist and gear head who lives to gig

    Great workhorse!

    I've owned this guitar for about 5 years now and it has been a workhorse for me. I've gigged extensively with this guitar and it delivers every time. I've owned several Martin's and this one is my favorite and the one I'll keep for life. I love the color of the Adirondack spruce and this guitar is also really loud (did somebody say bluegrass cannon?!?). The range of dynamics you can achieve with this instrument is inspiring. I highly recommend the Tony Rice signature guitar strings on this bad boy. Call up your Sweetwater rep and get you one today!

  • from United States March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin HD-16R Adirondack

    With beautiful quality that matches its ease to play this guitar is wonderful. Tremendous sound and resonance. Love it.

  • from Atlanta, GA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Expert Hobbyist

    Smells like candy, sounds like heaven

    Perfection. I am fortunate to live near a couple of really high-end acoustic retailers. I have played custom r taylors, custom martins, larivees, and gibsons. I am 100% telling you that there is no better sounding acoustic than this guitar right here. I play everything from ac/dc to finger style classical and even folk songs in alternate tunings (which this guitar loves). Strumming, picking, plinking or harmonics, this guitar can do it all and it sounds incredible. Deep base, warm mids, and shimmering highs. This guitar sounds like a piano and it can produce different sounds (warmer or brighter) depending on how you play it. I can only think of one custom OM martin that I've played that sounds as good or even tempted me to buy a second guitar. This guitar is a Maybach among Chryslers. The stained top, the wide string spacing, the rosewood and adirondack grain, the smell of candy that exhales out of her when you strum, I literally cannot recommend this guitar any more highly. It comes with a black case with gold latches and green interior. I bought it from sweet water and it shipped to me in just a couple days in perfect condition. Sweetwater's service after the sale is unbeatable. All you need to do is click "add to cart" and smile.

  • from April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Play Guitar

    Awesome Guitar! Really Martin!

    I bought this Martin HD16RA from, A.J. Becerra. This is very good tone, nice hand feeling, i especially purchase Martin 640 Case for my HD16-RA! Thanks A.J.!! You Rock!

  • from Louisville KY February 4, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur

    Awesome guitar

    I was blown away by the tone,volume and projection of this guitar. I was concerned about the richlite fingerboard because in the description it said ebony. Andrew made sure that I was happy and took care of me.

  • from Florence, KY / Miramar Beach, FL December 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Another Great Martin!

    This is the 6th Martin I have owned and I have never been disappointed. The finish on this guitar is gorgeous and the sound is BOOMING! It may be my favorite Martin yet (with the exception of the 000 my wife gave me for Christmas in 1995).

  • from Austin, Texas January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Wannabe Musician

    I love the smell of Adirondack and Rosewood in the morning...

    I waited anxiously for the FedEx truck to arrive with my new HD-16R from Sweetwater Sound, Inc. I had looked and played every guitar possible before I came across this model locally, which had everything I wanted and then some. My final decision boiled down between the D-28 and the HD-16R but the 1 3/4" nut width persuaded me toward the HD-16R. I was also looking for "something special" and I found that with the herringbone inlay and diamond fingerboard position inlays. I ended up buying from Sweetwater rather than "going local" because of the conditions in which Sweetwater stores their instruments ~ and given the fact that I didn't want someone else's grubby hands on my guitar! With some quick fine tuning my new guitar played exactly like it should and it killed me to put it back in its case so that I could get back to work. Even though I wish this particular model had the dove-tail neck joint, my salesman at Sweetwater convinced me that the mortise and tenon joinery would hold up just as well over time. If you can swing the extra $200 over the D-16, you will be very happy with the Rosewood back and sides on the HD-16R. This is an absolutely beautiful guitar and, overall, a great value compared to the numerous other models and manufacturers I looked at during my search. Martin is truly America's Guitar!

  • from Houston Texas January 29, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    workhorse meets thoroughbred; nice horsie!

    I have been playing for decades and to me it is the quiet time that you have with your guitar that really sets out whether the guitar is a piece of furniture or a sweet piece of inspiration and motivation.

    Like a lot of fellow musicians, I have been through a lot of quality instruments through the years. This guitar would rank on the short list of my all-time favorites and I only wish that I had found it a lot sooner.

    I like the modified V neck and the choice of woods on this guitar is outstanding. Play this instrument softly and it sings! Play it hard and it stands out beyond expectation.

    Anyone who believes that they can get a better deal than what Sweetwater will do is using 'fuzzy math'.

    This guitar is awesome. If you believe that only dovetail necks can yield incredible tones, then you snooze (and will miss out).

    Note: For you younger musicians; never confuse mid-life crisis purchases with good taste when pondering the cost of something. If this guitar said Bumble Tree Tuna on the headstock it would still be awesome.

  • from AK USA March 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Loudest Martin ever made

    After new bridge pins and a bone saddle upgrade, this guitar is absolutely the best bang for the buck Martin you'll ever buy. Blows away my more expensive dreanoughts, not as well balanced or warm as an hd28 but is will always be the loudest guitar in the room at a jam. If you frequently drop D or DADGAD this guitar is made for you!

Questions about the Martin HD-16R Adirondack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway