0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Zoom H2n Handy Recorder Reviews

4.5 stars based on 65 customer reviews
Questions about the Zoom H2n Handy Recorder?

Questions about the Zoom H2n Handy Recorder?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris Jenkins

    I've used the Zoom H2n for recording meetings, video shoots, and church services. Althought it has a crazy amount of features itís easy to use because most of the controls right there on the front and sides - no need to go digging through some complicated menu system to change what I'm doing and interrupt the creative process. And with that nice big screen, itís easy to see what Iím doing. Whether Iím acting as the FOH engineer at my church or capturing great audio for a video shoot, I couldnít see myself without having it in my arsenal.

  • Jesse West

    I was looking for something that gave me high quality recordings at the push of a button. I've now had the Zoom H2n for 2 years and it's been an invaluable part of my songwriting!

  • from Flat Rock, Mi. May 31, 2017

    Zoom H2N Recorder

    It does just what says and that is what I was looking for. Very pleased, the price was right.

  • from October 4, 2016

    handy recorder - handy tool!

    I bought this to record practices and play them back to see if what we thought sounded good "in the moment" actually sounded good in review. I've since found I can record shows, my own songs ideas, notes, riffs - all KINDS of stuff. This has become a majorly handy tool for working on songs, reviewing playing, improving playing, working out harmonies. I can't imagine how much stuff I missed in the past because I didn't have this to record with. Simple to use, and never leaves my gig bag.

  • from Brenham, Tx. August 30, 2016Music Background:
    retired band director,fine arts chair-Blinn College

    H2n recorder

    I have purchased one unit for my own use & three additional units for 3 sons & they are such a good & practical unit. I recommend highly. I use to record my brass quintet, practice etc. & transfer to computer, burn to disc. I previously purchased the larger units for the music faculty.

  • from Silver Spring,Md August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Recoding engineer

    Zoom H2n handy recorder

    I primarily use handy recorders as line in to record right off a sound console. However I soon discovered that the h2n can record 4 tracks Ther'e are 2 mic arrays built in, an x y and a mid side. The recorder can record stereo lin in and Mid side at the same time. It can also record x y and mid side 4or 4 tracks. The only problem is adjusting the record level.

  • from Minnesota August 16, 2016

    Flawed, but useful

    I'm not sure if anyone else has had this experience, but I have noticed that the plastic casing on the unit is rather creaky. I'll be carrying the h2n, recording something on the go or following something that's making a sound I want to capture- and when I listen back I can hear the tiniest little creaks in the plastic casing amplified to an unbelievable level. It's obviously not an issue for just setting the unit down and recording a song, but for any kind of on-the-go action recording (hey, I really had to get the sound of that angry bear chasing me down), look elsewhere.

  • from West Central Ohio August 5, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Amazing Zoom

    This is my 2nd H2n as I thought I lost mine after a gig. Well, I didn't, but now I have 2! I love this recording device. The sound it reproduces is simply amazing without any special tweaking. The different mic settings give you lots of flexibility.

  • from Luray Virginia April 4, 2016

    Zoom H2n Handy Recorder

    I've worked with this recorder now for a couple weeks. First of all Sweetwater did everything right in fulfilling my order. Received it very fast. It was well packaged. The recorder is a fine instrument. My only concern relates to the volume of recording. I have it at maximum. The gain is at maximum. Yet when listening to the recording the volume is very low. I can hardly hear it. When I record using a sound board input the volume is much better. Since that is what I bought it for I am satisfied.

  • from New Haven. Vt. January 29, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    H2n handy recorder

    Have had this little unit now for a month and I am exceedingly happy. You really can load it up with tunes. It's really an easy set up too . made of really tough plastic. Controls are easy as well. We use this for practice to try an get the right sound. Awesome!

  • from New Haven. Vt. January 29, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician

    H2n handy recorder

    Have had this little unit now for a month and I am exceedingly happy. You really can load it up with tunes. It's really an easy set up too . made of really tough plastic. Controls are easy as well.

  • from December 26, 2015

    zoom h2n

    Works well easy to use.

  • from July 13, 2015

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I bought the H2n to record meetings and I've had it a month. I've tried a bunch of different note taking and recording software and hardware. They all work for a little while but they just weren't up to commercial use (and I didn't have a handheld recorder).

    On a whim I set up the H2n on a table in front of my band and pressed record. The recorder was no more than 8 feet away and I fully expected it to get overwhelmed by the volume. We're a country band and we were playing a church picnic but we're still loud from 8 feet away.

    After the gig I uploaded the wav files and was impressed. Other than some background noise the recording was very good. Next time I will pick a different mic mode, record at a higher mic gain, and put a soundproof panel behind the H2n so I won't get all of the background noise. I think that will give me enough quality to be able to clean up in my DAW. I still haven't used it for a meeting...

  • from York PA June 1, 2015Music Background:
    some performing, mostly recording talented family members and friends

    More than I expected

    I received this and within a week I used it twice to record my son's high school jazz band. One setting was at an outside venue (box lunch revue - entertaining a lunch crowd) and the other was a performance in the cafeteria (relaxed setting). Neither had good acoustics or a quiet background noise level. I placed the Zoom close to the band, used the MS setting and set the R and L mics to 100% (150 deg). With this positioning and the automatic level setting, I got a very clear recording with an excellent stereo sound with minimal background noise. For this use I needed something I could just set and forget. I can't wait to use this for other recording where the XY or surround setting would be appropriate. Great product and great advice from Sweetwater.

    PS - the Accessory pack is well worth the investment

  • from long island, ny April 13, 2015Music Background:
    47 years in the music business, r&b, soul, motown, rock, reggae, blues, etc...

    zoom h2n

    i have the original zoom which recently went kaput but gave me many years of service. when i heard the first recording on the h2n, which was a live show we did using the surround mics, couldn't believe the quality and balance. it sounds like radio-ready recording with no EQing needed what-so-ever. i record a show, edit out banter, burn some cds, sell at next show. that easy. i love doing business with sweetwater. everyone i've spoken with by phone or email respond immediately. i dig that.

  • from United States March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur

    Zoom H2N Recorder

    This item records better than my guitar sounded in the first place. It is amazing. However it is not user friendly and the purchaser must sit down and read the manual a few times and then get as much information on the Net. But once you get through the initial bewilderment, it is quite a useful tool that performs quite well.

  • from Florida January 15, 2015Music Background:
    pro sax player

    Good recorder

    I have an older model (H1) that I like better. My complaint is the record button is too easy to push. It's right under my fingers...Otherwise it's great, I use it for rehearsals and Jam sessions.

  • from December 19, 2014Music Background:
    25 years in bands

    great device !!!! but?

    this thing really records to a very high quality ,its very easy to use and i do love it!! BUT,i have to agree with what other people have posted about the little play-f fwd switch on the side its too easy to be half way through the f fwd process then by accident skip to another format or reset all together..i think individual play = f fwd-skip buttons would have corrected this issue.great gadget but needs a fine tune on this small negative aspect..

  • from Penngrove, CA USA August 18, 2014Music Background:
    youtuber

    excellent sound quality

    The sound quality is amazing. Looking forward to exploring the different sound-gathering capabilities in different settings. Also, super impressed with the folks at sweetwater. i'll be buying from these guys again.

  • from phippsburg maine July 15, 2014Music Background:
    bassist

    awsome

    easy to use great sound quality

  • from May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Dance music producer.

    strait up pros and cons.

    The operating system is great which makes using it a breeze. Mic position options are great. Has plenty of features that make it a good recorder. Very handy field recorder.
    Good quality sound, however, I expected a little more fullness and richness. It lacks a bit at picking up low frequencies. The battery door is not very good, it no longer stays in place, and for no reason as the door is intact. If you remove batteries it feels very light.

    I recommend getting the accessory kit.

  • from Waldorf, MD May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Singer

    I'm Lovin It!

    The Zoom H2n Handy Recorder is fun and easy to use. I have used it 3 times since I made the purchase. I look forward to future uses.

  • from Two suitcases and a MacBook Air February 17, 2014Music Background:
    director, videographer, writer

    Truly excellent; best Zoom yet, for me

    As soon as I saw a *portable* MĖS recorder, then saw it was made by Zoom, I checked the weight, and ordered immediately. It arrived this morning; I was using it 15 minutes out of the box.

    Why so excited about MĖS? No less than Deutsche Grammophon use this technique to record full orchestras. And while the little Zoom won't be asked to do any time soon, it is sensational to have this option in one's pocket.

    And the width of the sound stage is very adjustable. So, in my main intended use (V/O, and recording audio for video, two performers on stage) setting the angle narrower than the zero point yield extremely realistic sound. Theoretically and to my ears, this just seems like a great way to record. And there are many other ways to use this device too.

    Setup is a breeze. And its recording is near instant. Assuming you have set up the preferred recording mode, turning it on puts it in preview mode so levels can be checkedóand then a one-button press.

    And I particularly like the micro-SD/SD/SDHC slot options too, as a photographer videographer with hundreds of GB of this format memory hanging around.

    I like its light weight, and the little rubber isolating feet, and a camera-sized tripod mount.

    I'm impressed.

  • from January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Record Engineer, Mixer, Producer

    Awesome

    Awesome, I take it everywhere with me. I use it for VO, Lectures, etc.
    I Love Love Love the M/S Mics!
    It turns on quick, which is amazing.
    Easy to use record button.
    Convenient Gain dial.
    And it is great that you can change the modes with a dial rather then searching through menus, Unlike the H4n... I do love the H4n, Now waiting for my H6.

    Only part I don't like... In 4 channel mode, you need to pick a setting for the M/S configuration.

  • from Half Moon Bay October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Music Professional

    Good recording device for the money

    Be sure to purchase the accessory kit. I use mine for songwriting and recording ideas. I also use it for rehearsal and live performance. The remote in the accessory kit is great, I find the toggle and file access a bit daunting however if you load the software and access through PC/Mac it is easy and more transparent.

  • from September 23, 2013Music Background:
    Radio Producer

    H2n for interviews

    Incredible sound.
    Esay to use.
    Cheap materials.
    Just take good care of it and be careful.

  • from MD September 19, 2013Music Background:
    music producer and videographer

    Zoom

    easy to use and crystal clear recordings

  • from Brooklyn, NY July 5, 2013Music Background:
    on a continuous quest for the sounds I keep hearing in my head

    Zoom H2n Handy Recorder

    Great for when your on the go or just need to document a rehersal/practice/lecture
    It's a very handy (no pun intended) tool to have in your gig bag.
    Easy to opperate and I love that you can mess with the mic settings.
    Go from wige to narrow even as an after thought. Very well thought out peice of gear.

  • from South Bay Area, Los Angeles July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording/Mixdown Engineer, Composer, Amateur Ghost Hunter

    Where was this 20 years ago??

    WOW is right ! !
    Where was this handy-dandy little monster 20 years ago??
    Love it.... records just FINE.... well worth the money... saves setting up all the mikes and wiring to just record your band (IF the guitar player will turn down... :P ). Actually, makes a VERY good demo of your band once you do a couple of "balancing" recordings.
    I actually bought it for "GHOST" EVP's... recorded 7 days in a row, 2-Channel Surround-Sound @ 320 kbps on 32 Gig SD card...with room for ANOTHER 80 hours of recording. Love the fact that you can see where the sound is coming from (to debunk "people" noises.
    Ghost hunting or music.... GREAT product for the money spent.

  • from Trumansburg NY May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Prof. musician retired

    Zoom H2n recorder

    Just what I needed for critiquing my musical performance. I now have a teacher at my disposal whenever I need it. It has many more features than I will ever use, however, and it would be nice if there were a stripped down version that would still record as well as this model.

  • from New Hampshire May 1, 2013Music Background:
    Proffessional musician

    Zoom H2n recorder

    Although I am still learning how to use the Zoom H2n It seems to be much user friendly than my older Zoom. I like it's quick turn-on to record and easy control features. I am a little weary of too many functions on one switch but it seems to work well.

  • from center valley pa. April 18, 2013Music Background:
    guitar strummer, some singing in a clasic/oldies/country /cover band

    the item and the agent ,,,well done!!

    excellent unit. i'm happily experimenting with recording our band, various settings and placings.
    cannot believe how crystal the vocals are coming out.
    and jared, the dood that helped me is the MAN!! I made a mistake in the ordering process {{ after }} the order went in.
    somehow he corrected and deleted it.
    and... followed up to make sure everything was cool.

  • from Nashville, TN March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Rock bands, Media Developer, Hobbyist, Podcaster

    Zoom H2n: Improved In Every Way

    My old ZOOM H2 was always standard equipment around here (since 2007) for everything from recording meetings & presentations to capturing musical inspirations as they happened. The new H2n is even better and easier to use, with all of it's refinements. It has amazing battery life and longer recording time options, better mics, more options like a tuner, better controls, bigger display, all in a more attractively designed package. I'm handing off the H2 to a co-worker and stoked at my amazing upgrade. Highly recommended and used just about every day. Great Sweetwater service makes it all so easy.

  • from United States March 4, 2013Music Background:
    US Coast Guard lower brass, Production Director for the FOX, Norfolk; 96KRock, FortMyers; WDIZ Orlando; 98ROCK, Tampa Bay; Principal, Florida Academy of Ayurveda.

    Atmospherics and School too

    My older than dirt H4 stopped performing on the batteries and I had been using it to record 23 hours of lectures every three weeks for the Ayurvedic Academy where I teach. I bought the H2 with the budget I was given. It is much less expensive than the H4 and for what we were are doing it was huge overkill. The H2 rocks, It is sensitive and the patterns can be adjusted to fit any situation. I also use it to pick up ambient sound for background fill on other projects I do. It is great for recording music and it links up to my Canon video rigs. My buddy FLASH uses his for prodution capture and interviews. Great Tool!

  • from United States March 1, 2013Music Background:
    A capella singer

    Big improvement over the H2

    Great sound, love all the recording modes and both the display and record button are vastly improved. The variable record gain is also really welcomed. Recorded a couple demos with this model, Really love it. I just gave it 4 stars cause I don't really know what would constitute a "WOW" rating!

  • from Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA February 16, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician retired.

    Good recorder

    records well, easy to use, wished it were better constructed for the money, (less plastic), wished there were more troubleshooting faq's. Liked the file conversion feature.

  • from Hudson, NY USA January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    H2n Great Little Recorder

    Great little recorder for capturing rehearsals. With a 32GB card added, I can record something like 15 hours in four channel raw. So, just fire it up, then download the tracks to the computer and chop them up with your favorite program. Can't wait to try it at a gig!

  • from United States December 24, 2012Music Background:
    (Husband) Retired music direct of AR state park.

    "Getting To Know You".....

    I bought this recorder for my husband's Christmas present after a few dropped "hints." He had used another model at church and was impressed. He seems very pleased with the added features and says it will help in the production of his weekly radio show. Good quality recording sound. Lots of features that he's still getting familiar with.

  • from Ty;ler, Texas November 16, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Video and audio Producer

    Best Little Recorder for a Professional Job of a Major Project!

    This is the best portable recorder I have found along with the H4N it's big brother. The H2N is so small and easy to use and very easy to understand the the menu and controls. Charlie Davis is the best audio sales rep that I have ever had with EXCELLENT SERVICE AND EXPERTISE on any audio gear you may need. You can't go wrong with Sweetwater and Charlie Davis on your team. Please keep up the great work Charlie Davis. I will be buying from Sweetwater and Charlie again and again. The audio from the H2N is awesome and can't be beat. The free candy is nice too.
    Thank You Sweetwater.

  • from Lancaster PA USA October 23, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Artist/Engineer/Writer

    My 'Handy Andy'

    It's a fun piece!! I haven't got much chance to use it yet, but it's all a matter of time. BTW, another use I have for it is to use it as a standalone ambient mic in an acoustic space/room where I then run it into my Pro Tools system along with other mics! With the options for surround 2 and 4, midside and X/Y it should come in real handy, hence the name I gave it...

    so, it's a really nice toy!!

  • from texas September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Teacher

    Perfect Mobile Solution

    I was skeptical when I ordered the Zoom H2n but I am blown away at the versatility it provides for my program. The sound quality is excellent. I am most enamored with the ability to set up multiple recording stations to provide my students with instant feedback on playing tests and aural evaluations. I slip one of these units in my pocket whenever we go to a live performance and I can record instantly with no setup. Indispensable educational tool....Look out, the cassette player has been replaced.

  • from KS USA August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Violinist

    Excellent

    This recorder is amazing. The recordings are clear and never have any distortion. It is a perfect fit for my needs.
    The customer service at Sweetwater was just as impressive as the product. I really felt like they cared about me and my needs.

  • from Michigan August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Band Director

    The H2n is a useful recorder

    The H2n, with the choice of microphones, is a very useful tool for music educators. I use it in rehearsal to evaluate the progress of the group and in performances to "archive" what the group did. Easy to use.

  • from August 3, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Tech

    SUPER EASY TO USE

    Purchased this recorder to record sermons live. It has been more than adequate...it actually was better than expected. It's so easy to take out the memory card and transfer files into the Mac. After a litte editing in audacity and a simple upload our sermons are ready for listening on our website or in our podcast. I would recommend this for any church on budget that wants quality recording at a low price. Also found that the optimal mic gain for preaching is about 7.

  • from Denver, Indiana July 31, 2012Music Background:
    Husband retired 39 year public school music educator

    Excellent equipment

    We used the Zoom to record the Peru Circus Festival band during a circus performance in the Circus Building with excellent results. What a wonderful reproduction of the sounds of a great band.

  • from July 23, 2012

    Zoom H2n Handy Rcorder

    Nifty recorder. Especially like the multiple pickup pattern settings. Has good frequency response characterists as well.

  • from Plymouth, MI July 22, 2012Music Background:
    Performing songwriter

    Zoom H2N was a great buy

    After spending a little bit of time with the manual, I discovered just how versatile this little device is! The sound quality is great and it's really handy. As a performer, I have found it handy to record rehearsals for critique and to capture songs to share with others for rehearsal. If I wanted to take the time to position everything carefully, I'm sure it would do a decent job of recording demos too.

  • from New Zealand July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Performer/Musician

    H2n ... a step up

    I borrowed an H2 off a friend and used it to record rather volumey rock rehearsals and also commit some material to memory.
    By the time I came to purchase one for myself, the H2n had been born, and everytrhing that I found lacking in the H2 had been rectified with style.
    Especially the navigation around files and settings ... much easier!
    The auto gain, compressions, low cut ... and general sound quality are all very impressive.
    The only con is remembering to activate the hold when in playback, because (and this will prove to be a pro one day, I believe) its very easy to trigger recording ... In fact, that is one of the great improvements on the H2.
    Nice ergonomic design, and a descent amount of battery life ... and its black!
    Not bad at all.

  • from Walnut Creek, CA July 7, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician

    Nice little recorder!

    I've used a Tascam DR-07 for music field recordings for several years but needed to replace it due to a broken volume switch. I went with the Zoom H2n over the DR-07 MkII on my Sweetwater Rep's recommendation. He felt the Zoom's recording quality was better and so far I definitely agree with him. I'm impressed with the quality of the recordings I've done so far; with the Zoom my fiddle sounds much fuller than it did with the Tascam. I think the Tascam's interface is a little more user-friendly; on the Zoom some things take a couple extra steps, for instance in uploading files via USB, the Tascam mounts automatically when connected to a Mac while the Zoom requires going into its menu and changing a setting. And like other reviewers, I wish Zoom hadn't used so much plastic in the H2n's construction (although I think the Tascam has at least as much), but these are minor issues. I think this is a great little recorder for the price.

  • from Upper Sandusky, Ohio May 3, 2012Music Background:
    piano player

    H2n Handy Recorder

    The H2n is my first purchase of a recording device since the 2 button cassette tape recorders! I am obviously a novice and have a great deal to learn but my initial experimenting with this product has me very pleased. I have heard great reviews from musician friends on the H2n and thus far fulll agree with their recommendations to start my recording attempts with this unit. In addition, my decision to purchase from Sweetwater was guided by their recommendations. I am very satisfied with the fast, professional "good old time service" I have experienced with Sweetwater and look forward to my first visit to their store in the near future. Thank you!

  • from NJ April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Middle School Band Teacher

    Great Unit,

    I used the H2n for the first time today with my Middle School Band and I am amazed by the recording quality. I have a 72 piece band in a very small rehearsal space and I set the level at 4 and used the side mics set to 120 degrees. The recording was great.

    My only complaint is with the built in speakers. To truly hear the recording quality you need to plug in a head set or external speakers.

    Well worth the money,

  • from Murray, KY March 26, 2012Music Background:
    semi professional musician

    Great recorder, great price!

    Unbelieveable sound for such a small unit. This should be in the hands of any band or musician who wants a clear representation of how they actually sound! My only complaint is not with the H2N, but the Wavelab LE7 software that comes with it. I am certain that it is an excellant recording tool, but it would benifit from including a tutorial to explain how to use the software. I have searched on youtube without much sucess. The recorder itself is a wonderful product!

  • from Murray, KY March 26, 2012Music Background:
    semi professional musician

    Great recording tool!

    It is unbelieveable that you can get such a quality recording from something as small as this unit is! It is very user friendly. My only real complaint is not with the recorder, but the software that comes with it. They give you a basic version of wavelab 7, which I am certain is a very useful editing tool, except for the fact that I have no idea how to use it. The company could benifit by including a tutorial that explains what you are supposed to do. I have even checked youtube, with no real help. The recorder in itself should be in the hands of any band who wants to hear how a practice session actually sounds, or any musican who needs to hear how they would sound playing out in the public's eye.

  • from Oxnard, CA USA March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Vocalist/Guitar player, hobbyist

    Like This

    Excellent design, functionality, and user friendly.

  • from Charlestown, RI USA March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician solo and in groups, do various small audio projects for home and work

    New Zoom much improved

    I tried to NOT buy another zoom because the old H2 was so clumsy to operate. But I took a chance on the H2n and very glad I did. It has fixed the virtually illegible display and has a much improved set of controls to get through menus. Also software that actually works if you want to do more work on your files with your computer. The H2n is the same basic capability executed much better.

  • from CA February 7, 2012Music Background:
    multimedia artist

    Great little field recorder!

    This recorder is really all it says it is in the info about it. It records audio perfectly. I use it for nature recording, my own voice and other voices. I'm totally pleased with it.

  • from Albuquerque, NM USA January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Editor, Voiceover Artist, Sound Designer

    Lotsa Power in a Small Package!

    This little guy has been a pleasant surprise! First off, the sound quality from this recorder is AMAZING - I couldn't believe the clarity when I ported the files over to my workstation. I work as an audio editor and voiceover guy and have heard lots of "portable" audio sent over by clients and friends - mostly from inferior devices. This blows them all away. I understand there are more expensive professional recorders out there, but for the money I don't think you can go wrong with the H2N.

    Audio is clear and crisp with no dropouts or weird artifacts. The menu system - while at times a bit vague - is pretty easy to navigate and get things done. Make sure to get a decent-sized SD card to hold all the audio you'll be gathering.

    Also, even though it's extra, I highly recommend picking up the ZOOM H2N Accessory Pack here at Sweetwater - it's got a lot of things you'll find yourself wanting (though I still think ZOOM should make it part of the H2N package instead of selling it separately).

    The only thing that's a little frustrating is navigating the folders to find audio I previously recorded - sometimes I have to listen to each file in my workstation to find out where I put it - but that could just be my own inexperience with the device. It's probably be best to download all of your recorded audio at the end of the day and make sure the files are renamed and filed in a way that's easiest for you.

    All in all, I love this thing!

  • from Portage MI January 25, 2012Music Background:
    Just a life long music guy

    Very easy to use

    When I get a new toy I will see how long it takes to use the functions without reading the manual, to see how thought out the design is. Is it intuitive? Yes. It picks up sound very well and the mic options are really nice and easy to use. Turn the dial located on top and the LED shows what configuration is picked so its easy to see what way to point it. I like that file transfers are plug and play with the PC I use. I dont need software. The file format options are plenty and it starts fast from off. The playback speaker is clear, not super loud but good enough. The following is fine with me but just to mention...Its a tad bulky, not slim but fits in your hand. On the flipside its light. I dont expect it to be made from metal. Some say it feels cheap. If you need a metal reinforced recorder then look beyond the $200 range. If you are afraid it will get smashed in a gear bag then dont sit on it. Overall I would buy it again and the extras kit is worth the money too.

  • from MS, USA January 16, 2012Music Background:
    Just for fun!

    Love it!

    I am not a professional AT ALL! But this recorder is just great and exactly what I needed for recording practices...vocal and instrumental sound great!

  • from amsterdam, ny December 28, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    save that music

    this h2n zoom is easy to operate and has great recording level capabilities. try a zoom you won't be disappointed.

  • from United States December 18, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Too Good for so much Plastic

    Wonderful sounding device. Easy to use. But... too much plastic. Zoom can do better. For the ease of use and great sound, it should be sturdier. I would pay more if were housed in a metal(ish) case.

  • from Durham NC December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Sound Artist/Percussionist/Singer

    I might buy another

    I have only used this once, but the sound quality was great and the interface was smooth and easy. I am excited to try this recorder for field recordings.

  • from griffith, indiana. December 5, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    h2n

    i just purchased the h2n and i really like it.
    sounds great and boots up much faster than the h2.

  • from United States November 19, 2011Music Background:
    Classical Guitarist, Home Studio Enthusiast

    Versatile!

    In my opinion there is only one con to the H2n... I think it is a little plasticky. I would like some more heavy duty construction. I always worry about it getting crushed in my gear bag, even with the case in the accessory pack. But that is definitely my only complaint, except for that in a perfect world it would sound as good as a $1000 condenser mic. But that is not what it was designed for and it can do things that $1000 mic can't.
    For field recording this thing is spectacular. For recording things like voiceovers it is great. If you want to capture an impromptu session of guitar and or vocal inspiration on your front porch, it excels. If you want to capture a demo of your song with no hassle, excellence. For YouTube videos, totally tubular. If you are travelling and still want to feel like you can get some usable material into your DAW without hauling a case full gear, SHWING! I understand that video pros really like this thing's versatility as well.
    The 2GB SD card holds plenty of sound. The level meters work very well. I try not to use the compressors or limiters but I like having them if necessary. The low cut is great. Line out for headphones is fabulous.
    Love the different stereo modes for recording close(XY) and bigger stuff(Mid-Side) or whatever you want is cool. I'm not sure what the surround mode is good for but if you love to experiment with acoustic environments you will dig it.
    I bought a 1/8 trs male to male cable and plug it into my line in on my MacBook for my DAW. I like this better because then I can record in 96kHz whereas the usb connection only allows 44kHz. Just the way I like to do it. Of course most people wouldn't want to use this for their DAW but I do sometimes. I also bought a 1/4 trs Y adapter to plug it into my interface or any number of other things. I bought a usb extension cord to allow me to plug it in for longer distances which is nice because the power adapter in the accessory pack connects to the usb
    It's not a studio mic for recording pristine warm tracks.... but if you need to you can get a very good sound from this fella. For example, I find that I can get some very nice classical guitar recordings or vocal recordings from this guy. They are not as good as a very nice condenser but they are clean and functional. Good enough to put in a mix if absolutely necessary. Don't buy it for that though because you could get a better sounding studio mic and I wouldn't feel good recommending it for that purpose.
    The real reason to buy this thing is for making workable recordings in any situation. If you need to capture sound on the fly in unexpected places and situations then this guy is a very flexible tool that you will be happy with.

  • from Denton, Texas November 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Bassist of 30+ years and Grad Student at North Texas.

    Review The H2n Recorder

    This is a great Recorder! It does everything I need it to do and stuff I have not figured out yet! The recording and playback is easy. The different configurations of the mics are perfect and suit many different situations. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is because I wish ZOOM would make the casing in something more than plastic and it would be better if the items in the "Optional Accessory Pack" were included. Overall I am very pleased with the unit and the 3 easy payments were a great help as well! Thanks SWEETWATER!

  • from New York November 5, 2011Music Background:
    Band

    Excellent

    Easy to use, very high quality what else can you ask for? I use it for a podcast that is often done via phone and it handles the live voice and the phone voice very well, the stereo choices are great too.

  • from Columbia, SC October 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Student

    Zoom H2n is a great buy

    So far I have used it for lectures and it picks up everything loud and clear. When I go back and listen to my recordings it feels like I'm still in the classroom with my professor speaking. I'm also a videographer so I plan on using this for interviews, voice overs, and recording some sound or vocals for different types of videos even though I already have a Rode Videomic & a Rode NT1-A. Also, I have been producing and recording music since I was 15 years old so I can get some use out of it for live sound recording for interludes for albums or for just picking up a sound to possibly use in a beat. I would suggest getting a windscreen in windy conditions.

Questions about the Zoom H2n Handy Recorder?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway