0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Heritage Audio HA73jr Microphone Preamp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Heritage Audio HA73jr Microphone Preamp?

Questions about the Heritage Audio HA73jr Microphone Preamp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from SoCal February 6, 2017

    Awesome!

    Its a truly special unit. Its a best in class considering its price, having a hpf, and line in onboard. Without all of those things it still wins, as its exactly what your looking for sound-wise. Ive tried several other sub 1k iterations of this circuit. Up until now, nothing has gotten me this close. Shines on vocals, and synths.

    Im frantically trying to save to get another unit, and will eventually add the eq's as well. This is the real deal folks.

    My Sweetwater Rep, Brian Loney was dead-on with this one!

  • from Raleigh, NC March 30, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, Blues, Metal

    Incredible Classic Piece

    It's the real deal... been tracking vocals on this thing with an SM7b and Warm Audio 1176 after in the chain before printing in Protools... excellent. Just recently tracked a kick drum with it and it was surprising very transient and punchy accompanied with API 550A/560 EQ within the Protools DAW. Incredible piece that is a MUST in your U-rack.

  • from Phoenix, AZ March 14, 2016

    Saturation

    I'm completely loving this preamp after a couple of weeks of ownership. Dialing in a good sound is straightforward. I have gotten thickly saturated sounds from a DI improving tone on my Fender P bass and allowing the bass to be heard easily in a mix. Playback on my iPhone speakers still produced the clear sound of the bass recordings. With a cheap mic I was able to dial in a clean sound by keeping the input transformer subdued and cranking the squeaky clean output transformer. By the way, the pad is in the chain before the input transformer so engaged you can crank the input harder. Also lots of success with my Alpha Juno 2 analog synth. It sounds huge. I will likely invest in the 73eq down the line. Tone galore.

  • from January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Producer/Mixer

    Absolutely Gorgeous Sound

    Cant go wrong with this Pre. The amount of tonal variation the gain knob provides will make it easy to fit any source you throw at it. Great on Vocals - just sounds simply expensive. I usually record guitars direct and this thing gave my Axe Fx 2 a new life. ( Never thought the sound of the Axe fx needed any more but this preamp just gives the sound an extra level of clarity )

    Can't wait to get at least another one of these units for a stereo pair.

  • from Michigan June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Heritage Audio HA73jr

    The Heritage HA73jr is a great addition to the 500 lunchbox series!
    So far I've used a pair these to record stereo acoustic guitar with Royer 101's with very good results. Vocals and DI bass also sound great. I don't see how anyone would be disappointed with this mic pre. I hope to add a few more to my rack soon.

  • from Michigan June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Heritage Audio HA73jr

    The Heritage HA73jr is a great addition to the 500 lunchbox series!
    So far I've used a pair these to record stereo acoustic guitar with Royer 101's with very good results. Vocals and DI bass also sound great. I don't see how anyone would be disappointed with this mic pre. I hope to add a few more to my rack soon.

  • from Texas June 11, 2015

    Great Preamp

    Love it, I'll be buying another soon.

  • from December 11, 2014

    Heritage Audio 73jr

    The 73jr is my first module for my new Lindell Audio 503 500 series chassis. Though I have used a wide variety of console pres, 18" rack pres, and desktop pres in professional environments, this is the first that I have used in my personal recording setup. Previously, I was using the Focusrite 2i2, and I am currently using an Apogee Duet. Switching to the Apogee was a huge step up; the converters are so much cleaner, the mic pres are smoother and more detailed, and they stack nicely. When I plugged the 73jr into the Apogee and bypassed the internal preamps on the interface, I was able to hear an immediate difference. I run the output knob all the way up, and adjust the input gain until I get proper recording levels, then I'll attenuate with the output knob if needed. It's so warm, and smooth, but has a detailed and sweet high end that makes the apogee sound dark and pillowy. The preamp seems to iron out any harsh frequencies, leaving me with a sound that I can just "drop" right into the mix. My first signal to run through it was distorted guitar; there is so much space around the instrument, as if it's picking up the sound of the speaker and the cabinet. As I push the input knob and roll back the output knob, the sound gets brighter and fatter at the same time. It also has this smear to the signal that is very pleasing to the ears. The 73 truly has a character of it's own. It's hard to explain, it just works better. A lot better. When you start to stack tracks through it, that's when it all comes together, and you sit back, and it just sounds huge. It sounds like a record.

  • from United States October 8, 2014

    Great Addition!

    I've used 1073's in many studios however I've never owned one myself, until now. I really can't hear any significant difference from the HA73jr to a 1073. It's just that spot-on! Warm round bottom that adds some weight to the source. Great on vocals, drums, bass. Great purchase at a reasonable price point.

  • from Chicago,IL May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Previous Night Ranger Keyboardist, Producer

    Best Kept Secret

    I've owned and used nice preamps over the years , but this one is my favorite. It sounds exactly like the vintage 1073 modules I've used in the past . Can't wait to get more . My new favorite Bass Di - and just killer on vocals . Sounds like a record.

  • from SF, CA December 18, 2013Music Background:
    music producer

    Great preamp

    Great preamp. bought it for my 500 series setup. built like tank. super high quality. highly recommended.

  • from nj December 2, 2013Music Background:
    musician, writer, engineer, producer

    yes

    Best preamp I own. Just sounds "right" on everything.

  • from Los Angeles October 21, 2015Music Background:
    Record Producer, Recording and Mix Engineer

    No Carnhill / Not a 73

    Here's a very good pre, period. However after opening up this unit side by side with the usual competitors, BAE and AMS, it was clear that they do not use the same transformer. Simple as that.

    You don't have to take my word for it. Do it yourself and see with your own eyes. It does sound close to the 1073 but not enough to build an entire marketing campaign claiming to be using authentic components. It could easily be a 5 star pre but I'm taking 2 down for the lack of a REAL Carnhill transformer.

Questions about the Heritage Audio HA73jr Microphone Preamp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway